DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 06/25/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 10-15 are cancelled in the reply filed on 06/25/2026. Claims 1-9 are currently examined on the merits.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “… a solid precursor material… the precursor material...” which should read “… a solid precursor material… the solid precursor material...”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the precursor bed". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation " the carrier gas flow velocity… the multiple flow paths … the length … the respective path…". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al (US 20060185598 A1, “Suzuki”), and further in view of Jurgensen et al (US 20030192471 A1, “Jurgensen”) and Vahlas et al (US 20080268143 A1, “Vahlas”).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki teaches a method of controlling a solid precursor vapor source, comprising providing a carrier gas to a sublimation container/tray (vessel) containing a solid precursor material 350/650 (abstract, 0012-0014, 0031, 0046, 0064-0093), and the carrier gas flows over (parallel to) a surface of the precursor material (figs 3-9, abstract, 0013, 0014, 0031, 0047, 0064, 0065, 0075, 0079), but does not explicitly teach that a temperature of the carrier gas is controlled with a carrier gas thermal device prior to entering the sublimation vessel via an inlet area. However, Jurgensen teaches a method, wherein a heat (temperature) of a carrier gas is controlled with a heating means (carrier gas thermal device) prior to entering a sublimation vessel via an inlet area (abstract, 0007, 0016-0020, claims 1-5). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Suzuki per teachings of Jurgensen in order to provide gaseous starting material with predictable production rate for further deposition (Jurgensen abstract, 0002, 0006, 0007). Suzuki/Jurgensen does not explicitly teach measuring a temperature of a vapor exiting the sublimation vessel via an outlet area; and controlling the temperature of the carrier gas with the carrier gas thermal device based at least in part on the temperature of the vapor exiting the sublimation vessel. However, Vahlas teaches a method comprising measuring a temperature of a vapor exiting the sublimation vessel via an outlet area 36 (with the temperature sensors) (abstract, 0014, 0015, 0019, 0021, 0052 and claim 8); and controlling the temperature of the carrier gas with a carrier gas thermal device (heaters) based at least in part on the temperature of the vapor exiting the sublimation vessel with a control unit (0036, 0053). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Suzuki/Jurgensen per teachings of Vahlas in order to obtain reproducible provision of vapors for further deposition/coating (Vahlas 0001, 0002, 0011, 0045).
Regarding claim 2, Suzuki/Jurgensen/Vahlas teaches the carrier gas flow above the surface of the precursor material as addressed above, and further teaches that the carrier gas flow to an open space above the surface, openings/slots having size of approximately from 0.4 mm to 2mm (for example 1mm) on top portions of the tray/vessel, heights of the tray/vessel is approximately from 5 mm to 50mm (for example 30 mm), and depth of the precursor is approximately 15 mm (Suzuki, figs 3-9, 0074, 0075, 0087, 0088, claims 3 and 20), e.g., the open space above the precursor is approximately 15mm (30mm-15mm=15mm), meeting the instantly claimed the carrier gas flow to an open space above the surface of the precursor bed extending at least 1mm but not more than 100mm above the surface of the precursor bed. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (MPEP 2144.05 I).
Regarding claim 3, Suzuki/Jurgensen/Vahlas teaches controlling/setting a pressure inside the sublimation vessel (Suzuki 0029, 0046, 0053, 0055; Jurgensen 0022; Vahlas 0035, 0038 and claim 12).
Regarding claim 7, Suzuki/Jurgensen/Vahlas teaches controlling the temperature of the carrier gas as addressed above, and further teaches achieving/determining a sublimation temperature of the solid precursor material (Suzuki 0031; Jurgensen 0016, 0025; Vahlas 0039, 0041, 0045-0046), the temperature of the precursor is maintained at a constant temperature at which it sublimates (Jurgensen abstract, 0025, claims 1 and 6, Vahlas 0005, 0039), the temperature of the carrier gas is controlled/measured based on the temperature of the vapor exiting the sublimation vessel (Vahlas 0036, 0053). Therefore, it is reasonably expected that the temperature of the carrier gas being increased based on the temperature of the vapor exiting the sublimation vessel being below the sublimation temperature of the solid precursor material, and the temperature of the carrier gas being decreased based on the temperature of the vapor exiting the sublimation vessel being above the sublimation temperature of the solid precursor material in order to maintain a constant temperature of the precursor and enable constant/reproducible provision of vapors (Vahlas 0005, 0011, 0039, 0045).
Regarding claim 8, Suzuki/Jurgensen/Vahlas teaches determining the temperature of the solid precursor material at the vessel outlet includes determining a pressure inside the sublimation vessel (Suzuki 0029, 0043, 0046, 0053, 0055; Vahlas 0035, 0038, 0039).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki/ Jurgensen/Vahlas as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Liu et al (US 20130089934 A1, “Liu”).
Regarding claim 4, Suzuki/Jurgensen/Vahlas teaches measuring the temperature of a vapor exiting the sublimation vessel and setting the pressure inside the sublimation vessel as addressed above, and further teaches that the pressure must be sufficient to operate the device, and the temperature can be set/designed for operating the device (Vahlas 0035, 0036, and 0038-0041); therefore, it is reasonably expected that setting the pressure inside the sublimation vessel can be based at least in part on the temperature of the vapor exiting the sublimation vessel since both gas flow (pressure) and the temperature is controlled as taught by Suzuki/Jurgensen/Vahlas (Vahlas 0018, 0035, 0036, 0038, 0040, 0045, 0053). Furthermore, Liu (entire document) teaches a method of controlling a solid precursor vapor source, wherein a vapor pressure is associated with the temperature of the raw (precursor) material (0030) (a vapor pressure curve associated with precursor temperature), a controller may automatically compensate for the reduced vapor pressure in a chamber (vessel) based on the vapor pressures associated with the temperature measured by the temperature sensor (for example 221 positioned close to the outlet of the chamber) (abstract, 0030-0038 and 0042-0055), and determining a desired temperature based on vapor pressure, and a precise temperature may vary depending upon the vapor pressure in the vessel etc., and the temperature is tuned/ adjusted (0042-0044), e.g., the pressure inside the sublimation vessel is based at least in part on the temperature of the vapor exiting the sublimation vessel. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Suzuki/Jurgensen/Vahlas per teachings of Liu in order to provide properly controlled/ delivered the gaseous raw material to the processing chambers for semiconductor manufacturing process (Liu abstract, 0001-0002, 0030-0038 and 0042-0055).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki/Jurgensen/Vahlas as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kenric T. Choi (US 20100119734 A1, “Choi”).
Regarding claim 5, Suzuki/Jurgensen/Vahlas teaches producing one or more openings (flow paths) above the surface of the solid precursor material, for the carrier gas, using one or more walls having the openings (baffles) disposed above the solid precursor material (Suzuki figs 3-9, 0013, 0014, 0064, 0065, 0067-0069, 0074-0076, 0079, 0088), but does not explicitly teach one or more baffles disposed inside the solid precursor material. However, Choi teaches a method, wherein a plurality of baffles and a tubular member are disposed inside the solid precursor material (0019, 0022-0024, 0028, 0038-0040). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Suzuki/Jurgensen/Vahlas per teachings of Choi in order to facilitate heat transfer into the precursor material and minimize/eliminate turbulence of gas flow, thus providing suitable vaporized precursor material for further deposition (Choi 0002-0010, 0038-0040). Regarding the baffles limitation, it is an apparatus limitation in a process claim. Unless the apparatus limitations affect the process in a manipulative sense, they may have little weight in the process claims. In re Leeson Corp. 185 USPQ 156; In re Tarczy-Hornoch 158 USPQ 141, 150; In re Edwards 128 USPQ 387; Stalego v. Heymes 120 USPQ 473, 478 (CCPA); Ex parte Hart 117 USPQ 193; In re Freeman 44 USPQ 116 (CCPA); In re Sweeney 72 USPQ 501 (CCPA).
Regarding claim 6, Suzuki/Jurgensen/Vahlas/Choi teaches the carrier gas flow through the multiple openings and open space above the precursor material (flow paths), the inlet area, and the outlet area as addressed above, and further teaches the flow rate is monitored, adjusted and controlled (Suzuki 0031, 0037, 0047, 0051; Vahlas 0018, 0035, 0038, 0041-0044, 0046, 0055, ). Therefore, it is reasonably expected that the carrier gas flow rate/velocity through the multiple flow paths is proportional to the length of the respective path from the inlet area to the outlet area since Suzuki/Jurgensen/Vahlas/Choi teaches similar the carrier gas flow through the multiple flow paths, the respective path, the inlet area and the outlet area. Furthermore, regarding the multiple flow paths, the respective path, the inlet area and the outlet are limitation, it is an apparatus limitation in a process claim. Unless the apparatus limitations affect the process in a manipulative sense, they may have little weight in the process claims. In re Leeson Corp. 185 USPQ 156; In re Tarczy-Hornoch 158 USPQ 141, 150; In re Edwards 128 USPQ 387; Stalego v. Heymes 120 USPQ 473, 478 (CCPA); Ex parte Hart 117 USPQ 193; In re Freeman 44 USPQ 116 (CCPA); In re Sweeney 72 USPQ 501 (CCPA).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki/ Jurgensen/Vahlas as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pintchovski et al (US 5227340 A, “Pintchovski”).
Regarding claim 9, Suzuki/Jurgensen/Vahlas teaches the sublimation vessel as addressed above, but does not explicitly teach disposing a thermally isolating shroud around at least a portion of the sublimation vessel. However, Pintchovski teaches a method, wherein a vaporizing/sublimation container/vessel has a layer of insulation (col 4 lines 34-40 and claim 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Suzuki/Jurgensen/Vahlas per teachings of Pintchovski in order to provide suitable conditions for achieving film uniformity (Pintchovski col 2 lines 1-49). Regarding the shroud limitation, it is an apparatus limitation in a process claim. Unless the apparatus limitations affect the process in a manipulative sense, they may have little weight in the process claims. In re Leeson Corp. 185 USPQ 156; In re Tarczy-Hornoch 158 USPQ 141, 150; In re Edwards 128 USPQ 387; Stalego v. Heymes 120 USPQ 473, 478 (CCPA); Ex parte Hart 117 USPQ 193; In re Freeman 44 USPQ 116 (CCPA); In re Sweeney 72 USPQ 501 (CCPA).
Conclusion
/HUA QI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714