Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4-15-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Schumacher does not disclose the limitation “determining an actual flatness of the web material,” and then states that while Schumacher does mention flatness and that the flatness is determined based on the sensed optical properties it does not teach determining the actual flatness. In response the examiner finds this argument unpersuasive. Saying that a measurement of an optical property that is used to derive flatness is not an actual measurement of flatness is unpersuasive because all optical sensor operate on the mode of “sensing an optical property” to then mathematically derive some property of the material being examined. A spectrometer measures the wavelengths from a sample and derives things like composition, an interferometer senses a change in phase of the light to then derive the distance to a sample or the change in distance to a sample which can then be used to derive a property of the sample. This argument therefore is not convincing. Secondly, the applicant appears to have their own special definition of “actual flatness” in mind but fails to state what that means in their arguments and does not actually define it in their claimed limitations. Thus, any measurement of flatness can be construed as an “Actual flatness” .
The applicant goes on to argue that Schumacher also fails to teach converting the actual flatness into at least one comparative value. However, again the applicant is using their own special definition of “Comparative value” which is not defined in the claims or their arguments. Still further, any value derived would be a “comparative” value broadly since the broadest meaning is a value that can be compared.
Thus, if the applicant wishes these definitions to have meaning they will have to at least articulate what they mean specifically and put that into their limitations. In light of this the examiner will be maintaining the rejection.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a flatness measuring unit, a web tension unit, an evaluation unit, a collapsing unit in claims 13 & 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, & 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schumacher et al (PGPub 2019/0315037) (Schumacher).
Regarding Claim 1, Schumacher discloses a method for determining flatness of a flexible web material in a manufacturing process of the flexible web material, the method comprising steps of:
determining an actual flatness (91, 92) of the web material (Paragraph 314);
determining a first process parameter of the manufacturing process (systematic dependence of the parameters, Paragraphs 67, 74, 321)
converting the actual flatness of the web material into at least one comparative value of the actual flatness of the web material depending on the first process parameter (Paragraph 321). By developing a systematic dependence of the parameters and then applying them to the measured optical properties in order to adapt the film quality this limitation is met.
Regarding Claim 2, Schumacher discloses the aforementioned. Further, Schumacher discloses wherein an actual topography of a surface of the web material is determined in order to determine the actual flatness of the web material (Paragraph 231).
Regarding Claim 3, Schumacher discloses the aforementioned. Further, Schumacher discloses wherein the first process parameter of the manufacturing process is a web tension of the web material (Paragraphs 52 & 67).
Regarding Claim 4, Schumacher discloses the aforementioned. Further, Schumacher discloses wherein the at least one comparative value of the actual flatness of the web material is a comparative flatness or a comparative topography. Since it is a topography (Paragraph 231) being converted then the comparative value would be a comparative topography.
Regarding Claim 5, Schumacher discloses the aforementioned. Further, Schumacher discloses determining at least one further process parameter of the manufacturing process, wherein the at least one further process parameter is one of process parameters including a width of the web material, a thickness of the web material, a material composition of the web material, a temperature of the web material and an ambient temperature (Paragraph 92). Used raw materials and proportions of raw materials would cover material composition of the web material.
Regarding Claim 6, Schumacher discloses the aforementioned. Further, Schumacher discloses wherein conversion of the actual flatness of the web material into the at least one comparative value of the actual flatness of the web material is additionally carried out depending on the at least one further process parameter and/or at least one material characteristic value (Paragraphs 67 & 321).
Regarding Claim 7, Schumacher discloses the aforementioned. Further, Schumacher discloses further comprising: defining a reference value for the first process parameter (Paragraph 321, Systematic dependence of the parameters), wherein the actual flatness of the web material is converted into the at least one comparative value of the actual flatness of the web material based on the reference value of the first process parameter (Paragraph 321).
Regarding Claim 8, Schumacher discloses the aforementioned. Further, Schumacher discloses wherein the first process parameter is a web tension of the web material (Paragraph 52), wherein the reference value of the first process parameter is a reference web tension, and wherein the reference value of the first process parameter depends on at least one further process parameter and/or the at least one material parameter (Paragraphs 67 & 92). AS disclosed the systematic dependence can be based on a variety of variables.
Regarding Claim 11, Schumacher discloses the aforementioned. Further, Schumacher discloses a step of converting the at least one comparative value of the actual flatness of the web material into at least one quality parameter of the flatness (Paragraphs 77, 321). The product of the conversion is to adapt the quality of the film thus it is a quality parameter.
Regarding Claim 12, Schumacher discloses the aforementioned. Further, Schumacher discloses wherein the at least one comparative value of the actual flatness of the web material is a comparative topography (Paragraph 231), and wherein the at least one comparative value is converted into the at least one quality parameter of the flatness by using at least one method selected from a group consisting of determining a standard deviation, determining a coefficient of variation, determining Pearson skewness, determining camber and excess, determining a mean deviation, determining an Abbott curve and determining a profile depth of the comparative topography (Paragraphs 75 & 77). A coefficient of determination is a coefficient of variation.
Regarding Claim 13, Schumacher discloses a flatness measuring arrangement (Fig. 3) for a web material, in particular for a plastic web, comprising:
a flatness measuring unit (Fig. 3, 86, 87) which is configured to determine an actual flatness of the web material, in particular an actual topography of a surface of the web material (paragraph 231), in a detection section of the web material;
a web tension unit adapted to detect a web tension in the detection section of the web material (Paragraph 52); and
an evaluation unit which is configured to convert the actual flatness into at least one comparative value of the actual flatness of the web material depending on the web tension (Paragraphs 67 & 321).
Regarding Claim 14, Schumacher discloses the aforementioned. Further, Schumacher discloses a module frame in which one or more of elements of the flatness measuring unit, the web tension unit and the evaluation unit are mounted. They are all inherently mounted on something thus this would be the module frame.
Regarding Claim 15, Schumacher discloses the aforementioned. Further, Schumacher discloses a blow head (72) for ejecting a film tube, a collapsing unit (73) for folding the film tube into a web material (Paragraph 308), the flatness measuring arrangement according to claim 13 (Shown above in the rejection of claim 13).
Regarding Claim 16, Schumacher discloses the aforementioned. Further, Schumacher discloses wherein the actual flatness of the web material is measured by a flatness measuring unit (Fig. 3, 76 & 87). Given that these detectors measure the parameters that allow for the derivation of the flatness the examiner finds this limitation met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 & 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schumacher.
Regarding Claim 9, Schumacher discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the actual flatness of the web material is determined in a transverse plane of the web material, and/or the actual flatness of the web material is determined by means of a flatness measuring unit which is arranged in the transverse plane of the web material, and wherein the transverse plane is orientated transversely, in particular orthogonally, to a transport direction of the web material;
However, the examiner takes official notice this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Schumacher with wherein the actual flatness of the web material is determined in a transverse plane of the web material, and/or the actual flatness of the web material is determined by means of a flatness measuring unit which is arranged in the transverse plane of the web material, and wherein the transverse plane is orientated transversely, in particular orthogonally, to a transport direction of the web material because in order to measure flatness one would need the topography of the whole web and a line scanning system which measures a line across the transverse plane across the material is a known measurement method which offers advantages of being fast at capturing images and low cost.
Regarding Claim 10, Schumacher discloses the aforementioned. Further, Schumacher discloses wherein the first process parameter and/or at least one further process parameter is determined in the transport direction of the web material in a region of the transverse plane (Paragraph 92). Tensile strengths with or across the machine direction meets this limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHON COOK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 June 15, 2026
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877