DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
2. The term “approximately” appears in many claims including claims 4, 9, 14, 17, 18. It is noted that in page 14 paragraph [0016] of the Specification, the applicants wrote “As used herein, "about" or "around" or "approximately" in the text or in a claim means +10% of the value stated.” Therefore, the examiner interprets the term “approximately” in the claim means +10% of the value stated.
Double Patenting
4. Claims 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 9, 12-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,106,971 in view of Surla et al (US 2017/0178923 A1) .
Regarding to claim 17, US Patent 12,106,971 discloses a method for forming a high aspect ratio (HAR) structure during a HAR etch process in a substrate in a reaction chamber, the method comprising:
sequentially or simultaneously exposing the substrate to a vapor of an etchant including a hydrofluorocarbon or fluorocarbon compound and an additive compound, the substrate having a film disposed thereon and a patterned mask layer disposed on the film;
maintaining the substrate at a temperature ranging
activating a plasma to produce an activated hydrofluorocarbon or fluorocarbon compound and an activated additive compound; and
allowing an etching reaction to proceed between the film uncovered by the patterned mask layer and the activated hydrofluorocarbon or fluorocarbon compound and the activated additive compound to selectively etch the film from the patterned mask layer, thereby forming the HAR patterned structure,
wherein a high conductive sidewall passivation layer is formed on sidewalls of the HAR patterned structure (See US 12,106,971 claims 1, 7, 9, 12
Claim 17 differs from claims 7, 12 by further disclosing maintaining the substrate temperature ranging from approximately -100 °C to approximately 500 °C. Surla discloses a method of forming high aspect ratio by maintaining the substrate temperature ranging from approximately 0 °C to approximately 150 °C, preferably 25 °C to 100 °C (paragraph 0303; within applicant’s claimed range of approximately -100 °C to approximately 500 °C ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify US Patent No. 12,106,971 in view of Surla by maintaining the substrate temperature ranging from approximately 0 °C to approximately 150 °C because in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
As to claim 18, US Patent 12,106,971 claim 13 discloses wherein a conductivity of the high conductive sidewall passivation layer formed with the activated hydrofluorocarbon or fluorocarbon compound (i.e. C4H2F6) and the activated additive compound (i.e. CH3F) is at least approximately 10% higher than the conductivity of the high conductive sidewall passivation layer formed with the activated hydrofluorocarbon or fluorocarbon compound without the addition of the activated additive compound (See claim 13 of US 12,106,971).
As to claim 19, US 12,106,971 claim discloses the additive compound contains silicon, carbon and/or iodine elements having the following formula: CF3I, C2F5I, (See claims 1, 14 of US 12,106,971; read on applicant’s formula CnR1R2R3I, CnF(2n+1)I, wherein n = 1 to 10; R1, R2 and R3 each are independently selected from H, C1-C10 linear, branched or cyclic, saturated or unsaturated, aromatic, heterocyclic, partially or fully fluorinated.
As to claim 20, US 12,106,971 claim discloses the additive compound is selected from H3C-I (See claim 9, 13).
5. Claim 1-7, 9-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of copending Application No. 18/872,051 (reference application, now US 2025/0379062). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the current application is a combination of multiple claims in US 18/872,051.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The following table will match the claim of current application vs. 18/872,051
Current application (18/818,114 Claims) 18/872,051 claims
1 1, 4, 14, or 17, 20
2 2, or 18
3 3, or 19
4 5
5 6
6 6
7 16
9 9
10 6 11 1, 4, 6, 14
12 2, 18
13, 3 or 19
14 5 or 21
15 9
16 6
17 1, 4, 11
18 5 or 21
19 13
20 15
6. Claim 8 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of copending Application No. 18/872,051 in view of Surla (US 2017/0178923).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
As to claim 8, copending application 18/872,051 claim fails to disclose the patterned mask is an a-C layer, a doped a-C layer, a photoresist layer, an anti-reflective layer, an organic planarization layer, a poly-Si layer, a metal oxide layer such as Ti, Al, Zr, Hf, etc. oxide, and combinations thereof. However, copending application 18/872,051 clearly teaches to use patterned mask (See claim 1). Surla teaches that patterned mask is a-C layer, photoresist layer, antireflective layer, or a poly-Si layer (paragraph 0292). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify copending application 18/872,051 in view of Surla by having the pattern mask comprises is a-C layer, photoresist layer, antireflective layer, or a poly-Si layer because equivalent and substitution of one for the other would produce an expected result (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase “high conductive sidewall passivation layer” in claim 1 (line 12) is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high conductive” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what specific conductivity value or range that applicants considered as “high conductive sidewall passivation layer”.
The phrase “high conductive sidewall passivation layer” (occurs two times) in claim 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high conductive” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what specific conductivity value or range that applicants considered as “high conductive sidewall passivation layer”.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 7, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 8, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
In claim 8 line 3, the term “etc. oxide” is indefinite. It is unclear what specific material that applicants considered as “etc. oxide”.
The phrase “high conductive sidewall passivation layer” in claim 11 (line 9) is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high conductive” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what specific conductivity value or range that applicants considered as “high conductive sidewall passivation layer”.
The phrase “high conductive sidewall passivation layer” (occurs two times) in claim 14 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high conductive” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what specific conductivity value or range that applicants considered as “high conductive sidewall passivation layer”.
The term “high conductive sidewall passivation layer” in claim 17 (line 15) is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high conductive” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what specific conductivity value or range that applicants considered as “high conductive sidewall passivation layer”.
The phrase “high conductive sidewall passivation layer” (occurs two times) in claim 18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high conductive” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what specific conductivity value or range that applicants considered as “high conductive sidewall passivation layer”.
In claim 19, the phrase “R1 and R2, R2 and R3 or R1 and R3 may also be linked to form a cyclic group” (emphasis added) is indefinite. The term “may” mean possibility or likelihood. It is unclear whether any limitation right after the term “may” is required or not.
Claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph because they depend on indefinite claim 1.
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph because they depend on indefinite claim 11.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph because they depend on indefinite claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Surla et al. (US 2017/0178923 A1) in view of Sandhu et al. (US 2007/0049018 A1).
Note:
As to claim 17, Surla discloses A method for forming a high aspect ratio (HAR) structure during a HAR etch process in a substrate in a reaction chamber, the method comprising:
sequentially or simultaneously exposing the substrate (100) to a vapor of an etchant including a hydrofluorocarbon or fluorocarbon compound and an additive compound, the substrate having a film (104) disposed thereon and a patterned mask layer (106 or 110) disposed on the film (paragraph 0009, 0292-0294, 0313, Fig 1a-1b);
maintaining the substrate at a temperature ranging from approximately 0 °C to approximately 150 °C; preferably 25 °C to 100 °C (paragraph 0303, read on applicant’s range of “from approximately -100 °C to approximately 500 °C);
activating a plasma to produce an activated hydrofluorocarbon or fluorocarbon compound and an activated additive compound; (paragraph 0303-0306) and
allowing an etching reaction to proceed between the film uncovered by the patterned mask layer and the activated hydrofluorocarbon or fluorocarbon compound and the activated additive compound to selectively etch the film from the patterned mask layer, thereby forming the HAR patterned structure (Fig 1b-1d, paragraph 0292-0298
wherein a
As to claim 17, Surla fails to disclose the sidewall passivation layer is a high conductive material. However, Surla clearly teaches to form a sidewall passivation layer (212) on a sidewalls of the high aspect ratio pattern structure (paragraph 0293, Fig 1b). Sandhu teaches during an etching process a high conductive sidewall passivation layer is formed (Fig 4, paragraph 0025). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Surla in view of Sandhu by forming a high conductive sidewall passivation layer because equivalent and substitution of one for the other would produce an expected result (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
As to claim 18, Surla fails to disclose a conductivity of the high conductive sidewall passivation layer formed with the activated hydrofluorocarbon or fluorocarbon compound and the activated additive compound is at least approximately 10% higher than the conductivity of the high conductive sidewall passivation layer formed with the activated hydrofluorocarbon or fluorocarbon compound without the addition of the activated additive compound. However, Surla clearly discloses the sidewall passivation layer formed with the activated hydrofluorocarbon or fluorocarbon compound and the activated additive compound. Sandhu discloses the sidewall passivation layer is conductive and it is formed with the activated hydrofluorocarbon or fluorocarbon compound (paragraph 0025-0026). In the absence of unexpected result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Surla in view of Sandhu by perform routine experiments to obtain optimal conductivity value of the sidewall passivation because it has been held that determination of workable range is not considered inventive (See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)).
As to claim 19, Surla discloses the additive compound contains silicon, carbon and/or iodine elements having the following formula: CF3I, C2F5I, C2HF2I, C2H2FI, C2HF4I, C2H2F3I, C2H3F2I, C2H4FI (Table 2, read on applicant’s formula CnR1R2R3I or CnF(2n+1)I, where n = 1 to 10; R1, R2 and R3 each are independently selected from H, C1-C10 linear, branched or cyclic, saturated or unsaturated, aromatic, heterocyclic, partially or fully fluorinated, substituted or unsubstituted alkyl groups.
As to claim 20, Surla discloses the addictive compound is selected from
(See Table 2).
Conclusion
BINH X. TRAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/BINH X TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713