DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 3, add –exchanger—after “fourth heat”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 19 recites the same limitation of claim 16 from which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Frick (2012/0048717). Frick discloses a flameless fluid heater system (100, 200, 300, 400) for heating fluids, said flameless fluid heater system includes: a prime mover (102), said prime mover comprising engine coolant (205), intercooler (214), and engine exhaust (leading from 202 to exhaust heat exchanger 216 in Figure 2 or line 160 leading to heat exchanger 116); a closed heater fluid loop (403), said closed heater fluid loop comprising a heater fluid pump (122, 408) and a dynamic heater (104, 204, 304, 404) for heating heater fluid (SEE fluid in 407, 516 and 518 for example), said dynamic heater driven by the prime mover (SEE [0067]); a main pump (430) for transfer of water; a first heat exchanger (406) transferring heat from the heater fluid to the water; a second heat exchanger (426) transferring heat from the engine coolant to the water; a third heat exchanger (432) transferring heat from the intercooler to the water; and a fourth heat exchanger (416) transferring heat from the engine exhaust to the water, wherein the heater fluid is at least one of oil and glycol (Frick discloses a working fluid as a mixture of water and glycol, SEE [0068] & [0081]). In re claim 2, Frick discloses that the water from an outlet of the main pump (Figure 4) is transferred to the first heat exchanger (406) and returned to an inlet of the main pump (SEE element 422 which is being interpreted as the return of the fluid inlet). In re claim 3, Frick discloses that the heater fluid heated in the dynamic heater (the fluid in 410) is transferred to the first heat exchanger (via conduit 420) and returned to the heater fluid pump (408). In re claim 4, Frick discloses wherein the heater fluid is transferred from the heater fluid pump to the dynamic heater (SEE Figure 4 where the heater fluid 407 is cycled back from the pump 408 to the dynamic heater 404). In re claim 5, Frick discloses that the water is transferred from an outlet of the main pump (430) to the third heat exchanger (432), then to the second heat exchanger (426), then to the fourth heat exchanger (416) and retuned to an inlet of the main pump (via 440, 442, 444). In re claim 6, Frick discloses wherein the water from the outlet of the main pump is transferred to the first heat exchanger (406 as per Figure 4) and returned to the inlet of the main pump (via 440, 442, 444). In re claim 7, Frick discloses that the heater fluid (contained in 407) is transferred from the heater fluid pump to the dynamic heater. In re claim 8, Frick discloses that the heater fluid heated in the dynamic heater is transferred to the first heat exchanger (406) and returned to the heater fluid pump (after having gone through 407, 410 as per Figure 4). In re claim 9, Frick discloses that the main pump is driven by the prime mover (SEE [0138]). In re claim 10, Frick discloses that a heater fluid reservoir (410) provides the heater fluid to the heater fluid pump (408) (Figure 4). In re claim 11, Frick discloses that the cooled heater fluid is transferred from the first heat exchanger to the heater fluid reservoir (SEE the fluid connection between heat exchanger 406 and tank 410). In re claim 12, Frick discloses that the second heat exchanger (426) is located outside the closed heater fluid loop (403) (SEE Figure 4). In re claim 13, Frick discloses that the third heat exchanger (432) is located outside the closed heater fluid loop (403) (SEE Figure 4). In re claim 14, Frick discloses that the fourth heat exchanger (416) is located outside the closed heater fluid loop (403).
Double Patenting
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,982,585. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 15 is fully encompassed within claim 1 of the patent; the invention of the current application more broadly recites the same structure and features of the patent while omitting minimal features which are listed in the patent.
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 17-19 of prior U.S. Patent No. 10,844,766. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 20 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11,434,805. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
/GREGORY A WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 September 10, 2026