DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 40-59 are pending. Claims 47-59 are withdrawn. Claims 40-46 are presented for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 40-46 in the reply filed on 5/8/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 47-59 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/8/2026.
Claim Interpretation
In this case, “means for forming a clear coating on a surface” is interpreted as inclusive of compositions comprising 0-80% silazane, 0-60% siloxane and 5-80% silane as evidenced at paragraph 0007 of Applicant’s specification and equivalents.
Double Patenting
1. Claim 40-42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17-19 of U.S. Patent No. 9856400. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 17-19 of U.S. Pat. No. 9856400 anticipate claims 40-42.
2. Claim 40 and 41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 24 of U.S. Patent No. 10301507. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 24 of U.S. Pat. No. 10301507 anticipates claims 40 and 41.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
3. Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 46 depends from a cancelled claim and thereby fails to further limit the subject matter of a claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
4. Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 46 recites the limitation "the polysilazane". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, claim 46 depends from a cancelled claim and it is impossible to determine the metes and bounds of the claim. Therefore, claim 46 is indefinite. For examination purposes, claim 46 has been interpreted as depending from claim 40 and requiring the solvent to be n-butyl acetate or t-butyl acetate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
5. Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Hirota (U.S. PGPUB No. 2008/0305611).
As an initial matter, the recitation that the composition after curing is a non-ceramic clear coating having a thickness and properties as claimed has not been given patentable weight. The claims are directed towards a composition, and not a coating prepared from the composition or the cured composition (which is a different product). Therefore, the claims are limited and defined by the components of the composition before curing. As such, any composition including the claimed components in the claimed amounts will anticipate the claims as presently presented.
Regarding claim 40, Hirota teaches an exemplary composition comprising: polysilazane (0037) in an amount of 17% (0069); polysiloxane in an amount of 0% (0069); a polysilane in an amount of 17% (0069); and an organic solvent (0069). As outlined above, this composition is a means for forming a clear coating on a surface and includes a solvent (see Claim Interpretation section above). Hirota teaches all the limitations of claims 40; therefore, Hirota anticipates the claim.
6. Claim(s) 40, 41, 43, 44 and 46 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Fandel et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2006/0121266).
As an initial matter, the recitation that the composition after curing is a non-ceramic clear coating having a thickness and properties as claimed has not been given patentable weight. The claims are directed towards a composition, and not a coating prepared from the composition or the cured composition (which is a different product). Therefore, the claims are limited and defined by the components of the composition before curing. As such, any composition including the claimed components in the claimed amounts will anticipate the claims as presently presented.
Regarding claims 40, 41, 43, 44 and 46, Fandel teaches a composition comprising: a solvent (claim 1), polysilane (claim1) and/or polysilazane (claim 1) in an amount of 10-80% (0048). As outlined above, this composition is a means for forming a clear coating on a surface and includes solvent (see Claim Interpretation section above). Fandel further teaches the inclusion of an additive, such as a catalyst (0042), and that the solvent can be ethyl acetate (0043), n-butyl acetate (0043) or a hydrocarbon (0043). Fandel teaches all the limitations of claims 40, 41, 43, 44 and 46; therefore, Fandel anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
7. Claims 42 and 45 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Fandel in view of Bujalski et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 5364920).
I. Regarding claim 42, Fandel teaches all the limitations of claim 41 (see above), including the composition comprising a hydrocarbon solvent. Fandel fails to teach the hydrocarbon selected from the group as claimed.
However, Bujalski teaches the use of hexane as a hydrocarbon solvent for polysilazane compositions (column 5, lines 1-10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Fandel’s composition by substituting hexane for Fandel’s hydrocarbon. One would have been motivated to make this substitution as one having ordinary skill in the art could have made this substitution with a reasonable expectation of success (in particular, Fandel teaches the use of a hydrocarbon solvent and Bujalski teaches hydrocarbon solvents suitable for polysilazane containing compositions), and the predictable result of providing a polysilazane composition in a compatible solvent.
II. Regarding claim 45, Fandel teaches all the limitations of claim 40 including a catalyst for curing a polysilazane mixture (see above), but fail to teach the composition including a curing hardener. However, Bujalski teaches including a curing hardener in a polysilazane crosslinking composition (see abstract, note that the silazane crosslinker is considered a curing hardener, see also applicant's specification at 0034 for their definition of curing hardeners). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Fandel’s composition by including a curing hardener as disclosed by Bujalski. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Bujalski teaches that the inclusion of the curing hardener provides better control over the curing reaction and can lower the Tg and storage modulus of the resin to impart a controllable tack (column 2, lines 15-22).
Conclusion
Claims 40-59 are pending.
Claims 47-59 are withdrawn.
Claims 40-46 are rejected.
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
May 26, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717