DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on August 28, 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 18 appears to be missing the word “wherein” in “The deployable device of claim 17, wherein a vehicle”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “propulsive element” in claim 1, claim 15, and claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-8, 10-12 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Du et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0197890 A1.
As to claim 1, Du et al. discloses a deployable device system comprising:
a deployable device (Figure 1, aerial drone 30) including:
a propulsive element coupled to the deployable device (0026, Figure 1, rotors 22);
a motor coupled to the deployable device and the propulsive element and configured to drive the propulsive element to propel the deployable device (Figure 1, aerial drone 30); and
an indicator configured to provide one or more indications to an operator of an approaching vehicle (0028, Figure 1, display unit 28, 0052);
a vehicle configured to transport the deployable device to a scene and deploy the deployable device (Figure 1, primary road vehicle 12); and
a control system configured to: control the motor to position the deployable device at a position along a perimeter established proximate the scene; and control the indicator to provide an indication (0028, 0036).
As to claim 2, Du et al. discloses the deployable device system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the control system includes one or more processing circuits including at least one of (i) a first processing circuit located on the deployable device, (ii) a second processing circuit located on the vehicle, or (iii) a third processing circuit located remote from the deployable device and the vehicle (022, 0025, 0028).
As to claim 4, Du et al. discloses the deployable device system of claim 1. Du et al. further discloses further comprising a plurality of deployable devices, wherein the vehicle is configured to transport the plurality of deployable devices (0028, 0059).
As to claim 6, Du et al. discloses the deployable device system of claim 4 and further discloses wherein the control system is configured to coordinate control of the indicator of each deployable device of the plurality of deployable devices 0023, 0028, 0059).
As to claim 7, Du et al. discloses the deployable device system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the indication includes at least one of an audible sound or a visual alert (0028, Figure 1, visual display unit 28).
As to claim 8, Du et al. discloses the deployable device system of claim 7, and further discloses wherein the indication includes the visual alert, and wherein the indicator includes at least one of a display or a light (0028, Figure 1, visual display unit 28).
As to claim 10, Du et al. discloses the deployable device system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein, when the deployable device is deployed, the control system is configured to maintain a position of the deployable device relative to the vehicle as the vehicle travels (0036).
As to claim 11, Du et al. discloses the deployable device system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the perimeter at least one of (i) entirely surrounds the scene or (ii) partially surrounds the scene (0028, 0036).
As to claim 12, Du et al. discloses the deployable device system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the scene includes at least one of an emergency scene or a construction site (0040).
As to claim 16, Du et al. discloses the deployable device system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the deployable device is an aerial vehicle, and wherein the propulsive element includes one or more rotors configured to lift the deployable device (Figure 1, aerial drone 20, rotors 22).
As to claim 17, Du et al. discloses a deployable device comprising:
a chassis (Figure 1, aerial drone 30);
a propulsive element coupled to the chassis (0026, Figure 1, rotors 22);
a motor coupled to the chassis and the propulsive element and configured to drive the propulsive element to propel the deployable device (Figure 1, aerial drone 30);
an indicator configured to provide one or more indications to an operator of an approaching vehicle (0028, Figure 1, display unit 28, 0052); and
a control system configured to: control the motor to position the deployable device at a position along a perimeter established proximate a scene; and
control the indicator to provide an indication of the scene (0028, 0036).
As to claim 18, Du et al. discloses the deployable device of claim 17, and further discloses a vehicle is configured to transport the deployable device to the scene and deploy the deployable device (0028, 0032).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0197890 A1 in view of Official Notice.
As to claim 3, Du et al. discloses the deployable device system of claim 1. Du et al. does not describe an indicator on the vehicle, as claimed.
The Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the prior art to utilize an indicator with a vehicle to provide indications to approaching vehicles. These indicators may be hazard lights, police lights, police sirens, flares, signs, cones, or other devices to provide indication to the oncoming traffic.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the deployable device system of claim 1, as disclosed by Du et al., with the use of indicators, as claimed, as well known in the relevant art, with a reasonable expectation of success, providing warning to oncoming vehicles, just as all police vehicles would utilize in a dangerous situation, independently of the deployable device.
As to claim 9, Du et al. discloses the deployable device system of claim 1. Du et al. discloses the vehicle deploying the deployable device (0025, 0028, 0059), but is silent on where the deployable device may be stored and how it could be charged.
The Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the prior art to have the vehicle include an area configured to store the deployable device during transportation of the vehicle and a charger configured to charge the deployable device. It is necessary to store and charge the deployable device. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the deployable device system of claim 1, as disclosed by Du et al., with the use of storage and charging, as claimed, as well known in the relevant art, with a reasonable expectation of success, allowing the deployable device to arrive at the deployment safely and charged for usage, allowing for the operation. The deployable device could be stored in the cabin of the vehicle, or a trunk or storage area, and charging could be provided with standard charging systems in vehicles.
Claims 5, 13, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0197890 A1 in view of Baker et al., U.S. Patent 12,062,281 B1 (2024).
As to claim 5, Du et al. discloses the deployable device system of claim 4. Du et al. does not disclose spacing along the perimeter, as claimed.
Baker et al. discloses wherein the control system is configured to control operation of the plurality of deployable devices to space the plurality of deployable devices along the perimeter (Figure 14, Figure 15, Column 9, Lines 13-33).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the deployable device system of claim 4, as disclosed by Du et al., with the use of spacing on the perimeter, as claimed, as disclosed by Baker et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, providing a spaced presentation of the vehicles to oncoming vehicles, allowing coverage of greater area, additional visibility, and presentation of additional signs, providing a safer indication, utilizing mere duplication of the devices.
As to claim 13, Du et al. discloses the deployable device system of claim 1. Du et al. does not disclose specific instructions, as claimed.
Baker et al. discloses wherein the indication is indicative of at least one of an instruction for the approaching vehicle to slow down, merge lanes, or stop (Column 6, Line 37 – Column 7, Line 25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the deployable device system of claim 1, as disclosed by Du et al., with the use of specific instructions, as claimed, as disclosed by Baker et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, providing notice to the approaching vehicle with greater information on the required actions, allowing easier communication and instruction for the driver, providing a safer indication.
As to claim 19, Du et al. discloses the deployable device of claim 17. Du et al. does not disclose specific instructions, as claimed.
Baker et al. discloses wherein the indication includes a visual alert, and wherein the indication is indicative of at least one of an instruction for the approaching vehicle to slow down, merge lanes, or stop (Column 6, Line 37 – Column 7, Line 25).
As to claim 20, Du et al. discloses a deployable device system for controlling operation of a plurality of deployable devices, the deployable device system comprising: one or more processing circuits comprising one or more memory devices coupled to one or more processors, the one or more memory devices configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
control a motor of each deployable device of the plurality of deployable devices to space the plurality of deployable devices along a perimeter established proximate a scene (Figure 1, aerial drone 30).
Du et al. does not disclose specific instructions, as claimed.
Baker et al. discloses to control an indicator of each deployable device of the plurality of deployable devices to provide an indication, wherein the indication includes at least one of an audible sound or a visual alert, and wherein the indication is indicative of at least one of an instruction for the approaching vehicle to slow down, merge lanes, or stop (Column 6, Line 37 – Column 7, Line 25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the deployable device, as disclosed by Du et al., with the use of specific instructions, as claimed, as disclosed by Baker et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, providing notice to the approaching vehicle with greater information on the required actions, allowing easier communication and instruction for the driver, providing a safer indication.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0197890 A1 in view of Madden et al., U.S. Patent 11,995,999 B2 (2024).
As to claim 14, Du et al. discloses the deployable device system of claim 1. Du et al. does not disclose a zone, as claimed.
Boyle discloses wherein the control system is configured to:
receive information acquired about the approaching vehicle (Column 11, Lines 24-42);
determine, based on the information about the approaching vehicle, whether the approaching vehicle has entered a zone (Column 11, Lines 24-42); and
transmit, responsive to a determination that the approaching vehicle has entered the zone, a signal to the approaching vehicle indicative of the scene, wherein the zone is an area including the deployable device, the vehicle, and the scene (Column 11, lines 24-42).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the deployable device system of claim 1, as disclosed by Du et al., with the use of zones, as claimed, as disclosed by Madden et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, providing notice of a vehicle entering the scene, allowing a safer operation to focus on the work and not the vehicles.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0197890 A1 in view of Boyle, U.S. Patent 11,541,809 B2 (2023).
As to claim 15, Du et al. discloses the deployable device system of claim 1.
Du et al. does not disclose a ground vehicle, as claimed.
Boyle discloses wherein the deployable device is a ground vehicle, and wherein the propulsive element includes a plurality of tractive elements configured to engage a ground surface to propel the deployable device (Figure 13, Column 7, Lines 2-13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the deployable device system of claim 1, as disclosed by Du et al., with the use of a ground vehicle, as claimed, as disclosed by Boyle, with a reasonable expectation of success, providing a mobile platform for driving along the ground to position for the best visibility to allow a safer operation to alert vehicles approaching.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Prior art cited discloses similar systems. The present application is cited.
MICHAEL BERNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3666
/MICHAEL A BERNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666