20DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Oath/Declaration
The applicant’s oath/declaration has been reviewed by the examiner and is found to conform to the requirements prescribed in 37 C.F.R. 1.63.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P. 201.14(c), acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on applications filed on 09/01/2023 (UNITED KINGDOM 2313320.0).
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609(C), the applicant’s submissions of the Information Disclosure Statements dated 11/18/2024 is acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P 609 C(2), a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 14 line 3, recites “able” for performing a functionality which constitute intended use, never actually takes place, therefore renders any recitation claimed after not be given patentable weight. The claim should be amended to recite more direct and positive language such as “to”, “that”, or “which”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13, 15-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kumari et al. (US 2023/0358853 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kumari teaches an apparatus comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions of a sensing management function (Apparatus 2704 includes processor 2706; memory 2726 and sensor 2718 see Kumari: Fig.27; ¶[0180]), wherein execution of the instructions causes the apparatus to perform at least:
receiving, from a sensing client of a wireless communication system, a sensing service request including information related to a sensing service, requested by the sensing client, to be provided by the sensing management function (receiving, from second device (corresponding sensing client) to process RRS for radar sensing based on communication signal “at 2432, the first device 2402 may receive information indicative of a sampling rate from the second device 2404, where the sampling rate is associated with ADCs of the second device 2404 for processing the RRSs 2410” see Kumari: Fig. 24 steps 2432-2412, ¶[0162]; ¶[0177]);
selecting, based, at least in part, on the information related to the sensing service, one of: monostatic sensing for the sensing service, in which a first selected radio access network node is used for transmission and reception of radio signals used for sensing, and multi-static sensing, in which one selected radio access network node is used for transmission of radio signals for sensing and one or more other selected radio access nodes are used for reception of radio signals used for sensing (depending on whether the radar sensing is based on monostatic sensing or bistatic/multi-static sensing see Kumari: Fig.24 step 2426 and 2428; ¶[0141]; ¶[0148]);
based on monostatic sensing being selected: sending, to the first selected radio access network node used for transmission and reception of radio signals used for sensing, a sensing configuration for the first selected radio access network node (For example, as shown at 2426, if the first device 2402 is configured to perform monostatic sensing, after the first device 2402 transmits the RRSs 2410, the first device 2402 may monitor for the RRSs reflected from one or more objects 2406 see Kumari: Fig.24 steps 2424-2426; ¶[0141-0142]); and
based on multi-static sensing being selected: sending, to the one selected radio access network node used for transmission of radio signals used for sensing, a sensing configuration for the one selected radio access network node (In the other hand, as shown at 2428, if the first device 2402 is configured to perform bistatic sensing or multi-static sensing, after the first device 2402 transmits the RRSs 2410, the second device 2404 (or a third device) may receive the RRSs 2410 and also monitor for the RRSs reflected from the one or more objects 2406 see Kumari: Fig.24 steps 2424-2426; ¶[0143-0144]; ¶[0148]).
Regarding claim 2, Kumari taught the apparatus of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Kumari further teaches wherein the sensing configuration for the first selected radio access network node used for transmission and reception of radio signals used for sensing comprises at least one of a sensing resource configuration, a sensing session configuration, and a sensing data reporting configuration (configure parameters associated with a set of radar reference signal for radar sensing based on communication signal for any wireless device regardless first selected node or other selected node (see ¶[0152]) see “At 2504, the wireless device may configure one or more parameters associated with a set of radar reference signals for radar sensing based on the set of communication signals” see Kumari: ¶[0153]; Fig.25 step 2504).
Regarding claim 3, Kumari taught the apparatus of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Kumari further teaches wherein the sensing configuration for the one selected radio access network node used for transmission of radio signals for sensing comprises at least one of a sensing resource configuration, a sensing session configuration, and a sensing data reporting configuration (configure parameters associated with a set of radar reference signal for radar sensing based on communication signal for any wireless device regardless first selected node or other selected node (see ¶[0152]) see “At 2504, the wireless device may configure one or more parameters associated with a set of radar reference signals for radar sensing based on the set of communication signals” see Kumari: ¶[0153]; Fig.25 step 2504).
Regarding claim 4, Kumari taught the apparatus of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Kumari further teaches wherein, based on multi-static sensing being selected, execution of the instructions further causes the apparatus to perform at least: sending, to each respective other radio access network nodes used for reception of radio signals, a sensing configuration for the respective other radio access network node (based on the reception of the RRSs 2410 (from the first device 2402) and the reception of the reflected RRSs (from the one or more objects 2406), the speed, the distance, and/or the direction of the one or more objects 2406 with respect to the first device 2402 and/or the second device 2404 may be calculated see Kumari: Fig.24 step 2428; ¶[0143-0144]).
Regarding claim 5, Kumari taught the apparatus of claim 4 as described hereinabove. Kumari further teaches wherein the sensing configuration for each respective other radio access network node comprises at least one of a sensing resource configuration, a sensing session configuration, and a sensing data reporting configuration (configure parameters associated with a set of radar reference signal for radar sensing based on communication signal for any wireless device regardless first selected node or other selected node (see ¶[0152]) see “At 2504, the wireless device may configure one or more parameters associated with a set of radar reference signals for radar sensing based on the set of communication signals” see Kumari: ¶[0153]; Fig.25 step 2504).
Regarding claim 6, Kumari taught the apparatus of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Kumari further teaches wherein the information related to said sensing service comprises at least one of: a sensing service type for the sensing service; sensing requirements for the sensing service; and sensing quality of service for the sensing service (receiving information indicative of sampling rate to process RRS 2410 based on monostatic 2426 or biostatic sensing 2428 “the first device 2402 may receive information indicative of a sampling rate from the second device 2404, where the sampling rate may be associated with analog-to-digital converters (ADCs) of the second device 2404 for processing the RRSs 2410” see Kumari: Fig.24; ¶[0141-144]).
Regarding claim 7, Kumari taught the apparatus of claim 6 as described hereinabove. Kumari further teaches wherein the sensing requirements for the sensing service include a sensing area for the sensing service (serve as a beacon for other Rx devices in an area see Kumari: ¶[0149]).
Regarding claim 8, Kumari taught the apparatus of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Kumari further teaches wherein sending the sensing configuration for the first selected radio access network node comprises sending, to the first selected radio access network node, a request to establish a sensing session for the sensing service that includes the sensing configuration for the first selected radio access network node (At 2424, the first device 2402 may transmit the set of RRSs 2410 associated with the one or more parameters. Note while the communication flow 2400 shows the first device 2402 transmits communication signals 2408 prior to the RRSs 2410 see Kumari: Fig.24 step 2424; ¶[0140-0141]).
Regarding claim 9, Kumari taught the apparatus of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Kumari further teaches wherein execution of the instructions further causes the apparatus to perform at least: sending, to the first selected radio access network node used for transmission and reception of radio signals for sensing, a request for the radio access network node to initiate sensing (At 2424, the first device 2402 may transmit the set of RRSs 2410 associated with the one or more parameters. Note while the communication flow 2400 shows the first device 2402 transmits communication signals 2408 prior to the RRSs 2410 see Kumari: Fig.24 step 2424; ¶[0140-0141]).
Regarding claim 10, Kumari taught the apparatus of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Kumari further teaches wherein execution of the instructions further causes the apparatus to perform at least one of: receiving sensing data from the first selected radio access network node used for transmission and reception of radio signals for sensing; and receiving sensing data from the one or more other selected radio access network nodes used for reception of radio signals used for sensing (receiving reflected RRSs from objects 2406 see Kumari: Fig.24 step 2424; ¶[0143]).
Regarding claim 11, Kumari taught the apparatus of claim 10 as described hereinabove. Kumari further teaches wherein execution of the instructions further causes the apparatus to perform: processing the sensing data to generate sensing output data; and providing the sensing output data (providing the reception of the reflected RRSs (from the one or more objects 2406) see Kumari: Fig.24; ¶[0143]).
Regarding claim 12, Kumari taught the apparatus of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Kumari further teaches wherein, sending the sensing configuration for the one selected radio access network node comprises sending, to the one selected radio access network node, a request to establish a sensing session for the sensing service that includes the sensing configuration for the one selected radio access network node (during the Bistastic sensing 2428, first device 2402 sending to RRSs 2410 to second device 2404 and object(s) 2406 to establish sensing session between first device 2402 and 2404/2406 see Kumari: ¶[0143]; Fig.24 steps 2428 and 2424).
Regarding claim 13, Kumari taught the apparatus of claim 12 as described hereinabove. Kumari further teaches wherein the request further includes an indication that the one selected radio access network nodes initiate sensing (the Rx device may try to initiate a communication link with the first device 2402, e.g., by pointing a narrow beam towards the detected direction see Kumari: ¶[0149]).
Regarding claim 15, Kumari teaches an apparatus comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions for a sensing management function (Apparatus 2704 includes processor 2706; memory 2726 and sensor 2718 see Kumari: Fig.27; ¶[0180]), wherein execution of the instructions causes the apparatus to perform at least:
receiving a sensing configuration for a sensing service at a radio access network node of a wireless communication system from a sensing management function of the wireless communication system (receiving, from second device (corresponding sensing client) to process RRS for radar sensing based on communication signal “at 2432, the first device 2402 may receive information indicative of a sampling rate from the second device 2404, where the sampling rate is associated with ADCs of the second device 2404 for processing the RRSs 2410” see Kumari: Fig. 24 steps 2432-2412, ¶[0162]; ¶[0177]), wherein the sensing configuration configures at least one of monostatic sensing for the sensing service, in which the radio access network node is a first selected radio access network node used for transmission and reception of radio signals used for sensing (For example, as shown at 2426, if the first device 2402 is configured to perform monostatic sensing, after the first device 2402 transmits the RRSs 2410, the first device 2402 may monitor for the RRSs reflected from one or more objects 2406 see Kumari: Fig.24 steps 2424-2426; ¶[0141-0142]), and multi-static sensing, in which the radio access network node is one selected radio access network node used for transmission of radio signals for sensing or one of one or more other selected radio access nodes used for reception of radio signals used for sensing (In the other hand, as shown at 2428, if the first device 2402 is configured to perform bistatic sensing or multi-static sensing, after the first device 2402 transmits the RRSs 2410, the second device 2404 (or a third device) may receive the RRSs 2410 and also monitor for the RRSs reflected from the one or more objects 2406 see Kumari: Fig.24 steps 2424-2426; ¶[0143-0144]; ¶[0148]),
configuring the radio access node in accordance with said sensing configuration (depending on whether the radar sensing is based on monostatic sensing or bistatic/multi-static sensing see Kumari: Fig.24 step 2426 and 2428; ¶[0141]; ¶[0148]); and
causing the radio access network node to initiate sensing (At 2424, the first device 2402 may transmit the set of RRSs 2410 associated with the one or more parameters. Note while the communication flow 2400 shows the first device 2402 transmits communication signals 2408 prior to the RRSs 2410 see Kumari: Fig.24 step 2424; ¶[0140-0141]).
Regarding claim 16, Kumari taught the apparatus of claim 15 as described hereinabove. Kumari further teaches wherein execution of the instructions further causes the apparatus to perform at least one of: transmission of radio signals for sensing; and reception of radio signals for sensing (Monostatic sensing 2426 transmit RRS 2410 and receiving Reflected the RRSs at step 2424 see Kumari: Fig.24; ¶[0141]).
Regarding claim 17, Kumari taught the apparatus of claim 15 as described hereinabove. Kumari further teaches wherein execution of the instructions further causes the apparatus to perform at least one of: providing received radio signals to the sensing management function; and processing received radio signals and providing the processed received radio signals to the sensing management function (receiving supported sensing configurations/sampling rate at step 2432 and transmitting sensing configuration selected or applied 2430 and communication signal at 2408 see Kumari: Fig.24).
Regarding claim 18, Kumari taught the apparatus of claim 15 as described hereinabove. Kumari further teaches wherein execution of the instructions further causes the apparatus to perform at least: receiving a request for the radio access network node to initiate sensing (At 2424, the first device 2402 may transmit the set of RRSs 2410 associated with the one or more parameters. Note while the communication flow 2400 shows the first device 2402 transmits communication signals 2408 prior to the RRSs 2410 see Kumari: Fig.24 step 2424; ¶[0140-0141]).
Regarding claim 20, Kumari taught the apparatus of claim 15 as described hereinabove. Kumari further teaches wherein execution of the instructions further causes the apparatus to perform at least one of: providing a sensing session establishment response in response to a request to establish a sensing session (Sending RRS 2410 at step 2424 and reflected RRSs response to RRs see Kumari: Fig.24; ¶[0141]); or sending information about an updated sensing configuration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumari et al. (US 2023/0358853 A1) in view of Gummadi et al. (US 2023/0314584 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Kumari taught the apparatus of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Kumari does not explicitly teaches wherein execution of the instructions further causes the apparatus to perform at least: controlling session admission in which a determination is made regarding whether respective selected network node(s) are able to meet the defined requirements.
However, Gummadi teaches the wherein execution of the instructions further causes the apparatus to perform at least: controlling session admission in which a determination is made regarding whether respective selected network node(s) are able to meet the defined requirements (evaluated sensing requirements 610 whether the requirement meet the bistatic sensing required 620 see Gummadi: Fig.6; ¶[0119-0121]) in order to enhance use higher frequency bands to enable highly accurate 5G-based position (see Gummadi: ¶[0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to create the invention of Kumari to include (or to use, etc.) the wherein execution of the instructions further causes the apparatus to perform at least: controlling session admission in which a determination is made regarding whether respective selected network node(s) are able to meet the defined requirements as taught by Gummadi in order to enhance use higher frequency bands to enable highly accurate 5G-based position (see Gummadi: ¶[0003]).
Regarding claim 19, Kumari taught the apparatus of claim 15 as described hereinabove. Kumari further teaches wherein execution of the instructions further causes the apparatus to perform: controlling session admission in which a determination is made regarding whether sufficient resources are available to meet the sensing requirements defined in the session establishment messages.
However, Gummadi teaches the wherein execution of the instructions further causes the apparatus to perform: controlling session admission in which a determination is made regarding whether sufficient resources are available to meet the sensing requirements defined in the session establishment messages (evaluated sensing requirements 610 whether the requirement meet the bistatic sensing required 620 see Gummadi: Fig.6; ¶[0119-0121]) in order to enhance use higher frequency bands to enable highly accurate 5G-based position (see Gummadi: ¶[0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to create the invention of Kumari to include (or to use, etc.) the wherein execution of the instructions further causes the apparatus to perform: controlling session admission in which a determination is made regarding whether sufficient resources are available to meet the sensing requirements defined in the session establishment messages as taught by Gummadi in order to enhance use higher frequency bands to enable highly accurate 5G-based position (see Gummadi: ¶[0003]).
Conclusion
GUANG W. LI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2478
September 9, 2026
/GUANG W LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478