DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Information disclosure statements filed 8/29/2024 and 1/29/2026 have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication No. US 2010/0322581 A1 to Cooke et al. (hereinafter “Cooke”).
Regarding claim 1, Cooke discloses a fiber management system comprising: a tray (e.g. 20 in Fig. 3) comprising: a first rail (56 in Fig. 6) positioned at a first side end of the tray; a second rail (i.e. the other 56 in Fig. 1) positioned at a second side end of the tray; a tray body (i.e. not explicitly labeled but clearly shown in Fig. 6; see also paragraph [0047]) surface that extends from the first side end to the second side end, the tray body including a middle portion between the first rail and the second rail (Fig. 6); and at least one latch rail (32 in Fig. 6) positioned on the middle portion, the at least one latch rail including a front stop latch (38, 40 in Fig. 4) at a front end of the latch rail; and a fiber module (22 in Fig. 3) comprising: a first side wall (102A in Fig. 10A) including a front post (28A in Fig. 13) positioned near a front end of the fiber module, the front post configured to engage the front stop latch (better shown in Fig. 5); a second side wall (102B in Fig. 10A); a front mounting face (96 in Fig. 10A), the front mounting face including a front opening (23 in Fig. 10A) configured to receive a front-side fiber component (i.e. fiber optic connectors; see paragraph [0045]); and a rear wall (98 in Fig. 10A) including a rear opening (i.e. the rear opening occupied by element 100 as shown in Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 2, Cooke discloses wherein the front stop latch is configured to flex in a direction that is perpendicular to an installation direction of the fiber module when the front post engages the front stop latch (paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claim 3, Cooke discloses wherein the rear wall further comprises a rear handle (48 in Fig. 11) that protrudes out from the rear wall.
Regarding claim 4, Cooke discloses wherein the rear handle is positioned between the rear opening and an outer edge of the rear wall (i.e. Fig. 11 clearly shows element 48 being positioned between the opening and the right side edge of the rear wall).
Regarding claim 6, Cooke discloses wherein the at least one latch rails includes at least three latch rails (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 7, Cooke discloses wherein the at least one latch rails includes a single latch rail (Fig. 22).
Regarding claim 8, Cooke discloses wherein the fiber module is configured for both front side and rear side installation on the tray (paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 9, Cooke discloses wherein the rear opening is configured to receive a rear side fiber component (100 in Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 10, Cooke discloses wherein the rear side fiber component is a multi fiber component (100 in Fig. 11; paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 11, Cooke discloses wherein the front side fiber component (23 in Fig. 3) is a multi fiber component (i.e. duplex fiber optic component- paragraph [0045]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooke.
Cooke discloses a fiber management system according to claim 1 as already discussed above. Although it discloses the use of a first rear handle and a second rear handle (46 and 48 in Fig. 11) it does not explicitly disclose that they are positioned on a first side of the rear opening and a second side of a rear opening as claimed on the present application.
On the other hand, the relative positions of the handles with respect to the rear opening of the module would have been a mere design choice well known in the art, not affecting the critical inventive concept of the optical fiber module device of Cooke. The handle position and the rear opening are well known in the art to be positioned depending on the space requirements of the internal components and the manufacturing and assembly convenience of the producers of the fiber optic module devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the present application to modify the device of Cooke to have the first and second rear handles to be positioned on the firs and second sides of the rear opening in the manner claimed in the present application.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,105,338 B2 (hereinafter “the ‘338 patent”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed limitations of the present application are obvious variations of the claim limitations of the patented claims of the ‘338 patent.
Specifically, claim 1 of the ‘338 patent recites a fiber management system (col. 11, ll. 54) comprising: a tray (col. 11, ll. 55) comprising: a first rail positioned at a first side end of the tray (col. 1, ll. 57); a second rail positioned at a second side end of the tray (col. 1, ll. 59); a tray body (col. 11, ll. 55) surface that extends from the first side end to the second side end (inherent property of a tray body, since if the surface doesn’t extend from one side to another, it will not be a “tray”), the tray body including a middle portion between the first rail and the second rail (also an inherent property of any tray); and a fiber module (col. 11, ll. 61) comprising: a first side wall including a front post positioned near a front end of the fiber module (col. 11, ll. 62-64); a second side wall (col. 11, ll. 65); a front mounting face (col. 12, ll. 1), the front mounting face including a front opening configured to receive a front-side fiber component (col. 12, ll. 1-3).
However, the’338 patent does not explicitly recite the use of at least one latch rail comprising a front stop latch, in the manner claimed in the present application. In addition, the ’338 patent does not explicitly claim that the fiber module has a rear wall including a rear opening as claimed in the present application. On the other hand, these features are well known features in the art, and they do not make the claimed limitations of the present application patentable over the patented claims of the ‘338 patent. The use of a latch rail comprising a latch stop is well known and common in the art. Such latch rails are widely and advantageously used in the art in order to securely and repeatably position fiber optic modules within a fiber optic cabinet tray. In addition, the use of a rear wall and a rear opening in a fiber optic module is also well known and common in the art. such rear openings allow for convenient and more flexible positional access to the internal optical fiber components of the fiber optic module. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing of the present application, to modify the claims of the ‘338 patent to claim at least one latch rail comprising a front stop latch, and the fiber module having a rear wall including a rear opening as claimed in the present application.
Conclusion
/SUNG H PAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874