DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2 October 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Churchill does not explicitly disclose a frame that partially encloses the stator. Admittedly, Fig. 1B of Churchill is lacking reference numerals. In an effort to clarify the rejection of the previous Office Action, the below annotated Fig. 1B has two triangles clearly showing the stator housing that at least partially encloses the stator, with the rotor shaft clearly excluded. Further. The semi-circle on the lower half of the Fig. 1B is used to depict the second housing. Lastly, the two smaller circles on the newly annotated Fig. 1B can be interpreted to show the plurality of inverters (164, 168) connected to the second housing. Further, while one can argue that the support members are an inevitable consequence of the disclosure of Churchill as the inverters cannot be floating in midair, in light of the amendment, the below rejection is now changed to be rejected under 35 USC 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Churchill et al. (“Churchill”; US 2022/0340292).
Regarding claim 1: Churchill discloses a motor and inverter assembly (Fig. 1B), comprising:
a motor, including:
a rotor (148) ;
a stator (152) concentrically arranged with the rotor, the stator having a frame (part above the stator depicted by two triangles in annotated Fig. 1B, above) that at least partially encloses the stator (in this case, the top portion is enclosed by the frame);
a shaft (140) coupled to a central portion of the rotor and configured to transmit a rotational force to a propulsor (104, Fig. 1A) coupled to the shaft, to drive the propulsor;
a first housing (upper part of housing above stator 152, shown by the solid circle in annotated Fig. 1B below) coupled to a first end portion of the frame of the stator; and
a second housing (lower part of housing below stator 152, shown by the dashed circle in annotated Fig. 1B below) coupled to a second end portion of the frame of the stator, such that the rotor and the stator are positioned between the first housing and the second housing (as shown in Fig. 1B); and
an inverter assembly coupled to the motor, the inverter assembly comprising:
a plurality of inverters (164, 168); and the plurality of inverters coupled to the motor (see small circled portion in annotated Fig. 1B above).
Churchill does not explicitly disclose a plurality of support members that extend from the plurality inverters to the second housing.
However, support members extending from the plurality of inverters to the second housing would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, as gravity would act on the inverter, thus requiring it to be secured. As there are only a finite number of components that are part of the motor and close to the inverter, the skilled artisan would consider securing the inverters to the second housing with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2: Churchill discloses the first housing includes:
a central opening guiding the shaft therethrough (at the exact location of the solid circle in annotated Fig. 1B above);
a bearing receptacle defined at the central opening, the bearing receptacle housing a first bearing (unlabeled but clearly apparent within the above circled region, paragraph 0051);
a flanged portion formed along a peripheral portion of the first housing (at the location of the line leading from 104); and
a plurality of mounting points formed in the flanged portion, wherein the plurality of mounting points are configured to receive a fastener for coupling the motor and inverter assembly to a structural component of an aircraft (as 104 is a propulsor, it must inherently be mounted to the motor).
Regarding claim 3: Churchill discloses the first bearing is a tapered roller bearing configured to support a load generated in response to rotation of the propulsor (shown by the angled lines in the annotated figure below), the first bearing including:
a first roller bearing (bearing at the upper arrow in the annotated figure below) received in the bearing receptacle of the first housing, the first roller bearing having a first bearing capacity configured to react to a moment force imparted on the shaft in response to rotation of the propulsor (inherent for a bearing); and
a second roller bearing (bearing at lower arrow in the annotated figure below) received in the bearing receptacle of the first housing, the second roller bearing having a second bearing capacity configured to react to a thrust load imparted on the shaft in response to rotation of the propulsor (as the bearing is at an angle, it will react to a force in the A direction).
Regarding claim 15: Churchill discloses the shaft is a hollow shaft configured to receive components of a pitch control mechanism therethrough (paragraph 0020), coupling an actuation device at a first end portion of the shaft to the propulsor coupled to a second end portion of the shaft (first and second end portion here is not further defined and thus can be open to interpretation of wherever said pitch control mechanism is attached).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Churchill, in view of Lugt et al. (“Lugt”; US 2025/0290829).
Regarding claim 14: Churchull discloses a sealed bearing received in one of the first housing or the second housing and supporting the shaft (shown by the arrows in the annotated figure above).
Churchill does not explicitly disclose a temperature sensor coupled in the one of the first housing or the second housing and configured to detect a grease temperature proximate an outer race of the sealed bearing, wherein the grease temperature is indicative of a condition of the sealed bearing.
However, Lugt discloses a temperature sensor (2) coupled in the one of the first housing or the second housing (when combined with Churchill, in this case the first housing) and configured to detect a grease temperature proximate an outer race of the sealed bearing (paragraph 0013),
wherein the grease temperature is indicative of a condition of the sealed bearing (paragraph 0013).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sealed bearing of Churchill to have the grease temperature sensor of Lugt in order to better understand the service life of the bearing (paragraph 0005).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 16-29 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
The prior art of record, alone or in combination does not explicitly teach, suggest, or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan the motor and inverter assembly of claim 4, specifically comprising:
a first fan coupled to the rotor, positioned between the rotor and the first housing, and configured to rotate with the rotor to draw cooling air from the first housing radially into the motor; and a second fan coupled to the shaft, positioned between the second housing and the inverter assembly, and configured to rotate with the shaft to draw cooling air axially through the motor, in the context of the other components in the claim.
The prior art of record, alone or in combination does not explicitly teach, suggest, or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan the motor and inverter assembly of claim 16, specifically comprising:
a radial fan coupled to the rotor, at a first end portion of the motor, and configured to rotate with the rotor to draw cooling air radially into the motor; an axial fan coupled to the shaft, at a second end portion of the motor, and configured to rotate with the shaft to draw cooling air axially through the motor, in the context of the other components in the claim.
The prior art of record, alone or in combination does not explicitly teach, suggest, or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan the motor and inverter assembly of claim 26, specifically comprising:
cooling air is drawn radially into the motor by the first plurality of vanes and the second plurality of vanes; a first portion of cooling air flows in a radial direction along the first side of the base, through adjacent vanes of the first plurality of vanes, and is guided in an axial direction by a stationary shroud coupled radially outward from the radial fan; and a second portion of the cooling air flows in the radial direction along the second side of the base, and is guided in the axial direction by a contour of the second side of the base defining a rotating shroud, in context of the other components in the claim.
Claims 5-13, 17-25, and 27-29 are allowable due to their dependency on an allowed claim.
Note, Leli et al. (US 2017/0346366) discloses two fans 24, 28 at two ends of a motor, but is silent as to the axial and radial airflows claimed above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN GUGGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834