DETAILED ACTION
Authorization for Internet Communication
To expedite prosecution, filing a written authorization for internet communication is recommended. Doing so permits USPTO to communicate using email to schedule interviews and/or discuss other aspects of the application. Without the written authorization in place, USPTO cannot respond to email communications. The preferred method of providing authorization is by filing form PTO/SB/439, available at https://www.uspto.gov/patent/forms/forms. See MPEP 502.03.
Title of the Invention
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Proposal for a new title: "Resource Allocation for Activation, Reply and Report Signaling for Ambient Internet of Things Devices"
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 9-14 and 19-22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites in part "receive, from a network node, an indication of a second resource to transmit a reply signal, wherein …, and receive, from a device, the reply signal over the second resource." The underlined phrases are not clearly understood. The resource's designated function as allocated by the network node is opposite from an action the claimed apparatus is instructed to perform. Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Regarding claims 10-14, these claims depend from claim 9, thus carry the same indefiniteness issues as discussed above, and therefore are rejected on the same grounds discussed above.
Claim 19 depends from claim 17 that recites transmitting "an indication of at least one of …" Claim 19 then recites "receiving … a second indication to allocate the set of resources …" The term "the set of resources" has no antecedent basis anywhere in claim 17. Appropriate correction is required. Claim 17 is satisfied by transmitting an indication of just one resource. But claim 19 requires that the set being allocated comprises all three resources. This creates an internal inconsistency: a dependent claim is supposed to further narrow the scope of its parent claim, not introduce a limitation that presupposes a different resource grouping than what the independent claim actually requires. If the apparatus of claim 17 only ever transmitted an indication of the first resource, it becomes unclear how that same apparatus is now receiving a second indication to allocate "the set" comprising all three - the claims don't make clear whether this is the same transaction, a different/later transaction, or how the "at least one" limitation of claim 17 is supposed to reconcile with the "all three" limitation of claim 19. This is precisely the sort of "internal inconsistency between limitations".
Regarding claims 20-22, these claims depend from claim 19, thus carry the same indefiniteness issues as discussed above, and therefore are rejected on the same grounds discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2024/0340960, “Li”) in view of Takeda et al. (US 2022/0182815, “Takeda”) and Wu et al. (US 2025/0158789, “Wu”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Li unless otherwise mentioned.
Li comprises the following features:
Regarding claim 1, an apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (See Fig. 10 for 1040 “Processor”, 1030 “Memory” and 1035 “Code”) , cause the apparatus at least to:
receive, from a network node, an indication of a first resource to transmit an activation signal (See below [0185] “control signaling” Note that “an activation signal” will be discussed in view of Takeda.),
wherein the first resource is part of a set of resources allocated by the network node comprising the first resource to transmit the activation signal, a second resource to transmit a reply signal and a third resource to transmit a report signal ([0185] “control signaling indicating at least a first RACH resource allocation associated with a basic UE capability level, a second RACH resource allocation associated with a first capability level, and a third RACH resource allocation associated with a second capability level or repetition preferences” Note that the second capability resource carries “capability information” back to the network – functioning as a reply – while the third/coverage-enhancement resource carries “repetition preferences” – functioning as a report of device-side parameters.); and
transmit, to a device, the activation signal over the first resource ([0177] “At 615, UE 115-c may transmit random access signaling over one or more of the at least two overlapping RACH resource allocations, where whether the RACH signaling includes the capability information or repetition preferences, or both, is based on whether the at least two RACH resource allocations”).
It is noted that while disclosing resources for RACH, Li does not specifically teach about an activation signal. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Takeda as follows;
an activation signal ([Takeda, 0071] “In S101, the base station apparatus 10 transmits configuration information, and the user equipment 20 receives configuration information. The configuration information includes a UE group ID”, and [0073] “In S102, the user equipment 20 determines a time and frequency position of a WUS resource to be monitored based on the UE group ID configured in S101.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Li by using the features of Takeda in order to effectively reduce power consumptions such that “a first activation signal, which is an activation signal that becomes a trigger for monitoring a paging occasion, for each group of grouped user equipments and transmits a second activation signal, which is an activation signal common to multiple groups” [Takeda, 0008].
It is noted that while disclosing resources for RACH, Li does not specifically teach about transmitting a signal to another entity. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Wu as follows;
transmit, to da device, the activation signal ([Wu, 0127 and Fig. 5] “At 525, UE 115-f, UE 115-g, or both may select a parameter of a waveform transmission for activating the passive device 502.”, and [Wu, 0127 and Fig. 5] “At 530, UE 115-f, UE 115-g, or both may transmit the waveform transmission”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Li by using the features of Wu in order to effectively configure waveform transmissions for passive device activation such that “the described techniques provide for a wireless device (e.g., a reader) may select one or more waveform transmission parameters for activating a passive device” [Wu, 0004].
Regarding claim 2, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
receive, from the network node, an indication of a transmission power to transmit the activation signal ([Wu, 0124] “At 520, the network entity 105-b may transmit a waveform parameter indication to the UE 115-f, the UE 115-g, or both.”, and [Wu, 0124] “The list may include at least one parameter of the waveform transmission, such as a waveform transmission power level”); and
transmit, to the device, the activation signal over the first resource according to the transmission power ([Wu, 0127] “At 525, UE 115-f, UE 115-g, or both may select a parameter of a waveform transmission for activating the passive device 502.”).
Regarding claim 3, the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: receive, from a network node, downlink control information comprising at least one of the indication of the first resource or the indication of the transmission power to transmit the activation signal ([Wu, 0124] “The control message may be included in RRC signaling, a MAC-CE, DCI, or the like.”).
Regarding claim 4, the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the indication of the transmission power to transmit the activation signal comprises at least one of: the transmission power to transmit the activation signal ([Wu, 0129] “UE 115-f, UE 115-g, or both may transmit the waveform transmission for a duration and at a power level that may ensure the passive device 502 remains active during a gap between transmission resources.”, and aforesaid [Wu, 0124].); or an offset to be applied to an open loop transmission power determined by the apparatus to determine the transmission power to transmit the activation signal (This alternative is not examined.).
Regarding claim 8, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus comprises an activator user equipment ([Wu, 0119] “Network entity 105-b, UE 115-f, and UE 115-g may be examples of a network entity 105 and UEs 115 as described with reference to FIGS. 1 and 2, and may also be referred to as an active device.”).
Claim(s) 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2024/0340960, “Li”) in view of Takeda et al. (US 2022/0182815, “Takeda”) and Wu et al. (US 2025/0158789, “Wu”) and further in view of Kishiyama et al. (US 2010/0103867, “Kishiyama”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Li unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 5, it is noted that while disclosing resources for RACH, Li does not specifically teach about power levels of a first and a second transmissions. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Kishiyama as follows;
the apparatus of claim 4,
wherein if the transmission of the activation signal is a first transmission of the activation signal, the offset is set to a default value ([Kishiyama, 0071] “As shown in FIG. 4, no uplink reference signal has been transmitted before step S43; therefore, an initial transmission power value P.sub.ref(n=0) is determined in step S43.”); and
wherein if the transmission of the activation signal is a subsequent transmission of the activation signal, the offset is set to a value determined by the network node based on a power control feedback received from a reader user equipment ([Kishiyama, 0059] “The offset determination section 36 determines the first offset power value .DELTA..sub.L1L2 and the second offset power value .DELTA..sub.data based on at least one of the receiving quality of the L1/L2 control signal, the receiving quality of the data signal, and another parameter value.”, and [Kishiyama, 0050] “When the information indicating the offset value .DELTA..sub.offset is required to be reported to the base station, the information is fed to the L1/L2 control signal generation section 22 or the data signal generation section 23, so that the information indicating the offset value .DELTA..sub.offset is transmitted to the base station by using an adequate transmission signal.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Li by using the features of Kishiyama in order to effectively control transmission power by using a closed loop TPC method such that “the reference signal for CQI measurement should be transmitted across a wide bandwidth while the power density per unit bandwidth of the reference signal is controlled at a lower level.” [Kishiyama, 0007].
Claim(s) 6-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2024/0340960, “Li”) in view of Takeda et al. (US 2022/0182815, “Takeda”) and Wu et al. (US 2025/0158789, “Wu”) and further in view of Lee et al. (US 10,560,241, “Lee”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Li unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 6, it is noted that while disclosing resources for RACH, Li does not specifically teach about a resource for a reply signal. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Lee as follows;
the apparatus of claim 1,wherein the activation signal comprises an indication of the second resource to transmit a reply signal ([Lee, claim 4] “a PUCCH resource for the transmission of the ACK/NACK information based on the PUCCH format 1a/1b is determined based on: a Control Channel Element (CCE) index of the detected PDCCH, or a value of a Transmit Power Control (TPC) field of a PDCCH indicating SPS activation”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Li by using the features of Lee in order to effectively provide various types of communication services such that “to provide a method for efficiently transmitting control information in a wireless communication system” [Lee, Col. 1: lines 46-48].
Regarding claim 7, the apparatus of claim 1,wherein the activation signal comprises an indication of a transmission power to transmit a reply signal ([Lee, claim 4] “a PUCCH resource for the transmission of the ACK/NACK information based on the PUCCH format 1a/1b is determined based on: a Control Channel Element (CCE) index of the detected PDCCH, or a value of a Transmit Power Control (TPC) field of a PDCCH indicating SPS activation”).
The rational and motivation for adding this teaching of Lee are the same as for claim 6.
Claim(s) 9 and 11-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2024/0340960, “Li”) in view of Takeda et al. (US 2022/0182815, “Takeda”) and Kim et al. (US 2022/0159671, “Kim”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Li unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 9, an apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (See Fig. 10 for 1040 “Processor”, 1030 “Memory” and 1035 “Code”), cause the apparatus at least to:
receive, from a network node, an indication of a second resource to transmit a reply signal (See below [0185] “control signaling” Note that “a reply signal” will be discussed in view of Kim.),
wherein the second resource is part of a set of resources allocated by the network node comprising a first resource to transmit an activation signal, the second resource to transmit the reply signal and a third resource to transmit a report signal ([0185] “control signaling indicating at least a first RACH resource allocation associated with a basic UE capability level, a second RACH resource allocation associated with a first capability level, and a third RACH resource allocation associated with a second capability level or repetition preferences” Note that the second capability resource carries “capability information” back to the network – functioning as a reply – while the third/coverage-enhancement resource carries “repetition preferences” – functioning as a report of device-side parameters.).
It is noted that while disclosing resources for RACH, Li does not specifically teach about an activation signal. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Takeda as follows;
an activation signal ([Takeda, 0071] “In S101, the base station apparatus 10 transmits configuration information, and the user equipment 20 receives configuration information. The configuration information includes a UE group ID”, and [0073] “In S102, the user equipment 20 determines a time and frequency position of a WUS resource to be monitored based on the UE group ID configured in S101.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Li by using the features of Takeda in order to effectively reduce power consumptions such that “a first activation signal, which is an activation signal that becomes a trigger for monitoring a paging occasion, for each group of grouped user equipments and transmits a second activation signal, which is an activation signal common to multiple groups” [Takeda, 0008].
It is noted that while disclosing resources for RACH, Li does not specifically teach about receiving a reply signal. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Kim as follows;
receive, from a device, the reply signal over the second resource ([Kim, 0113] “In operation S320, the controller 320 checks a second frequency band used for uplink. Here, the second frequency band is allocated based on the collected energy amount, channel environment, fairness, and traffic. Information on the second frequency band may be included in the data of the first frequency band received from a gateway.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Li by using the features of Kim in order to effectively configure waveform transmissions such that “it may be desired to remove the relatively strong DLI interference to decode the ambient backscatter signal.” [Kim, 0007].
Regarding claim 11, the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the at least one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: receive, from the network node, an indication of the third resource to transmit a report signal (See aforesaid [0185].); and transmit, to the network node, a report signal (See aforesaid [0185].).
Regarding claim 12, the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the at least one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: decode a content comprised in the reply signal; and convey the decoded content in the report signal ([Kim, 0076] “the terminal that has received the backscatter signal through the gateway 100 treats the reflected information signal included in the backscatter signal like noise, and decodes only the information of the reflected power signal included in the backscatter signal to receive information of the IoT device.”, and [Kim, 0057] “a case where the gateway 100 relays information transmitted from the IoT device 300 to the terminal may indicate that the gateway 100 receives information from the IoT device 300.” Under BRI, this relaying of the decoded tag information from the gateway to the terminal reads on “convey the decoded content in the report signal”).
Regarding claim 13, the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the at least one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: determine a power control feedback based on the reply signal; and convey the power control feedback in the report signal ([Kim, 0076] “the terminal that has received the backscatter signal through the gateway 100 treats the reflected information signal included in the backscatter signal like noise, and decodes only the information of the reflected power signal included in the backscatter signal to receive information of the IoT device.” This established that Kim’s system distinguishes and measures the “reflected power signal” component of the reply – i.e., a power-based measurement derived from the reply signal – reading on “determine a power control feedback based on the reply signal” under BRI. See [Kim, 0057] for another support.).
Regarding claim 14, the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the power control feedback comprises at least one of: a power measured from the reply signal (see aforesaid [Kim, 0076]); a difference between a power measured from the reply signal and a power measured from the activation signal; a signal to interference plus noise ratio measured from the reply signal; or a difference between a signal to interference plus noise ratio measured from the reply signal and a signal to interference plus noise ratio measured from the activation signal (These alternatives are not examined.).
Claim(s) 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2024/0340960, “Li”) in view of Takeda et al. (US 2022/0182815, “Takeda”) and Kim et al. (US 2022/0159671, “Kim”) and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2025/0158789, “Wu”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Li unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 10, it is noted that while disclosing resources for RACH, Li does not specifically teach about transmitting a signal to another entity. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Wu as follows;
the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the at least one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: receive, from the network node, an indication of the first resource to transmit the activation signal (aforesaid [0185].); and transmit, to the device, the activation signal over the first resource ([Wu, 0127 and Fig. 5] “At 525, UE 115-f, UE 115-g, or both may select a parameter of a waveform transmission for activating the passive device 502.”, and [Wu, 0127 and Fig. 5] “At 530, UE 115-f, UE 115-g, or both may transmit the waveform transmission”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Li by using the features of Wu in order to effectively configure waveform transmissions for passive device activation such that “the described techniques provide for a wireless device (e.g., a reader) may select one or more waveform transmission parameters for activating a passive device” [Wu, 0004].
Claim(s) 17 and 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2024/0340960, “Li”) in view of Takeda et al. (US 2022/0182815, “Takeda”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Li unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 17, an apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
transmit, to at least one of an activator user equipment or a reader user equipment, an indication of at least one of a first resource to transmit the activation signal, a second resource to transmit a reply signal or a third resource to transmit a report signal ([0185] “control signaling indicating at least a first RACH resource allocation associated with a basic UE capability level, a second RACH resource allocation associated with a first capability level, and a third RACH resource allocation associated with a second capability level or repetition preferences” Note that the second capability resource carries “capability information” back to the network – functioning as a reply – while the third/coverage-enhancement resource carries “repetition preferences” – functioning as a report of device-side parameters.).
It is noted that while disclosing resources for RACH, Li does not specifically teach about an activation signal. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Takeda as follows;
an activation signal ([Takeda, 0071] “In S101, the base station apparatus 10 transmits configuration information, and the user equipment 20 receives configuration information. The configuration information includes a UE group ID”, and [0073] “In S102, the user equipment 20 determines a time and frequency position of a WUS resource to be monitored based on the UE group ID configured in S101.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Li by using the features of Takeda in order to effectively reduce power consumptions such that “a first activation signal, which is an activation signal that becomes a trigger for monitoring a paging occasion, for each group of grouped user equipments and transmits a second activation signal, which is an activation signal common to multiple groups” [Takeda, 0008].
Regarding claim 21, the apparatus of claim 19,wherein the at least one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: transmit, to a plurality of reader user equipment, an indication of the plurality of third resources (See [Li, Fig. 2]) .
Claim(s) 18-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2024/0340960, “Li”) in view of Takeda et al. (US 2022/0182815, “Takeda”) and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2019/0274138, “Zhang”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Li unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 18, it is noted that while disclosing resources for RACH, Li does not specifically teach about an RAR with an indication. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Zhang as follows;
the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the at least one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
transmit, to the at least one of the activator user equipment or the reader user equipment, a random access response signal comprising the first indication of at least one of the first resource, the second resource or the third resource ([Zhang, 0058] “The K2 offset value used for PUSCH carrying Msg3 is indicated by some reserved or unused bits in RAR. For example, the time resource allocation field in UL grant in RAR has 4 bits”);
transmit, to the at least one of the activator user equipment or the reader user equipment, a configured grant signal comprising the first indication of at least one of the first resource, the second resource or the third resource; or transmit, to the at least one of the activator user equipment or the reader user equipment, a dynamic grant signal comprising the first indication of at least one of the first resource, the second resource or the third resource (These alternatives are not examined.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Li by using the features of Zhang in order to provide flexibility for time resource allocations such that “The timing for Msg3 differs from normal PUSCH transmissions.” [Zhang, 0031].
Regarding claim 19, the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the at least one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: receive, from the activator user equipment, a second indication to allocate the set of resources comprising the first resource, the second resource and the third resource ([Zhang, 0064] “The method 300 may begin with step S301, in which the wireless communication device 201 may transmit a preamble on Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) (Msg1).” , and [Zhang, 0051] “a default time resource allocation table is predefined for normal PUSCH to indicate the timing K2, the starting symbol, and PUSCH length. The timing for PUSCH carrying Msg3 is indicated by using a different between K2 for normal PUSCH and PUSCH carrying Msg3.”).
The rational and motivation for adding this teaching of Zhang are the same as for claim 18.
Regarding claim 20, the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the second indication to allocate the set of resources comprising the first resource, the second resource and the third resource comprises a random access request signal conveying a specific random access channel preamble ([Zhang, 0064] “The method 300 may begin with step S301, in which the wireless communication device 201 may transmit a preamble on Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) (Msg1).”) or a random access request signal transmitted over a specific random access channel resource (This alternative is not examined.).
Tentative Indication of Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 22 appears to contain allowable subject matters underlined below pending on satisfactory of overcoming above 112 rejection and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the respective base claims and any intervening claims.
22. The apparatus of claim 21, wherein the at least one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
transmit, to a lead reader user equipment amongst the plurality of reader user equipment, a random access response signal, a configured grant signal or a dynamic grant signal comprising a fourth indication of a third resource amongst the plurality of third resources; and
transmit, to remaining user equipment amongst the plurality of reader user equipment, a grant signal comprising remaining fourth indications of remaining third resources amongst the plurality of third resources.
Conclusion
/HARRY H KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411