DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 9/03/2026. Claims 1, 5, 8-9, 10, 14 and 17-19 were amended. Claims 3, 6 12 and 15 were canceled. Likewise, claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-11, 13-14 and 16-20 are pending for examination.
Title 35, U.S. Code
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-9, 10, 13-14, 16-18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Werner et al. (U.S. Patent 9,679,482) in view of Spaulding et al. (CN 105378816) further in view of Lee (KR 20190076173 A) still further in view of Debruyn et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2024/0395133) and still even further in view of Weirich (U.S. Patent 12067870).
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 19 (Currently Amended), Werner teaches in a first embodiment a computer system (Figs 1-3) / computer implemented method/ computer program product for vehicle to vehicle communications (Pg 6 para. 3-4; (18) It is also conceivable for the input signals to be data signals that are transmitted from a car-to-car communication network C… communication network C is fundamentally known from vehicle technology and is used to interchange information, particularly warning information, among vehicles F or to transmit information between said vehicles… (19) The integration of the system 1 into a car-to-car communication network C therefore has the advantage that, by way of example, the initial information in the input signals that prompt the lighting apparatus 1 to visually present information or signals (e.g. warnings) may come from a vehicle F itself. The system 1 therefore makes it possible to engage in the existing car-to-car communication network C and to pick up the hazard reports transmitted between the vehicles F as input signals and to convert them into (visual or data) signals as appropriate. By way of example, a vehicle F involved in an accident that outputs a warning signal via car-to-car communication network C can simultaneously send said warning signal to the lighting apparatus 1, on the basis of which the communication module 6 actuates the projection unit 3 such that it generates an appropriate visual warning signal and projects it onto a surrounding projection area 4, 5) and comprising:
a processor set (Pg 7 para. 4; (25) In order to evaluate the input signals and to convert them into appropriate actuation signals (or output signals), the communication module 6 preferably has a processing unit. The processing unit is preferably part of the communication module 6 and hence likewise preferably (directly) linked or connected to the lighting apparatus 2);
a set of one or more computer-readable storage media and program instructions, collectively stored in the set of one or more storage media (inferred for the processing of any received input signals/ data signals transmitted to communication modules 6; in support of inference see Pg 7 para 2; (23) system 1 / lighting apparatus 2 not only transmits appropriate information in the form of output signals but is also provided for the purpose of receiving and forwarding, possibly in the form of a relay station, input signals arriving from the surroundings or from a control center or the like.. it is also conceivable for the communication module 6 also to have a radio transmitter that is wirelessly connected to other communication modules 6′ of other lighting apparatuses 2′ in the system 1, as shown by way of example in FIG. 3. The communication module 6 may then preferably be designed so as to control the lighting apparatus 2 on the basis of the data transmitted from the other communication modules 6′ of the other lighting apparatuses 2′ or to coordinate the activation of the light source 21, 30 or other data transmission apparatuses across lighting apparatuses within the system 1 or else across systems. Such communication between adjacent lighting apparatuses 2, 2′ in the system 1 or else among various systems 1 is desirable and useful when the lighting apparatuses 2, 2′ can then be prompted from a particular lighting apparatus 2 to adjust their light output and/or the output of warning information or signals as appropriate. In this connection, it would be conceivable for an accident or the like to be detected in the surroundings of one lighting apparatus 2′ and then for the lighting apparatus 2′ to use its communication options to prompt the adjacent lighting apparatuses 2 to adjust their light output or information output as appropriate. At a certain interval before the accident location, a lighting apparatus 2, 2′ could then be specifically used to transmit and/or visually indicate warning signals, as shown by way of example in FIG. 3); to cause the processor set to perform operations (Pg 7 para. 2 – para. 4) comprising:
receiving from a source vehicle vehicle signals encoding traffic information generated from sensors of the source vehicle while travelling on a road by a light signal device in a light signal network (Pg 7 para. 5); storing the traffic information encoded in the vehicle signals to form stored traffic information (Pg 7 para. 5); and transmitting transmission signals encoding the stored traffic information from the signal network to a receiver vehicle (for receiving, storing & transmitting vehicular signals and/or infrastructure signals therebetween, see Pg 7 para. 5; (26) In this case, the output of the aforementioned information or signals is not limited to the visual presentation of warning information or the like. As already mentioned previously, a lighting apparatus 2 situated at a certain interval before an accident location could in turn be prompted to transmit wireless information to further road users, particularly vehicles F, in the form of a relay station or the like via a car-to-car communication network C. As FIG. 4 shows, for example, it is then possible for the warning information, e.g. advice to reduce speed, to be visually presented or audibly reproduced in the vehicles F on an appropriate reproduction unit 7 with a display 70, lamp elements 71 or loudspeakers 72. in response to detecting the receiver vehicle traveling along the road (Pg 9 para 3; (37); The lighting apparatus 2 may then be designed such that it (additionally) reacts to signals supplied externally (that is to say not from the sensor) and, by way of example, adjusts its lighting or the information output in general as appropriate. By way of example, it is possible for (again preferably by means of Bluetooth) the approach of a person who has a smartphone 11 as a transmission module 10 to be detected. The lighting apparatus 2 can then adjust its light output accordingly. In this way, the direct communication between the road user (with the mobile telephone 11) and the lighting apparatus 2 at least partly replaces the sensor or the sensor unit 8; also relevant; Pg 7 para 2; it would be conceivable for an accident or the like to be detected in the surroundings of one lighting apparatus 2′ and then for the lighting apparatus 2′ to use its communication options to prompt the adjacent lighting apparatuses 2 to adjust their light output or information output as appropriate. At a certain interval before the accident location, a lighting apparatus 2, 2′ could then be specifically used to transmit and/or visually indicate warning signals, per FIG. 3 for example).
In the first embodiment above, Examiner notes that Werner refers to the radio communication means and radio network aspects of the system in Figs 1-3, but does not expressly mention light communication. In an alternate embodiment of the system in Figs 1-3 however, Werner expressly teaches the concept by which light sources are included and are used to communicate the transmission of signals, both receiving & outputting of light signals within the same network of Fig 3 accordingly (Pg 7 para. 3; (24) Besides the transmission of signals (input signals, output signals, etc.) by means of radio communication or PLC, it is also conceivable for the data and information that are to be transmitted to be alternatively or additionally transmitted by modulation of the light source 21, 30. This “Visible Light Communication” (VLC) as data transmission technology is used to transmit data or information using the transmission medium of light, the frequency of the light used for transmission usually being in the visible range between 400 and 800 THz in this case. This can preferably be accomplished by using the already existent light sources 21, 30 or else an additional light source). Likewise, in the alternate embodiment Werner further teaches causing the processor set to perform operations (Pg 7 para. 2 – para. 4) comprising:
receiving vehicle light signals and storing the traffic information encoded in the vehicle light signals and transmitting light signals encoding the stored traffic information from the light signal network to a receiver vehicle (Pg 7 para. 3 - Pg 7 para. 5); in response to detecting the receiver vehicle traveling along the road (Pg 9 para 3; (37); The lighting apparatus 2 may then be designed such that it (additionally) reacts to signals supplied externally (that is to say not from the sensor) and, by way of example, adjusts its lighting or the information output in general as appropriate. By way of example, it is possible for (again preferably by means of Bluetooth) the approach of a person who has a smartphone 11 as a transmission module 10 to be detected. The lighting apparatus 2 can then adjust its light output accordingly. In this way, the direct communication between the road user (with the mobile telephone 11) and the lighting apparatus 2 at least partly replaces the sensor or the sensor unit 8; also relevant; Pg 7 para 2; it would be conceivable for an accident or the like to be detected in the surroundings of one lighting apparatus 2′ and then for the lighting apparatus 2′ to use its communication options to prompt the adjacent lighting apparatuses 2 to adjust their light output or information output as appropriate. At a certain interval before the accident location, a lighting apparatus 2, 2′ could then be specifically used to transmit and/or visually indicate warning signals, per FIG. 3 for example). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Werner’s system of the first embodiment with the inclusion of using light as a communication means for transmitting data/information signals so that the data/information may be remotely received, stored and re-transmitted or relayed, as needed amongst specific detected locations within the system and network of devices, as taught by Werner’s system in the alternate embodiment in order to further enhance communication amongst the devices within the system and network thereof, as a convenience to all parties/users involved.
Werner is silent on receiving from a source vehicle vehicle signals encoding traffic information of the source vehicle while travelling on a road by a light signal device in a light signal network
storing the traffic information encoded in the vehicle light signals received from the source vehicle by the light signal device in the light signal network and
transmitting transmission light signals encoding the stored traffic information from the light signal network to a receiver.
Spaulding teaches receiving from a source vehicle vehicle signals encoding traffic information of the source vehicle while travelling on a road by a light signal device in a light signal network (Claim 11: A light-based communication system, comprising: a receiver configured to based on the sensed light coming from the rumouring network of the vehicle to the X (V2X) communication signal, transmitter, is configured to V2X communication signal based on light emitted to the rumouring network, and light-based communication signal processor, configured to perform at least one of: processing by arrival of the receiver sensing based on optical communication signal and/or processing to be transmitted by the transmitter)
storing the traffic information encoded in the vehicle light signals received from the source vehicle by the light signal device in the light signal network (Pg 6. Para. 002; memory 140 may be configured to store received by light-based communication data system 100 and/or transmission. In addition, in some cases, the memory 140 may be configured to light-based communication data (communication light, e.g. has not transmitted an outbound based) storage station. Further, in some examples, memory 140 may be configured to store main control node profile data (e.g., for the main control node associated with preference system 100/setting order to unique node ID based on light of a communication destination). other types of data (possibly unwanted other types of the data stored in the memory 140) depending on a given application) and
transmitting transmission light signals encoding the stored traffic information from the light signal network to a receiver vehicle (Pg 8. Last Para. – Pg 9, Para. 3; network 1000 may comprise any number of nodes (node 1-N). the given node may be, for example, a mobile communication node (such as a vehicle) or fixed communication node (e.g., such as traffic signal, street light, other light electroluminescent sign or building, etc.). (partially or wholly) the control system 100 of each node may be capable of transmitting and/or receiving light-based communication data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Werner’s system with receiving from a source vehicle vehicle signals encoding traffic information of the source vehicle while travelling on a road by a light signal device in a light signal network, storing the traffic information encoded in the vehicle light signals received from the source vehicle by the light signal device in the light signal network and transmitting transmission light signals encoding the stored traffic information from the light signal network to a receiver vehicle, as taught by Spaulding in order to use a fully light based communication network for sending and receiving information in a V2V/V2X environment.
Werner and Spaulding, alone or in combination do not disclose wherein the receiver vehicle is an autonomous self-driving vehicle that performs a number of actions autonomously using an artificial intelligence system based on stored traffic information received by the receiver vehicle from the light signal device. Lee from an analogous transmitting road / traffic information to vehicles art teaches the concept wherein the receiver vehicle is an autonomous self-driving vehicle that performs a number of actions autonomously. (Abstract; transmitting road / traffic information to vehicles including autonomous vehicles driving on roads in a visible light communication system including LiFi, the apparatus for transmitting road / traffic information through a language-independent GDD that can quickly and precisely recognize road conditions ahead.
Spaulding teaches light signal devices and their functionality in the remaining claim features. However, Werner, Spaulding nor Lee whether taken alone or in any combination do not disclose and wherein the stored traffic information is for a selected type of traffic condition of a plurality of different types of traffic conditions;
identifying, by a signal device, an expiration time for the selected type of traffic condition of the plurality of different types of traffic conditions; and
discarding, by the signal device, the stored traffic information for the selected type of traffic condition in response to an absence of receiving an update to the stored traffic information for the selected type of traffic condition of the plurality of different types of traffic conditions within the expiration time ensuring that stale traffic information is not present in the signal device.
Debruyn from an analogous vehicle information sharing art teaches wherein the stored traffic information is for a selected type of traffic condition of a plurality of different types of traffic conditions (¶009; Encoded in the token may be information about the traffic level, road surface conditions; also ¶011; road condition such as potholes, icy roads, a fallen tree, or other conditions that may be important for vehicle operators to be aware of);
Identifying an expiration time for the selected type of traffic condition of the plurality of different types of traffic conditions (¶012; geospatial breadcrumb 106 includes a timestamp and/or time-to-live (TTL) expiration); and
discarding, the stored traffic information for the selected type of traffic condition in response to an absence of receiving an update to the stored traffic information for the selected type of traffic condition of the plurality of different types of traffic conditions within the expiration time ensuring that stale traffic information is not present in the signal device (¶012; a geospatial breadcrumb 106 may be considered expired if it is picked up and processed after the TTL expiry, and may simply be discarded in such cases). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Werner, Spaulding and Lee’s system method/ computer program product with the concepts of wherein the stored traffic information is for a selected type of traffic condition of a plurality of different types of traffic conditions; identifying, by a signal device, an expiration time for the selected type of traffic condition of the plurality of different types of traffic conditions; and discarding, by the signal device, the stored traffic information for the selected type of traffic condition in response to an absence of receiving an update to the stored traffic information for the selected type of traffic condition of the plurality of different types of traffic conditions within the expiration time ensuring that stale traffic information is not present in the signal device, as taught by Debruyn so that traffic condition events/data expires as it becomes stale and subsequently no longer broadcasted.
Debruyn further includes using artificial intelligence, but Werner, Spaulding nor Lee whether taken alone or in any combination do not disclose using an artificial intelligence system. Weirich from an analogous traffic control device & system art teaches the use of an artificial intelligence system in a similar scenario as claimed. Weirich teaches a traffic control device and computer having at least one processor trained using an Artificial Intelligence (AI) based learning model using information obtained from an input module, wherein the computer is adapted to communicate with a communication module and is programmed with instructions to direct the communication module to transmit information to one or more autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicles, and wherein the information transmitted in the signal includes output from the input module information trained processor and includes at least predicted traffic conditions based on intended route information obtained from passing vehicles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to further combine Werner, Spaulding and Lee’s system with the receiver vehicle being an autonomous self-driving vehicle that performs a number of actions autonomously and the use of an artificial intelligence system based on stored/predicted traffic information/conditions received, as further taught by Lee & Weirich in order to use a light based communication network for sending and receiving traffic information in a V2V/V2X environment including autonomous vehicles using artificial intelligence.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Werner in multiple embodiments and Werner, Spaulding, Lee and Weirich in combination teach the computer system / computer implemented method for vehicle to vehicle communication of claims 1 and 10, and Werner further teaches wherein said transmitting transmitted light signals comprises:
transmitting the transmission light signals encoding the stored traffic information from another light signal device along the road to the receiver vehicle (Spaulding: see Claim 11) in response to the another light signal device detecting the receiver vehicle traveling on the road (Examiner: act as a relay station; Werner, Pg. 6 para. 5; It is also conceivable for the system 1 to act as a relay station and to transmit the output data to a car-to-car communication network C or else another communication module 6′ (Werner; cf. FIG. 3) of a further lighting apparatus 2′ in the system 1 or to a traffic management center or another receiver. If the system 1 acts as a relay station, it is also possible to reach receivers (vehicle drivers; traffic management center; etc.) outside a limited coverage area—for example a car-to-car communication network C—and to supply them with the appropriate information).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Werner in multiple embodiments and Werner, Spaulding, Lee and Weirich teach the computer system / computer implemented method for vehicle to vehicle communication of claims 1 and 10, and Werner teaches further comprising:
transmitting the stored traffic information from the light signal device to a second light signal device that is located along the road upstream from the light signal device see Pg 7 para 2; (23) system 1 / lighting apparatus 2 not only transmits appropriate information in the form of output signals but is also provided for the purpose of receiving and forwarding, possibly in the form of a relay station, input signals arriving from the surroundings or from a control center or the like.. it is also conceivable for the communication module 6 also to have a radio transmitter that is wirelessly connected to other communication modules 6′ of other lighting apparatuses 2′ in the system 1, as shown by way of example in FIG. 3); and
transmitting the stored traffic information in the transmission light signals encoding the stored traffic information from the second light signal device to a second receiver vehicle in response to the second light signal device detecting the second receiver vehicle traveling on the road (Fig 3 & Pg 6 para. 3-4; (18) It is also conceivable for the input signals to be data signals that are transmitted from a car-to-car communication network C… communication network C is fundamentally known from vehicle technology and is used to interchange information, particularly warning information, among vehicles F or to transmit information between said vehicles… (19) The integration of the system 1 into a car-to-car communication network C therefore has the advantage that, by way of example, the initial information in the input signals that prompt the lighting apparatus 1 to visually present information or signals (e.g. warnings) may come from a vehicle F itself. The system 1 therefore makes it possible to engage in the existing car-to-car communication network C and to pick up the hazard reports transmitted between the vehicles F as input signals and to convert them into (visual or data) signals as appropriate. By way of example, a vehicle F involved in an accident that outputs a warning signal via car-to-car communication network C can simultaneously send said warning signal to the lighting apparatus 1).
Regarding claims 8 and 17 (Currently Amended), Werner in multiple embodiments and Werner, Spaulding, Lee and Weirich teach the computer system / computer implemented method for vehicle to vehicle communication of claims 1 and 10, and Werner further teaches wherein the light signal device is attached to a platform (see Figs 1-3) selected from a group comprising a road light (Fig 1; lighting apparatus 2 is preferably a lamppost 20) , a road sign (projection panel 5). Spaulding teaches this concept as well in Fig 4. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Werner’s system wherein the light signal device is attached to a platform, as taught by Spaulding in order to support V2X environments.
Regarding claims 9 and 18 (Currently Amended), Werner in multiple embodiments and Werner, Spaulding, Lee and Weirich teach the computer system / computer implemented method for vehicle to vehicle communication of claims 1 and 10, and Werner further teaches wherein the light signal network is selected from a group comprising a LiFi network (Pg. 7 para. 3; (24) Besides the transmission of signals (input signals, output signals, etc.) by means of radio communication or PLC, it is also conceivable for the data and information that are to be transmitted to be alternatively or additionally transmitted by modulation of the light source 21, 30. This “Visible Light Communication” (VLC) as data transmission technology is used to transmit data or information using the transmission medium of light).
Examiner notes that Li-Fi communication is one commonly known option as a light based communication means in both vehicle to vehicle and vehicle to infrastructure environments, as evidenced by Konopka et al. for example, (Konopka et al., U.S. Patent Application Pub 2023/0095099; Abstract, Paragraphs 2, 6-10, 15-16, 34, 56 etc.). Konopka et al is not relied upon as prior art here, but is referenced simply to support this Examiner’s note.
Spaulding further teaches an optical network, and wherein the vehicle light signals are one of infrared light signals and ultraviolet light signals (Pg. 5, Para. 4; transmitter 120 may be configured from any spectral band (e.g., visible band, infrared band, ultraviolet band) transmitting interest of wavelength (s), such as for a given target application). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Werner’s system with an optical network, and wherein the vehicle light signals are one of infrared light signals and ultraviolent light signals, as taught by Spaulding in order to support common light based communication V2X environments.
Claims 2, 5, 11, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Werner et al. (U.S. Patent 9,679,482) in view of Spaulding et al. (CN 105378816) further in view of Lee (KR 20190076173 A) still further in view of Debruyn et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2024/0395133) and still even further in view of Weirich (U.S. Patent 12067870) and further still in view of Weirich (U.S. Patent 12067870) and further still in view of Wolf (U.S. Patent Application 20140309884).
Regarding claims 2, 11 and 20, Werner in multiple embodiments and Werner, Spaulding, Lee and Weirich teach the computer system / computer implemented method/ computer program product for vehicle to vehicle communication of claims 1, 10 and 19, and Werner further teaches wherein said storing the traffic information comprises:
processing the traffic information to determine traffic conditions relating to the road; and storing the traffic conditions to form the stored traffic information (Pg 7 para 2; an accident or the like being detected in the surroundings of one lighting apparatus 2′ and then for the lighting apparatus 2′ to use its communication options to prompt the adjacent lighting apparatuses 2 to adjust their light output or information output as appropriate. At a certain interval before the accident location, a lighting apparatus 2, 2′ could then be specifically used to transmit and/or visually indicate warning signals, per FIG. 3 for example).
Werner, Spaulding, Lee and Weirich are silent on processing the traffic information to determine traffic conditions that include road condition, weather condition, and traffic flow identified by the sensors of the source vehicle. Wolf from an analogous art teaches processing traffic information to determine traffic conditions that include road condition, weather condition, and traffic flow identified by the sensors of the source vehicle. (Para 013; data may be telematically communicated to the host equipped vehicle from other vehicles and/or from an infrastructural system or the like. Such data may comprise the likes of traffic condition data, traffic density data, weather data, road condition data (such as, for example, black ice ahead on the road being travelled) and/or the like). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to further combine Werner’s system with processing the traffic information to determine traffic conditions that include road condition, weather condition, and traffic flow identified by the sensors of the source vehicle, as taught by Wolf in order to have access to traffic and weather related data shared within the network’s V2V/V2X environment.
Regarding claims 5 and 14 (Currently Amended), Werner in multiple embodiments and Werner, Spaulding, Lee and Weirich teach the computer system / computer implemented method for vehicle to vehicle communication of claims 1 and 10, and Werner further teaches the computer implemented system/method etc. of claim 1, but Werner, Spaulding, Lee and Weirich are silent on further comprising: updating the stored traffic information in response to receiving updated traffic information for the selected traffic condition of the plurality of different traffic conditions. Wolf from an analogous art teaches a plurality of different traffic conditions and further comprising: updating the stored traffic information in response to receiving updated traffic information for the selected traffic condition of the plurality of different types of traffic conditions. (Para 013; data may be telematically communicated to the host equipped vehicle from other vehicles and/or from an infrastructural system or the like…data may comprise traffic condition data, traffic density data, weather data, road condition data (such as, for example, black ice ahead on the road being travelled) and/or the like; Examiner notes that updates are inferred within this context). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to further combine Werner’s system with a plurality of different traffic conditions and further comprising: updating the stored traffic information in response to receiving updated traffic information for the selected traffic condition of the plurality of different traffic conditions, as taught by Wolf in order to have on-going access to traffic and weather related data shared within the network’s V2V/V2X environment.
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Werner et al. (U.S. Patent 9,679,482) in view of Spaulding et al. (CN 105378816) further in view of Lee (KR 20190076173 A) still further in view of Debruyn et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2024/0395133) and still even further in view of Weirich (U.S. Patent 12067870) and still further in view of Huang (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2021/0150895) even still further in view of TANAKA et al. (JP 2023115324) and still even further in view of Wolf (U.S. Patent Application 2014/0309884).
Regarding claims 6 and 15 (Currently Amended), Werner in multiple embodiments and Werner, Spaulding, Lee and Weirich teach the computer system / computer implemented method for vehicle-to-vehicle communication of claims 1 and 10, and Werner further teaches wherein the stored traffic information is for a selected traffic condition (Pg 6, Paras. 3-4; a vehicle F involved in an accident that outputs a warning signal), but Werner is silent on further comprising:
identifying an expiration time for the selected traffic condition identifying; an expiration time for the selected traffic condition and discarding the stored traffic information for the selected traffic condition in response to an absence of receiving an update to the stored traffic information for the selected traffic condition within the expiration time.
Huang from an analogous monitoring traffic condition art teaches the concept of identifying an expiration time for the selected traffic condition identifying (¶059; a traffic condition record can be denoted by a triple (T, χ, Γ), where Γ denotes the expiration time of the traffic condition record, Γ= T+ custom - character, where custom-character denotes a valid duration. In other words, for any time point T0, if T0<Γ, the traffic condition triple (T, χ, Γ) is a valid traffic condition record. It is worth noting that the expiration of the traffic condition record does not necessarily mean that the traffic condition with which the record is associated has also ended or resolved).
Werner, Spaulding, Lee, Weirich and Huang are all silent on discarding the stored traffic information for the selected traffic condition in response to an absence of receiving an update to the stored traffic information for the selected traffic condition within the expiration time.
TANAKA from an analogous wireless communication with traffic information art teaches the concept of discarding the stored traffic information for the selected traffic condition in response to an absence of receiving an update to the stored traffic information for the selected traffic condition within the expiration time (Pg 22 para. 7-17; a control unit for controlling transmission of a frame related to transmission permission addressed to a first wireless communication device for multiple access specified based on the traffic information stored in the received response frame… traffic information includes information indicating the presence or absence of specific traffic, the specific traffic includes traffic according to a specific priority; the specific traffic includes traffic related to transmission urgency; the traffic related to the urgency includes traffic whose time until being discarded is equal to or less than a threshold). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Werner’s system of the first and alternate embodiment with the inclusion of identifying an expiration time for the selected traffic condition identifying, as taught by Huang and discarding the stored traffic information for the selected traffic condition in response to an absence of receiving an update to the stored traffic information for the selected traffic condition within the expiration time, as taught by TONAKA in order to further enhance communication amongst the devices within the system as a convenience with near realtime status updates to all parties/users involved.
Werner, Spaulding, Lee, Weirich, Huang and TANAKA are silent on the stored traffic information is for a selected traffic condition of a plurality of different traffic conditions. Wolf from an analogous art teaches wherein the stored traffic information is for a selected traffic condition of a plurality of different traffic conditions. (Para 013; data may be telematically communicated to the host equipped vehicle from other vehicles and/or from an infrastructural system or the like…data may comprise traffic condition data, traffic density data, weather data, road condition data (such as, for example, black ice ahead on the road being travelled) and/or the like; Examiner notes that updates are inferred within this context). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to further combine Werner’s system with stored traffic information is for a selected traffic condition of a plurality of different traffic conditions, as taught by Wolf in order to have on-going access to various traffic conditions shared within the network’s V2V/V2X environment.
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant’s prior art arguments to claims 1, 10 and 19 have been fully considered but are moot because the independent claims were amended by Applicant to include new features not presented previously. Therefore, the scope of claims 1, 10 and 19, and their dependent claims was changed. However, another prior art is now applied to reject the amended claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANCIL LITTLEJOHN JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2685
/QUAN ZHEN WANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2685