DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10-12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Tomoyuki Natsume et al (Korean Patent: 20130076719, here after 719), further in view of Hiroyuki Miyamoto et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2016/0111708, 708), further in view of H. Fink et al (Chinese Patent: 103878101, here after 101).
Claim 1 is rejected. 719 teaches a method for coating an electrode, wherein
coating the electrode slurry includes pattern-coating the electrode material such that a
non-coated part and a coated part are alternately formed along a coating direction [fig.
3] comprising:
coating an electrode material on a current collector (310) to form a coated
electrode material [page 5, paragraph 3];
measuring a thickness of the coated electrode material (by measuring the
weight) [page 6 paragraph 3, page 7 paragraph 7, lines 4-6, fig. 1];
controlling a coated amount of the electrode material based on the
weight(thickness) of the coated electrode material [paragraph 7]; and
drying the coated electrode material (in furnace 303) [page 6 paragraph 3]; and
comparing a weight of electrode slurry material (thickness of the coated electrode
slurry) before drying with a weight (thickness of the coated electrode slurry) after drying [page 6 paragraph 5];
wherein measuring the weight(thickness) of the coated electrode material is performed prior to drying of the coated electrode material (by 314), and after drying the coated electrode slurry [page 6 paragraph 5]. 719 teaches measuring the weight and finding the thickness and does not teach measuring the thickness with sensor in real time. 708 teaches a method for coating an electrode, comprising coating an electrode material on a current collector to form a coated electrode material [abstract, 0003, 0048]; measuring a thickness of the coated electrode material in real time using a thickness measuring sensor (thickness meter) [0055]; controlling a coated amount of the electrode material in real time based on the thickness of the coated electrode material [0055-0056]; and
drying the coated electrode material, wherein measuring the thickness of the
coated electrode material is performed prior to drying of the coated electrode material
(by 8a) and after drying of the coated electrode slurry [0055], so the differences
between the positions of the inflection points and the actual end positions may be
calculated, and the end positions may be corrected using the differences [0084].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the
invention was made to have a method of 719 and measure the thickness of coating
layer with 708 method and prior and after drying by sensors like (8a thickness sensor of 708), because it helps calculating differences between the positions of the inflection points and the actual end positions and the correction. 708 teaches measuring a thickness of both edge portions of the coated part along the width direction and compares the thickness thereof to a thickness of a center portion of the coated part [0061-0062], and wherein controlling the coated amount of the electrode material includes adjusting a discharge pressure of the coating die (by adjusting rotation speed of pump for pressure-feeding the coating from nozzle) or controlling a valve [0049, 0025] which in fact adjusts a flow rate of the electrode material to a material supply pipe. 719 does not teach the electrode material is slurry nor the position of the thickness measurement sensor. 101 teaches measuring thickness of an electrode coating material when the electrode coating material is in form of slurry [0005]. 101 also teaches measuring thickness of a wet coating, and teaches the measuring unit (sensor) is fixed at a central portion along a width direction of the current collector [abstract, fig. 3, 0051]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of 719, 708 and the electrode material is in form of slurry or paste, and measuring unit (sensor)is fixed at a central portion along a width direction of the current collector because it is suitable way to apply electrode coating material on a current collector to make battery.
Claim 2 is rejected as 708 teaches measuring the thickness of the coated
electrode material includes measuring a thickness of an edge portion of the coated
electrode material [fig. 3, 0060].
Claim 3 is rejected as 708 teaches the coated electrode material includes
measuring both a thickness of an edge portion and a thickness of a central portion of
the coated electrode material [0060, fig. 3].
Claim 4 is rejected as 708 teaches comparing the thickness of the edge
portion with the thickness of the central portion to determine a thickness difference
using the thickness measuring sensor [0061-0062].
Claim 10 is rejected as 719 [fig. 3] and 708[fig. 1, 0003] teach the electrode
material is consecutively coated along a coating direction.
Claim 11 is rejected as 708 teaches measuring the thickness of the coated
electrode material includes measuring a thickness of both edge portions of the coated
electrode material by reciprocating the thickness measuring sensor along a width
direction of the current collector, where the edge portions are along the coating direction
of the current collector [0055].
Claim 12 is rejected as 719, 708, and 101 teach limitation of claim 11, and 708
teaches the thickness meter(senor) measures a weight distribution in the width direction
of the coating material while reciprocating in the width direction [0055], however does
not teach measuring along a zigzag path relative to the current collector. 101 teaches a
method of measuring thickness of a wet coating, and teaches the measuring is along a
zigzag path relative to the current collector [abstract, fig. 3, 0051]. Therefore, it would
have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was
made to have a method of 708 and measure thickness along a zigzag path, because it
is suitable way for measuring thickness of wet coatings.
Claim 15 is rejected. 719 does not teach controlling valves. 101 teaches
controlling the valve includes controlling a plurality of valves [fig. 4, 0054], the supply
pipe includes a plurality of basins, and each basin of the plurality of basins includes a
respective valve of the plurality of valves [fig. 4]. Therefore, it would have been obvious
to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method
of 719, 708, and 101 and control the thickness by controlling valves, because it is an
alternative way to adjust discharge material.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomoyuki Natsume et al (Korean Patent: 20130076719, here after 719), H. Miyamoto
et al (U. S Patent Application: 2016/0111708, here after 708), H. Fink et al (Chinese
Patent: 103878101, here after 101), further in view of K. Tada et al (Chinese Patent:
104009201, here after 201).
Claim 6 is rejected. Neither of 719, nor 708 does not teach the thickness
measuring sensor is a confocal sensor. 201 teaches measuring thickness of electrode
material with confocal laser sensor [0012, 0041]. Therefore, it would have been obvious
to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have an
apparatus of 708, wherein the thickness measuring device is confocal laser sensor,
because it is suitable device for measuring thickness of electrode when it is conveying.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomoyuki Natsume et al (Korean Patent: 20130076719, here after 719), H. Miyamoto
et al (U. S Patent Application: 2016/0111708, here after 708), H. Fink et al (Chinese
Patent: 103878101, here after 101), K. Tada et al (Chinese Patent: 104009201, here
after 201), further in view of Michael K. Y. Hughes et al (U. S. Patent Application:
2020/0096308, here after 308).
Claim 7 is rejected. 201 does not teach the confocal sensor is a chromatic
confocal displacement sensor. 308 teaches measuring thickness of an electrode coating
layer by laser sensor or by chromatic confocal displacement sensor [0026]. Therefore, it
would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention
was made to have a method of 719, 708, 101, and 201 wherein the confocal sensor is
chromatic confocal displacement sensor, because it is suitable for measuring thickness
of electrode layer coating. chromatic confocal displacement sensor in fact configured to
disperse a light source into colors in an array according to wavelength and convert the
array into a distance (bases of working the sensor).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/21/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues Miyamoto does not teach comparing between the thicknesses of coated electrode layer prior and after drying, however Natsume et al teaches comparing between weight of electrode material prior and after drying which in fact thickness can be controlling the coating conditions based on the measured thickness or weight of the slurry material after coating(see claim rejection above).
/TABASSOM TADAYYON ESLAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718