DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 28 be found allowable, claim 29 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 29 appears to be a substantial double recitation of claim 28.
Claim 31 depends from a cancelled claim. For purposes of expediting examination, claim 31 will be interpreted as depending from claim 16.
Double Patenting
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,643,145. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 13 of the patent recites all the steps and structure recited in claim 16 of the instant application, as outlined in the below table:
Instant Application
US Pat. No. 11,643,145
16. A method for manufacturing a unitary body side structural frame of a vehicle comprising:
providing a plurality of blanks;
1. A method for manufacturing a unitary body side structural frame of a vehicle comprising:
providing a plurality of blanks;
joining the blanks to each other to form a composite blank, wherein joining the blanks includes forming one or more overlapping regions formed by partially overlapping two blanks;
joining the blanks to each other to form a composite blank, wherein joining the blanks includes forming one or more overlapping regions formed by partially overlapping two blanks;
deforming the composite blank to form the unitary body side structural frame;
deforming the composite blank to form the unitary body side structural frame;
wherein the unitary body side structural frame includes a lower beam portion and an upper beam portion,
wherein the unitary body side structural frame includes: a lower beam portion . . . ; an upper beam portion;
a front pillar portion connecting the lower beam portion to the upper beam portion, and
a front pillar portion connecting the lower beam portion to the upper beam portion; and
a rear pillar portion connecting the lower beam portion to the upper beam portion,
a rear pillar portion connecting the lower beam portion to the upper beam portion, and
wherein the lower beam portion comprises a rocker portion;
a lower beam portion comprising a rocker portion;
the front pillar portion comprises a hinge pillar portion;
(claim 13) the front pillar portion comprises a hinge pillar portion,
the rear pillar portion comprises a C-pillar portion;
(claim 13) the rear pillar portion comprises a C-pillar portion,
the upper beam portion comprises an A-pillar portion, and
(claim 13) the upper beam portion comprises an A-pillar portion,
wherein the A-pillar portion extends from the hinge pillar portion to the C-pillar portion and the C-pillar portion extends from the rocker portion to the A-pillar portion.
(claim 13) and the A-pillar portion extends from the hinge pillar portion to the C-pillar portion and the C-pillar portion extends from the rocker portion to the A-pillar portion.
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,103,592. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 17 of the patent recites all the steps and structure recited in claim 16 of the instant application as outlined in the below table:
Instant Application
US Pat. No. 12,103,592
16. A method for manufacturing a unitary body side structural frame of a vehicle comprising:
providing a plurality of blanks;
1. A method for manufacturing a unitary body side structural frame of a vehicle
comprising:
providing a plurality of blanks;
joining the blanks to each other to form a composite blank, wherein joining the blanks includes forming one or more overlapping regions formed by partially overlapping two blanks;
joining the blanks to each other to form a composite blank, wherein joining the blanks includes forming one or more overlapping regions formed by partially overlapping two blanks;
deforming the composite blank to form the unitary body side structural frame;
deforming the composite blank to form the unitary body side structural frame;
wherein the unitary body side structural frame includes a lower beam portion and an upper beam portion,
wherein the unitary body side structural frame includes: a lower beam portion . . . an upper beam portion;
a front pillar portion connecting the lower beam portion to the upper beam portion, and
a front pillar portion connecting the lower beam portion to the upper beam portion; and
a rear pillar portion connecting the lower beam portion to the upper beam portion,
a rear pillar portion connecting the lower beam portion to the upper beam portion, and
wherein the lower beam portion comprises a rocker portion;
a lower beam portion comprising a rocker portion;
the front pillar portion comprises a hinge pillar portion;
(claim 17) the front pillar portion comprises a hinge pillar portion,
the rear pillar portion comprises a C-pillar portion;
(claim 17) the rear pillar portion comprises a C-pillar portion,
the upper beam portion comprises an A-pillar portion, and
(claim 17) the upper beam portion comprises an A-pillar portion, and
wherein the A-pillar portion extends from the hinge pillar portion to the C-pillar portion and the C-pillar portion extends from the rocker portion to the A-pillar portion.
(claim 17) the A-pillar portion extends from the hinge pillar portion to the C-pillar portion and the C-pillar portion extends from the rocker portion to the A-pillar portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 16-17, 19-29, 31-32, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kerby (US 3,159,419).
With respect to claim 16, Kerby discloses a method for manufacturing a unitary body side structural frame of a vehicle comprising:
providing a plurality of blanks 10/11a/11b/14/13;
joining the blanks to each other to form a composite blank (Kerby, col. 2, lines 21-25), wherein joining the blanks includes forming one or more overlapping regions formed by partially overlapping two blanks (“The elements are joined by welds, preferably mash welds, at the weld lines A, B, C, D, E, F and G,” Kerby, col. 2, lines 21-22 and col. 2, lines 35-36; Fig. 10);
deforming the composite blank to form the unitary body side structural frame (“die-forming the composite welded frame into a body-frame shape by a single die-forming operation,” Kerby, col. 1, lines 63-65);
wherein the unitary body side structural frame includes a lower beam portion 10 and an upper beam portion 14, a front pillar portion 11 connecting the lower beam portion 10 to the upper beam portion 14 (as shown in Fig. 1 of Kerby), and a rear pillar portion 13 connecting the lower beam portion 10 to the upper beam portion 14, wherein
the lower beam portion 10 comprises a rocker portion (“sill or rail portion,” Kerby, col. 2, line 14);
the front pillar portion 11 comprises a hinge pillar portion 11a;
the rear pillar portion 13 comprises a C-pillar portion (Kerby, col. 2, lines 18);
the upper beam portion comprises an A-pillar portion 11b/14, and wherein the A-pillar portion 11b/14 extends from the hinge pillar portion 11a to the C-pillar portion 13 and the C-pillar portion 13 extends from the rocker portion 10 to the A-pillar portion 11b/14 (as shown in Fig. 1 of Kerby).
With respect to claim 17, Kerby discloses that joining the blanks 10/11a/11b/14/13 to each other comprises welding the blanks to each other in the one or more overlapping regions (Kerby, col. 2, lines 21-22 and col. 2, lines 35-36).
With respect to claim 19, Kerby discloses that joining the blanks 10/11a/11b/14/13 to each other to form a composite blank comprises forming overlapping regions between each of the pairs of neighbouring blanks 10/11a/11b/14/13 (“The elements are joined by welds, preferably mash welds, at the weld lines A, B, C, D, E, F and G,” Kerby, col. 2, lines 21-22 and col. 2, lines 35-36; Fig. 10).
With respect to claim 20, Kerby discloses that at least one of the overlapping regions substantially corresponds to a transition between a beam portion and a pillar portion as shown below in the image taken from Fig. 1 of Kerby:
[AltContent: textbox (transition)][AltContent: textbox (pillar portion)][AltContent: ][AltContent: rect][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
[AltContent: textbox (beam portion)]
With respect to claim 21, Kerby discloses that one of the overlapping regions substantially corresponds to a transition between the A-pillar portion 11b/14 and the hinge pillar 11a portion as shown at line B in Fig. 1 of Kerby.
With respect to claim 22, Kerby discloses that one of the overlapping regions substantially corresponds to a transition between the rocker 10 and the hinge pillar portion 11a as shown at line C in Fig. 1 of Kerby.
With respect to claim 23, Kerby discloses that one of the overlapping regions substantially corresponds to a transition between the rocker 10 and the C-pillar portion 13 as shown at line G in Fig. 1 of Kerby.
With respect to claim 24, Kerby discloses that one of the overlapping regions is arranged within the A-pillar portion 11b/14 at line A as shown in Fig. 1 of Kerby.
With respect to claim 25, Kerby discloses that the unitary body side structural frame further comprises a B-pillar portion 12 arranged between the hinge pillar 11a portion and the C-pillar portion 13 and extending from the rocker portion 10 to the A-pillar portion 11b/14 as shown in Fig. 1 of Kerby.
With respect to claim 26, Kerby discloses that one of the overlapping regions substantially corresponds to a transition between the rocker portion 10 and the B-pillar portion 12 as shown at line E in Fig. 1 of Kerby.
With respect to claim 27, Kerby discloses that the overlapping region corresponding to the transition between the rocker portion and the B-pillar portion is arranged in the rocker portion (note: the overlapping region is by definition formed from a part of the rocker portion and a part of the B-pillar portion and thus is at least partly arranged in the rocker portion).
With respect to claims 28-29, Kerby discloses that one of the overlapping regions substantially corresponds to a transition between the B-pillar portion 12 and the A-pillar portion 11b/14 as shown at the line D in Fig. 1 of Kerby.
With respect to claim 31, Kerby discloses that the plurality of blanks 10/11a/11b/14/13 comprises blanks of different material and/or blanks having different thicknesses (“different thicknesses,” Kerby, col. 2, lines 26-34).
With respect to claim 32, Kerby discloses a method for manufacturing a unitary body side structural frame of a vehicle comprising:
providing a plurality of blanks 10/11a/11b/14/13;
joining the blanks to each other to form a composite blank (Kerby, col. 2, lines 21-25), wherein joining the blanks includes forming one or more overlapping regions formed by partially overlapping two blanks (“The elements are joined by welds, preferably mash welds, at the weld lines A, B, C, D, E, F and G,” Kerby, col. 2, lines 21-22 and col. 2, lines 35-36; Fig. 10);
deforming the composite blank to form the unitary body side structural frame (“die-forming the composite welded frame into a body-frame shape by a single die-forming operation,” Kerby, col. 1, lines 63-65);
wherein the unitary body side structural frame includes a lower beam portion 10 and an upper beam portion 14, a front pillar portion 11 connecting the lower beam portion 10 to the upper beam portion 14 (as shown in Fig. 1 of Kerby), and a rear pillar portion 13 connecting the lower beam portion 10 to the upper beam portion 14, wherein
the lower beam portion 10 comprises a rocker portion (“sill or rail portion,” Kerby, col. 2, line 14);
the front pillar portion 11 comprises a hinge pillar portion 11a;
the rear pillar portion 13 comprises a C-pillar portion (Kerby, col. 2, lines 18);
the upper beam portion comprises an A-pillar portion 11b/14, and wherein the A-pillar portion 11b/14 extends from the hinge pillar portion 11a to the C-pillar portion 13 and the C-pillar portion 13 extends from the rocker portion 10 to the A-pillar portion 11b/14 (as shown in Fig. 1 of Kerby).
wherein overlapping regions are formed at a transition between the hinge pillar portion 11a and the A-pillar portion 11b/14 (as shown by the line B in Fig. 1 of Kerby), at a transition between the hinge pillar portion 11a and the rocker portion 10 (as shown by the line C in Fig. 1 of Kerby), and at a transition between the rocker portion 10 and the C-pillar portion 13 (as shown by the line G in Fig. 1 of Kerby).
With respect to claim 34, Kerby discloses that joining the blanks 10/11a/11b/14/13 to each other comprises welding the blanks to each other in the one or more overlapping regions (Kerby, col. 2, lines 21-22 and col. 2, lines 35-36).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerby (US 3,159,419), as applied to claim 17 or claims 32 above, and further in view of Iyoshi et al. (US 2017/0297628).
With respect to claims 18 and 35, Kerby discloses the claimed method except that Kerby discloses mash welding the blanks instead of spot welding. However, Iyoshi et al. teach a similar method of joining vehicle blanks using spot welding (Iyoshi et al., paragraph [0040]; Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to replace the mash welding disclosed by Kerby for the teaching of Iyoshi et al. for the advantage of cost savings provided with spot welding.
Claims 30 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerby (US 3,159,419), as applied to claim 26 or claim 33 above, and further in view of Breidenbach et al. (US 2016/0186280).
With respect to claim 30, Kerby discloses the claimed method except for the step of deforming comprising hot forming. However, Breidenbach et al. teach attaching vehicle blanks 1 and 2 forming a composite blank and then deforming the composite blank to form a structural frame comprises hot forming the composite blank (Breidenbach et al., paragraph [0033]; Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the teaching of Breidenbach et al. with the method disclosed by Kerby for the advantage of causing one or more connection points to have a least a partially hardened microstructure (Breidenbach et al., abstract).
/Daniel J Colilla/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612