Objection to the Specification
2. Applicant is requested to update status of related applications cited in page 1 of the specification, i.e., providing patent numbers where appropriate.
Non-Art Rejection
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of double patenting as being unpatentable over prior U.S. Patent No. 12,124,352.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentable distinct from each other because the patent claims comprise all limitations required in the present claims. The present claims are merely broader in scope than that of the patent claims.
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The following language is vague and indefinite:
In claim 1, line 10, “identify a plurality of distractions as function of the user interest”, it is not clear as to whether it refers to the step of identifying distractions that are related to user interest/activity or a step of identifying a function or relationship between a distraction and user interest.
The same indefiniteness of claim 1 is also applied to claim 11.
In claim 10, line 1, a meaning of “a path further compromise using a web crawler” cannot be determined.
The same indefiniteness of claim 10 is also applied to claim 20.
Art Rejection
9. Claims 1-4, 7, 11-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amalapurapu, U.S. pat. No. 10,198,524, in view of Parker, U.S. pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2011/0320583.
Per claim 1, Amalapurapu discloses an apparatus for generating a path containing a user engagement target, the apparatus comprising at least a processor and a memory containing instructions configuring the processor to:
a) receive user data identifying a purpose of a user (see col 9, ln 50-56);
b) track a user interest over a plurality of platforms, wherein tracking the user interest comprises determining an interest level of a user on a platform of the plurality of platforms (see col 7, ln 57-67);
c) identify a plurality of activities as function of the user interest (see col 10, ln 1-10); and
d) generate a path for the user based on the activities and the user interest, wherein the path identifies a user engagement target (see col 9, ln 1-32).
Amalapurapu does not teach identifying activities indicating distractions and classifying distractions to productive and non-productive categories. However, Parker discloses a prior art method for monitoring user activities and user navigation path, wherein the monitored activities comprise distraction events , i.e., interrupted events, which can be classified to productive category, i.e., user initiated events, and non-productive category, i.e., system failure (see Parker, par 0035), wherein the distraction events can be used to determine user habit or engagement target (see Parker, 0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Amalapurapu with Parker teaching because it would have further assisted determining user engagement target.
Per claims 2-3, Amalapurapu teaches that user data comprises user purpose (i.e., profile) and/or obligations (i.e., intended actions) related to purpose or profile (see col 7, ln 27-41).
Per claim 4, Amalapurapu teaches receiving system logs from a user device (see col 7, ln 42-50).
Per claim 7, Amalapurapu teaches generating a utility score indicating usefulness or relevancy for each path of the plurality of paths and ranking the paths based on the utility score (see col 9, ln 10-32).
Claims 11-14 and 17 are similar in scope as that of claims 1-4 and 7.
10. Claims 5-6 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amalapurapu and Parker, and further in view of Middleton, U.S. pat. No. 6,393,407.
Neither Parker nor Amalapurapu explicitly teach tracking user activity comprises tracking a mouse cursor movement and idle time of a user on a web page. However, Middleton discloses a prior art method for tracking user activity that includes tracking a mouse cursor movement and idle time of a user (see Middleton, col 2, ln 26-40, and col 5, ln 21-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply such user tracking functions in Amalapurapu because it would have enabled tracking user interactions with the web contents.
11. Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amalapurapu and Parker, and further in view of Samarev, U.S. pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2020/0184529.
Neither Parker nor Amalapurapu teaches using a web crawler to collect user data and generating user path. However, such use of web crawler to collect user data across the network is well known in the art as disclosed by Samarev (see Samarev, par 0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize any known data collection tool such as web crawler in Amalapurapu because it would have enabled collecting user data across the networks.
12. Claims 8-9 and 18-19 are not rejected on art.
Conclusion
/Viet D Vu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455
01/12/26