DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant's Communication received 08/29/2024 for 18819206. Claims 1-17 are presented.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/17/2025, 09/18/2025 was filed before the mailing date of a first action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites "the first label allocated to at least one content item" which is unclear if the limitation refers to the "allocating a first label to the AI-generated content" as recited in parent claim 4 or lacks antecedent basis to another allocation of the first label to at least one content item.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pividori et al. (US 20240289540 A1).
As to claim 1, Pividori discloses a method for displaying an artificial intelligence (AI) content executed by one or more processors [para 0061-0062, client device displays content generated by content generator including artificial intelligence] and comprising:
receiving an AI-generated content [para 0061-0062, content generator including artificial intelligence generates content];
outputting the AI-generated content on a display [Figs. 6-7, para 0062-0063, 0067, client device display provides content generated by content generator];
receiving, from a user, a user request to modify a first part of the AI-generated content [Fig. 7, para 0030, 0069, 0075-0076, receive author indication (read: user request) to accept revised text (read: first part) of content generated by content generator, where accepting revisions includes modifying a subset of revisions];
modifying the first part to a user-generated content based on the user request [para 0030-0031, 0076, generate revised draft of generated content including revision accepted (read: user-generated content) by user]; and
outputting a second part of the AI-generated content on the display with a first visual effect [Fig. 7, para 0030-0031, 0067-0069, 0076, 0108, display provides content generated by content generator including another revision (read: second part) with visible highlight (read: first visual effect)].
As to claim 3, Pividori discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising outputting the user-generated content on the display with a second visual effect, wherein the first visual effect and the second visual effect are different from each other [Fig. 7, para 0067-0069, 0076-0077, 0119, display revised draft including accepted revision with indication (read: second visual effect) of being accepted by author, note different elements of visible highlight and acceptance indication].
As to claim 4, Pividori discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising
allocating a first label to the AI-generated content [Fig. 10, para 0041, 0076-0077, 0080, generate author attribution for content generated by (read: first label) content generator],
wherein, in response to determining that the first label is allocated to the AI-generated content, the AI-generated content is output on the display together with the first visual effect [Fig. 7, para 0067-0069, 0076, display content generated by content generator with visible highlight based on generating author attribution for content generated by content generator].
As to claim 5, Pividori discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
allocating a first label to the AI-generated content [Fig. 10, para 0076-0077, 0080, generate author attribution for content generated by (read: first label) content generator], and
allocating a second label to the user-generated content [Fig. 10, para 0076-0077, 0080-0081, generate author attribution indicating acceptance by (read: second label) author for revision accepted by user],
wherein, in response to determining that the second label is allocated to the user-generated content, the user-generated content is output on the display without the first visual effect or together with a second visual effect [Fig. 7, para 0067-0069, 0076-0077, 0119, display revision accepted by user with indication (read: second visual effect) of being accepted by author based on attributing content as accepted by author to accepted revision], and
wherein the first visual effect and the second visual effect are different from each other [para 0067-0069, 0076-0077, 0119, note different elements of visible highlight and acceptance indication].
As to claim 6, Pividori discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein
the AI-generated content is divided into a plurality of content items according to a predetermined unit and stored in a structured document [Figs. 6-7, para 0064-0068, 0078, content generator generates section lines (read: content items) including sentences (read: predetermined unit) in stored revised manuscript (read: structured document)], and
the first label is allocated to each of the plurality of content items [Fig. 10, para 0041, 0067-0069, 0076-0077, generate author attribution to content generator for sentences including revisions].
As to claim 7, Pividori discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the predetermined unit is one [Figs. 6-7, para 0064-0068, section lines include sentences, note strikethrough indicates non-selected alternatives]
As to claim 8, Pividori discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein, in response to the first part being modified to the user-generated content, the first label allocated to at least one content item associated with the first part in the structured document is deleted or modified to a second label [Fig. 10, para 0031, 0075-0077, 0080-0081, generate author attribution for line of revision generated by content generator in stored revised manuscript as accepted by (read: second label) user on receiving author indication to accept revised text].
As to claim 9, Pividori discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein, when
the first part is a part of a specific content item [Fig. 7, para 0067-0069, revision generated by content generator included in manuscript (read: specific content item)],
the specific content item is divided into a first sub-content item corresponding to the first part and a second sub-content item [Fig. 7, para 0066-0068, manuscript includes revision generated by content generator and original text (read: second sub-content item)], and
the first label allocated to the first sub-content item is deleted or modified to a second label [Fig. 10, para 0031, 0075-0077, 0080-0081, generate author attribution for line of revision generated by content generator in stored revised manuscript as accepted by (read: second label) user].
As to claim 10, Pividori discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising
allocating a specific label to the user-generated content [Fig. 10, para 0076-0077, 0080-0081, generate author attribution indicating acceptance by (read: second label) author for revision accepted by user],
wherein, in response to determining that the specific label is allocated to the user-generated content, the user-generated content is output on the display without the first visual effect or together with a second visual effect [Fig. 7, para 0067-0069, 0076-0077, 0119, display revision accepted by user with indication (read: second visual effect) of being accepted by author based on attributing content as accepted by author to accepted revision], and
wherein the first visual effect is different from the second visual effect [para 0067-0069, 0076-0077, 0119, note different elements of visible highlight and acceptance indication].
As to claim 11, Pividori discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the first label is allocated by the one or more processors or an external device [para 0042, 0076, 0084-0085, author attribution generated by attribution generator of engine executed by computing system including processor].
As to claim 12, Pividori discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the performance of the method according to claim 1 [para 0085-0086, memory storing software executed by processing system including processor].
As to claim 13, Pividori discloses an apparatus for displaying an artificial intelligence (AI) content, comprising: a communication module; a display; a memory; and one or more processors connected to the memory and configured to execute one or more computer-readable programs stored in the memory, wherein the one or more programs include instructions [Fig. 11, para 0063, 0083-0086, system apparatus includes communication interface system, display, memory, processing system including processor executing software stored in memory] for: performing limitations substantially similar to those recited in claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale.
As to claim 14, Pividori discloses a label dynamic control method executed by one or more processors [Fig. 11, para 0063, 0083-0086, computing system including processor executes engine], comprising:
allocating a first label to an AI-generated content [Fig. 10, para 0041, 0061-0062, 0076-0077, 0080, generate author attribution for content generated by (read: first label) content generator including artificial intelligence];
receiving a user request to modify a first part of the AI-generated content [Fig. 7, para 0030, 0069, 0075-0076, receive author indication (read: user request) to accept revised text (read: first part) of content generated by content generator, where accepting revisions includes modifying a subset of revisions];
modifying the first part to a user-generated content based on the user request [para 0030-0031, 0076, generate revised draft of generated content including revision accepted (read: user-generated content) by user]; and
allocating a second label to the user-generated content [Fig. 10, para 0076-0077, 0080-0081, generate author attribution indicating acceptance by (read: second label) author for revision accepted by user].
As to claim 15, Pividori discloses the method according to claim 14,
wherein a second part of the AI-generated content is output together with a first visual effect [Fig. 7, para 0030-0031, 0067-0069, 0076, 0108, display provides content generated by content generator including another revision (read: second part) with visible highlight (read: first visual effect)], and
the user-generated content is output without the first visual effect or together with a second visual effect [Fig. 7, para 0067-0069, 0076-0077, 0119, display revised draft including accepted revision with indication (read: second visual effect) of being accepted by author, note different elements of visible highlight and acceptance indication],
wherein the first visual effect and the second visual effect are different from each other [para 0067-0069, 0076-0077, 0119, note different elements of visible highlight and acceptance indication].
As to claims 16 and 17, Pividori discloses the method according to claim 14 comprising limitations substantially similar to those recited in claims 6 and 7, respectively, and are rejected under similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pividori as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Heyns (US 20220414317 A1).
As to claim 2, Pividori discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising outputting the user-generated content on the display … [para 0076, generate revised draft of generated content including revision accepted by user].
However, Pividori does not specifically disclose outputting the user-generated content on the display without the first visual effect.
Heyns discloses outputting the user-generated content on the display without the first visual effect [Fig. 3B, para 0032, 0042, highlight unoriginal segment from user input text (read: user-generated content) within content pane].
Pividori and Heyns are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of content display systems. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the output AI-generated content with a first visual effect and user-generated content as disclosed by Pividori with user-generated content output without a first visual effect as disclosed by Heyns with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Pividori as described above to ensure document originality [Heyns, para 0040].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/LINDA HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172