DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The IDS filed 10/22/2024 is considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Masi (US 2019/0065012 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Masi discloses a computing device comprising: a touch-sensitive display device; one or more processors; and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to (Fig. 33 and Paragraphs 0167-0174):
initiate a hybrid collaborative application to present, on the touch-sensitive display device, a user interface enabling user interaction with (i) a native layer providing a user with a set of interactive tools for a collaborative session, and (ii) a browser application layer underlying the native layer, the browser application layer comprising a collaborative canvas enabling the user and one or more remote collaborators to participate in the collaborative session (Paragraph 0045, Paragraph 0074, Paragraph 0113, Paragraph 0119, and Paragraph 0121: touch-screen display providing a transparent layer (e.g. native layer), that includes a tool interface, overlayed a collaboration workspace (e.g. browser application layer) that includes a digital whiteboard (e.g. canvas) enabling plural participants to collaborate edits);
receive user inputs via the user interface on the touch-sensitive display device (Paragraph 0056 lines 1-4, Paragraph 0058 lines 1-4, Paragraph 0099, Paragraph 0102, Paragraph 0166: user input, such a drawing mode inputs, are input where the touch screen is utilized as an input hardware device);
render native content on the touch-sensitive display device based on the user inputs via the native layer (Paragraph 0102: display output of drawing line and stored as part of transparent layer);
and render web-based content on the collaborative canvas based at least in part on collaboration inputs via the browser application layer for the collaborative session with the one or more remote collaborators (Paragraph 0102 and Paragraph 0121: hosted version of collaboration workspace is updated to include edit/alteration inputs by collaborators).
In regard to claim 2, Masi discloses wherein the browser application layer presents a collaborative design on the collaborative canvas based on (i) the collaboration inputs provided by the one or more remote collaborators, and (ii) the user inputs provided on the touch-sensitive display device (Paragraph 0102 and Paragraph 0121: hosted version of collaboration workspace is updated to include edit/alteration inputs by collaborators which includes the user drawing mode inputs received by transparent layer).
In regard to claim 3, Masi discloses wherein the native content presented on the touch-sensitive display device includes a set of native modals and at least one native toolbar (Fig. 7 and Paragraphs 0074-0084: tool interface with options for emulations modes, native commands, and additional functions).
In regard to claim 4, Masi discloses wherein the set of native modals and the at least one native toolbar facilitate the user in providing input and updates to the collaborative design (Paragraphs 0074-0084, Paragraph 0113, Paragraph 0121, and Paragraph 0166: the transparent layer is used to detect the inputs for the collaborative workspace).
In regard to claim 5, Masi discloses wherein the set of native modals include comment and reaction components that are rendered natively on the touch-sensitive display device based on the user inputs (Fig. 7 and Paragraphs 0074-0084: the options include graphical editing and adding textual notes).
In regard to claim 6, Masi discloses wherein the user inputs comprise as least one of touch inputs or stylus inputs, and wherein the executed instructions further cause the computing device to: using the native layer, adjust touch targets configured for the at least one of the touch inputs or the stylus inputs (Paragraph 0056 lines 1-6 and Paragraph 0076: based on selected modes, input coordinates of a touch input are processed as mouse pointer position inputs).
In regard to claim 7, Masi discloses wherein the touch targets for the at least one of the touch inputs or the stylus inputs are adjusted from touch targets for mouse cursor inputs used for rendering web-based content (Paragraph 0056 lines 1-6 and Paragraph 0076: based on selected modes, input coordinates of a touch input are processed as mouse pointer position inputs).
In regard to claim 8, Masi discloses wherein the executed instructions further cause the computing device to: transmit, over one or more networks, input data corresponding to the user inputs to a network computing system that causes the web-based content to be rendered on the collaborative canvas (Paragraph 0121: edits are propagated over web socket connection to a server to update hosted version).
In regard to claim 9, Masi discloses wherein the collaborative canvas is presented on a second computing device, and wherein the executed instructions further cause the computing device to: transmit, over one or more networks, change data to the second computing device to cause the second computing device to propagate the web-based content and the native content to the collaborative canvas presented on a display of the second computing device (Paragraph 0121 and Paragraph 0123: the collaborative workspace is provided for display to multiple users where edits made by each respective user are propagated over the web socket connection for display at each users device).
In regard to claims 10-18, medium claims 10-18 correspond generally to device claims 1-9, respectively, and recite similar features in medium form, and therefore are rejected under the same rationale.
In regard to claims 19 and 20, method claims 19 and 20 correspond generally to device claims 1 and 2, respectively, and recite similar features in method form, and therefore are rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US 10866931 B2), see at least the abstract.
Kong et al. (US 2017/0315974 A1), see at least Fig. 3A.
Simonoff (US 7043529 B1), see at least the abstract.
Kumar et al. (US 6342906 B1), see at least the abstract.
/Nicholas Ulrich/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179