DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's Submission of a Response
Applicant’s submission of a response on 6/30/2026 has been received and fully considered. In the response, claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 10 and 19 have been amended. Therefore, claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0363590 Froy (Fig. 5A, annotated image displayed below for convenience, but entire reference is relevant as cited) in view of U.S. Patent Application No. 2024/0147155 to Goh.
With regard to claim 1, Froy discloses electronic gaming device (e.g., see Fig, 5A, gaming device/EGM 100; see also paragraph 49 for overview discussion of EGM 100), comprising: at least one display device (e.g., see at least Fig. 5A for display 300; see also paragraph 49 for overview discussion of display device 300); at least one array of immersive sound speakers positioned adjacent the at least one display device (e.g., see Fig. 5A, annotated above that shows an array of immersive sound speakers 360 positioned adjacent/below display 300; see also paragraph 74 for discussion of speaker array 360); a memory device in electronic communication with the at least one display device (e.g., see at least Fig. 8 that shows memory 1016 in communication with output devices, including display 300), the memory device storing instructions (e.g., see at least Fig. 8 that shows memory 1016; see also paragraphs 147-147 for discussion of memory device 1016 for storing EGM program code); and a game controller comprising a processor configured to execute the instructions stored in the memory device (e.g., see at least Fig. 8 that shows processors 1010/1012; see also paragraph 146 for overview discussion of game controller/processor 1010/1012) , which, when executed, cause the game controller to: cause to be displayed gaming events on the at least one display device (e.g., see at least paragraph 53 for discussion of display 300 configured to display game information); and output audio data, via the at least one array of immersive sound speakers, to create spatial sound (e.g., see at least paragraph 74 that discusses 3D audio feedback), the spatial sound directed to a player positioned within a localized sound bubble area (e.g., see Fig. 5A that shows a eye/head tracking zone 312; see also paragraphs 57-60 for discussion of eye/head tracking zone 312), opposite the at least one display device (e.g., see Fig. 5A that shows element 312 opposite display 300);
[claim 2] wherein the at least one array of immersive sound speakers includes a plurality of sound speakers, each sound speaker of the plurality of sound speakers horizontally aligned with at least one adjacent sound speaker and positioned a predetermined distance away from at least one adjacent sound speaker (e.g., see at least Fig. 5A annotated that shows plurality of speakers forming speaker array 360);
[claim 3] wherein each sound speaker of the plurality of sound speakers are facing and at least partially aligned with the localized sound bubble area formed opposite the at least one display device (e.g., see Fig. 5A that shows speaker array 360 facing eye/head tracking zone 312 that is opposite display 300);
[claim 4] wherein the instructions further cause the game controller to: determine if the player is positioned within the localized sound bubble area using a sensor in electronic communication with the game controller (e.g., see at least Fig. 5A, annotated that shows sensors/cameras 330 and 340; see also paragraphs 65 and 172 that discuss tracking player position within eye/head tracking zone 312); and in response to determining the player is not positioned within the localized sound bubble area, alter the audio data outputted by the at least one array of immersive sound speakers to one of: cause the spatial sound to be projected to a globalized sound bubble area, adjacent the localized sound bubble area, or reduce a volume of the spatial sound directed toward the localized sound bubble area (e.g., see at least paragraphs 65-68 for discussion of projecting 3D sound to the eye/head tracking zone 312);
[claim 5] wherein the at least one array of immersive sound speakers is positioned adjacent a top edge or a bottom edge of the at least one display device (e.g., see at least Fig. 5A that shows speaker array 360 adjacent a bottom edge of display 300);
[claim 6] wherein the at least one array of immersive sound speakers includes: a first array of immersive sound speakers positioned adjacent the at least one display device (e.g., see Figs. 4 and 5A that show twelve speakers forming speaker array 360; it is the Examiner’s position that the three left most speakers in the array form a first speaker array); and a second array of immersive sound speakers positioned adjacent the at least one display device, the second array of immersive sound speakers horizontally aligned with the first array of immersive sound speakers (e.g., see Figs. 4 and 5A that show twelve speakers forming speaker array 360; it is the Examiner’s position that the three right most speakers in the array form a second speaker array).
Froy fails to expressly disclose the use of a sound bubble.
In the same field of endeavor, Goh teaches the use of a game system that includes a speaker array that generates a sound bubble (e.g., see at least Fig. 15 and paragraphs 81 and 82 for discussion of an immersive sound system that creates a sound bubble).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify Froy with the creation of a sound bubble as taught by Goh in order to use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. In this case, providing a sound bubble focuses the sound on the intended target.
Claims 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0129601 to Gronkowski (Fig. 4B, shown below for convenience, but entire reference is relevant as cited) in view of Froy and Goh.
With regard to claim 1, Gronkowski discloses community gaming system (e.g., see paragraphs 17-20 for discussion a “community wagering game”; see also at least Figs. 1A, 4B, and 5 that show multiple EGMs, 101, 130, 160, 430, 460, and 501-508, network controller and lighting/audio systems 400, 414, 415 that together form a community gaming system), comprising: at least one central community display device (e.g., see at least Fig. 1A, display 140; see also paragraph 43 that discusses that “system 100 also includes a light show display panel that spans large sections of a casino); a plurality of electronic gaming machines (EGMs) in electronic communication with each other and the at least one central community display device (e.g., see at least Figs. 1A, 4B, and 5 that show multiple EGMs, 101, 130, 160, 430, 460, and 501-508), each EGM of the plurality of EGMs including at least one speaker(s) positioned adjacent at least one display device of the EGM (e.g., see at least Fig. 4B that shows speakers 411, 431, and 461 adjacent a display on each corresponding EGM 410, 430, and 460; see also paragraph 62 that discuses a pair of speakers on each EGM); a memory device in electronic communication with at least one of the at least one central community display device or the plurality of EGMs (e.g., see at least paragraphs 57 and 84 for discussion of system memory), the memory device storing instructions; and a game controller comprising a processor configured to execute the instructions stored in the memory device (e.g., see at least paragraphs 11 and 52 for discussion of system processors), which, when executed, cause the game controller to: cause to be displayed gaming events on the at least one central community display device and each EGM of the plurality of EGMs as synchronized with each other (e.g., see at least paragraphs 5, 44 and 45 for discussion of synchronized gaming events); output first audio data, via the least one sound speakers of an EGM of the plurality of EGMs (e.g., see at least 4B for image of EGM speakers 411; see also paragraph 62 for discussion of EGM speakers), to create a first spatial sound, the first spatial sound directed to a player positioned at each of the EGMs (e.g., see at least 4B for image of EGM speakers 411; see also paragraph 62 for discussion of EGM speakers), adjacent the EGM; and output second audio data, via at least one distinct sound speakers positioned adjacent the at least one central community display device (e.g., see at least Fig. 4B that shows community speakers 414 and 415; see also paragraph 62 for discussion of community speakers 414 and 415), to create a second spatial sound (e.g., see at least Fig. 4B, wherein the first sound is “Rumble” and the second sound is “Crack”), the second spatial sound directed to at least one bystander positioned within a globalized area formed adjacent the plurality of EGMs (e.g., see Fig. 4B that shows community speakers 414 and 415 that are distinct from EGM speakers 411), wherein the second spatial sound is distinct from the first spatial sound (e.g., see at least Fig. 4B, wherein the first sound is “Rumble” and the second sound is “Crack”);
[claim 12] wherein the at least one sound speakers for each EGM of the plurality of EGMs includes: a first sound speakers positioned adjacent the at least one display device (e.g., see Fig. 4B that shows a first speaker 411 above the display on the left); and a second sound speakers positioned adjacent the at least one display device (e.g., see Fig. 4B that shows a second speaker 411 above the display on the right), the second sound speakers horizontally aligned with the first sound speakers (e.g., see Fig. 4B that shows the two speakers 411 are horizontally aligned);
[claim 13] wherein the at least one distinct sound speakers of the least one central community display device includes: a first sound speakers positioned proximate the at least one central community display device (e.g., see at least Fig. 4B that shows speakers 415 proximate display panel 413; the disclosure shows a schematic diagram, but doesn’t provide specific orientation detail);
[claim 14] wherein the at least one distinct sound speakers of the least one central community display device includes: a second sound speakers positioned proximate of the at least one central community display device (e.g., see at least Fig. 4B that shows speakers 414 proximate display panel 413; the disclosure shows a schematic diagram, but doesn’t provide specific orientation detail);
[claim 15] wherein the first distinct sound speakers of the at least one central community display device includes a plurality of sound speakers (e.g., see Fig. 4B, speakers 414 and 415), each sound speaker of the plurality of sound speakers horizontally aligned with at least one adjacent sound speaker and positioned a predetermined distance away from at least one adjacent sound speaker (e.g., see at least Fig. 4B that schematically shows speakers 414 and 415 horizontally positioned);
[claim 16] wherein each sound speaker of the plurality of sound speakers for the first distinct array of immersive sound speakers are angled upwards to project the second spatial sound over the plurality of EGMs (e.g., see Fig. 4B that shows speakers 414 and 415 above the EGMs, which would project sound over the plurality of EGMs);
[claim 17] wherein the instructions further cause the game controller to: output third audio data, via the least one sound speakers of a distinct EGM of the plurality of EGMs (e.g., see at least Fig. 4B, EGM 430 with speakers 431 that are distinct from speakers 411, 414, and 415; see “Crack” sound is distinct from “Rumble” sound of other EGM 410), to create a third spatial sound, the third spatial sound directed to a distinct player, adjacent the distinct EGM (e.g., see Fig. 4B that shows speakers 431 adjacent a user of EGM 430);
[claim 18] wherein the third spatial sound is one of: (i) a spatial sound distinct from the first spatial sound (e.g., see at least Fig. 4B, EGM 430 with speakers 431 that are distinct from speakers 411, 414, and 415; see “Crack” sound is distinct from “Rumble” sound of other EGM 410), or (ii) similar to the first spatial sound and at a distinct volume from the first spatial sound.
In the same field of endeavor, Froy teaches a gaming machine with an array of immersive speakers, including speakers positioned below an adjacent display (e.g., see Fig. 5A, annotated above including immersive speakers 360; see also paragraph 74 for discussion of speaker array 360). Froy teaches each of the features of claims 8-11 related to the positioning of immersive speakers on an EGM as set forth above for claims 1-6, which are similar in claim scope.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify Gronkowski with the array of immersive speakers in lieu of other speakers as taught by Froy in order to use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. In this case, providing immersive speakers provides a more realistic 3D sound that better engages the game player without providing unnecessary audio impact on others.
Gronkowski fails to expressly disclose the use of a sound bubble.
In the same field of endeavor, Goh teaches the use of a game system that includes a speaker array that generates a sound bubble (e.g., see at least Fig. 15 and paragraphs 81 and 82 for discussion of a immersive sound system that creates a sound bubble.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify Gronkowski with the creation of a sound bubble as taught by Froy in order to use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. In this case, providing a sound bubble focuses the sound on the intended target.
With regard to claims 19 and 20, Gronkowski in view of Froy and Goh make obvious a method of electronic gaming implemented on a community gaming system as set forth above for claims 7, 17, and 18, which are similar in claim scope.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant claim amendments and remarks are persuasive in overcoming the 101 rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James S. McClellan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715