Status of claim(s) to be treated in this office action:
a. Independent: 1, 8 and 15
b. Pending: 1, 4-8, 11-15 and 17-20
Claims 1, 4-8, 11-15 and 17-20 have been amended and claims 2-3, 9-10 and 16 have been canceled.
Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 6/17/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No.10437321 and U.S. Patent No. 12086015 have been reviewed and accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 11-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 9720472) in view of Lee et al. (US 20160329734).
Regarding independent claim 1, Park discloses a device (Figs. 1-10), comprising:
a power management integrated circuit (PMIC) configured to receive an input power (Fig. 5 and (66) describes PMIC 320 is provided with an input power Vin 320a) and comprising:
a first voltage regulator configured to convert the input power to a first output provided to a component outside of the power management integrated circuit, the first voltage regulator configured to operate at a first switching frequency (Figs. 6-7 and (71), (74), (76) describes PMIC 320 including plurality of converter 322-1, 322-2 and so on along with plurality of pulse width modulators (PWMs) configuring switching device outside the PMIC 320. Fig. 10 and (86) describes two modes: low frequency mode LFM, and high frequency mode HFM); and
a second voltage regulator configured to convert the input power to a second output voltage provided to a second component outside of the power management integrated circuit, the second voltage regulator configured to operate at a second switching frequency (Fig. 5 and (66)-(67) describes PMIC 320 is provided with an input power Vin 320a of 5V to 12V, generates an enable signal to enable N1_EN, N2_EN, GPIO, I.sup.2C, etc., and provides a plurality of rails 320c of different sizes to each of the two SoCs. Herein, the plurality of rails 320c may be a first rail 320c1 to output a first power of 1V and 3 A, a second rail 320c2 to output a second power of 3.3V and 3 A. Fig. 10 and (86) describes two modes: low frequency mode LFM, and high frequency mode HFM);
wherein the PMIC is configured to operate in a selectable mode of a plurality of selectable modes comprising a first mode and a second mode different from the first mode (Fig. 10 and (86) describes two different modes LFM and HFM).
Lee explicitly teaches output provided to a component outside of the power management integrated circuit (Fig. 23 and [0182] describes that connectivity unit 1120 may perform wired or wireless communications with an external device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to apply the teachings of Lee to Park in order to provide voltage converter capable of increasing power transfer efficiency and performing stable mode transition as taught by Lee ([0004]).
Regarding claim 4, Park and Lee together disclose all the elements of claim 1 as above and through Park further the first voltage regulator is configured to convert an input power to the power management integrated circuit to a predetermined operating voltage of the component outside of the power management integrated circuit (Fig. 10 and (85)-(86) describes to design or determine a value inside the predefined PMIC).
Regarding claim 5, Park and Lee together disclose all the elements of claim 1 as above and through Park further the first voltage regulator and the second voltage regulator are configured to operate in different modes (Fig. 10 and (86) describes two different modes LFM and HFM).
Regarding claim 6, Park and Lee together disclose all the elements of claim 1 as above and through Park further the first voltage regulator is configured to convert the input power to the first output at a power consumption level lower than the second voltage regulator (Fig. 5 and (66)-(67) describes PMIC 320 is provided with an input power Vin 320a of 5V to 12V, generates an enable signal to enable N1_EN, N2_EN, GPIO, I.sup.2C, etc., and provides a plurality of rails 320c of different sizes to each of the two SoCs. Herein, the plurality of rails 320c may be a first rail 320c1 to output a first power of 1V and 3 A, a second rail 320c2 to output a second power of 3.3V and 3 A).
Regarding claim 7, Park and Lee together disclose all the elements of claim 1 as above and through Park further the first voltage regulator is configured to operate at a frequency lower than the second voltage regulator to convert the input power to the first output (Fig. 10 and (86) describes two modes: low frequency mode LFM, and high frequency mode HFM).
Claims 8, 11-14 recite same limitations of claims 1, 4-7 but drafted in method format and henceforth rejected the same way.
Claims 15, 17-20 recite same limitations of claims 1, 4-7 and henceforth rejected the same way.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed on 6/17/2026, with respect to the rejection of independent claim 1 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Park et al. (US 9720472) in view of Lee et al. (US 20160329734).
Rejections are maintained at-least for above mentioned reasons. Details will be found under “Claim Rejections”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SULTANA BEGUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824 8/11/2026