Status of claim(s) to be treated in this office action:
a. Independent: 1, 8 and 15
b. Pending: 1-20
Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) is submitted on 9/12/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 10, 12, 13-14 and 18-20 of U.S. Patent No.10437321 (Reference Application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 and 2 of USP’321 is a combination of claims 1 and 5-7 of Instant Application as shown in the below table.
Instant Application
Reference Application
1. A device, comprising: a power management integrated circuit (PMIC), comprising: a first portion operable to manage power provided to outside of the power management integrated circuit; and a second portion operable to manage power provided to outside of the power management integrated circuit; wherein a function of the first portion in managing power is same as a function of the second portion.
1. A power management integrated circuit, comprising: a first set of circuits providing at least first functionalities in managing power; and a second set of circuits providing the first functionalities in managing power; wherein operations of the second set of circuits in providing the first functionalities consume less power than operations of the first set of circuits in providing the first functionalities; wherein, when operated in a first mode, the power management integrated circuit disables the second set of circuits and enables the first set of circuits to provide the first functionalities in managing power; and wherein, when operated in a second mode, the power management integrated circuit disables the first set of circuits and enables the second set of circuits to provide the first functionalities in managing power.
5. The device of claim 1, wherein the first portion and the second portion are configured to operate in different modes.
2. The power management integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein the first set of circuits further provides second functionalities when the power management integrated circuit is operated in the first mode; and the second set of circuits does not provide the second functionalities when the power management integrated circuit is operated in the second mode.
6. The device of claim 1, wherein the first portion is configured to provide the function of the first portion at a power consumption level lower than the second portion.
7. The device of claim 1, wherein the first portion is configured to operate at a frequency lower than the second portion to provide the function of the first portion.
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12086015 (Reference Application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both set recite same claim limitations in slightly different language and spread over various claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fung (US 20070101173).
Regarding independent claim 1, Fung discloses a device (Figs. 1-28), comprising:
a power management integrated circuit (PMIC), (Fig. 9 and [0101] describes management module 430) comprising:
a first portion operable to manage power provided to outside of the power management integrated circuit (Fig. 9 and [0101] describes management module 430 along with [0104] describes communication link coupling microcontrollers (.sub..mu.C) 442-1; together they form first portion. It provides power to outside server modules 402-1); and
a second portion operable to manage power provided to outside of the power management integrated circuit (Fig. 9 and [0101] describes management module 430 along with [0104] describes communication link coupling microcontrollers (.sub..mu.C) 442-N; together they form second portion. It provides power to outside server modules 402-N);
wherein a function of the first portion in managing power is same as a function of the second portion (Fig. 9 shows memory 408-1 and 408-N inside each server modules. Fig. 6 and [0069] describes that second (or secondary) switch module 104a-2 operates to provide the same function as the first module 104a-1).
Regarding claim 2, Fung discloses all the elements of claim 1 as above and further the function of the first portion corresponds to a function of a voltage regulator (Fig. 9 and [0103] describes voltage and frequency are regulated locally by the CPU using an activity monitoring scheme).
Regarding claim 3, Fung discloses all the elements of claim 1 as above and further the first portion is a voltage regulator (Fig. 10 and [0109] describes voltage regulator 324).
Regarding claim 4, Fung discloses all the elements of claim 1 as above and further the first portion is configured to convert an input power to the power management integrated circuit to a predetermined operating voltage of a component outside of the power management integrated circuit (Fig. 9 shows 402-1 is outside management module 430).
Regarding claim 5, Fung discloses all the elements of claim 1 as above and further the first portion and the second portion are configured to operate in different modes ([0104] describes that power management scheme may be interpreted in one aspect as providing a Mode1-to-Mode2 and Mode2-to-Mode1 power management scheme, where both Mode 1 and Mode 2 are active modes and the state of the CPU in either Mode 1 or Mode 2 is controlled locally by the CPU).
Regarding claim 6, Fung discloses all the elements of claim 1 as above and further the first portion is configured to provide the function of the first portion at a power consumption level lower than the second portion ([0104] describes that server modules may be monitored for activity and controlled globally to reduce power consumption while providing sufficient on-line capacity. It is noted that the power management may be effected by altering either or both of the CPU clock frequency 420 or the CPU voltage 416).
Regarding claim 7, Fung discloses all the elements of claim 1 as above and further the first portion is configured to operate at a frequency lower than the second portion to provide the function of the first portion ([0104] describes that server modules may be monitored for activity and controlled globally to reduce power consumption while providing sufficient on-line capacity. It is noted that the power management may be effected by altering either or both of the CPU clock frequency 420 or the CPU voltage 416).
Claims 8-14 recite same limitations of claim 1-7 in method format and henceforth rejected the same way.
Claims 15-20 recite same limitations of claim 1-7 and henceforth rejected the same way.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Smith et al. (US 20150022368) --- Fig. 3 teaches all the elements recited in claim 1.
/SULTANA BEGUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824 3/31/2026