Response to Election
1. Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on February 12, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that there is no serious search burden on the Examiner since there is no patentable distinction with respect to the claimed inventions. This is not found persuasive because the method claim involves moving the cleaning pad in two separate directions relative to the housing, which is not found in the apparatus claims. This distinction involves a different search because it implies a search in polishing a surface as to opposed to cleaning like the Group I.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 13-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on February 12, 2026.
Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1)
Claims 1-2, 6, 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication (2022/0400925) to Hoobler et al.
Regarding independent claim 1, Hoobler et al. discloses a robotic cleaner (100) including a housing (102); and a cleaning pad (108) movably attached to the housing, the cleaning pad (108) being movable to extend at least a portion of the cleaning pad (108) beyond an edge of the housing (102) (See paragraph [0032]-[0034]).
Regarding claim 2, Hoobler et al. discloses that the robotic cleaner (100) further includes a motor (See paragraph [0032]) coupled to the housing (102), the motor (See paragraph [0032]) configured to move the cleaning pad (108) with respect to the housing.
Regarding claim 6, Hoobler et al. discloses a biasing element (488) attached to the cleaning pad (102), the biasing element (488) configured to bias the cleaning pad (108) towards a first position with respect to the housing (102).
Regarding claim 7, Hoobler et al. discloses the cleaning pad (108) is releasably attached to the housing (102) (See paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 12, Hoobler et al. discloses a docking station (200) including a base (204); and a support (210) extending laterally from the base (204), the support (210) configured to receive at least a portion of the robotic cleaner (100) on top of the support (210) (See paragraph [0034] and FIG. 2).
Claims 1 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication (2023/0248192) to Brown et al.
Regarding independent claim 1, Brown et al. discloses a robotic cleaner (4800) including a housing (4802); and a cleaning pad (4825) movably attached to the housing (4802), the cleaning pad (4825) being movable to extend at least a portion of the cleaning pad (4825) beyond an edge of the housing (4802) (See paragraphs [0153]-[0153] and FIG. 38A).
Regarding claim 8, Brown et al. discloses the robotic cleaner (4800) further includes at least one sensor (See paragraph [0104]); and at least one processor (See paragraph [0125]-[0130]) programmed or configured to: detect an obstacle based on information from the at least one sensor; and actuate movement of the cleaning pad (4825) with respect to the housing (4802) (See paragraph [0104]).
Regarding claim 9, Brown et al. discloses that the at least one processor (See paragraph [0104]) is programmed or configured to actuate movement of the robotic cleaner (4800) in response to detecting an obstacle (See paragraph [0104]).
Regarding claim 10, Brown et al. discloses the at least one processor (See paragraph [0104]) is programmed or configured to actuate movement of the cleaning pad (4825) with respect to the housing (102) after actuating movement of the robotic cleaner (4800) in response to detecting an obstacle.
Regarding claim 11, Brown et al. discloses the at least one processor (See paragraph [0104]) is programmed or configured to actuate movement of the cleaning pad (4825) by sending a signal (See paragraph [0077[) to a motor (4402) coupled to the cleaning pad (4825).
Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication (2023/0248192) to Brown et al. in view of U.S. Patent Publication (2019/0368507) to Xu et al.
Regarding claim 3, Brown et al. is silent regarding that the robotic cleaner (4800) further comprises a rotor coupled to the motor and the cleaning pad, wherein rotational movement of the rotor causes linear movement of the cleaning pad. However, Xu et al. teaches a robot vacuum cleaner having a rotor impeller (30) for rotating the electric motor (10) (See paragraph [0034] of Xu et al.). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Brown et al. with Xu et al. to include a rotor coupled to the motor (123) of the cleaning pad in order to improve rotational capabilities of the floor cleaning.
Regarding claim 4, Brown et al. as modified with Xu et al. teaches that the cleaning pad (4825) defines a groove (on the bottom in FIG. 38A) on a surface thereof, the groove (on the bottom in FIG. 38A) configured to receive a portion of the rotor therein.
Regarding claim 5, Brown et al. as modified with Xu et al. teaches that the cleaning pad (4825) is movable in a substantially linear direction along a first axis with respect to the housing (4802), and wherein the groove (on the bottom in FIG. 38A) defines an elongated length substantially perpendicular to the first axis. As mentioned above, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Brown et al. with Xu et al. to include a rotor coupled to the motor (123) of the cleaning pad in order to improve rotational capabilities of the floor cleaning.
Conclusion
MICHAEL DEANGILO. JENNINGS
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MICHAEL D JENNINGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723