DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN110536151) (all citations to English language machine-translation included with this office action), in view of Zhang, H., Cao, X., Ho, J. K., & Chow, T. W. (2016). Object-level video advertising: an optimization framework. IEEE Transactions on industrial informatics, 13(2), 520-531. (“Zhang”).
Regarding claim 1:
Yang teaches: an effect display method (page 2, method for adding virtual gift special effects to a video), comprising: acquiring a video frame image to be processed, wherein the video frame image comprises an image comprising at least one target object acquired during live streaming (Yang, page 2, acquire video from live video stream data, in combination with pages 3-4, there is at least one target object, the target object being a person in the video frame);
determining, based on position information corresponding to the target object in the video frame image, a display position corresponding to a target effect matching the target object (pages 3-5, determining synthesis position information for synthesizing and displaying the virtual gift special effect to the video frame. This position information is based on the target object (human, person) in the video frame. See also pages 20-21 and Fig. 7). … and
displaying, based on the display position, the target effect matching each target object in the video frame image (see mapping above and/or Yang, Fig. 8, display the video with target effect or virtual gift effect added to video).
Regarding the remaining features of claim 1, consider the following.
In analogous art, Zhang teaches: wherein the position information corresponding to the target object in the video frame image is determined based on historical position information corresponding to the target object in a plurality of frames of historical frame images (see section II(A) which teaches that when Zhang inserts content into video, “shots” are examined, which are described and teach historical position information in historical frame images. This is done to select an optimal location. See also Sections III-IV and Fig. 1. While the effect that Zhang is adding is an advertisement, modifying the applied references, such that the methodology of Zhang is used to find placement of the effect of Yang in relation to a target object (both references relevant to target object placement locations), is all of taught and suggested by the prior art, and would have been obvious and predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP §2143(A).
The prior art included each element recited in claim 1, although not necessarily in a single embodiment, with the only difference being between the claimed element and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of certain elements in a single prior art embodiment, as described above.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in that combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 7: see also claim 1.
Yang teaches: a computer device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores machine-readable instructions executable by the processor, the processor is configured to execute the machine-readable instructions stored in the memory, and when the machine-readable instructions are executed by the processor, the processor performs (pages 31-33) an effect display method, which comprises:
The method corresponds to the method of claim 1; the same rationale for rejection applies.
Regarding claim 13: see also claim 1.
Yang teaches: a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein when the computer program is executed by a computer device, the computer device performs (pages 31-33) an effect display method, which comprises:
The method corresponds to the method of claim 1; the same rationale for rejection applies.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 8-12 and 14-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, relevant to video processing and content modifications.
* * * * *
Sarah Lhymn
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2613
/Sarah Lhymn/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613