DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-6 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nemouchi et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0337252 A1), hereafter referred to as Nemouchi.
As to claim 1, Nemouchi discloses a semiconductor (fig 1H) comprising:
a metal nitride layer (fig 1H, 103; [0036]);
a channel (119) on a surface the metal nitride layer (103), the channel comprising a two-dimensional (2D) semiconductor material ([0052]);
a source electrode (105/115 on left side of channel 119) on a first side of the channel (119);
a drain electrode (105/115 on right side of channel 119) on a second side of the channel (119);
a gate insulating layer (121; [0053]) on the channel (119); and
a gate electrode (123; [0054]) on the gate insulating layer (121) such that the gate insulating layer (121) is between the gate electrode (123) and the channel (119).
As to claim 5, Nemouchi discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the channel includes a material expressed as M2X2, where M2 represents at least one of Mo, W, Nb, V, Ta, Ti, Zr, Hf, Tc, or Re, and X represents at least one of S, Se, or Te ([0052]).
As to claim 6, Nemouchi discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the channel includes at least one of MoS2, MoSe2, MoTe2, WS2, WSe2, WTe2, ZrS2, ZrSe2, HfS2, HfSe2, NbSe2, or ReSe2 ([0052]).
As to claim 8, Nemouchi discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the channel (119) is in direct contact with the metal nitride layer (103).
As to claim 9, Nemouchi discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the channel includes a stack of 1 or more and 10 or less 2D semiconductor material layers ([0052]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 14, 15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nemouchi in view of Lin et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0420250 A1), hereafter referred to as Lin.
As to claim 10, Nemouchi discloses a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device (figs 1A-H), the method comprising:
depositing a metal nitride layer (103; [0036]);
forming a channel of a two-dimensional (2D) semiconductor material (119) from a metal element with a chalcogen element ([0052]);
forming a source electrode on a first side of the channel (105 on left side of channel 119) and forming a drain electrode on a second side of the channel (105 on right side of channel 119);
forming a gate insulating layer (121) on the channel (119); and
forming a gate electrode (123) on the gate insulating layer (121) such that the gate insulating layer (121) is between the gate electrode (123) and the channel (119).
Nemouchi does not disclose depositing a metal layer on the surface of the metal nitride layer and forming the 2D semiconductor material by reacting a metal of the metal layer with a chalcogen element.
Nonetheless, Lin discloses a method of making a 2D semiconductor material by depositing a metal layer then reacting a metal of the metal layer with a chalcogen element ([0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to manufacture the 2D semiconductor material of Nemouchi using the process as taught by Lin since this will allow for the improved control of the number of sub-layers resulting from the by process by varying the amount of precursors introduced into the reaction chamber, as well as, the pressure and temperature during the process.
As to claim 14, Nemouchi in view of Lin disclose the method of claim 10 (paragraphs above).
Nemouchi further discloses wherein the channel includes a material expressed as M2X2, where M2 represents at least one of Mo, W, Nb, V, Ta, Ti, Zr, Hf, Tc, or Re, and X represents at least one of S, Se, or Te ([0052]).
As to claim 15, Nemouchi in view of Lin disclose the method of claim 10 (paragraphs above).
Nemouchi further discloses wherein the channel includes at least one of MoS2, MoSe2, MoTe2, WS2, WSe2, WTe2, ZrS2, ZrSe2, HfS2, HfSe2, NbSe2, or ReSe2 ([0052]).
As to claim 17, Nemouchi in view of Lin disclose the method of claim 10 (paragraphs above).
Nemouchi further discloses wherein the channel (119) is disposed to be in direct contact with the metal nitride layer (103).
As to claim 18, Nemouchi in view of Lin disclose the method of claim 10 (paragraphs above).
Nemouchi further discloses wherein the forming the channel includes forming the channel to include a stack of 1 or more and 10 or less 2D semiconductor material layers ([0052]).
As to claim 19, Nemouchi in view of Lin disclose the method of claim 10 (paragraphs above).
Lin further discloses wherein the forming of the channel is performed using at least one of a chemical vapor deposition (CVD), physical vapor deposition (PVD), or atomic layer deposition (ALD) process ([0025]).
Claim(s) 2-4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nemouchi in view of Chen et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0051908 A1), hereafter referred to as Chen.
As to claim 2, Nemouchi discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1 (paragraphs above).
Nemouchi does not disclose wherein the metal nitride layer includes a transition metal and nitrogen.
Nonetheless, Chen discloses a liner that is formed of a metal nitride that includes a transition metal and nitrogen (fig 2B, layer 221; [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the metal nitride liner of Chen between the channel and the insulating layer of Nemouchi since this will create a uniformly thick barrier layer with the sidewalls of the insulating layer and provide a template with a large grain size.
As to claim 3, Nemouchi in view of Chen disclose the semiconductor device of claim 2 (paragraphs above).
Chen further discloses wherein the metal nitride layer includes a material expressed as M1N, where M1 represents the transition metal and includes at least one of Mo, W, Nb, V, Ta, Ti, Zr, or Hf, and N represents the nitrogen ([0035]).
As to claim 4, Nemouchi discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1 (paragraphs above).
Nemouchi does not disclose wherein the metal nitride layer has a thickness greater than 0 and about 3 nm or less.
Nonetheless, Chen discloses wherein the metal nitride layer has a thickness greater than 0 and about 3 nm or less ([0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the metal nitride liner of Chen between the channel and the insulating layer of Nemouchi since this will create a uniformly thick barrier layer with the sidewalls of the insulating layer and provide a template with a large grain size.
As to claim 7, Nemouchi discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1 (paragraphs above).
Nemouchi does not disclose wherein the metal nitride layer further includes carbon.
Nonetheless, Chen discloses wherein the metal nitride layer further includes carbon ([0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the metal nitride liner of Chen between the channel and the insulating layer of Nemouchi since this will create a uniformly thick barrier layer with the sidewalls of the insulating layer and provide a template with a large grain size.
Claim(s) 11-13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nemouchi in view of Lin and further in view of Chen.
As to claim 11, Nemouchi in view of Lin disclose the method of claim 10 (paragraphs above).
Nemouchi in view of Lin does not disclose wherein the metal nitride layer includes a transition metal and nitrogen.
Nonetheless, Chen discloses a liner that is formed of a metal nitride that includes a transition metal and nitrogen (fig 2B, layer 221; [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the metal nitride liner of Chen between the channel and the insulating layer of Nemouchi since this will create a uniformly thick barrier layer with the sidewalls of the insulating layer and provide a template with a large grain size.
As to claim 12, Nemouchi in view of Lin disclose the method of claim 10 (paragraphs above).
Chen further discloses wherein the metal nitride layer includes a material expressed as M1N, where M1 represents the transition metal and includes at least one of Mo, W, Nb, V, Ta, Ti, Zr, or Hf, and N represents the nitrogen ([0035]).
As to claim 13, Nemouchi in view of Lin disclose the method of claim 10 (paragraphs above).
Nemouchi in view of Lin does not disclose wherein the metal nitride layer has a thickness greater than 0 and about 3 nm or less.
Nonetheless, Chen discloses wherein the metal nitride layer has a thickness greater than 0 and about 3 nm or less ([0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the metal nitride liner of Chen between the channel and the insulating layer of Nemouchi since this will create a uniformly thick barrier layer with the sidewalls of the insulating layer and provide a template with a large grain size.
As to claim 16, Nemouchi in view of Lin disclose the method of claim 10 (paragraphs above).
Nemouchi in view of Lin does not disclose wherein the metal nitride layer further includes carbon.
Nonetheless, Chen discloses wherein the metal nitride layer further includes carbon ([0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the metal nitride liner of Chen between the channel and the insulating layer of Nemouchi since this will create a uniformly thick barrier layer with the sidewalls of the insulating layer and provide a template with a large grain size.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub. No. 2025/0072058A1 and US Pub. No. 2025/0063770A1.
Conclusion
/SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 9/9/2026