DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed August 31st, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. The amendments to the abstract claims have overcome each and every specification objection and claim objection previously cited in the Non-Final rejection mailed June 04th, 2026. However, the amendment has raised other issues detailed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 14, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed August 31st, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on Pg. 12 (as numbered by the Applicant) of the Remarks, “The Office Action rejected claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) or 35 U.S.C. §112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as allegedly being indefinite. The Examiner's comments have been addressed in amending the pending claims. Accordingly, this rejection should be withdrawn.” However, the dependent claims still remain indefinite as the control limitations of the dependent claims are still not clearly linked to a controller. For example, claim 2 should read “The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured control the heating amount of the heater to be changed to the heating amount of the heater in the one section when a defrosting process is completed”. See the 112(b) rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 9-24 recite, “wherein, when a defrosting start condition is satisfied in one section of the plurality of sections, the initial heating amount of the heater in the one section is reduced” which renders indefinite the metes and bounds sought for protection of the claim. In the instant case, the claim recites both an apparatus and process in the same claim. Per MPEP 2173.05(p): “[a] single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.” The Examiner recommends claiming the step in connection to the controller (i.e., “wherein the controller is further configured to determine when a defrosting start condition is satisfied in one section of the plurality of sections, and when the defrosting start condition is satisfied in one section of the plurality of sections the initial heating amount of the heater in the one section is reduced”). For purposes of examination, these limitations will be interpreted as purely functional recitations of the claim.
Claim 2, lines 1-3 recite, “wherein when a defrosting process is completed, the heating amount of the heater is controlled to be changed to the heating amount of the heater in the one section” which renders indefinite the metes and bounds sought for protection of the claim. In the instant case, the claim recites both an apparatus and process in the same claim. Per MPEP 2173.05(p): “[a] single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.” The Examiner recommends directly connecting the control citations to the controller capable of performing these control operations. For purposes of examination, these limitations will be interpreted as purely functional recitations of the claim.
Claim 3, lines 1-2 recite, “wherein the plurality of sections is divided based on the reference time” which renders indefinite the metes and bounds sought for protection of the claim. In the instant case, the claim recites both an apparatus and process in the same claim. Per MPEP 2173.05(p): “[a] single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.” The Examiner recommends directly connecting the control citations to the controller capable of performing these control operations. For purposes of examination, these limitations will be interpreted as purely functional recitations of the claim.
Claim 4, lines 1-2 recite, “wherein the plurality of sections is divided based on the temperature sensed by the temperature sensor” which renders indefinite the metes and bounds sought for protection of the claim. In the instant case, the claim recites both an apparatus and process in the same claim. Per MPEP 2173.05(p): “[a] single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.” The Examiner recommends directly connecting the control citations to the controller capable of performing these control operations. For purposes of examination, these limitations will be interpreted as purely functional recitations of the claim.
Claim 5, lines 1-3 recite, “wherein, after the heater is turned off, an ice separation process starts when a condition for start of the ice separation process is satisfied” which renders indefinite the metes and bounds sought for protection of the claim. In the instant case, the claim recites both an apparatus and process in the same claim. Per MPEP 2173.05(p): “[a] single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.” The Examiner recommends directly connecting the control citations to the controller capable of performing these control operations. For purposes of examination, these limitations will be interpreted as purely functional recitations of the claim.
Claim 6, lines 1-2 recite, “wherein, the ice separation process starts when a certain amount of time has passed while the heater is turned off” which renders indefinite the metes and bounds sought for protection of the claim. In the instant case, the claim recites both an apparatus and process in the same claim. Per MPEP 2173.05(p): “[a] single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.” The Examiner recommends directly connecting the control citations to the controller capable of performing these control operations. For purposes of examination, these limitations will be interpreted as purely functional recitations of the claim.
Claim 7, lines 1-3 recite, “wherein, the ice separation process starts when a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor reaches a reference temperature while the heater is turned off” which renders indefinite the metes and bounds sought for protection of the claim. In the instant case, the claim recites both an apparatus and process in the same claim. Per MPEP 2173.05(p): “[a] single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.” The Examiner recommends directly connecting the control citations to the controller capable of performing these control operations. For purposes of examination, these limitations will be interpreted as purely functional recitations of the claim.
Claim 8, lines 1-3 recite, “further comprising an ice separation heater, wherein, when the condition for start of the ice separation process is satisfied, the ice separation heater is turned on” which renders indefinite the metes and bounds sought for protection of the claim. In the instant case, the claim recites both an apparatus and process in the same claim. Per MPEP 2173.05(p): “[a] single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.” The Examiner recommends directly connecting the control citations to the controller capable of performing these control operations. For purposes of examination, these limitations will be interpreted as purely functional recitations of the claim.
Claim 14, lines 9-25 recite, “wherein, when a defrosting start condition is satisfied in one section of the plurality of sections, the initial heating amount of the heater in the one section is reduced” which renders indefinite the metes and bounds sought for protection of the claim. In the instant case, the claim recites both an apparatus and process in the same claim. Per MPEP 2173.05(p): “[a] single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.” The Examiner recommends claiming the step in connection to the controller (i.e., “wherein the controller is further configured to determine when a defrosting start condition is satisfied in one section of the plurality of sections, and when the defrosting start condition is satisfied in one section of the plurality of sections the initial heating amount of the heater in the one section is reduced”). For purposes of examination, these limitations will be interpreted as purely functional recitations of the claim.
Claim 15, lines 1-9 recite, “wherein, when the defrosting start condition is not satisfied in the ice making process in the one section, the initial heating amount of the heater is controlled to be maintained in the one section, and wherein the one section is a first section when an initial heating amount of the heater in a second section of the plurality of sections is less than the heating amount of the heater in the first section when a defrosting process starts in the first section, the heating amount of the heater in the first section is controlled to be changed to the initial heating amount in the second section, the second section being a section of the plurality of sections after the first section during the ice making process” which renders indefinite the metes and bounds sought for protection of the claim. In the instant case, the claim recites both an apparatus and process in the same claim. Per MPEP 2173.05(p): “[a] single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.” The Examiner recommends directly connecting the control citations to the controller capable of performing these control operations. For purposes of examination, these limitations will be interpreted as purely functional recitations of the claim.
Claim 16, lines 1-7 recite, “wherein the one section is a first section when the initial heating amount of the heater in a second section of the plurality of sections is less than the heating amount of the heater in the first section when a defrosting process starts in the first section, the heating amount of the heater in the first section is controlled to be changed to the initial heating amount in the second section, the second section being a section of the plurality of sections prior to the first section during the ice making process” which renders indefinite the metes and bounds sought for protection of the claim. In the instant case, the claim recites both an apparatus and process in the same claim. Per MPEP 2173.05(p): “[a] single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.” The Examiner recommends directly connecting the control citations to the controller capable of performing these control operations. For purposes of examination, these limitations will be interpreted as purely functional recitations of the claim.
Claim 17, lines 1-3 recite, “wherein the defrosting process is completed, the heating amount of the heater is controlled to be changed to the initial heating amount of the heater in the one section” which renders indefinite the metes and bounds sought for protection of the claim. In the instant case, the claim recites both an apparatus and process in the same claim. Per MPEP 2173.05(p): “[a] single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.” The Examiner recommends directly connecting the control citations to the controller capable of performing these control operations. For purposes of examination, these limitations will be interpreted as purely functional recitations of the claim.
Claim 18, lines 1-2 recite, “wherein the plurality of sections is divided based on a predetermined time” which renders indefinite the metes and bounds sought for protection of the claim. In the instant case, the claim recites both an apparatus and process in the same claim. Per MPEP 2173.05(p): “[a] single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.” The Examiner recommends directly connecting the control citations to the controller capable of performing these control operations. For purposes of examination, these limitations will be interpreted as purely functional recitations of the claim.
Claim 19, lines 1-2 recite, “wherein the plurality of sections is divided based on the temperature sensed by the temperature sensor” which renders indefinite the metes and bounds sought for protection of the claim. In the instant case, the claim recites both an apparatus and process in the same claim. Per MPEP 2173.05(p): “[a] single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.” The Examiner recommends directly connecting the control citations to the controller capable of performing these control operations. For purposes of examination, these limitations will be interpreted as purely functional recitations of the claim.
Claim 20, lines 9-25 recite, “wherein, when a defrosting start condition is satisfied in one section of the plurality of sections, the initial heating amount of the heater in the one section is reduced” which renders indefinite the metes and bounds sought for protection of the claim. In the instant case, the claim recites both an apparatus and process in the same claim. Per MPEP 2173.05(p): “[a] single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.” The Examiner recommends claiming the step in connection to the controller (i.e., “wherein the controller is further configured to determine when a defrosting start condition is satisfied in one section of the plurality of sections, and when the defrosting start condition is satisfied in one section of the plurality of sections the initial heating amount of the heater in the one section is reduced”). For purposes of examination, these limitations will be interpreted as purely functional recitations of the claim.
Claims 2-13 and 15-19 are also rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 14-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al. (US 20130014536), hereinafter Son in view of Morishita et al. (WO 2012124075), hereinafter Morishita and Takahashi et al. (US Patent No. 6,935,124), hereinafter Takahashi.
Regarding claim 1, Son discloses a refrigerator (Fig. 1, refrigerator 1) comprising:
a storage chamber configured to store food (Fig. 2, refrigerating compartment 3, freezing compartment 4; Further, the refrigerating compartment 3 and freezing compartment 4 of Son have the same structure as the claimed storage chamber and are capable of functioning in the manner claimed);
a cooler configured to supply cold into the storage chamber (Pg. 1, paragraph 3, In general, refrigerators are home appliances for storing foods at a low temperature in an inner storage space covered by a door. That is, since such a refrigerator cools the inside of the storage space using cool air generated by heat exchanging with a refrigerant circulating a refrigeration cycle, foods stored in the storage space may be stored in a refrigerated or frozen state; Further, the teachings of Son at least imply a cooler configured to supply cold into the storage chamber since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01));
a first tray defining a first portion of a cell, which is a space in which liquid is phase-changed into ice by the cold (Fig. 3, upper tray 110, recessed part 113; Fig. 6, shell 150; Pg. 4, paragraph 64, The upper tray 110 may be formed of a metal material. Also, the upper tray 110 may be configured to quickly freeze water within the shell 150 through thermal conduction).
However, Son does not disclose a temperature sensor configured to sense a temperature of the liquid or the ice within the cell; and
a heater configured to supply heat into the cell,
a controller configured to control the heater, wherein the heater is turned on only when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied after a liquid supply process is completed, wherein, after the turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, a heating amount of the heater is variably controlled so that a rate at which the liquid inside the cell is made into the ice during an ice making process is maintained within a predetermined range that is lower than an ice making rate when ice making is performed while the heater is turned off, wherein, after the heating amount of the heater is variably controlled, the heater is turned off when a turn-off condition of the heater is satisfied, the turn-off condition of the heater being satisfied when the heater operates for a reference time, wherein, when a defrosting start condition is satisfied in one section of the plurality of sections, the initial heating amount of the heater in the one section is reduced.
Morishita teaches a temperature sensor configured to sense a temperature of the liquid or the ice within the cell (Fig. 3, thermistor 25, ice making cell 21; Pg. 3, The thermistor 25 is disposed on the lower surface of the ice tray 20 at a position between the ice making cells 21 arranged in two rows. The thermistor 25 measures the temperature inside the ice making cell 21 through the wall of the ice making cell 21); and
a heater configured to supply heat into the cell (Fig. 3, heater 31; Pg. 4, As a result, the heater 31 comes into close contact with the ice making cell 21, and the heat of the heater 31 is efficiently transmitted to the ice making cell 21),
a controller configured to control the heater (Fig. 11, control unit 50; Pg. 5, The control unit 50 shown in FIG. 11 is responsible for overall control of the refrigerator-freezer 1 including operation control of the refrigeration cycle and energization control of the heater 31), wherein the heater is turned on only when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied after a liquid supply process is completed (Fig. 12, step 101-103; Pg. 5, In step # 101, the control unit 50 operates the water supply device 54 to supply water to the ice tray 20. Since the temperature of the ice making chamber 4 is close to the freezing temperature (set to minus 18 ° C.), the temperature of the ice tray 20 rises when water is supplied. The thermistor 25 detects this temperature rise in step # 102. Since the water is cooled as soon as it is supplied, the temperature measured by the thermistor 25 once rises and then begins to fall. From here, step # 103 is entered. Step # 103 is a freezing preparation step. The control unit 50 energizes the heater 31 with “preheating” to lower the water temperature at a predetermined rate), wherein, after the turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, a heating amount of the heater is variably controlled so that a rate at which the liquid inside the cell is made into the ice during an ice making process is maintained within a predetermined range that is lower than an ice making rate when ice making is performed while the heater is turned off (Pg. 5, In the subsequent steps, heating by the heater 31 is performed. By freezing the ice tray 20 while being heated by the heater 31 from below, transparent ice can be grown not from the portion in contact with the inner surface of the ice tray 20 but from the portion away from the inner surface of the ice tray 20. Easy to grow high ice. When the compressor 51 enters the stop period in the middle of step # 103, the brake is naturally applied to the temperature drop. The controller 50 stops energizing the heater 31 and avoids unnecessary power consumption. The control unit 50 also stops energization of the heater 31 when the measured temperature of the thermistor 25 is equal to or higher than a predetermined value, for example, 1 ° C. or higher. Thus, it is possible to avoid wasting power by energizing the heater 31 until there is no risk of freezing from the point where water contacts the ice tray 20; Further, the teachings of Morishita of turning on and off the heater when the compressor is stopped and when a temperature is reached at least implies variable control of the heater since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01); Moreover, the teachings of Morishita of using a heater to slow down ice freezing at least imply the use of the heater slows the rate of cooling compared to not having a heater since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)), wherein, after the heating amount of the heater is variably controlled, the heater is turned off when a turn-off condition of the heater is satisfied, the turn-off condition of the heater being satisfied when the heater operates for a reference time (Fig. 12, steps 108; Pg. 6, The control unit 50 stops energizing the heater 31 in step # 108. When the predetermined time has elapsed, it is determined that the generation of transparent ice has been ensured, and the process proceeds to step # 109), wherein, when a defrosting start condition is satisfied in one section of the plurality of sections, the initial heating amount of the heater in the one section is reduced (Fig. 12, steps 104-106; Pg. 6, In step # 104, the control unit 50 checks whether or not the temperature measured by the thermistor 25 has dropped below freezing point. When the temperature falls below the freezing point, the process proceeds to step # 105. Step # 105 is an ice melting step. The controller 50 energizes the heater 31 for “rapid heating” for a predetermined time to heat the ice tray 20. Even if the measurement error of the thermistor 25 delays the transition from step # 104 to step # 105 and ice is attached to the inner surface of the ice making cell 21, the ice melts at this stage. Therefore, it is possible to proceed to step # 106 without generating residual ice that hinders obtaining homogeneous transparent ice. In step # 105, the controller 50 energizes the heater 31 for “rapid heating” regardless of whether the compressor 51 is operating or stopped. Thereby, melting of ice can be advanced at a stretch. Step # 106 is a freezing progress step. The controller 50 energizes the heater 31 for “normal heating” until the temperature measured by the thermistor 25 drops to a predetermined temperature. When the compressor 51 enters a stop period in the middle of step # 106, the control unit 50 stops energizing the heater 31 and avoids unnecessary power consumption. However, there is a possibility that freezing has occurred on the inner surface of the ice tray 20 when the operation of the compressor 51 is resumed by stopping energization of the heater 31. Therefore, after restarting the operation of the compressor 51, the heater 31 is energized for "rapid heating" for a certain period of time, and if freezing occurs on the inner surface of the ice tray 20, it is melted. Thereby, although energization to heater 31 is intermittent, generation of transparent ice can be performed continuously; Further, the Examiner notes the recitation of “wherein, when a defrosting start condition is satisfied in one section of the plurality of sections, the initial heating amount of the heater in the one section is reduced” is a contingent limitation in a system claim and it has been held "the broadest reasonable interpretation of a system claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, still requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur" (MPEP 2111.04, Section II); As best understood, see 112(b) rejection above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the refrigerator of Son of claim 1 to include a temperature sensor configured to sense a temperature of the liquid or the ice within the cell; and a heater configured to supply heat into the cell, a controller configured to control the heater, wherein the heater is turned on only when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied after a liquid supply process is completed, wherein, after the turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, a heating amount of the heater is variably controlled so that a rate at which the liquid inside the cell is made into the ice during an ice making process is maintained within a predetermined range that is lower than an ice making rate when ice making is performed while the heater is turned off, the ice making process having a plurality of sections, and the heater being controlled to be operated with an initial heating amount corresponding to each section of the plurality of sections, wherein, after the heating amount of the heater is variably controlled, the heater is turned off when a turn-off condition of the heater is satisfied, the turn-off condition of the heater being satisfied when the heater operates for a reference time, wherein, when a defrosting start condition is satisfied in one section of the plurality of sections, the initial heating amount of the heater in the one section is reduced as taught by Morishita. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide transparent ice while avoiding unnecessary power consumption (Morishita, Pg. 6).
Further, Son as modified does not disclose the turn-on condition of the heater being satisfied when a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor reaches a turn-on reference temperature; and the ice making process having a plurality of sections, and the heater being controlled to be operated with an initial heating amount corresponding to each section of the plurality of sections.
Takahashi teaches the turn-on condition of the heater being satisfied when a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor reaches a turn-on reference temperature (Fig. 22, S4-S10; Col. 19, lines 28-36, An embodiment 8 will be described with reference to a control flowchart shown in FIG. 22. As shown in FIG. 22, when the temperature shown by the thermistor 316 provided at the bottom part of the ice making tray 301 becomes equal to or lower than -10° C., the process continues to the following step. Heating by the heater wire 308 continues until the temperature shown by the thermistor 315 provided on the upper side face of the ice making tray 301 becomes equal to or higher than -1 ° C); and the ice making process having a plurality of sections, and the heater being controlled to be operated with an initial heating amount corresponding to each section of the plurality of sections (See annotated Fig. 20(a)-20(b) of Takahashi below, plurality of sections A; Col. 18-19, lines 64-67 and 1-8, In addition, the temperature of the side face of the ice making tray 301 is, for example as shown in FIG. 20(b), -10° C. at the bottom and is kept, by the heater 308, at a temperature near 0° C. at the upper part. Therefore, freezing of water begins from the center of the bottom part. If the temperature of the side face of the ice making tray 301 is higher than that at the center thereof, the dissolved gas or hard ions are not trapped in the ice and diffused to the vicinity of the side face of the ice making tray, and an extremely small amount of impurities is deposited on the side face of the tray. Therefore, the resulting ice is extremely transparent at the core).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the refrigerator of Son as modified the turn-on condition of the heater being satisfied when a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor reaches a turn-on reference temperature; and the ice making process having a plurality of sections, and the heater being controlled to be operated with an initial heating amount corresponding to each section of the plurality of sections as taught by Takahashi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide extremely transparent ice (Takahashi, Col 19, lines 1-8).
Annotated Fig. 20(a) and 20(b) of Takahashi
Regarding claim 2, Son as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein when a defrosting process is completed, the heating amount of the heater is controlled to be changed to the heating amount of the heater in the one section (Morishita, Fig. 12, steps 104-106; Pg. 6, In step # 104, the control unit 50 checks whether or not the temperature measured by the thermistor 25 has dropped below freezing point. When the temperature falls below the freezing point, the process proceeds to step # 105. Step # 105 is an ice melting step. The controller 50 energizes the heater 31 for “rapid heating” for a predetermined time to heat the ice tray 20. Even if the measurement error of the thermistor 25 delays the transition from step # 104 to step # 105 and ice is attached to the inner surface of the ice making cell 21, the ice melts at this stage. Therefore, it is possible to proceed to step # 106 without generating residual ice that hinders obtaining homogeneous transparent ice. In step # 105, the controller 50 energizes the heater 31 for “rapid heating” regardless of whether the compressor 51 is operating or stopped. Thereby, melting of ice can be advanced at a stretch. Step # 106 is a freezing progress step. The controller 50 energizes the heater 31 for “normal heating” until the temperature measured by the thermistor 25 drops to a predetermined temperature. When the compressor 51 enters a stop period in the middle of step # 106, the control unit 50 stops energizing the heater 31 and avoids unnecessary power consumption. However, there is a possibility that freezing has occurred on the inner surface of the ice tray 20 when the operation of the compressor 51 is resumed by stopping energization of the heater 31. Therefore, after restarting the operation of the compressor 51, the heater 31 is energized for "rapid heating" for a certain period of time, and if freezing occurs on the inner surface of the ice tray 20, it is melted. Thereby, although energization to heater 31 is intermittent, generation of transparent ice can be performed continuously; Further, the Examiner notes the recitation of “wherein when the defrosting process is completed, the heating amount of the heater is controlled to be changed to the heating amount of the heater in the one section” is a contingent limitation in a system claim and it has been held "the broadest reasonable interpretation of a system claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, still requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur" (MPEP 2111.04, Section II); As best understood, see 112(b) rejection above). Further, the limitations of claim 2 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, Son as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the plurality of sections is divided based on a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor (See annotated Fig. 20(a)-20(b) of Takahashi below, plurality of sections A are based on the temperatures senses between points A and B of the cell; As best understood, see 112(b) rejections above). Further, the limitations of claim 4 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Annotated Fig. 20(a) and 20(b) of Takahashi
Regarding the Morishita rejection of claim 5, Son as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein an ice separation process starts after the ice is made (Son, Fig. 3, ice separation heater 161; Pg. 5, paragraph 85, After ice pieces are made in the plurality of shells 150, the ice pieces are separated as shown in FIG. 11. In detail, after ice pieces are made, the ice separation heater 161 attached to the top surface of the upper tray 110 is operated. The ice separation heater 161 heats the upper tray 110 formed of the metal material to melt a portion of the globular or spherical ice piece contacting a surface of the upper tray 110. Thus, the globular ice piece may be separated from the recessed part 113 of the upper tray 110).
However, Son as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein, after the heater is turned off, an ice separation process starts when a condition for start of the ice separation process is satisfied.
Morishita teaches wherein, after the heater is turned off, an ice separation process starts when a condition for start of the ice separation process is satisfied (Fig. 12, steps 107-109; Pg. 6, In step # 107, the control unit 50 checks whether or not the temperature measured by the thermistor 25 has dropped to a predetermined temperature. When the temperature measured by the thermistor 25 drops to a predetermined temperature, for example, minus 9 ° C., it is determined that ice making is completed, and the process proceeds to step # 108. The control unit 50 stops energizing the heater 31 in step # 108. When the predetermined time has elapsed, it is determined that the generation of transparent ice has been ensured, and the process proceeds to step # 109. In step # 109, the control unit 50 causes the ice removing device 24 to perform the reversing operation of the ice tray 20. When the ice making device 24 rotates the ice tray 20 around the support shaft 22, the protrusion 48 hits a stopper (not shown) formed on the ice tray casing 12 just before the upside down is completed. Since the ice removing device 24 continues to rotate the ice tray 20 by a predetermined angle thereafter, the ice tray 20 is twisted and deformed. As described above, a gap 47 is provided between the windshield plate 45 and the cover 34 so as not to cause mutual contact even when the ice tray 20 is twisted, so that the edge of the cover 34 and the windshield 45 are rubbed together. No squeaks or wears out. When the ice tray 20 is twisted, the ice in the ice making cell 21 is pushed out and falls into an ice container (not shown) placed in the ice making chamber 4; Further, the Examiner notes the recitation of “an ice separation process starts when a condition for start of the ice separation process is satisfied” is a contingent limitation in a system claim and it has been held "the broadest reasonable interpretation of a system claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, still requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur" (MPEP 2111.04, Section II); As best understood, see 112(b) rejections above).
Son as modified fails to teach wherein, after the heater is turned off, an ice separation process starts when a condition for start of the ice separation process is satisfied, however Morishita teaches that it is a known method in the art of transparent ice making to include wherein, after the heater is turned off, an ice separation process starts when a condition for start of the ice separation process is satisfied. This is strong evidence that modifying Son as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. removing ice from the ice making tray for consumer use). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Son as modified by Morishita and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of removing ice from the ice making tray for consumer use.
Regarding the Takahashi rejection of claim 5, Son as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein an ice separation process starts after the ice is made (Son, Fig. 3, ice separation heater 161; Pg. 5, paragraph 85, After ice pieces are made in the plurality of shells 150, the ice pieces are separated as shown in FIG. 11. In detail, after ice pieces are made, the ice separation heater 161 attached to the top surface of the upper tray 110 is operated. The ice separation heater 161 heats the upper tray 110 formed of the metal material to melt a portion of the globular or spherical ice piece contacting a surface of the upper tray 110. Thus, the globular ice piece may be separated from the recessed part 113 of the upper tray 110).
However, Son as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein, after the heater is turned off, an ice separation process starts when a condition for start of the ice separation process is satisfied.
Takahashi teaches wherein, after the heater is turned off, an ice separation process starts when a condition for start of the ice separation process is satisfied (Fig. 22, steps S14-S8; Col. 19, lines 42-59, The amount of water supplied at a time is 0.2 ml, for example, and the water is supplied every 2 minutes. While supplying water, the ice making tray 301 is also reciprocated at a low speed horizontally or pivotally with an rotation angle of about +30 degrees. After a lapse of 1 hour and 45 minutes from the start of supply of water, for example, the water feed pump 311, the reciprocation by the actuator 307 and heating by the heater wire 308 are stopped. When the temperature of the upper side face of the ice making tray 301 becomes equal to or lower than -10° C., it is determined that ice making is completed, the ice is released from the ice making tray 301 by, for example, the actuator 307 giving a twist to the ice making tray 301, and the released ice is stored in the ice storage compartment 304. When the ice is released, the ice making tray 301 is placed in a horizontal position again, and when it is confirmed that it is in a horizontal position, the heating step in the following ice making process is started; Further, the Examiner notes the recitation of “an ice separation process starts when a condition for start of the ice separation process is satisfied” is a contingent limitation in a system claim and it has been held "the broadest reasonable interpretation of a system claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, still requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur" (MPEP 2111.04, Section II); As best understood, see 112(b) rejections above).
Son as modified fails to teach wherein, after the heater is turned off, an ice separation process starts when a condition for start of the ice separation process is satisfied, however Takahashi teaches that it is a known method in the art of transparent ice making to include wherein, after the heater is turned off, an ice separation process starts when a condition for start of the ice separation process is satisfied. This is strong evidence that modifying Son as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. removing ice from the ice making tray for consumer use). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Son as modified by Takahashi and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of removing ice from the ice making tray for consumer use.
Regarding claim 6, Son as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 5 (see the combination of references used in the Morishita rejection of claim 5 above), wherein, the ice separation process starts when a certain amount of time has passed while the heater is turned off (Morishita, Fig. 12, steps 107-109; Pg. 6, In step # 107, the control unit 50 checks whether or not the temperature measured by the thermistor 25 has dropped to a predetermined temperature. When the temperature measured by the thermistor 25 drops to a predetermined temperature, for example, minus 9 ° C., it is determined that ice making is completed, and the process proceeds to step # 108. The control unit 50 stops energizing the heater 31 in step # 108. When the predetermined time has elapsed, it is determined that the generation of transparent ice has been ensured, and the process proceeds to step # 109. In step # 109, the control unit 50 causes the ice removing device 24 to perform the reversing operation of the ice tray 20. When the ice making device 24 rotates the ice tray 20 around the support shaft 22, the protrusion 48 hits a stopper (not shown) formed on the ice tray casing 12 just before the upside down is completed. Since the ice removing device 24 continues to rotate the ice tray 20 by a predetermined angle thereafter, the ice tray 20 is twisted and deformed. As described above, a gap 47 is provided between the windshield plate 45 and the cover 34 so as not to cause mutual contact even when the ice tray 20 is twisted, so that the edge of the cover 34 and the windshield 45 are rubbed together. No squeaks or wears out. When the ice tray 20 is twisted, the ice in the ice making cell 21 is pushed out and falls into an ice container (not shown) placed in the ice making chamber 4). Further, the limitations of claim 6 are the result of the modification of references used in the Morishita rejection of claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 7, Son as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 5 (see the combination of references used in the Takahashi rejection of claim 5 above), wherein, the ice separation process starts when a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor reaches a reference temperature while the heater is turned off (Takahashi, Fig. 22, steps S14-S8; Col. 19, lines 42-59, The amount of water supplied at a time is 0.2 ml, for example, and the water is supplied every 2 minutes. While supplying water, the ice making tray 301 is also reciprocated at a low speed horizontally or pivotally with an rotation angle of about +30 degrees. After a lapse of 1 hour and 45 minutes from the start of supply of water, for example, the water feed pump 311, the reciprocation by the actuator 307 and heating by the heater wire 308 are stopped. When the temperature of the upper side face of the ice making tray 301 becomes equal to or lower than -10° C., it is determined that ice making is completed, the ice is released from the ice making tray 301 by, for example, the actuator 307 giving a twist to the ice making tray 301, and the released ice is stored in the ice storage compartment 304. When the ice is released, the ice making tray 301 is placed in a horizontal position again, and when it is confirmed that it is in a horizontal position, the heating step in the following ice making process is started; Further, the Examiner notes the recitation of “wherein, the ice separation process starts when a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor reaches a reference temperature while the heater is turned off” is a contingent limitation in a system claim and it has been held "the broadest reasonable interpretation of a system claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, still requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur" (MPEP 2111.04, Section II); As best understood, see 112(b) rejections above). Further, the limitations of claim 7 are the result of the modification of references used in the Takahashi rejection of claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 8, Son as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 5 (see the combination of references used in the Morishita rejection of claim 5 above), further comprising an ice separation heater, wherein, when the condition for start of the ice separation process is satisfied, the ice separation heater is turned on (Son, Fig. 3, ice separation heater 161; Pg. 5, paragraph 85, After ice pieces are made in the plurality of shells 150, the ice pieces are separated as shown in FIG. 11. In detail, after ice pieces are made, the ice separation heater 161 attached to the top surface of the upper tray 110 is operated. The ice separation heater 161 heats the upper tray 110 formed of the metal material to melt a portion of the globular or spherical ice piece contacting a surface of the upper tray 110. Thus, the globular ice piece may be separated from the recessed part 113 of the upper tray 110). Further, the limitations of claim 8 are the result of the modification of references used in the Morishita rejection of claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 8, Son as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 5 (see the combination of references used in the Takahashi rejection of claim 5 above), further comprising an ice separation heater, wherein, when the condition for start of the ice separation process is satisfied, the ice separation heater is turned on (Son, Fig. 3, ice separation heater 161; Pg. 5, paragraph 85, After ice pieces are made in the plurality of shells 150, the ice pieces are separated as shown in FIG. 11. In detail, after ice pieces are made, the ice separation heater 161 attached to the top surface of the upper tray 110 is operated. The ice separation heater 161 heats the upper tray 110 formed of the metal material to melt a portion of the globular or spherical ice piece contacting a surface of the upper tray 110. Thus, the globular ice piece may be separated from the recessed part 113 of the upper tray 110). Further, the limitations of claim 8 are the result of the modification of references used in the Takahashi rejection of claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 9, Son as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), further comprising:
a second tray defining a second portion of the cell, the second tray being disposed to be relatively movable with respect to the first tray (Son, Fig. 3, lower tray 120; Fig. 6, recessed part 125; Pg. 3, paragraph 49, In more detail, the lower tray 120 has an approximately square shape. Also, the lower tray 120 has a recessed part 125 having a hemispherical shape so that a portion less than half of the globular ice piece is made; Pg. 4, paragraph 66, Thus, the rotating arm 130 may be further rotated in a counterclockwise direction as shown in FIG. 5 In a state where the lower tray 120 is in the closed state to allow the elastic member 131 to extend. Also, the lower tray 120 may be attached to the upper tray 110 by the elastic force of the elastic member 131 to reduce water from leaking during the making of ice);
a first tray case having a portion surrounding the first tray (Fig. 3 of Son depicts tray part 112 to surround the upper tray 110).
However, Son as modified does not explicitly disclose the first tray case formed as a separate component from the first tray.
Regarding “the first tray case formed as a separate component from the first tray”, the court has held that making components separable may be considered obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961), the claimed structure, a lipstick holder with a removable cap, was fully met by the prior art except that in the prior art the cap is "press fitted" and therefore not manually removable. The court held that "if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to the end of [the prior art's] holder to which the cap is applied, it would be obvious to make the cap removable for that purpose." MPEP § 2144.04-V-C. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the refrigerator of Son as modified wherein the first tray case formed as a separate component from the first tray in order to allow for cleaning of ice maker system components.
Regarding claim 10, Son as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), further comprising:
a second tray defining a second portion of the cell (Son, Fig. 3, lower tray 120; Fig. 6, recessed part 125; Pg. 3, paragraph 49, In more detail, the lower tray 120 has an approximately square shape. Also, the lower tray 120 has a recessed part 125 having a hemispherical shape so that a portion less than half of the globular ice piece is made; Pg. 4, paragraph 66, Thus, the rotating arm 130 may be further rotated in a counterclockwise direction as shown in FIG. 5 In a state where the lower tray 120 is in the closed state to allow the elastic member 131 to extend. Also, the lower tray 120 may be attached to the upper tray 110 by the elastic force of the elastic member 131 to reduce water from leaking during the making of ice);
a second tray case having a portion surrounding the second tray (Son, Fig. 3, tray case 121; Pg. 3, paragraph 50, The lower tray 120 may include a tray case 121 defining an outer appearance, a tray body 123 mounted on the tray case 121 to form the recessed part 125 that is a space for making an ice piece, and a tray cover 126 for fixing and mounting the tray body 123 to the tray case 121); and
a first tray case having a portion surrounding the first tray (Fig. 3 of Son depicts tray part 112 to surround the upper tray 110).
However, Son as modified does not explicitly disclose the first tray case formed as a separate component from the first tray.
Regarding “the first tray case formed as a separate component from the first tray”, the court has held that making components separable may be considered obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961), the claimed structure, a lipstick holder with a removable cap, was fully met by the prior art except that in the prior art the cap is "press fitted" and therefore not manually removable. The court held that "if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to the end of [the prior art's] holder to which the cap is applied, it would be obvious to make the cap removable for that purpose." MPEP § 2144.04-V-C. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the refrigerator of Son as modified wherein the first tray case formed as a separate component from the first tray in order to allow for cleaning of ice maker system components.
Regarding claim 14, Son discloses a refrigerator (Fig. 1, refrigerator 1) comprising:
a storage chamber configured to store food (Fig. 2, refrigerating compartment 3, freezing compartment 4; Further, the refrigerating compartment 3 and freezing compartment 4 of Son have the same structure as the claimed storage chamber and are capable of functioning in the manner claimed);
a cooler configured to supply cold into the storage chamber (Pg. 1, paragraph 3, In general, refrigerators are home appliances for storing foods at a low temperature in an inner storage space covered by a door. That is, since such a refrigerator cools the inside of the storage space using cool air generated by heat exchanging with a refrigerant circulating a refrigeration cycle, foods stored in the storage space may be stored in a refrigerated or frozen state; Further, the teachings of Son at least imply a cooler configured to supply cold into the storage chamber since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01));
a first tray defining a first portion of a cell, which is a space in which liquid is phase-changed into ice by the cold (Fig. 3, upper tray 110, recessed part 113; Fig. 6, shell 150; Pg. 4, paragraph 64, The upper tray 110 may be formed of a metal material. Also, the upper tray 110 may be configured to quickly freeze water within the shell 150 through thermal conduction);
However, Son does not disclose a temperature sensor configured to sense a temperature of the liquid or the ice within the cell; and
a heater configured to supply heat into the cell,
a controller configured to control the heater, wherein the heater is turned on only when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied after a liquid supply process is completed, wherein, after the turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, a heating amount of the heater is variably controlled so that a rate at which the liquid inside the cell is made into the ice during an ice making process is maintained within a predetermined range that is lower than an ice making rate when ice making is performed while the heater is turned off, wherein, after the heating amount of the heater is variably controlled, the heater is turned off when a turn-off condition of the heater is satisfied, the turn-off condition of the heater being satisfied when the heater operates for a reference time, wherein, when a defrosting start condition is satisfied in one section of the plurality of sections, the initial heating amount of the heater in the one section is reduced.
Morishita teaches a temperature sensor configured to sense a temperature of the liquid or the ice within the cell (Fig. 3, thermistor 25, ice making cell 21; Pg. 3, The thermistor 25 is disposed on the lower surface of the ice tray 20 at a position between the ice making cells 21 arranged in two rows. The thermistor 25 measures the temperature inside the ice making cell 21 through the wall of the ice making cell 21); and
a heater configured to supply heat into the cell (Fig. 3, heater 31; Pg. 4, As a result, the heater 31 comes into close contact with the ice making cell 21, and the heat of the heater 31 is efficiently transmitted to the ice making cell 21),
a controller configured to control the heater (Fig. 11, control unit 50; Pg. 5, The control unit 50 shown in FIG. 11 is responsible for overall control of the refrigerator-freezer 1 including operation control of the refrigeration cycle and energization control of the heater 31), wherein the heater is turned on only when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied after a liquid supply process is completed (Fig. 12, step 101-103; Pg. 5, In step # 101, the control unit 50 operates the water supply device 54 to supply water to the ice tray 20. Since the temperature of the ice making chamber 4 is close to the freezing temperature (set to minus 18 ° C.), the temperature of the ice tray 20 rises when water is supplied. The thermistor 25 detects this temperature rise in step # 102. Since the water is cooled as soon as it is supplied, the temperature measured by the thermistor 25 once rises and then begins to fall. From here, step # 103 is entered. Step # 103 is a freezing preparation step. The control unit 50 energizes the heater 31 with “preheating” to lower the water temperature at a predetermined rate), wherein, after the turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, a heating amount of the heater is variably controlled so that a rate at which the liquid inside the cell is made into the ice during an ice making process is maintained within a predetermined range that is lower than an ice making rate when ice making is performed while the heater is turned off (Pg. 5, In the subsequent steps, heating by the heater 31 is performed. By freezing the ice tray 20 while being heated by the heater 31 from below, transparent ice can be grown not from the portion in contact with the inner surface of the ice tray 20 but from the portion away from the inner surface of the ice tray 20. Easy to grow high ice. When the compressor 51 enters the stop period in the middle of step # 103, the brake is naturally applied to the temperature drop. The controller 50 stops energizing the heater 31 and avoids unnecessary power consumption. The control unit 50 also stops energization of the heater 31 when the measured temperature of the thermistor 25 is equal to or higher than a predetermined value, for example, 1 ° C. or higher. Thus, it is possible to avoid wasting power by energizing the heater 31 until there is no risk of freezing from the point where water contacts the ice tray 20; Further, the teachings of Morishita of turning on and off the heater when the compressor is stopped and when a temperature is reached at least implies variable control of the heater since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01); Moreover, the teachings of Morishita of using a heater to slow down ice freezing at least imply the use of the heater slows the rate of cooling compared to not having a heater since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)), wherein, after the heating amount of the heater is variably controlled, the heater is turned off when a turn-off condition of the heater is satisfied, the turn-off condition of the heater being satisfied when a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor is equal to or higher than a turn-off reference temperature (Fig. 12, steps 107-108; Pg. 6, In step # 107, the control unit 50 checks whether or not the temperature measured by the thermistor25 has dropped to a predetermined temperature. When the temperature measured by the thermistor25 drops to a predetermined temperature, for example, minus 9 ° C., it is determined that ice making is completed, and the process proceeds to step # 108. The control unit 50 stops energizing the heater 31 in step # 108. When the predetermined time has elapsed, it is determined that the generation of transparent ice has been ensured, and the process proceeds to step # 109), wherein, when a defrosting start condition is satisfied in one section of the plurality of sections, the initial heating amount of the heater in the one section is reduced (Fig. 12, steps 104-106; Pg. 6, In step # 104, the control unit 50 checks whether or not the temperature measured by the thermistor 25 has dropped below freezing point. When the temperature falls below the freezing point, the process proceeds to step # 105. Step # 105 is an ice melting step. The controller 50 energizes the heater 31 for “rapid heating” for a predetermined time to heat the ice tray 20. Even if the measurement error of the thermistor 25 delays the transition from step # 104 to step # 105 and ice is attached to the inner surface of the ice making cell 21, the ice melts at this stage. Therefore, it is possible to proceed to step # 106 without generating residual ice that hinders obtaining homogeneous transparent ice. In step # 105, the controller 50 energizes the heater 31 for “rapid heating” regardless of whether the compressor 51 is operating or stopped. Thereby, melting of ice can be advanced at a stretch. Step # 106 is a freezing progress step. The controller 50 energizes the heater 31 for “normal heating” until the temperature measured by the thermistor 25 drops to a predetermined temperature. When the compressor 51 enters a stop period in the middle of step # 106, the control unit 50 stops energizing the heater 31 and avoids unnecessary power consumption. However, there is a possibility that freezing has occurred on the inner surface of the ice tray 20 when the operation of the compressor 51 is resumed by stopping energization of the heater 31. Therefore, after restarting the operation of the compressor 51, the heater 31 is energized for "rapid heating" for a certain period of time, and if freezing occurs on the inner surface of the ice tray 20, it is melted. Thereby, although energization to heater 31 is intermittent, generation of transparent ice can be performed continuously; Further, the Examiner notes the recitation of “wherein, when a defrosting start condition is satisfied in one section of the plurality of sections, the initial heating amount of the heater in the one section is reduced” is a contingent limitation in a system claim and it has been held "the broadest reasonable interpretation of a system claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, still requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur" (MPEP 2111.04, Section II); As best understood, see 112(b) rejection above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the refrigerator of Son of claim 14 to include a temperature sensor configured to sense a temperature of the liquid or the ice within the cell; and a heater configured to supply heat into the cell, a controller configured to control the heater, wherein the heater is turned on only when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied after a liquid supply process is completed, wherein, after the turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, a heating amount of the heater is variably controlled so that a rate at which the liquid inside the cell is made into the ice during an ice making process is maintained within a predetermined range that is lower than an ice making rate when ice making is performed while the heater is turned off, the ice making process having a plurality of sections, and the heater being controlled to be operated with an initial heating amount corresponding to each section of the plurality of sections, wherein, after the heating amount of the heater is variably controlled, the heater is turned off when a turn-off condition of the heater is satisfied, the turn-off condition of the heater being satisfied when the heater operates for a reference time, wherein, when a defrosting start condition is satisfied in one section of the plurality of sections, the initial heating amount of the heater in the one section is reduced as taught by Morishita. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide transparent ice while avoiding unnecessary power consumption (Morishita, Pg. 6).
Further, Son as modified does not disclose the turn-on condition of the heater being satisfied when a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor reaches a turn-on reference temperature; and the ice making process having a plurality of sections, and the heater being controlled to be operated with an initial heating amount corresponding to each section of the plurality of sections.
Takahashi teaches the turn-on condition of the heater being satisfied when a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor reaches a turn-on reference temperature (Fig. 22, S4-S10; Col. 19, lines 28-36, An embodiment 8 will be described with reference to a control flowchart shown in FIG. 22. As shown in FIG. 22, when the temperature shown by the thermistor 316 provided at the bottom part of the ice making tray 301 becomes equal to or lower than -10° C., the process continues to the following step. Heating by the heater wire 308 continues until the temperature shown by the thermistor 315 provided on the upper side face of the ice making tray 301 becomes equal to or higher than -1 ° C); and the ice making process having a plurality of sections, and the heater being controlled to be operated with an initial heating amount corresponding to each section of the plurality of sections (See annotated Fig. 20(a)-20(b) of Takahashi below, plurality of sections A; Col. 18-19, lines 64-67 and 1-8, In addition, the temperature of the side face of the ice making tray 301 is, for example as shown in FIG. 20(b), -10° C. at the bottom and is kept, by the heater 308, at a temperature near 0° C. at the upper part. Therefore, freezing of water begins from the center of the bottom part. If the temperature of the side face of the ice making tray 301 is higher than that at the center thereof, the dissolved gas or hard ions are not trapped in the ice and diffused to the vicinity of the side face of the ice making tray, and an extremely small amount of impurities is deposited on the side face of the tray. Therefore, the resulting ice is extremely transparent at the core).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the refrigerator of Son as modified the turn-on condition of the heater being satisfied when a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor reaches a turn-on reference temperature; and the ice making process having a plurality of sections, and the heater being controlled to be operated with an initial heating amount corresponding to each section of the plurality of sections as taught by Takahashi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide extremely transparent ice (Takahashi, Col 19, lines 1-8).
Annotated Fig. 20(a) and 20(b) of Takahashi
Regarding claim 15, Son as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 14 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 14 above), wherein, when the defrosting start condition is not satisfied in the ice making process in the one section, the initial heating amount of the heater is controlled to be maintained in the one section, and wherein the one section is a first section when an initial heating amount of the heater in a second section of the plurality of sections is less than the heating amount of the heater in the first section when the defrosting process starts in the first section, the heating amount of the heater in the first section is controlled to be changed to the initial heating amount in the second section, the second section being a section of the plurality of sections after the first section during the ice making process (The Examiner notes the recitation of “wherein, when the defrosting start condition is not satisfied in the ice making process in the one section, the initial heating amount of the heater is controlled to be maintained in the one section, and wherein the one section is a first section when an initial heating amount of the heater in a second section of the plurality of sections is less than the heating amount of the heater in the first section when the defrosting process starts in the first section, the heating amount of the heater in the first section is controlled to be changed to the initial heating amount in the second section, the second section being a section of the plurality of sections after the first section during the ice making process” is a contingent limitation in a system claim and it has been held "the broadest reasonable interpretation of a system claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, still requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur" (MPEP 2111.04, Section II); Further, In addition to structural limitations, claim 15 recites functional limitations drawn toward the intended use or manner of operating the claimed apparatus. The functional limitations are: “wherein, when the defrosting start condition is not satisfied in the ice making process in the one section, the initial heating amount of the heater is controlled to be maintained in the one section, and wherein the one section is a first section when an initial heating amount of the heater in a second section of the plurality of sections is less than the heating amount of the heater in the first section when the defrosting process starts in the first section, the heating amount of the heater in the first section is controlled to be changed to the initial heating amount in the second section, the second section being a section of the plurality of sections after the first section during the ice making process.” When the cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus, it will be held that the prior art apparatus is capable of performing all of the claimed functional limitations of the claimed apparatus. The courts have held that: (1) "apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990), and (2) a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). MPEP § 2114; As best understood, see 112(b) rejections above).
Regarding claim 16, Son as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 14 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 14 above), wherein the one section is a first section when the initial heating amount of the heater in a second section of the plurality of sections is less than the heating amount of the heater in the first section when a defrosting process starts in the first section, the heating amount of the heater in the first section is controlled to be changed to the initial heating amount in the second section, the second section being a section of the plurality of sections prior to the first section during the ice making process (The Examiner notes the recitation of “wherein the one section is a first section when the initial heating amount of the heater in a second section of the plurality of sections is less than the heating amount of the heater in the first section when a defrosting process starts in the first section, the heating amount of the heater in the first section is controlled to be changed to the initial heating amount in the second section, the second section being a section of the plurality of sections prior to the first section during the ice making process” is a contingent limitation in a system claim and it has been held "the broadest reasonable interpretation of a system claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, still requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur" (MPEP 2111.04, Section II); Further, In addition to structural limitations, claim 16 recites functional limitations drawn toward the intended use or manner of operating the claimed apparatus. The functional limitations are: “wherein the one section is a first section when the initial heating amount of the heater in a second section of the plurality of sections is less than the heating amount of the heater in the first section when a defrosting process starts in the first section, the heating amount of the heater in the first section is controlled to be changed to the initial heating amount in the second section, the second section being a section of the plurality of sections prior to the first section during the ice making process.” When the cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus, it will be held that the prior art apparatus is capable of performing all of the claimed functional limitations of the claimed apparatus. The courts have held that: (1) "apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990), and (2) a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). MPEP § 2114; As best understood, see 112(b) rejections above).
Regarding claim 17, Son as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 14 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 14 above), wherein when a defrosting process is completed, the heating amount of the heater is controlled to be changed to the initial heating amount of the heater in the one section (Morishita, Fig. 12, steps 104-106; Pg. 6, In step # 104, the control unit 50 checks whether or not the temperature measured by the thermistor 25 has dropped below freezing point. When the temperature falls below the freezing point, the process proceeds to step # 105. Step # 105 is an ice melting step. The controller 50 energizes the heater 31 for “rapid heating” for a predetermined time to heat the ice tray 20. Even if the measurement error of the thermistor 25 delays the transition from step # 104 to step # 105 and ice is attached to the inner surface of the ice making cell 21, the ice melts at this stage. Therefore, it is possible to proceed to step # 106 without generating residual ice that hinders obtaining homogeneous transparent ice. In step # 105, the controller 50 energizes the heater 31 for “rapid heating” regardless of whether the compressor 51 is operating or stopped. Thereby, melting of ice can be advanced at a stretch. Step # 106 is a freezing progress step. The controller 50 energizes the heater 31 for “normal heating” until the temperature measured by the thermistor 25 drops to a predetermined temperature. When the compressor 51 enters a stop period in the middle of step # 106, the control unit 50 stops energizing the heater 31 and avoids unnecessary power consumption. However, there is a possibility that freezing has occurred on the inner surface of the ice tray 20 when the operation of the compressor 51 is resumed by stopping energization of the heater 31. Therefore, after restarting the operation of the compressor 51, the heater 31 is energized for "rapid heating" for a certain period of time, and if freezing occurs on the inner surface of the ice tray 20, it is melted. Thereby, although energization to heater 31 is intermittent, generation of transparent ice can be performed continuously; Further, the Examiner notes the recitation of “wherein when the defrosting process is completed, the heating amount of the heater is controlled to be changed to the heating amount of the heater in the one section” is a contingent limitation in a system claim and it has been held "the broadest reasonable interpretation of a system claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, still requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur" (MPEP 2111.04, Section II); As best understood, see 112(b) rejection above). Further, the limitations of claim 17 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 14 above.
Regarding claim 19, Son as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 14 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 14 above), wherein the plurality of sections is divided based on the temperature sensed by the temperature sensor (See annotated Fig. 20(a)-20(b) of Takahashi below, plurality of sections A are based on the temperatures senses between points A and B of the cell; As best understood, see 112(b) rejections above). Further, the limitations of claim 19 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 14 above.
Annotated Fig. 20(a) and 20(b) of Takahashi
Regarding claim 20, Son discloses a refrigerator (Fig. 1, refrigerator 1) comprising:
a storage chamber configured to store food (Fig. 2, refrigerating compartment 3, freezing compartment 4; Further, the refrigerating compartment 3 and freezing compartment 4 of Son have the same structure as the claimed storage chamber and are capable of functioning in the manner claimed);
a cooler configured to supply cold into the storage chamber (Pg. 1, paragraph 3, In general, refrigerators are home appliances for storing foods at a low temperature in an inner storage space covered by a door. That is, since such a refrigerator cools the inside of the storage space using cool air generated by heat exchanging with a refrigerant circulating a refrigeration cycle, foods stored in the storage space may be stored in a refrigerated or frozen state; Further, the teachings of Son at least imply a cooler configured to supply cold into the storage chamber since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01));
a first tray defining a first portion of a cell, which is a space in which liquid is phase-changed into ice by the cold (Fig. 3, upper tray 110, recessed part 113; Fig. 6, shell 150; Pg. 4, paragraph 64, The upper tray 110 may be formed of a metal material. Also, the upper tray 110 may be configured to quickly freeze water within the shell 150 through thermal conduction);
However, Son does not disclose a temperature sensor configured to sense a temperature of the liquid or the ice within the cell; and
a heater configured to supply heat into the cell,
a controller configured to control the heater, wherein the heater is turned on only when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied after a liquid supply process is completed, wherein, after the turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, a heating amount of the heater is variably controlled so that a rate at which the liquid inside the cell is made into the ice during an ice making process is maintained within a predetermined range that is lower than an ice making rate when ice making is performed while the heater is turned off, wherein, after the heating amount of the heater is variably controlled, the heater is turned off when a turn-off condition of the heater is satisfied, wherein, when a defrosting start condition is satisfied in one section of the plurality of sections, the initial heating amount of the heater in the one section is reduced.
Morishita teaches a temperature sensor configured to sense a temperature of the liquid or the ice within the cell (Fig. 3, thermistor 25, ice making cell 21; Pg. 3, The thermistor 25 is disposed on the lower surface of the ice tray 20 at a position between the ice making cells 21 arranged in two rows. The thermistor 25 measures the temperature inside the ice making cell 21 through the wall of the ice making cell 21); and
a heater configured to supply heat into the cell (Fig. 3, heater 31; Pg. 4, As a result, the heater 31 comes into close contact with the ice making cell 21, and the heat of the heater 31 is efficiently transmitted to the ice making cell 21),
a controller configured to control the heater (Fig. 11, control unit 50; Pg. 5, The control unit 50 shown in FIG. 11 is responsible for overall control of the refrigerator-freezer 1 including operation control of the refrigeration cycle and energization control of the heater 31), wherein the heater is turned on only when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied after a liquid supply process is completed (Fig. 12, step 101-103; Pg. 5, In step # 101, the control unit 50 operates the water supply device 54 to supply water to the ice tray 20. Since the temperature of the ice making chamber 4 is close to the freezing temperature (set to minus 18 ° C.), the temperature of the ice tray 20 rises when water is supplied. The thermistor 25 detects this temperature rise in step # 102. Since the water is cooled as soon as it is supplied, the temperature measured by the thermistor 25 once rises and then begins to fall. From here, step # 103 is entered. Step # 103 is a freezing preparation step. The control unit 50 energizes the heater 31 with “preheating” to lower the water temperature at a predetermined rate), wherein, after the turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, a heating amount of the heater is variably controlled so that a rate at which the liquid inside the cell is made into the ice during an ice making process is maintained within a predetermined range that is lower than an ice making rate when ice making is performed while the heater is turned off (Pg. 5, In the subsequent steps, heating by the heater 31 is performed. By freezing the ice tray 20 while being heated by the heater 31 from below, transparent ice can be grown not from the portion in contact with the inner surface of the ice tray 20 but from the portion away from the inner surface of the ice tray 20. Easy to grow high ice. When the compressor 51 enters the stop period in the middle of step # 103, the brake is naturally applied to the temperature drop. The controller 50 stops energizing the heater 31 and avoids unnecessary power consumption. The control unit 50 also stops energization of the heater 31 when the measured temperature of the thermistor 25 is equal to or higher than a predetermined value, for example, 1 ° C. or higher. Thus, it is possible to avoid wasting power by energizing the heater 31 until there is no risk of freezing from the point where water contacts the ice tray 20; Further, the teachings of Morishita of turning on and off the heater when the compressor is stopped and when a temperature is reached at least implies variable control of the heater since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01); Moreover, the teachings of Morishita of using a heater to slow down ice freezing at least imply the use of the heater slows the rate of cooling compared to not having a heater since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)), wherein, after the heating amount of the heater is variably controlled, the heater is turned off when a turn-off condition of the heater is satisfied (Fig. 12, steps 108; Pg. 6, The control unit 50 stops energizing the heater 31 in step # 108. When the predetermined time has elapsed, it is determined that the generation of transparent ice has been ensured, and the process proceeds to step # 109), wherein, when a defrosting start condition is satisfied in one section of the plurality of sections, the initial heating amount of the heater in the one section is reduced (Fig. 12, steps 104-106; Pg. 6, In step # 104, the control unit 50 checks whether or not the temperature measured by the thermistor 25 has dropped below freezing point. When the temperature falls below the freezing point, the process proceeds to step # 105. Step # 105 is an ice melting step. The controller 50 energizes the heater 31 for “rapid heating” for a predetermined time to heat the ice tray 20. Even if the measurement error of the thermistor 25 delays the transition from step # 104 to step # 105 and ice is attached to the inner surface of the ice making cell 21, the ice melts at this stage. Therefore, it is possible to proceed to step # 106 without generating residual ice that hinders obtaining homogeneous transparent ice. In step # 105, the controller 50 energizes the heater 31 for “rapid heating” regardless of whether the compressor 51 is operating or stopped. Thereby, melting of ice can be advanced at a stretch. Step # 106 is a freezing progress step. The controller 50 energizes the heater 31 for “normal heating” until the temperature measured by the thermistor 25 drops to a predetermined temperature. When the compressor 51 enters a stop period in the middle of step # 106, the control unit 50 stops energizing the heater 31 and avoids unnecessary power consumption. However, there is a possibility that freezing has occurred on the inner surface of the ice tray 20 when the operation of the compressor 51 is resumed by stopping energization of the heater 31. Therefore, after restarting the operation of the compressor 51, the heater 31 is energized for "rapid heating" for a certain period of time, and if freezing occurs on the inner surface of the ice tray 20, it is melted. Thereby, although energization to heater 31 is intermittent, generation of transparent ice can be performed continuously; Further, the Examiner notes the recitation of “wherein, when a defrosting start condition is satisfied in one section of the plurality of sections, the initial heating amount of the heater in the one section is reduced” is a contingent limitation in a system claim and it has been held "the broadest reasonable interpretation of a system claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, still requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur" (MPEP 2111.04, Section II); As best understood, see 112(b) rejection above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the refrigerator of Son of claim 20 to include a temperature sensor configured to sense a temperature of the liquid or the ice within the cell; and a heater configured to supply heat into the cell, a controller configured to control the heater, wherein the heater is turned on only when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied after a liquid supply process is completed, wherein, after the turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, a heating amount of the heater is variably controlled so that a rate at which the liquid inside the cell is made into the ice during an ice making process is maintained within a predetermined range that is lower than an ice making rate when ice making is performed while the heater is turned off, the ice making process having a plurality of sections, and the heater being controlled to be operated with an initial heating amount corresponding to each section of the plurality of sections, wherein, after the heating amount of the heater is variably controlled, the heater is turned off when a turn-off condition of the heater is satisfied, wherein, when a defrosting start condition is satisfied in one section of the plurality of sections, the initial heating amount of the heater in the one section is reduced as taught by Morishita. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide transparent ice while avoiding unnecessary power consumption (Morishita, Pg. 6).
Further, Son as modified does not disclose the ice making process having a plurality of sections, and the heater being controlled to be operated with an initial heating amount corresponding to each section of the plurality of sections, wherein the plurality of sections is divided based on a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor, and the heating amount of the heater is controlled to vary in the plurality of sections during the ice making process.
Takahashi teaches the ice making process having a plurality of sections (See annotated Fig. 20(a)-20(b) of Takahashi below, plurality of sections A), and the heater being controlled to be operated with an initial heating amount corresponding to each section of the plurality of sections, wherein the plurality of sections is divided based on a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor (See annotated Fig. 20(a)-20(b) of Takahashi below, plurality of sections A are based on the temperatures senses between points A and B of the cell), and the heating amount of the heater is controlled to vary in the plurality of sections during the ice making process (Col. 18-19, lines 64-67 and 1-8, In addition, the temperature of the side face of the ice making tray 301 is, for example as shown in FIG. 20(b), -10° C. at the bottom and is kept, by the heater 308, at a temperature near 0° C. at the upper part. Therefore, freezing of water begins from the center of the bottom part. If the temperature of the side face of the ice making tray 301 is higher than that at the center thereof, the dissolved gas or hard ions are not trapped in the ice and diffused to the vicinity of the side face of the ice making tray, and an extremely small amount of impurities is deposited on the side face of the tray. Therefore, the resulting ice is extremely transparent at the core).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the refrigerator of Son as modified wherein the ice making process having a plurality of sections, and the heater being controlled to be operated with an initial heating amount corresponding to each section of the plurality of sections, wherein the plurality of sections is divided based on a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor, and the heating amount of the heater is controlled to vary in the plurality of sections during the ice making processas taught by Takahashi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide extremely transparent ice (Takahashi, Col 19, lines 1-8).
Annotated Fig. 20(a) and 20(b) of Takahashi
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son as modified by Morishita and Takahashi as applied to claim 1 and 14 above, respectively, and further in view of Kim et al. (US Patent No. 8,371,133), hereinafter Kim
Regarding claim 3, Son as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Son as modified does not disclose wherein the plurality of sections is divided based on the reference time.
Kim teaches wherein the plurality of sections is divided based on a reference time (Fig. 7, step S20; Col. 6, lines 28-34 and 43-46, The control of the heater is made in two methods. First, the control unit controls a voltage of a preset range to be applied to the heater within the preset range selectively for making the rate of the ice formation faster, or second, the control unit controls a time period of application of power for making a heating time period of the heater to be within a certain range of time period, to improve the rate of ice formation… In the second method control, for an example, the heater may be controlled by repeating turning on of the heater for five seconds with ½power, and then turning off the heater for five seconds).
Son as modified fails to teach wherein the plurality of sections is divided based on the reference time, however Kim teaches that it is a known method in the art of transparent ice making to include wherein the plurality of sections is divided based on a reference time. This is strong evidence that modifying Son as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. improving the energy efficiency of the refrigerator). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Son as modified by Kim and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of improving the energy efficiency of the refrigerator.
Regarding claim 18, Son as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 14 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 14 above).
However, Son as modified does not disclose wherein the plurality of sections is divided based on a predetermined time.
Kim teaches wherein the plurality of sections is divided based on a predetermined time (Fig. 7, step S20; Col. 6, lines 28-34 and 43-46, The control of the heater is made in two methods. First, the control unit controls a voltage of a preset range to be applied to the heater within the preset range selectively for making the rate of the ice formation faster, or second, the control unit controls a time period of application of power for making a heating time period of the heater to be within a certain range of time period, to improve the rate of ice formation… In the second method control, for an example, the heater may be controlled by repeating turning on of the heater for five seconds with ½power, and then turning off the heater for five seconds).
Son as modified fails to teach wherein the plurality of sections is divided based on a predetermined time, however Kim teaches that it is a known method in the art of transparent ice making to include wherein the plurality of sections is divided based on a predetermined time. This is strong evidence that modifying Son as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. improving the energy efficiency of the refrigerator). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Son as modified by Kim and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of improving the energy efficiency of the refrigerator.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son as modified by Morishita and Takahashi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Son et al. (US 20130014535), hereinafter Son ‘535.
Regarding claim 11, Son as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), further comprising:
a second tray defining a second portion of the cell (Son, Fig. 3, lower tray 120; Fig. 6, recessed part 125; Pg. 3, paragraph 49, In more detail, the lower tray 120 has an approximately square shape. Also, the lower tray 120 has a recessed part 125 having a hemispherical shape so that a portion less than half of the globular ice piece is made; Pg. 4, paragraph 66, Thus, the rotating arm 130 may be further rotated in a counterclockwise direction as shown in FIG. 5 In a state where the lower tray 120 is in the closed state to allow the elastic member 131 to extend. Also, the lower tray 120 may be attached to the upper tray 110 by the elastic force of the elastic member 131 to reduce water from leaking during the making of ice);
a pusher including at least one column to separate the ice from the first portion of the cell during an ice separation process (Son, Fig. 13, upper ejecting pin 261; Pg. 6, paragraph 105, As shown in FIG. 14, when the upper tray 110 is rotated by about 45° in a counterclockwise direction, the upper ejecting pin 261 may pass through the air hole 115 to push the ice piece attached to the upper tray 110, thereby separating the ice piece from the upper tray 110), and
a first tray case having a portion surrounding the first tray (Fig. 3 of Son depicts tray part 112 to surround the upper tray 110).
However, Son as modified does not disclose the pusher receiving a power of a driver.
Son ‘535 teaches the pusher receiving a power of a driver (Fig. 15, ejecting unit 250, disks 251, rode 252, ejector 253, ejecting pins 253a, connection member 253b, driving unit 130; Pg. 5, paragraph 90, In detail, the disk 252 has a circular plate shape and is coupled to a driving shaft 132 rotated by a motor 131. The rod 252 converts a rotation movement of the disk 251 into a linear movement of the ejector 253. Also, the rod 252 has a predetermined length. Both ends of the rod 252 are shaft coupled to the disk 251 and the ejector 253, respectively. Here, a side of the rod 252 may be disposed on a position eccentrical to a rotation center of the disk 251).
Son as modified fails to teach the pusher receiving a power of a driver, however Son ‘535 teaches that it is a known method in the art of ice makers to include the pusher receiving a power of a driver. This is strong evidence that modifying Son as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. ejecting ice from the ice tray for consumer use). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Son as modified by Son ‘535 and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of ejecting ice from the ice tray for consumer use.
Further, Son as modified does not explicitly disclose the first tray case formed as a separate component from the first tray.
Regarding “the first tray case formed as a separate component from the first tray”, the court has held that making components separable may be considered obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961), the claimed structure, a lipstick holder with a removable cap, was fully met by the prior art except that in the prior art the cap is "press fitted" and therefore not manually removable. The court held that "if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to the end of [the prior art's] holder to which the cap is applied, it would be obvious to make the cap removable for that purpose." MPEP § 2144.04-V-C. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the refrigerator of Son as modified wherein the first tray case formed as a separate component from the first tray in order to allow for cleaning of ice maker system components.
Regarding claim 12, Son as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 11 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 11 above), wherein the column is provided as a shape of a bar (Fig. 13 of Son depicts upper ejecting pin 261 to be in the shape of a bar; Pg. 6, paragraph 105, As shown in FIG. 14, when the upper tray 110 is rotated by about 45° in a counterclockwise direction, the upper ejecting pin 261 may pass through the air hole 115 to push the ice piece attached to the upper tray 110, thereby separating the ice piece from the upper tray 110).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son as modified by Morishita and Takahashi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kataoka et al. (JPH05312447), herein after Kataoka.
Regarding claim 13, Son as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), further comprising:
a second tray defining a second portion of the cell, the second tray being disposed to be relatively movable with respect to the first tray (Son, Fig. 3, lower tray 120; Fig. 6, recessed part 125; Pg. 3, paragraph 49, In more detail, the lower tray 120 has an approximately square shape. Also, the lower tray 120 has a recessed part 125 having a hemispherical shape so that a portion less than half of the globular ice piece is made; Pg. 4, paragraph 66, Thus, the rotating arm 130 may be further rotated in a counterclockwise direction as shown in FIG. 5 In a state where the lower tray 120 is in the closed state to allow the elastic member 131 to extend. Also, the lower tray 120 may be attached to the upper tray 110 by the elastic force of the elastic member 131 to reduce water from leaking during the making of ice);
a second tray case having a portion surrounding the second tray, the second tray case including a second tray cover and a second tray supporter (Son, Fig. 3, tray case 121, tray cover 126, seat part 121a; Pg. 3, paragraph 50, The lower tray 120 may include a tray case 121 defining an outer appearance, a tray body 123 mounted on the tray case 121 to form the recessed part 125 that is a space for making an ice piece, and a tray cover 126 for fixing and mounting the tray body 123 to the tray case 121).
However, Son as modified does not disclose a heater case in which the heater is installed,
wherein the heater case is integrally formed with the second tray supporter or is separately provided to be coupled to the second tray supporter.
Kataoka teaches a heater case in which the heater is installed (Fig. 4, recessed heat insulating layer30, first ice making heater 32a, second ice making heater 32b),
wherein the heater case is integrally formed with the second tray supporter or is separately provided to be coupled to the second tray supporter (Fig. 8 of Kataoka depicts ice tray 33 to be supported on the inner surface of the heat insulating layer 30; Paragraph 15, 33 is an ice tray superimposed on the inner surface of the heat insulating layer 30 and has a projection 34 on the bottom).
Son as modified fails to teach a heater case in which the heater is installed,
wherein the heater case is integrally formed with the second tray supporter or is separately provided to be coupled to the second tray supporter, however Kataoka teaches that it is a known method in the art of transparent ice making to include a heater case in which the heater is installed, wherein the heater case is integrally formed with the second tray supporter or is separately provided to be coupled to the second tray supporter. This is strong evidence that modifying Son as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. producing transparent ice for consumer use). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Son as modified by Kataoka and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of producing transparent ice for consumer use.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 October 27th, 2026