DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to patent application as filed on 8/30/2024 which claims priority to Japanese Pat. App. No: 2023-141653 filed 08/31/2023.
This action is made Non-Final.
Claims 1 – 20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 17, and 20 are independent claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/30/2024 and 5/1/2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 8/30/2024 have been accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Conway (USPUB 20080071403 from IDS filed 5/1/2025).
Claim 1:
Conway discloses A processing apparatus (Figs 1 and 2) comprising a controller configured to be capable of controlling a screen to display a recipe selection image comprising a recipe selection area and a recipe editing image comprising a management information display area and a combination information editing area (0049, 0222, 0225 and Fig 24: Using the MSC 10 software, process engineers can define recipes and projects, execute jobs to process silicon substrates and monitor machine performance…There can be Manage Project Sub Use Cases as follows which may bring up in the GUI 40 interface the screen 2050, which may include a Project Name box 2052, where the user may add or edit a Project Name and a Project Description box 2054 of FIG. 24 containing a brief description of the Project…There may be a List Projects sub-use case, whereby, the user lists all projects in the datastore, e.g., in the window 2056 of FIG. 24. There may be a View Project sub-use case, available to all users, whereby, once logged in, the user views a project in the datastore selected from the list of window 2056, such as in windows 2053 and 2058. There may be a List Tasks sub-use case, available to all users, whereby, once logged in, the user lists all tasks in the datastore, e.g., in window 2051), wherein the recipe selection area is configured such that a plurality of indicators indicating a plurality of recipes comprising a plurality of sub-recipes or a plurality of main recipes are displayed therein (0222, 0225 and Fig 24: The user adds tasks into the project, e.g., using window 2053 of FIG. 24. The user optionally activates/deactivates tasks added to the project, also as shown by way of example in window 2053…There may be a List Projects sub-use case, whereby, the user lists all projects in the datastore, e.g., in the window 2056 of FIG. 24. There may be a View Project sub-use case, available to all users, whereby, once logged in, the user views a project in the datastore selected from the list of window 2056, such as in windows 2053 and 2058. There may be a List Tasks sub-use case, available to all users, whereby, once logged in, the user lists all tasks in the datastore, e.g., in window 2051), wherein the management information display area is configured such that, when one of the plurality of indicators is selected on the recipe selection image, management information of one of the plurality of recipes associated with the one of the plurality of indicators selected on the recipe selection image is capable of being displayed therein (0222, 0225 and Fig 24: The user adds tasks into the project, e.g., using window 2053 of FIG. 24. The user optionally activates/deactivates tasks added to the project, also as shown by way of example in window 2053…There may be a List Projects sub-use case, whereby, the user lists all projects in the datastore, e.g., in the window 2056 of FIG. 24. There may be a View Project sub-use case, available to all users, whereby, once logged in, the user views a project in the datastore selected from the list of window 2056, such as in windows 2053 and 2058. There may be a List Tasks sub-use case, available to all users, whereby, once logged in, the user lists all tasks in the datastore, e.g., in window 2051), and wherein the combination information editing area is configured such that combination information linked to the one of the plurality of recipes displayed in the management information display area is capable of being displayed therein (0222, 0225 and Fig 24: The user adds tasks into the project, e.g., using window 2053 of FIG. 24. The user optionally activates/deactivates tasks added to the project, also as shown by way of example in window 2053…There may be a List Projects sub-use case, whereby, the user lists all projects in the datastore, e.g., in the window 2056 of FIG. 24. There may be a View Project sub-use case, available to all users, whereby, once logged in, the user views a project in the datastore selected from the list of window 2056, such as in windows 2053 and 2058. There may be a List Tasks sub-use case, available to all users, whereby, once logged in, the user lists all tasks in the datastore, e.g., in window 2051).
Claim 2:
Conway discloses the controller is further configured to be capable of displaying a button that serves to accept editing of the combination information in the combination information editing area (0223: the user edits tasks present in the project using edit task use case, e.g., by selecting tasks shown in window 5051).
Claim 3:
Conway discloses the controller is further configured to be capable of displaying, in the recipe selection area, a link state between a sub-recipe among the plurality of sub-recipes and a main recipe among the plurality of main recipes (0232: the system updates the status of the currently processing job 2108 in the job queue 2106 to “processing”).
Claim 4:
Conway discloses the controller is further configured to be capable of displaying, in the recipe selection area, an icon indicating whether or not a sub-recipe among the plurality of sub-recipes is linked to a main recipe among the plurality of main recipes (0222 and Fig 24: The user asks the system to create a project using one of the two views: standard view or custom view. The system puts the project in edit mode. The system displays the standard view, e.g., as shown on the screen 2050' in FIG. 25 at 2060 and 2062. The user adds tasks into the project, e.g., using window 2053 of FIG. 24. The user optionally activates/deactivates tasks added to the project, also as shown by way of example in window 2053).
Claim 5:
Conway discloses the controller is further configured to be capable of displaying, in the recipe selection area, the plurality of indicators indicating the plurality of sub-recipes and an icon indicating whether or not a sub-recipe among the plurality of sub-recipes is linked to a main recipe among the plurality of main recipes (0222 and Fig 24: The user asks the system to create a project using one of the two views: standard view or custom view. The system puts the project in edit mode. The system displays the standard view, e.g., as shown on the screen 2050' in FIG. 25 at 2060 and 2062. The user adds tasks into the project, e.g., using window 2053 of FIG. 24. The user optionally activates/deactivates tasks added to the project, also as shown by way of example in window 2053).
Claim 6:
Conway discloses the controller is further configured to be capable of displaying, in the recipe selection area, the plurality of indicators indicating the plurality of sub-recipes and an icon indicating number of the main recipes linked to a sub-recipe among the plurality of sub-recipes (0222 and Fig 24: The user asks the system to create a project using one of the two views: standard view or custom view. The system puts the project in edit mode. The system displays the standard view, e.g., as shown on the screen 2050' in FIG. 25 at 2060 and 2062. The user adds tasks into the project, e.g., using window 2053 of FIG. 24. The user optionally activates/deactivates tasks added to the project, also as shown by way of example in window 2053).
Claim 9:
Conway discloses a single sub-recipe among the plurality of sub-recipes is configured to link with two or more main recipes among the plurality of main recipes, and wherein a maximum number of steps capable of being handled by each of the two or more main recipes is set to be smaller than a number of steps capable of being handled by the single sub-recipe (0211, 0222 and Fig 22-24: The user adds tasks into the project, e.g., using window 2053 of FIG. 24. The user optionally activates/deactivates tasks added to the project, also as shown by way of example in window 2053).
Claim 10:
Conway discloses the button comprises a button that serves to switch a current image to an editing image for a recipe among the plurality of recipes associated with the combination information (0211, 0222 and Fig 22-24).
Claim 11:
Conway discloses the button comprises a button that serves to accept severing a link between a sub-recipe among the plurality of sub-recipes and a main recipe among the plurality of main recipes displayed in the combination information editing area (0211, 0222 and Fig 22-24: There may be a Delete Recipe sub-use case whereby the authorized user, once logged in, deletes an existing recipe from the datastore, e.g., using the "Delete" button 2024. The user selects a recipe from a pick list and deletes it… The user adds tasks into the project, e.g., using window 2053 of FIG. 24. The user optionally activates/deactivates tasks added to the project, also as shown by way of example in window 2053).
Claim 12:
Conway discloses the button comprises a button that serves to delete a main recipe among the plurality of main recipes associated with a sub-recipe among the plurality of sub-recipes and displayed in the combination information editing area (0211, 0222 and Figs 22-24: There may be a Delete Recipe sub-use case whereby the authorized user, once logged in, deletes an existing recipe from the datastore, e.g., using the "Delete" button 2024. The user selects a recipe from a pick list and deletes it…The user adds tasks into the project, e.g., using window 2053 of FIG. 24. The user optionally activates/deactivates tasks added to the project, also as shown by way of example in window 2053).
Claim 13:
Conway discloses the controller is further configured to be capable of locating the management information display area to be close to the combination information editing area (Figs 22-24).
Claim 14:
Conway discloses the controller is further configured to be capable of displaying, in the management information display area, information indicating one or both of a sub-recipe among the plurality of sub-recipes and a main recipe among the plurality of main recipes and a plurality pieces of the combination information linked to the sub-recipe or the main recipe, and the controller is further configured to be capable of displaying, in the combination information editing area, detailed information of one or more pieces of the combination information selected in the management information display area (Figs 22-24, 0209-0222).
Claim 15:
Conway discloses the controller is further configured to be capable of displaying, in the management information display area, the combination information associated with the one of the plurality of recipes selected on the recipe selection image (Figs 22-24).
Claim 17:
Conway discloses A display method comprising (a) displaying a plurality of indicators indicating a plurality of recipes comprising a plurality of sub-recipes or a plurality of main recipes on a recipe selection image (0222, 0225 and Fig 24: The user adds tasks into the project, e.g., using window 2053 of FIG. 24. The user optionally activates/deactivates tasks added to the project, also as shown by way of example in window 2053…There may be a List Projects sub-use case, whereby, the user lists all projects in the datastore, e.g., in the window 2056 of FIG. 24. There may be a View Project sub-use case, available to all users, whereby, once logged in, the user views a project in the datastore selected from the list of window 2056, such as in windows 2053 and 2058. There may be a List Tasks sub-use case, available to all users, whereby, once logged in, the user lists all tasks in the datastore, e.g., in window 2051); and (b) displaying a recipe editing image comprising a management information display area and a combination information editing area on a screen when one of the plurality of indicators is selected on the recipe selection image (0049, 0222, 0225 and Fig 24: Using the MSC 10 software, process engineers can define recipes and projects, execute jobs to process silicon substrates and monitor machine performance…There can be Manage Project Sub Use Cases as follows which may bring up in the GUI 40 interface the screen 2050, which may include a Project Name box 2052, where the user may add or edit a Project Name and a Project Description box 2054 of FIG. 24 containing a brief description of the Project…There may be a List Projects sub-use case, whereby, the user lists all projects in the datastore, e.g., in the window 2056 of FIG. 24. There may be a View Project sub-use case, available to all users, whereby, once logged in, the user views a project in the datastore selected from the list of window 2056, such as in windows 2053 and 2058. There may be a List Tasks sub-use case, available to all users, whereby, once logged in, the user lists all tasks in the datastore, e.g., in window 2051), wherein the management information display area is configured such that management information of one of the plurality of recipes associated with the one of the plurality of indicators selected on the recipe selection image is capable of being displayed therein, and wherein the combination information editing area is configured such that combination information linked to the one of the plurality of recipes displayed in the management information display area is capable of being displayed therein (0222, 0225 and Fig 24: The user adds tasks into the project, e.g., using window 2053 of FIG. 24. The user optionally activates/deactivates tasks added to the project, also as shown by way of example in window 2053…There may be a List Projects sub-use case, whereby, the user lists all projects in the datastore, e.g., in the window 2056 of FIG. 24. There may be a View Project sub-use case, available to all users, whereby, once logged in, the user views a project in the datastore selected from the list of window 2056, such as in windows 2053 and 2058. There may be a List Tasks sub-use case, available to all users, whereby, once logged in, the user lists all tasks in the datastore, e.g., in window 2051).
Claim 18:
Conway discloses A substrate processing method comprising processing a substrate based on the one of the plurality of recipes displayed on the recipe selection image in the display method of claim 17 (0049: Using the MSC 10 software, process engineers can define recipes and projects, execute jobs to process silicon substrates and monitor machine performance).
Claim 19:
Conway discloses A method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, comprising processing a substrate based on the one of the plurality of recipes displayed on the recipe selection image in the display method of claim 17 (0049: Using the MSC 10 software, process engineers can define recipes and projects, execute jobs to process silicon substrates and monitor machine performance).
Claim 20:
Conway discloses A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program (0049 and 0051) that causes a substrate processing apparatus, by a computer, to perform: (a) displaying a plurality of indicators indicating a plurality of recipes comprising a plurality of sub-recipes or a plurality of main recipes on a recipe selection image (0222, 0225 and Fig 24: The user adds tasks into the project, e.g., using window 2053 of FIG. 24. The user optionally activates/deactivates tasks added to the project, also as shown by way of example in window 2053…There may be a List Projects sub-use case, whereby, the user lists all projects in the datastore, e.g., in the window 2056 of FIG. 24. There may be a View Project sub-use case, available to all users, whereby, once logged in, the user views a project in the datastore selected from the list of window 2056, such as in windows 2053 and 2058. There may be a List Tasks sub-use case, available to all users, whereby, once logged in, the user lists all tasks in the datastore, e.g., in window 2051); and (b) displaying a recipe editing image comprising a management information display area and a combination information editing area on a screen when one of the plurality of indicators is selected on the recipe selection image (0049, 0222, 0225 and Fig 24: Using the MSC 10 software, process engineers can define recipes and projects, execute jobs to process silicon substrates and monitor machine performance…There can be Manage Project Sub Use Cases as follows which may bring up in the GUI 40 interface the screen 2050, which may include a Project Name box 2052, where the user may add or edit a Project Name and a Project Description box 2054 of FIG. 24 containing a brief description of the Project…There may be a List Projects sub-use case, whereby, the user lists all projects in the datastore, e.g., in the window 2056 of FIG. 24. There may be a View Project sub-use case, available to all users, whereby, once logged in, the user views a project in the datastore selected from the list of window 2056, such as in windows 2053 and 2058. There may be a List Tasks sub-use case, available to all users, whereby, once logged in, the user lists all tasks in the datastore, e.g., in window 2051), wherein the management information display area is configured such that management information of one of the plurality of recipes associated with the one of the plurality of indicators selected on the recipe selection image is capable of being displayed therein, and wherein the combination information editing area is configured such that combination information linked to the one of the plurality of recipes displayed in the management information display area is capable of being displayed therein (0222, 0225 and Fig 24: The user adds tasks into the project, e.g., using window 2053 of FIG. 24. The user optionally activates/deactivates tasks added to the project, also as shown by way of example in window 2053…There may be a List Projects sub-use case, whereby, the user lists all projects in the datastore, e.g., in the window 2056 of FIG. 24. There may be a View Project sub-use case, available to all users, whereby, once logged in, the user views a project in the datastore selected from the list of window 2056, such as in windows 2053 and 2058. There may be a List Tasks sub-use case, available to all users, whereby, once logged in, the user lists all tasks in the datastore, e.g., in window 2051).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conway in view of Young (USPAT 7047101 B1).
Claim 7:
Conway discloses every feature of claim 1.
Conway, by itself, does not seem to completely teach a sub-recipe among the plurality of sub-recipes is configured to link with two or more main recipes among the plurality of main recipes.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Young.
Young teaches a sub-recipe among the plurality of sub-recipes is configured to link with two or more main recipes among the plurality of main recipes (Col 2 ln 6-30: each of these sub-recipes define at least one parameter associated with the measurement of a semiconductor wafer and/or a semiconductor disposed on such wafer. Further, this recipe architecture will include a set of parameter dependencies, in which each of the sub-recipes has a respective relationship to at least one dependency from this set of dependencies… Componentization of the recipe into reusable sub-recipes will enable at least selected reuse of previously collected groupings of recipe parameters based on dependency analysis… generating a new semiconductor measurement recipe, which includes: 1) determining an appropriate existing recipe as a baseline from which to construct a new recipe, the existing recipe being organized to include a set of parameter dependencies and a plurality of sub-recipes relating to these dependencies; 2) perceiving a change in any of the set of dependencies; 3) determining which of the sub-recipes of the existing recipe remain unaffected by the perceived dependency change(s); and 4) generating a new recipe using at least one of the sub-recipes found to be unaffected by the perceived dependency change(s)).
Conway and Young are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, recipe management in a manufacturing system.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Conway and Young before him or her, to combine the teachings of Conway and Young. The rationale for doing so would have been to managing dependencies of sub-recipes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Conway and Young to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 8:
Conway teaches a single main recipe among the plurality of main recipes is configured to link with a single sub-recipe among the plurality of sub-recipes (Figs 22-24).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conway in view of Kawasaki (USPUB 20240006184 A1 from IDS filed 5/1/2025).
Claim 16:
Conway discloses every feature of claim 1.
Conway, by itself, does not seem to completely teach A substrate processing apparatus comprising: the processing apparatus of claim 1; and a process chamber in which a substrate is capable of being processed.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Kawasaki.
Kawasaki teaches A substrate processing apparatus comprising: the processing apparatus of claim 1; and a process chamber in which a substrate is capable of being processed (0026: A process chamber 201 is provided in a hollow cylindrical portion of the reaction tube 203. The process chamber 201 is configured to be capable of accommodating a plurality of wafers including the wafer 200).
Conway and Kawasaki are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, recipe management in a manufacturing system.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Conway and Young before him or her, to combine the teachings of Conway and Young. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide the ability to manufacture items.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Conway and Young to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Note
The Examiner cites particular columns, line numbers and/or paragraph numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the Applicant(s). Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is listed in the attached PTOL-892 form.
/MOHAMMED H ZUBERI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178