Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 05/21/2026 is acknowledged and has been entered. Claims 1-15 are pending.
Regarding the claim objections of claims 4-14 under 37 CFR 1.75(c) for being in improper form for multiple dependent claims dependent on other multiple dependent claims, the amendments to the claims are sufficient to overcome the objection. The claim objections are hereby withdrawn.
Regarding the interpretation of a crawling unit under 35 USC 112(f), the examiner finds the applicant’s amendment sufficient. The interpretation of this limitation under 35 USC 112(f) is hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the argument that Kim does not anticipate the amended claims (page 2, paragraph 1 of Remarks filed 05/21/2026), the argument has been fully considered and is persuasive. The rejection of claims 1,2 and 15 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Moyer (US4675604A) and Takeuchi (JPH1123477A).
In response to applicant's argument that Kim is nonanalogous art as Kim is directed to underground utility pipes (page 2, paragraph 6 of Remarks filed 05/21/2026), the rejection of independent claims 1 and 15 by Kim was anticipatory and it has been held that arguments against anticipatory prior art as nonanalogous are not germane to a rejection under 35 USC 102. See MPEP 2131.05. However, due to the arguments and amendments made to the claims, Kim is no longer an anticipatory reference. It has been held a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Further, prior art must be analogous to the claimed invention, not the entire invention. See MPEP 2141.01(a). The claims of the instant application are directed to an “inspection and measurement system for a hollow cylindrical object”. The device of Kim is intended to inspect a pipe (title; paragraph [0001]: "The technical idea of the present disclosure relates to a method and device for determining the state of a pipe"), and a pipe is a hollow cylindrical object.
Regarding the applicant’s argument that Kim’s “monitoring system” is not the claimed “controller” of claim 1 (page 2, last paragraph of Remarks filed 05/21/2026), the examiner disagrees. Claim 1 of the instant application claims the controller is configured to activate the crawling unit and inspection head such that the inspection head is moved along the hollow cylindrical object. Paragraph [0076] of Kim discloses that the monitoring system includes an embedded H/W, which controls the crawler. Paragraph [0073] of Kim discloses the condition measuring device may be in the form of a robot, and paragraph [0075] discloses the robot may include the crawler. Therefore, by controlling the crawler, the monitoring system also moves the condition measuring device.
Claim 1 of the instant application further claims the controller is configured to activate and move the crawling unit and inspection head such that the first sensor provides 2-dimensional image data of the internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object. Paragraph [0076] of Kim further discloses the monitoring system of Kim includers a viewer S/W which performs functions such as camera capture, recording, storage, and playback. Paragraph [0025] of Kim discloses the camera captures images inside the pipe, therefore the camera controlled by the monitoring system would provide the 2-dimensional image data of the internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object.
Claim 1 of the instant application further claims the controller is configured to process the 2-dimensional image data to identify any surface defects in the internal surface of the hollow cylindrical objects. Paragraph [0076] of Kim discloses the monitoring system controls both the “camera preview” and LIDAR sensor. Paragraph [0025] of Kim discloses the camera and LIDAR sensor make up the measurement and collection unit, therefore the examiner is interpreting this to mean the monitoring system is controlling the measurement and collection unit. Paragraph [0024] of Kim discloses the measurement and collection unit is part of the pipe condition measuring device, and further discloses the pipe condition measuring device includes a database unit, a status determination unit and a visualization unit. Paragraph [0076] of Kim discloses the functions of the “camera preview” as “capture, recording, storage, playback”. The measurement and collection unit is only described as capturing data (paragraph [0025]), while the recording, storage and playback is disclosed as being performed by the database unit (paragraph [0034]), the status determination unit (paragraphs [0035]-[0036]), and the visualization unit (paragraphs [0037] and [0041]). Therefore, it is the position of the examiner that the monitoring system also controls the database unit, status determination unit, and visualization unit as they are all associated with the camera and perform the disclosed functions of paragraph [0076]. Thus, the monitoring system controls the status determination unit, which processes the images taken by the camera and identifies any surface defects in the internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0036]) as is required by the claim.
Claim 1 of the instant application further claims the controller is configured to activate the crawling and inspection head such that the second sensor provides depth-data associated with the identified surface defects in the internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object. As discussed above, paragraph [0076] of Kim discloses controlling the crawler and thus the inspection head. Further, paragraph [0076] of Kim discloses the monitoring unit controls the LIDAR sensor as well. Paragraphs [0051]-[0052] and [0057]-[0058] of Kim disclose the camera first takes a photo of the inside of the pipe, then the LIDAR sensor acquires secondary data. Paragraph [0065] of Kim discloses the data acquired by the LIDAR sensor includes the depth of the pipe damage area.
Claim 1 of the instant application further claims the controller is configured to process the 2-dimensional image data and the depth-data in order to determine one or more parameters of the identified surface defects. As discussed above, paragraph [0076] of Kim discloses the monitoring system controls the status determination unit. Paragraph [0036] of Kim discloses the status determination unit uses the pipe interior image (taken by the camera) and pipe interior data (taken by the LIDAR sensor) to determine the defects on the internal surface of the pipe and also determine defect measurement information or degree of corrosion, which are both parameters of the identified surface defects.
Regarding the applicant’s argument that Kim does not teach determining “the location on the internal surface of those surface defects” (page 3, paragraph 2 of Remarks filed 05/21/2026), the examiner finds the argument that the cited paragraph [0066] of Kim only discloses a geographical location persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Moyer (US4675604A).
In response to applicant's argument that Shibayama is nonanalogous art (page 4, paragraph 1 of Remarks filed 05/21/2026), it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. As discussed above in regard to the applicability of Kim as prior art, the claims are interpreted in light of the specification and limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. The claims of the instant application are directed to an “inspection and measurement system for a hollow cylindrical object”. In this case, Shibayama is a defect detection device (paragraph [0007]) intended to inspect a cylindrical bore surface (paragraph [0026]), which is the shape of a hollow cylinder.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references Kim and Shibayama (page 4, paragraph 2 of Remarks filed 05/21/2026), the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Kim doesn't determine the volume of the identified surface defect, but does determine area and depth of the defect. Determining volume of the defect would not require any further measurements. Shibayama discloses that the flow of certain liquids, such as oil, are affected by defects which have an excessively large volume, making it important to regulate an upper limit on the volume of surface defects (paragraph [0004]). If the volume of a defect is identified as being too large, it will affect the flow of liquid in the pipe Kim is concerned with inspecting. Therefore, determining the volume of a defect is imperative to the flow of fluid in the pipe. Thus, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the inspection device of Kim with the determination of volume of a defect taught in Shibayama in order to measure a volume of defects to ensure the flow through the pipe is optimal.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. IN202421032058, filed on 06/24/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 7-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR20240025232A) in view of Moyer (US4675604A) and Takeuchi (JPH1123477A).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an inspection and measurement system for a hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0001] discloses a device for determining the state of a pipe), the system comprising:
an inspection device (100, Fig. 1A) which includes a crawling unit ('crawler' - 320, Fig. 5) and an inspection head ('measurement and collection unit - 110, Fig. 1a), wherein:
the inspection head comprises a first sensor ('camera' - 111, Fig. 1a) and a second sensor ('lidar sensor' - 112, Fig. 1a), each for sensing properties of an internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0025]); and
the crawling unit is configured to move the inspection head along the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0075] discloses the crawler causes the device to be moved inside the pipe); and
a controller ('monitoring system' - 330, Fig. 5), which is configured to:
activate the crawling unit and the inspection head such that the inspection head is moved along the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0076] discloses the monitoring system controls the crawler) and such that the first sensor provides 2-dimensional image data of the internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0076] discloses the monitoring system controls the camera; paragraph [0025] discloses the camera captures 2D images of the inside of the pipe);
process the 2-dimensional image data to identify any surface defects in the internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object (as explained above in paragraph 5 of the Response to Arguments section, the monitoring system controls the status determination unit. Paragraph [0036] discloses the status determination unit decides if the pipe is normal or abnormal, including any corrosion, cracks, protrusions, etc.);
activate the crawling unit and the inspection head such that the inspection head is moved along the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0076] discloses the monitoring system controls the crawler) and such that the second sensor provides depth-data associated with the identified surface defects in the internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0076] discloses the monitoring unit controls the LIDAR sensor; paragraphs [0051]-[0052] and [0057]-[0058] disclose the camera first takes a photo of the inside of the pipe, then the LIDAR sensor acquires secondary data; paragraph [0065] discloses the data acquired by the LIDAR sensor includes the depth of the pipe damage area); and
process the 2-dimensional image data and the depth-data in order to determine one or more parameters of the identified surface defects (as explained above in paragraph 5 of the Response to Arguments section, paragraph [0076] discloses the monitoring system controls the status determination unit; paragraph [0036] discloses the status determination unit uses the pipe interior image (taken by the camera) and pipe interior data (taken by the LIDAR sensor) to determine the defects on the internal surface of the pipe and also determine defect measurement information or degree of corrosion, which are both parameters of the identified surface defects).
Kim fails to disclose the crawling unit comprises a plurality of drive wheels, idler wheels, at least one motor and connectors electrically coupled to an electronics unit, the first sensor comprising at least one camera with integrated illumination, and determining the location on the internal surface of those surface defects.
However, in the same field of endeavor of optical inspection of hollow cylindrical objects, Moyer teaches an inspection device (Fig. 1) with a crawling unit (parts inside tubular member 13) with drive wheels (12, Fig. 1; Fig. 10 depicts a plurality of drive wheels), idler wheels (14, Fig. 1), a motor (8, Fig. 1) and connectors (piston linkage network – 39, Fig. 7) coupled to an electronics unit (18, Fig. 1; column 4). Moyer further teaches determining the location of defects on the internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object (column 3, lines 64-66).
The inspection device of Moyer, including the wheels, motor, connectors and electronics unit, as well as determining the location of the defects have the advantage of analyzing and assessing the severity of defects over the entire hollow cylindrical object, which eliminates the need for costly manual inspection (column 8, lines 45-55). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to combine the device of Kim with the inspection device and location determination taught in Moyer in order to inspect the entire hollow cylindrical object in a cost-efficient manner.
Kim as modified by Moyer fails to disclose the first sensor comprising at least one camera with integrated illumination.
However, in the same field of endeavor of inspection of hollow cylindrical objects, Takeuchi teaches an inspection head (2, Fig. 1) with a camera (3, Fig. 1) with integrated illumination (paragraph [0010] discloses the light source is in the casing 7 which surrounds the camera, Fig. 1). The device of Kim is intended to be used in pipes (paragraph [0001]), which may have limited internal space for an inspection device. Integrating the light source with the camera enables the device to be smaller and more compact (Takeuchi: paragraph [0007]), therefore making it easier for the device to fit inside of a pipe being inspected. Thus, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device of Kim as modified by Moyer with the integrated light source taught by Takeuchi in order to make the device smaller and more compact.
Regarding claim 2, Kim as modified by Moyer and Takeuchi teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, and further teaches the controller is configured to apply an artificial intelligence algorithm when processing the 2-dimensional image data to identify any surface defects in the internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object (Kim: as explained above in paragraph 5 of the Response to arguments section, the monitoring system controls the status determination unit; paragraph [0038] discloses the status determination unit uses deep learning to determine the abnormalities in the pipe. Deep learning is a type of AI algorithm).
Regarding claim 4, Kim as modified by Moyer and Takeuchi teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, and further teaches the controller is further configured to determine the number of identified surface defects in the hollow cylindrical object (Takeuchi: paragraph [0011] discloses determining the number of defects).
Determining the number of surface defects enables the judgement of the interior surface (Takeuchi: paragraph [0011]), therefore enabling a user to decide if the number of defects is too great and the object fails inspection to ensure safety. Thus, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the controller of Kim as modified by Moyer and Takeuchi with the determination of the number of defects in order to determine if the hollow cylindrical object has too many defects to safely pass inspection.
Regarding claim 5, Kim as modified by Moyer and Takeuchi teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, and further teaches the controller is configured to:
combine the 2-dimensional data and the depth-data in order to provide combined-data (Kim: paragraph [0036] discloses the interior image data and interior data (including depth data) are combined );
and process the combined-data in order to determine the one or more parameters of the identified surface defects (Kim: as explained above in paragraph 5 of the Response to Arguments section, paragraph [0076] discloses the monitoring system controls the status determination unit; paragraph [0036] discloses the status determination unit uses the pipe interior image (taken by the camera) and pipe interior data (taken by the LIDAR sensor) to determine the defects on the internal surface of the pipe and also determine defect measurement information or degree of corrosion, which are both parameters of the identified surface defects).
Regarding claim 8, Kim as modified by Moyer and Takeuchi teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, and further teaches the controller is configured to determine the locations of the surface defects with reference to an open end of the hollow cylindrical object (Moyer: column 4, lines 5-9 disclose the position of the inspection head is determined with respect to markings on the drive beam (10, Fig. 1), which is located at the open end of the object (see Fig. 1)).
Determining the location of the surface defects with reference to an open end allows the location to be determined without the need for any external locating systems. Therefore, it would be advantageous to use the location determination taught in Moyer in order to cut down on the need for extra elements. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to combine the controller of Kim as modified by Moyer and Takeuchi with the location determination taught by Moyer to reduce the number of needed elements in the system.
Regarding claim 9, Kim as modified by Moyer and Takeuchi teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, and further teaches the activate the crawling unit (Kim: paragraph [0075] discloses movement of the crawling unit) and the inspection head such that the second sensor only provides depth-data associated with regions of the internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object that include the identified surface defects (Kim: paragraphs [0051]-[0042] disclose the first sensor captures data, then the second sensor acquires secondary data based on the state determined by the first sensor).
Regarding claim 10, Kim as modified by Moyer and Takeuchi teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, and further teaches the first sensor includes at least one camera with integrated illumination (Takeuchi: paragraph [0010] discloses the light source is in the casing 7, Fig. 1).
As discussed above in claim 1, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device of Kim as modified by Moyer and Takeuchi with the integrated light source taught by Takeuchi in order to make the device smaller and more compact.
Regarding claim 11, Kim as modified by Moyer and Takeuchi teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, and further teaches the second sensor comprises a laser scanning unit that includes a laser distance sensor (Kim: “lidar sensor” - 112, Fig. 1a; paragraph [0026]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim as modified by Moyer and Takeuchi teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, and further teaches a plurality of driving wheels (Moyer: driving wheels - 12, Fig. 1; Fig. 10 depicts a plurality of them) and a plurality of idler wheels (Moyer: 14, Fig. 1) configured radially to maintain a continuous contact with an inner surface of the hollow cylindrical object to be inspected (Moyer: column 4, lines 56-58);
a motor (Moyer: 8, Fig. 1) with a rotary encoder (Moyer: azimuthal encoder - 6, Fig. 1) that drives the plurality of driving wheels (Moyer: column 4, lines 10-12);
a linear encoder (longitudinal encoder - 11, Fig. 1) connected to one of the idler wheels (Moyer: Fig. 1 depicts 11 connected to the idler wheels 14 through various elements), wherein the linear encoder is configured to measure linear displacement of the inspection device (Moyer: column 4, lines 7-8); and a plurality of connectors (Moyer: 39, Fig. 7) electrically coupled to the electronics unit (Moyer: 18, Fig. 7).
As discussed above in claim 1, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to combine the device of Kim as modified by Moyer and Takeuchi with the inspection device and location determination taught in Moyer in order to inspect the entire hollow cylindrical object in a cost-efficient manner.
Regarding claim 14, Kim as modified by Moyer and Takeuchi teaches the invention as described above in claim 12, and further teaches the plurality of idler wheels are configured to provide balance and stability to the inspection device when passing through the internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object to be inspected (Moyer: column 4, lines 10-12 disclose the idler wheels remain in contact with the internal surface. A result of this contact would be added stability and balance).
As discussed above in claim 1, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to combine the device of Kim as modified by Moyer and Takeuchi with the inspection device and location determination taught in Moyer in order to inspect the entire hollow cylindrical object in a cost-efficient manner.
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches a method for inspection and measurement of a hollow cylindrical object using an inspection device (paragraph [0001]), wherein the inspection device comprises:
an inspection head that comprises a first sensor ('camera' - 111, Fig. 1a) and a second sensor comprising a laser scanning unit including a laser distance sensor ('lidar sensor' - 112, Fig. 1a; a lidar sensor inherently has a laser distance sensor), each for sensing properties of an internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0025]); and
a crawling unit ('crawler' - 320, Fig. 5) that is configured to move the inspection head along the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0075]);
wherein the method comprises:
activating the crawling unit and the inspection head such that the inspection head is moved along the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0075]) and such that the first sensor provides 2-dimensional image data of the internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0025] discloses the camera captures 2D images of the inside of the pipe);
processing the 2-dimensional image data to identify any surface defects in the internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0036] discloses determining if the state of the pipe is normal or abnormal, including any corrosion, cracks, protrusions, etc.);
activating the crawling unit and the inspection head such that the inspection head is moved along the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0075]) and such that the second sensor provides depth-data associated with the identified surface defects in the internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0065] discloses the lidar sensor acquired data used to determine the depth of the damaged area); and
processing the 2-dimesnional image data and the depth-data in order to determine one or more parameters of the identified surface defects (paragraph [0036] discloses finding parameters such as measurement information of the identified abnormalities).
Kim fails to teach the first sensor comprising at least one camera with integrated illumination, the crawling unit comprising a plurality of drive wheels, idler wheels, at least one motor, and connectors electrically coupled to an electronics unit, and determining the location on the internal surface of those surface defects.
However, in the same field of endeavor of optical inspection of hollow cylindrical objects, Moyer teaches an inspection device (Fig. 1) with a crawling unit (parts inside tubular member 13) with drive wheels (12, Fig. 1; Fig. 10 depicts a plurality of drive wheels), idler wheels (14, Fig. 1), a motor (8, Fig. 1) and connectors (piston linkage network – 39, Fig. 7) coupled to an electronics unit (18, Fig. 1; column 4). Moyer further teaches determining the location of defects on the internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object (column 3, lines 64-66).
The inspection device of Moyer, including the wheels, motor, connectors and electronics unit, as well as determining the location of the defects have the advantage of analyzing and pressing the severity of defects over the entire hollow cylindrical object, which eliminates the need for costly manual inspection (column 8, lines 45-55). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to combine the device of Kim with the inspection device and location determination taught in Moyer in order to inspect the entire hollow cylindrical object in a cost-efficient manner.
Kim as modified by Moyer fails to disclose the first sensor comprising at least one camera with integrated illumination.
However, in the same field of endeavor of inspection of hollow cylindrical objects, Takeuchi teaches an inspection head (2, Fig. 1) with a camera (3, Fig. 1) with integrated illumination (paragraph [0010] discloses the light source is in the casing 7, Fig. 1). The device of Kim is intended to be used in pipes (paragraph [0001]), which may have limited internal space for an inspection device. Integrating the light source with the camera enables the device to be smaller and more compact (Takeuchi: paragraph [0007]), therefore making it easier for the device to fit inside of the pipe being inspected. Thus, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device of Kim as modified by Moyer with the integrated light source taught by Takeuchi in order to make the device smaller and more compact.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR20240025232A) as modified by Moyer (US4675604A) and Takeuchi (JPH1123477A) applied to claim 1 or claim 2 above, and further in view of Shibayama (US20180025486A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kim as modified by Moyer and Takeuchi teaches the invention as explained above in claim 1 or claim 2, and further teaches the one or more parameters of the identified surface defects comprise:
a maximum depth of the identified surface defect (Kim: paragraph [0036] discloses finding defect measurement information);
a type of the identified surface defect (Kim: paragraph [0036] discloses identifying a corrosion, crack, bead, fissure, or other defects); and
a change in internal diameter of the hollow cylindrical object (Kim: paragraph [0028] discloses determining internal pipe size).
Kim as modified by Moyer and Takeuchi fails to teach finding a volume of the identified surface defect.
However, in the same field of endeavor of surface defect inspection, Shibayama teaches a device which finds the volume of defects in an inspection object (paragraph [0007]).
The device of Kim is intended to be used on a pipe transporting liquids (paragraph [0003]). Shibayama discloses that the flow of certain liquids, such as oil, are affected by defects which have an excessively large volume, making it important to regular an upper limit on the volume of surface defects (paragraph [0004]). Thus, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the inspection device of Kim as modified by Moyer and Takeuchi with the determination of volume of a defect taught in Shibayama in order to measure a volume of defects to ensure the flow through the pipe is optimal.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR20240025232A) as modified by Moyer (US4675604A) and Takeuchi (JPH1123477A) applied to claim 1 or claim 2 above, and further in view of Protopapadakis ("AUTONOMOUS ROBOTIC INSPECTION IN TUNNELS", ISPRS Ann. Photogramm. Remote Sens. Spatial Inf. Sci., III-5, 167–174, https://doi.org/10.5194/isprs-annals-III-5-167-2016, 2016.)
Regarding claim 7, Kim as modified by Moyer and Takeuchi teaches the invention as explained above in claim 1, but fails to teach the first sensor has a field of view that includes the entire circumference of the internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object; and
the second sensor has a field of view that includes only a subset of the entire circumference of the internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object.
However, in the same field of endeavor of optical inspection of hollow cylindrical objects, Protopapadakis teaches an inspection system where the first sensor (Vision system - pages 169, column 2, last paragraph through 170, first column, first paragraph) that has a field of view of the entire circumference of the internal surface (page 170, first paragraph discloses the vision system is used for the full 3D reconstruction of the internal surface), and a second sensor (3D Laser Scanner - page 170, column 1, paragraph 2) that has a field of view of only a subset of the entire internal surface (page 170, paragraph 2 discloses that the 3D laser scanner is used for precise calculation of defects in the surface, and is only activated when the defects are detected).
Using two different sensors with two different fields of view enables both the recognition of defects as well as the precise inspection of the defects (Protopapadakis: page 170, column 1). Thus, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device of Kim as modified by Moyer and Takeuchi with the field of views taught by Protopapadakis in order to recognize defects across the entire internal surface as well as precisely inspect those defects.
Regarding claim 7, Kim as modified by Moyer, Takeuchi and Protopapadakis teaches the invention as explained above in claim 6, and further teaches the inspection head is rotatably connected to the crawling unit (Moyer: column 4, lines 14-16 discloses the inspection head rotates).
The advantage of having a rotatable inspection head is that the entire surface of the interior of the hollow cylindrical object may be imaged without rotating the entire pipe, which would require significant power and may cause damage (Moyer: column 2, lines 33-35). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would find it obvious to combine the device of Kim as modified by Moyer, Takeuchi and Protopapadakis with the rotatable inspection head taught in Moyer in order to allow for the entire circumference of the interior surface to be inspected in a manner that will not cause more damage.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR20240025232A) as modified by Moyer (US4675604A) and Takeuchi (JPH1123477A) applied to claim 12 above, in further view of Vath (EP4283177A1).
Regarding claim 13, Kim as modified by Moyer and Takeuchi teaches the invention as described above in claim 12, and further teaches that maintain concentricity with the longitudinal axis of the hollow cylindrical object to be inspected (Moyer: see Fig. 1, which depicts the driving wheel 12; the examiner is interpreting the longitudinal axis to be the axis running left-right in Fig. 1).
As discussed above in claim 1, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to combine the device of Kim with the inspection device and location determination taught in Moyer in order to inspect the entire hollow cylindrical object in a cost-efficient manner.
Kim as modified by Moyer and Takeuchi fails to teach the driving wheels are spring loaded wheels.
However, in the same field of endeavor of inspection of a hollow cylindrical object, Vath teaches an inspection device with driving wheels that are spring loaded wheels (paragraph [0024]).
Vath discloses that an advantage of spring loading the drive wheel is that it ensures the drive wheel is in contact with the desired surface and that the inspection device runs straight by compensating for uneven surface (paragraph [0024]). Thus, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device of Kim as modified by Moyer and Takeuchi with the spring-loaded wheels taught in Vath to ensure the inspection system runs straight.
Regarding claim 14, Kim as modified by Moyer, Takeuchi and Vath teaches the invention as described above in claim 13, and further teaches the plurality of idler wheels are configured to provide balance and stability to the inspection device when passing through the internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object to be inspected (Moyer: column 4, lines 10-12 disclose the idler wheels remain in contact with the internal surface. A result of this contact would be added stability and balance).
As discussed above in claim 1, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to combine the device of Kim as modified by Moyer, Takeuchi and Vath with the inspection device and location determination taught in Moyer in order to inspect the entire hollow cylindrical object in a cost-efficient manner.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRIA MENDOZA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877