Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in India on April 23, 2024, and in Europe on August 7, 2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the IN202421032058 application, or the EP24193375.3 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-14 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claims have not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a crawling unit in claims 1 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (KR20240025232A).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an inspection and measurement system for a hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0001] discloses a device for determining the state of a pipe), the system comprising:
an inspection device which includes a crawling unit ('crawler' - 320, Fig. 5) and an inspection head ('measurement and collection unit - 110, Fig. 1a), wherein:
the inspection head comprises a first sensor ('camera' - 111, Fig. 1a) and a second sensor ('lidar sensor' - 112, Fig. 1a), each for sensing properties of an internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0025]); and
the crawling unit is configured to move the inspection head along the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0075] discloses the crawler causes the device to be moved inside and outside the pipe); and
a controller ('monitoring system' - 330, Fig. 5), which is configured to:
activate the crawling unit and the inspection head such that the inspection head is moved along the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0075]) and such that the first sensor provides 2-dimensional image data of the internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0025] discloses the camera captures 2D images of the inside of the pipe);
process the 2-dimensional image data to identify any surface defects in the internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0036] discloses determining if the state of the pipe is normal or abnormal, including any corrosion, cracks, protrusions, etc.) and to determine the location on the internal surface of those surface defects (paragraph [0066] discloses displaying the location of the investigated area of the pipe. The examiner is interpreting this to mean the location has been determined);
activate the crawling unit and the inspection head such that the inspection head is moved along the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0075]) and such that the second sensor provides depth-data associated with the identified surface defects in the internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0065] discloses the lidar sensor acquired data used to determine the depth of the damaged area); and
process the 2-dimensional image data and the depth-data in order to determine one or more parameters of the identified surface defects (paragraph [0036] discloses finding parameters such as measurement information of the identified abnormalities).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, and further teaches the controller is configured to apply an artificial intelligence algorithm when processing the 2-dimensional image data to identify any surface defects in the internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0038] discloses the condition judgement unit uses deep learning to determine the abnormalities in the pipe. Deep learning is a type of AI algorithm).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches a method for inspection and measurement of a hollow cylindrical object using an inspection device (paragraph [0001]), wherein the inspection device comprises:
an inspection head that comprises a first sensor ('camera' - 111, Fig. 1a) and a second sensor ('lidar sensor' - 112, Fig. 1a), each for sensing properties of an internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0025]); and
a crawling unit ('crawler' - 320, Fig. 5) that is configured to move the inspection head along the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0075]);
wherein the method comprises:
activating the crawling unit and the inspection head such that the inspection head is moved along the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0075]) and such that the first sensor provides 2-dimensional image data of the internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0025] discloses the camera captures 2D images of the inside of the pipe);
processing the 2-dimensional image data to identify any surface defects in the internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0036] discloses determining if the state of the pipe is normal or abnormal, including any corrosion, cracks, protrusions, etc.) and to determine the location on the internal surface of those surface defects (paragraph [0066] discloses displaying the location of the investigated area of the pipe. The examiner is interpreting this to mean the location has been determined);
activating the crawling unit and the inspection head such that the inspection head is moved along the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0075]) and such that the second sensor provides depth-data associated with the identified surface defects in the internal surface of the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0065] discloses the lidar sensor acquired data used to determine the depth of the damaged area); and
processing the 2-dimesnional image data and the depth-data in order to determine one or more parameters of the identified surface defects (paragraph [0036] discloses finding parameters such as measurement information of the identified abnormalities).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR20240025232A) as applied to claim 1 or claim 2 above, and further in view of Shibayama (US20180025486A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the invention as explained above in claim 1 or claim 2, and further teaches the one or more parameters of the identified surface defects comprise:
a maximum depth of the identified surface defect (paragraph [0036] discloses finding defect measurement information);
a type of the identified surface defect (paragraph [0036] discloses identifying a corrosion, crack, bead, fissure, or other defects); and
a change in internal diameter of the hollow cylindrical object (paragraph [0028] discloses determining internal pipe size).
Kim fails to teach finding a volume of the identified surface defect.
However, in the same field of endeavor of surface defect inspection, Shibayama teaches a device which finds the volume of defects in an inspection object (paragraph [0007]).
The device of Kim is intended to be used on a pipe transporting liquids (paragraph [0003]). Shibayama discloses that the flow of certain liquids, such as oil, are affected by defects which have an excessively large volume, making it important to regular an upper limit on the volume of surface defects (paragraph [0004]). Thus, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the inspection device of Kim with the determination of volume of a defect taught in Shibayama in order to measure a volume of defects to ensure the flow through the pipe is optimal.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRIA MENDOZA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/Kara E. Geisel/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877