DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3-8, 12-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9-11, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hwang (PGPUB 20230386601), hereinafter as Hwang.
Regarding claim 1, Hwang teaches a method for reading a memory cell, the method comprising: receiving a cell current of a memory cell (Fig 1A, Iread_1); receiving a first reference current, a second reference current, and a third reference current (Fig 1A, Iref_1…); generating a first comparison output signal based on comparing the cell current to the first reference current; generating a second comparison output signal based on a comparing the cell current to the second reference current; generating a third comparison output signal based on comparing the cell current to the third reference current (Fig 5, and at least [0099]); and
determining a granular state of the memory cell based at least in part on one or more of the comparison of the cell current to the first reference current, the comparison of the cell current to the second reference current, or comparison of the cell current to the third reference current (Fig 5).
Regarding claim 9, Hwang teaches generating a final output signal corresponding to a primary state of the memory cell based on one or more of the first comparison output signal, the second comparison output signal, or the third comparison output signal (Fig 7, DS_1).
Regarding claim 10, Hwang teaches outputting one or more of the first comparison output signal, the second comparison output signal, the third comparison output signal, or the final output signal (Fig 7, DS_1).
Regarding claim 11, Hwang teaches a robust read circuitry for reading a memory cell, the robust read circuitry comprising: a sense amplifier comprising:
one or more current generators configured to generate a plurality of reference currents (Fig 1A, Iref_1…); a comparator (Fig 7, ADC) coupled to the one or more current generators, wherein the comparator is configured to: receive a cell current of a memory cell; receive the plurality of reference currents (Fig 7, ADC); and
determine a granular state of the memory cell based on comparing the cell current to at least two of the plurality of reference currents ([0099]).
Regarding claim 17, Hwang teaches to output a primary state of the memory cell (Fig 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang, in view of Tanzawa (PGPUB 20040062072), hereinafter as Tanzawa.
Regarding claim 2, Hwang teaches a method as in rejection of claim 1,
But not expressly the first reference current corresponds to a minimum erased cell current based on a voltage threshold distribution associated with the memory cell.
Tanzawa teaches to use a minimum erased cell current based on a voltage threshold distribution associated with the memory cell (Fig 6, and [0102]).
Since Hwang and Tanzawa are both from the same field of semiconductor memory device, the purpose disclosed by Tanzawa would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Hwang.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use a reference current value as in Tanzawa into the device of Hwang for the purpose of read stored bit information from a memory cell.
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang.
Regarding claim 18, the examiner is taking note that it is well known in the field that a single ended sense amplifier is used in a memory device.
Regarding claim 19, the examiner is taking note that it is well known in the field that a memory cell is a two-level memory cell that is electrically programmable and erasable, is used in a memory device.
Regarding claim 20, the examiner is taking note that it is well known in the field that a biasing circuit configured to bias a bit line associated with a memory cell is used in a memory device.
Conclusion
/MIN HUANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2827