DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 12, and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vabnick et al. USPG Pub. No.: 2021/0190836.
Regarding Claim 1, Vabnick teaches an electrical measurement device (figure 1B, 125), comprising:
one or more sensors configured to measure an electrical property (figure 1B, probes 114, 165, 170, 114);
an alert module configured to produce alerts (see [0031] discussing an alert unit that provides an audible sound to a user);
one or more processors (see figure 3D and [0040] showing a controller with a plurality of processing portions); and
a storage device that stores instructions executable by the one or more processors (see figures 3D and 4 as well as [0040] in which a memory holds executable instructions) to configure the one or more processors to:
set a reference range of values of the electrical property (see [0028] and figure 4 teaching setting a threshold range of voltage);
receive, via the one or more sensors, a first measurement of the electrical property of a first component of a plurality of components (see figure 4-5 and [0028] in which a measurement occurs of a first component of a plurality of components);
determine whether a value of the first measurement is outside the reference range of values (see figure 4-5 and [0028]); and
in response to determining that the value of the first measurement is outside the reference range of values, cause the alert module to produce an alert indicating that the value of the first measurement is outside the reference range of values (see figure 4-5, [0028] and [0059]).
Regarding Claim 15, the device as recited in claim Claim 1 is specific to this method and thus it must perform the method of claim 15. The method is intrinsic to the apparatus because the recited method steps will be performed during normal operation of the apparatus. Therefore, Claim 15 is also rejected.
Regarding Claim 2, Vabnick teaches the measurement device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: concurrently receive, from the one or more sensors, a second measurement of the electrical property of a second component of the plurality of components (see figure 1B, in which the device can concurrently receive up to 4 different voltage signals to be processed; also see [0075]); determine whether a value of the second measurement is outside the reference range of values (see [0042] and [0071]-[0075] discussing simultaneous wire continuity assessment using the second measurement against a threshold value); and in response to determining that the value of the second measurement is outside the reference range of values, cause the alert module to produce the alert indicating that the value of the second measurement is outside the reference range of values (see figure 4-5, [0028], [0059], and [0071]-[0075]).
Regarding Claim 3, Vabnick teaches the electrical measurement device of claim 1, further comprising one or more physical user input components (see figure 1B), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to use user input received via the one or more physical user input components to set the reference range of values (see figure 1B and [0028], [0058]-[0059], and figure 4 teach setting a threshold range of voltage for low and high ranges).
Regarding Claim 4, Vabnick teaches the electrical measurement device of claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more sensors is integrated in the electrical measurement device (see figure 1B).
Regarding Claim 5, Vabnick teaches the electrical measurement device of claim 1, further comprising one or more physical user input components, wherein user input is obtained via the one or more physical user input components and specifies a lower threshold value and an upper threshold value from which the reference range of values is determined (see figure 1B and [0028], [0058]-[0059], and figure 4 teach setting a threshold range of voltage for low and high ranges).
Regarding Claim 6, Vabnick teaches the electrical measurement device of claim 5, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to apply a factor to at least one of the lower threshold value or the upper threshold value to determine the reference range of values, and wherein the factor is based on contextual information received via the electrical measurement device (see figure 1B and [0028], [0058]-[0059], and figure 4 teach setting a threshold range of voltage for low and high ranges; not that the high and low selection of ranges are broadly based on contextual information received via the electrical measurement device; note that the term “based on” broadens the scope of the limitation beyond the factor being determined by contextual information received via the electrical measurement device).
Regarding Claim 7, Vabnick teaches the electrical measurement device of claim 1, further comprising one or more physical user input components (seen in figure 1B), wherein user input is obtained using the one or more physical user input components and specifies a reference value and a maximum deviation from the reference value (see figure 1B and [0056]-[0058]), and wherein the reference range of values is determined based on the reference value and the maximum deviation (see figure 1B and [0056]-[0058]).
Regarding Claim 8, Vabnick teaches the electrical measurement device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: obtain one or more reference measurements of the electrical property of one or more components of the plurality of components, and determine the reference range of values based on the one or more reference measurements (see figure 1B and [0056]-[0058]).
Regarding Claim 12, Vabnick teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the alert further indicates an identity of a sensor in the plurality of sensors that obtained the at least one of the respective measurements outside the reference range of values (see figure 1B and [0056]-[0058]).
Regarding Claim 14, Vabnick teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising a physical user input component on a physical user interface of the measurement device, wherein the measurement device is configured to enter or exit a first mode of operation to set the reference range of values in response to a first type of user input via the physical user input component, or enter or exit a second mode of operation to be standby for determining that the at least one of the respective measurements is outside the reference range of values in response to a second type of user input via the physical user input component, or enter or exit a third mode of operation to measure or test the physical property in response to a third type of user input via the physical user input component (see figure 1B and [0056]-[0058] in which the modes of operation change in response to the user’s physical operation of nobs and buttons).
Regarding Claim 16, Vabnick teaches the method of claim 15, wherein obtaining the one or more reference values comprises: measuring, using the electrical measurement device, the electrical property of the one or more reference components (see figure 4-5 and [0028] in which a measurement occurs of a first component of a plurality of components).
Regarding Claim 17, Vabnick teaches the method of claim 15, wherein determining the reference range of values for the electrical property comprises: determining a target value based on the one or more reference values; determining a maximum deviation from the target value; and determining the reference range of values based on the target value and the maximum deviation from the reference value (see figure 1B and 4-5, [0028], and [0056]-[0058]; note that the terminology “based on” creates a broader interpretation of the claim language than Applicant may intend).
Regarding Claim 18, Vabnick teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the one or more reference components are in the plurality of components (see figure 4-5 and [0028] in which a measurement occurs of a first component of a plurality of components).
Regarding Claim 19, Vabnick teaches the method of claim 15, wherein obtaining the one or more reference values comprises: obtaining the one or more reference values for one or more reference components having a same nominal value for the electrical property as at least one component of the plurality of components (see figure 1B and 4-5, [0028], and [0056]-[0058]).
Regarding Claim 20, Vabnick teaches the method of claim 15, wherein producing the alert comprises: causing a transducer to produce a first output in response to determining that the value is in the reference range of values; or causing a transducer to produce a second output in response to determining that the value is not in the reference range of values (see figure 1B and 4-5, [0028], and [0056]-[0058]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vabnick et al. USPG Pub. No.: 2021/0190836 in view of Katz et al. USPG Pub. No.: US 2014/0039838.
Regarding Claim 9, Vabnick teaches a system for test or measurement, comprising:
a plurality of sensors, configured to measure a physical property (figure 1B, probes 114, 165, 170, 114); and
a measurement device, coupled to the plurality of sensors and configured to:
receive, via the plurality of sensors, respective measurements of the physical property (see figure 4-5 and [0028] in which a measurement occurs of a first component of a plurality of components);
determine that at least one of the respective measurements is outside a reference range of values (see figure 4-5 and [0028]); and
in response to determining that the at least one of the respective measurements is outside the reference range of values, produce an alert that indicates that the at least one of the respective measurements is outside the reference range of values (see [0031] discussing an alert unit that provides an audible sound to a user; see figures 4-5, [0028] and [0059]).
Vabnick teaches is silent in teaching a measurement device, wirelessly coupled to the plurality of sensors. However, Katz teaches a measurement device, wirelessly coupled to the plurality of sensors (see Katz figure 1 and [0039]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Vabnick with those of Katz in order to make measurements in remote hard to reach areas such as behind machinery (as disclosed in Katz [0027]).
Regarding Claim 10, Vabnick and Katz teach the system of claim 9, wherein the respective measurements are first respective measurements and the measurement device is further configured to: receive, via the plurality of sensors, second respective measurements of the physical property (see figure 1B, in which the device can concurrently receive up to 4 different voltage signals to be processed; also see [0075]); determine that at least one of the second respective measurements is outside the reference range of values (see [0042] and [0071]-[0075] discussing simultaneous wire continuity assessment using the second measurement against a threshold value); and in response to determining that the at least one of the respective second measurements is outside the reference range of values, produce the alert that indicates that the at least one the second respective measurements is outside the reference range of values (see figure 4-5, [0028], [0059], and [0071]-[0075]).
Regarding Claim 11, Vabnick teaches the system of claim 1, but is silent in explicitly disclosing further comprising a server in communication with the measurement device, and wherein the measurement device is configured to receive the reference range of values via the server. However, Katz discloses comprising a server in communication with the measurement device, and wherein the measurement device is configured to receive the reference range of values via the server (see Katz [0039]-[0040] in which a smart phone or other server device can be used to transmit and receive the same input and outputs in place of device 22 of figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the teachings of Vabnick with those of Katz in order to allow for the versatility of a range of devices over one or more networks (as described in Katz [0040]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vabnick et al. USPG Pub. No.: 2021/0190836 in view of Holland et al. US Patent No.: 5,278,458.
Regarding Claim 13, Vabnick teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the measurement device obtains the reference range of values by being further configured to: obtain a lower threshold value and an upper threshold value for the reference range of values (see figure 1B and [0028], [0058]-[0059], and figure 4 teach setting a threshold range of voltage for low and high ranges); Vabnick is silent in teaching to determine a factor to apply to at least one of the lower threshold value or the upper threshold value based on contextual information associated with an environment of the measurement device; and apply the factor to at least one of the lower threshold value or the upper threshold value to obtain the reference range of values. However Holland teaches to determine a factor to apply to at least one of the lower threshold value or the upper threshold value based on contextual information associated with an environment of the measurement device; and apply the factor to at least one of the lower threshold value or the upper threshold value to obtain the reference range of values (see col.1, ln.62-col.2, ln.14 and col.4, ln.66 – col.5, ln.13 which discusses adjusting a threshold range based on previous threshold and voltage data). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the teachings of Vabnick with those of Holland in order to reduce the potential for damage to occur to a circuit (see Holland col.2, lns.15-36).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL A HARRISON/Examiner, Art Unit 2852