DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is with regard to the most recent papers filed 4/29/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 4/29/2026 have been fully considered, but focus on newly amended subject matter, and are thus moot based on the new ground of rejection necessitated by such amendments.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-14, and 16-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,107,804.
With regard to claims 1-2, 7-12, 17-20, the instant claims are substantially within the scope of claims 1, 3-4, 6, 11, 13-14, 6, 19, 20, and 22 of ‘804 in view of US 2019/0278431 (Eykalman), and are thus deemed to be an obvious variation.
With regard to claims 1 and 11, the claims of ‘849 fail to fails to disclose, but Eykalman teaches that the section is a tab and that the content is to be displayed in a second tab of the user interface of the messaging application that is different from the first tab of the user interface, wherein the first tab and the second tab are located within the same instance of the messaging application (Eykalman: Page 1. Eykalman shows the concept of tabs for a messaging application. While Eykalman shows the use of a left section for chat, this would still be within the meaning of tabs, as in the instant claims, as evidenced by claim 6, where the two tabs would clearly be different window portions, especially as Eykalman shows both the sections and tabs.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a tabbed functionality, with one tab for the chat and another tab for the content to allow for the presence of multiple windows of information within a same window instance, thus allowing users to easily look-up and access information (Eykalman: Page 1, Paragraph 2).
With regard to claims 4 and 14, the claims of ‘849 fail to disclose but Eykalman teaches that display of the content in the second section of the user interface of the messaging application is concurrent with display of separate content in a user interface of the web browser application (Eykalman: Page 1). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the display be concurrent to allow the user to view the different content items in a more efficient manner.
With regard to claims 6 and 16, the claims of ‘849 fail to disclose but Eykalman teaches the first section and the second section are different window portions of messaging application (Eykalman: Page 1). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the display be in different windows to allow the user to view the different content items in a more efficient manner.
With regard to claim 22, the claims of ‘849 in view of Eykelman taches that the messaging application does not function as a general-purpose web browser (Eykelman: Page 1).
With regard to claims 3, 13, and 22, the instant claims are obvious over ‘804 in view of Eykalman, and further in view of Omnichannel & Application Tabs, posted at <https://community.dynamics.com/blogs/post/?postid=488a9e0d-0846-4871-bb7e-b6becddd8e1a> on May 28, 2020.
With regard to claims 3 and 13, the claims of ‘849 fail to disclose but Hahn teaches that the application identifier enables the messaging application to forego displaying the content in a web browser application that is different from the messaging application (Hahn: Paragraph [0007]. The use of the system for displaying information in tabs would be based on authentication, as in Hahn, and thus the identifier (based on its use in authentication) would enable this functionality.). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the identifier enable the messaging application to forego displaying the content in a web browser application different from the messaging application to allow the operators of the system to control how the content is displayed, such as ensuring that the messaging application handles the content.
With regard to claim 22, the claims of ‘849 fail to teach, but Hahn teaches wherein using the application identifier to authenticate the agent comprises sending, by the messaging application, party and messaging application details as a token to an authentication server for authentication (Eykalman: Paragraph [0007]. The application identifier (e.g. messaging application details) and party details (e.g. user credentials) are transmitted for authentication, where such functionality would constitute an authentication server.). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to utilize the information to send as a token to ensure that the application is properly authenticated for a specific user.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omnichannel & Application Tabs, posted at <https://community.dynamics.com/blogs/post/?postid=488a9e0d-0846-4871-bb7e-b6becddd8e1a> on May 28, 2020 (Eykalman) US 2021/0240460 (Hahn).
With regard to claim 1, Ben-Itzhak discloses a method, comprising:
directing an agent to engage in a chat session with a party via a messaging application, wherein the chat session is within a first section of a user interface of the messaging application (Ben-Itzhak: Paragraph [0018]. A conversation agent is provided to chat with a user.);
while the agent is engaged in the chat session with the party, generating a web reference to content (Ben-Itzhak: Paragraph [0018]. A URL may be provided by the conversation agent.); and
in response to receiving a request for the web reference including the application identifier, causing the content to be displayed (Ben-Itzhak: Paragraph [0018] and Figure 6. When the URL is activated, the content is displayed.).
Ben-Itzhak fails to disclose, but Eykalman teaches that the section is a tab and that the content is to be displayed in a second tab of the user interface of the messaging application that is different from the first tab of the user interface, wherein the first tab and the second tab are located within the same instance of the messaging application (Eykalman: Page 1. Eykalman shows the concept of tabs for a messaging application. While Eykalman shows the use of a left section for chat, this would still be within the meaning of tabs, as in the instant claims, as evidenced by claim 6, where the two tabs would clearly be different window portions, especially as Eykalman shows both the sections and tabs.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a tabbed functionality, with one tab for the chat and another tab for the content to allow for the presence of multiple windows of information within a same window instance, thus allowing users to easily look-up and access information (Eykalman: Page 1, Paragraph 2).
Ben-Itzhak fails to teach, but Hahn teaches wherein the web reference includes an application identifier associated with the messaging application; authenticating the agent using the application identifier, and that causing the content to be displayed is also in response to authenticating the agent (Hahn: Paragraph [0007. Application identifiers that were used for authentication were known in the art.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide an application identifier for authentication purposes to ensure that any interaction with the application is allowed according to any policies.
With regard to claim 2, Ben-Itzhak teaches that the web reference is generated in response to determining the agent is to provide, via the messaging application, the content to the party (Ben-Itzhak: Paragraph [0018]. The reference is inserted in the chat, meaning that it was generated, then inserted into the chat, responsive to determining that it should be provided to the user.).
With regard to claim 3, Ben-Itzhak in view of Eykalman and Hahn teaches that the application identifier enables the messaging application to forego displaying the content in a web browser application that is different from the messaging application (Ben-Itzhak: Page 1 and Hahn: Paragraph [0007]. The use of the system for displaying information in tabs would be based on authentication, as in Hahn, and thus the identifier (based on its use in authentication) would enable this functionality.).
With regard to claim 4, Ben-Itzhak in view of Eykalman and Hahn teaches that display of the content in the second tab of the user interface of the messaging application is concurrent with display of separate content in a user interface of the web browser application (Eykalman: Page 1).
With regard to claim 6, Ben-Itzhak in view of Eykalman and Hahn teaches the first tab and the second tab are different window portions of the messaging application (Eykalman: Page 1).
With regard to claim 7, Ben-Itzhak in view of Eykalman and Hahn teaches that the first tab of the user interface of the messaging application dedicated to providing the chat session (Eykalman: Page 1).
With regard to claim 8, Ben-Itzhak in view of Eykalman and Hahn teaches wherein the web reference includes a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) indicating an address of an interface component (Ben-Itzhak: Paragraph [0018]).
With regard to claim 9, Ben-Itzhak in view of Eykalman and Hahn teaches wherein the web reference includes an identifier of a type of database, table, or other data storage structure corresponding to the content to be displayed (Ben-Itzhak: Paragraph [0018]. The language “data storage structure” is broad enough to encompass any content that is accessible via a URL. Further, “an identifier of a type of” does not provide that the type, itself, is identified in a manner that is separate from the content, but instead may have content identified that is one of the listed types.).
With regard to claim 10, Ben-Itzhak in view of Eykalman and Hahn teaches that the web reference includes an identifier of the second section where the content is to be displayed (Hahn: Paragraph [0007]. Lacking detail of how the identifier is used, this language allows for the overall application to be identified, with the application determining to place the content in the second window based on the content itself. Providing language to clarify that the identifier is used to determine which of the sections to display the web content would overcome this interpretation.).
With regard to claims 11-14 and 16-20, the instant claims are similar to claims 1-4 and 6-10, and are rejected for similar reasons.
With regard to claim 21, Ben-Itzhak in view of Eykalman and Hahn teaches wherein using the application identifier to authenticate the agent comprises sending, by the messaging application, party and messaging application details as a token to an authentication server for authentication (Eykalman: Paragraph [0007]. The application identifier (e.g. messaging application details) and party details (e.g. user credentials) are transmitted for authentication, where such functionality would constitute an authentication server.).
With regard to claim 22, Ben-Itzhak in view of Eykalman and Hahn teaches that the messaging application does not function as a general-purpose browser (Eykalman: Page 1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SCOTT B. CHRISTENSEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2444
/SCOTT B CHRISTENSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444