DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings as submitted by Applicant on 08/30/2024 have been accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1 and 12 recite the limitation “unoccupied by one or more items of one or more products intended to be supported by the product support structure,” which is found to be indefinite language. A fundamental principle contained in 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph is that applicants are their own lexicographers. They can define in the claims what the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention essentially in whatever terms they choose so long as any special meaning assigned to a term is clearly set forth in the specification. See MPEP § 2111.01. Applicant may use functional language, alternative expressions, negative limitations, or any style of expression or format of claim which makes clear the boundaries of the subject matter for which protection is sought. As noted by the court in In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 160 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971), a claim may not be rejected solely because of the type of language used to define the subject matter for which patent protection is sought.
The examiner submits that the aforementioned limitation, wherein the claims recite “unoccupied by one or more items of one or more products intended to be supported by the product support structure,” is found to be indefinite. The term “intended to be supported” fails to provide clarity to the scope of the claim that would enable one of ordinary skill in the art to ascertain the metes and the bounds of the claim as currently recited. For at least the reasoning provided above, the language of the pending claims is found to be indefinite for examination purposes. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of United States Patent No 10,239,738. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to systems and method of monitoring product placement within a shopping facility, as outlined below:
US Patent Number 10,239,738
Application number 18/821614
1. (original): An apparatus configured to determine product placement conditions within a shopping facility, comprising: a transceiver configured to wirelessly receive communications; a product monitoring control circuit coupled with the transceiver and associated with a shopping facility; a memory coupled with the control circuit and storing computer instructions that when executed by the control circuit cause the control circuit to: obtain a composite three-dimensional (3D) scan mapping corresponding to at least a select area of the shopping facility and based on a series of 3D scan data obtained by a 3D scanner as the 3D scanner is moved within the shopping facility; evaluate the 3D scan mapping to identify multiple product depth distances between a reference offset distance proximate an edge of a product support structure and each of multiple items of a first product positioned on and spaced across the select area of the product support structure; and identify, from the evaluation of the 3D scan mapping, when one or more of the multiple product depth distances is greater than a predefined depth distance threshold from the reference offset distance of the product support structure.
2. (original): The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control circuit is further configured to: identify when a threshold area across the product support structure of the select area has the product depth distance that is greater than the depth distance threshold; and issue a notification requesting action be taken in response to identifying that the threshold area across the product support structure of the select area has the product depth distance that is greater than the depth distance threshold.
3. (original): The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the control circuit is further configured to: identify, from the evaluation of the 3D scan mapping and relative to each of multiple rows of items of the first product supported by the product support structure, whether a threshold number of items are present within each row, wherein each of the multiple rows of items comprises one or more of the items arranged extending away from the edge of the product support structure; and identify that a threshold number of rows within the select area do not have at least the threshold number of items; wherein the issuing the notification comprises issuing the notification requesting action be taken in response to identifying that at least one of: the threshold area across the product support structure of the select area has the product depth distance that is greater than the depth distance threshold; and the threshold number of rows do not have at least the threshold number of items.
4. (original): The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the control circuit in evaluating the 3D scan mapping is further configured to: identify when one or more of the items detected through the 3D scan mapping and within the select area are different than the first product intended to be positioned within the select area; and cause a notification to be wirelessly transmitted through the transceiver notifying a shopping facility associate that an item of a second product is incorrectly placed within the select area.
5. (original): The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the control circuit is further configured to: evaluate an on-hand stock of the first product in response to identifying that the threshold area across the product support structure of the select area has the product depth distance that is greater than the depth distance threshold; identify that the on-hand stock of the first product is less than a threshold quantity; and determine, in response to identifying that the on-hand stock of the first product is less than the threshold quantity, whether additional items of the first product are pending delivery from a supplier.
6. (original): The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control circuit is further configured to: identify, relative to each of multiple rows of items of the first product supported by the product support structure, whether a threshold number of items of the first product are present within each row, wherein each of the multiple rows of items comprises one or more of the items of the first product arranged extending away from the edge of the product support structure; identify that a threshold number of the rows of items of the first product within the select area do not have at least the threshold number of items; and issue a notification requesting action be taken in response to identifying that at least the threshold number of rows do not have at least the threshold number of items.
7. (original): The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control circuit is further configured to: cause the transceiver to wirelessly communicate one or more movement commands to a motorized transport unit coupled with the 3D scanner, wherein the one or more movement commands when implemented by the motorized transport unit are configured to cause physical movement of the motorized transport unit and the 3D scanner consistent with the one or more movement commands through at least a portion of the shopping facility and proximate the select area of the product support structure.
8. (original): The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the control circuit is further configured to: identify, relative to a mapping of the shopping facility, a route between a determined location of the motorized transport unit within the shopping facility and a destination location within the shopping facility; identify the one or more movement commands configured to control movement of the motorized transport unit to cause the motorized transport unit to move to the destination location in accordance with the route; and cause the transceiver to wirelessly transmit the one or more movement commands to the motorized transport unit to cause the motorized transport unit to control its movements in accordance with the one or more movement commands and consistent with the route.
9. (original): The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the control circuit is further configured to: cause the transceiver to wirelessly communicate one or more 3D scan commands to induce a change in orientation of the 3D scanners relative to the product support structure.
1. A retail system configured to determine product conditions within a retail facility, comprising: scanner units; a product monitoring control circuit associated with a retail facility; and a memory coupled with the control circuit and storing computer instructions that when executed by the control circuit cause the control circuit to: obtain a composite three-dimensional (3D) scan mapping corresponding to at least a select area of the retail facility and based on scan data from the scanner units that are configured to be positioned and oriented relative to at least the select area of the retail facility each configured to provide at least one of multiple scans that are cooperated to generate the composite 3D scan mapping; access a baseline scan of at least the select area of the retail facility; evaluate the composite 3D scan mapping relative to the baseline scan; determine an empty area of at least a portion of a product support structure, positioned in the select area, wherein the empty area is unoccupied by items of one or more products intended to be supported by the product support structure; and identify when the empty area has a predefined relationship with an area threshold.
2. The retail system of claim 1, wherein the baseline scan comprises a 3D baseline mapping generated from a cooperation of multiple initial baseline scans.
3. The retail system of claim 1, wherein a first scanner unit, of the scanner units, comprises a 3D scan compiler configured to: receive the multiple scans, comprising 3D scans; generate the composite 3D scan mapping; and communicate the composite 3D scan mapping to the control circuit.
4. The retail system of claim 1, wherein the scanner units comprise triangulation scanners configured to be positioned proximate to the at least the portion of the product support structure, wherein each of the triangulation scanners is configured to generate at least one of the multiple scans.
5. The retail system of claim 1, wherein the control circuit in identifying when the empty area has the predefined relationship with the area threshold is further configured to identify, based on the composite 3D scan mapping, when the empty area is greater than a case threshold such that the empty area is large enough to receive at least a full case of the items of a first product; and wherein the control circuit is further configured to cause one or more commands to be communicated to cause initiation of one or more actions in response to identifying that the empty area has the predefined relationship to the area threshold and the empty area is greater than the case threshold.
6. The retail system of claim 1, wherein the control circuit is further configured to: identify, from the composite 3D scan mapping and relative to each of multiple sets of items, of the items, supported by the product support structure, whether a threshold number of the items are present within each of the multiple sets of items; identify that a threshold number of the multiple sets of items within the select area that do not have at least the threshold number of items; and cause one or more commands to be communicated, in response to identifying that the threshold number of the multiple sets of items do not have at least the threshold number of items, to initiate one or more actions.
7. The retail system of claim 1, further comprising: a motorized robotic transport unit; wherein the scanner units are positioned on and transported by the motorized robotic transport unit, wherein the motorized robotic transport unit is configured to move the scanner units while the scanner units capture the multiple scans.
8. The retail system of claim 1, wherein the scan data comprises point cloud measurements, and the baseline scan comprises point cloud measurements.
9. The retail system of claim 1, wherein the control circuit is further configured to: cause one or more movement commands to be communicated to control physical movement of at least one scanner unit, of the scanner units, through at least a portion of the retail facility comprising the select area.
10. The retail system of claim 1, wherein the control circuit is further configured to: identify that the empty area is less than a restocking area threshold; and cause an instruction to be communicated directing movement of at least a subset of items of the multiple items still supported on the product support structure to be closer to a reference offset in response to the identifying that the empty area has the predefined relationship with the area threshold but not greater than the restocking area threshold, wherein the area threshold is a facing area threshold.
11. The retail system of claim 1, wherein the control circuit is further configured to access inventory information of a first product and identify from the inventory information when there is a threshold number of items of the first product; and cause an instruction to be communicated directing a restocking of the empty area with additional items of the first product in response to both identifying that the empty area has the predefined relationship with the area threshold and identifying that there is the threshold number of items of the first product.
A terminal disclaimer is required herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shah et al (US 2017/0193434).
Regarding claim 1, the prior art discloses a retail system configured to determine product conditions within a retail facility, comprising: scanner units (see at least paragraph [0016] to Shah et al); a product monitoring control circuit associated with a retail facility (see at least paragraph [0010] to Shah et al); and a memory coupled with the control circuit and storing computer instructions that when executed by the control circuit cause the control circuit to: obtain a composite three-dimensional (3D) scan mapping corresponding to at least a select area of the retail facility and based on scan data from the scanner units that are configured to be positioned and oriented relative to at least the select area of the retail facility each configured to provide at least one of multiple scans that are cooperated to generate the composite 3D scan mapping (see at least paragraphs [0016]-[0017] to Shah et al); access a baseline scan of at least the select area of the retail facility; evaluate the composite 3D scan mapping relative to the baseline scan; determine an empty area of at least a portion of a product support structure, positioned in the select area, wherein the empty area is unoccupied by items of one or more products intended to be supported by the product support structure; and identify when the empty area has a predefined relationship with an area threshold (see at least paragraphs [0051]-[0053] to Shah et al).
Regarding claim 2, the prior art discloses the retail system of claim 1, wherein the baseline scan comprises a 3D baseline mapping generated from a cooperation of multiple initial baseline scans (see at least paragraph [0017] to Shah et al).
Regarding claim 3, the prior art discloses the retail system of claim 1, wherein a first scanner unit, of the scanner units, comprises a 3D scan compiler configured to: receive the multiple scans, comprising 3D scans; generate the composite 3D scan mapping; and communicate the composite 3D scan mapping to the control circuit (see at least paragraph [0017] to Shah et al).
Regarding claim 4, the prior art discloses the retail system of claim 1, wherein the scanner units comprise triangulation scanners configured to be positioned proximate to the at least the portion of the product support structure, wherein each of the triangulation scanners is configured to generate at least one of the multiple scans (see at least paragraph [0017] to Shah et al).
Regarding claim 5, the prior art discloses the retail system of claim 1, wherein the control circuit in identifying when the empty area has the predefined relationship with the area threshold is further configured to identify, based on the composite 3D scan mapping, when the empty area is greater than a case threshold such that the empty area is large enough to receive at least a full case of the items of a first product (see at least paragraph [0009] to Shah et al); and wherein the control circuit is further configured to cause one or more commands to be communicated to cause initiation of one or more actions in response to identifying that the empty area has the predefined relationship to the area threshold and the empty area is greater than the case threshold (see at least paragraph [0011] to Shah et al).
Regarding claim 6, the prior art discloses the retail system of claim 1, wherein the control circuit is further configured to: identify, from the composite 3D scan mapping and relative to each of multiple sets of items, of the items, supported by the product support structure, whether a threshold number of the items are present within each of the multiple sets of items; identify that a threshold number of the multiple sets of items within the select area that do not have at least the threshold number of items; and cause one or more commands to be communicated, in response to identifying that the threshold number of the multiple sets of items do not have at least the threshold number of items, to initiate one or more actions (see at least paragraphs [0051]and [0052] to Shah et al).
Regarding claim 7, the prior art discloses the retail system of claim 1, further comprising: a motorized robotic transport unit; wherein the scanner units are positioned on and transported by the motorized robotic transport unit, wherein the motorized robotic transport unit is configured to move the scanner units while the scanner units capture the multiple scans (see at least paragraph [0053] to Shah et al).
Regarding claim 8, the prior art discloses the retail system of claim 1, wherein the scan data comprises point cloud measurements, and the baseline scan comprises point cloud measurements (see at least paragraph [0012] to Shah et al).
Regarding claim 9, the prior art discloses the retail system of claim 1, wherein the control circuit is further configured to: cause one or more movement commands to be communicated to control physical movement of at least one scanner unit, of the scanner units, through at least a portion of the retail facility comprising the select area (see at least paragraph [0010] to Shah et al).
Regarding claim 10, the prior art discloses the retail system of claim 1, wherein the control circuit is further configured to: identify that the empty area is less than a restocking area threshold; and cause an instruction to be communicated directing movement of at least a subset of items of the multiple items still supported on the product support structure to be closer to a reference offset in response to the identifying that the empty area has the predefined relationship with the area threshold but not greater than the restocking area threshold, wherein the area threshold is a facing area threshold (see at least paragraph [0013] to Shah et al).
Regarding claim 11, the prior art discloses the retail system of claim 1, wherein the control circuit is further configured to access inventory information of a first product and identify from the inventory information when there is a threshold number of items of the first product; and cause an instruction to be communicated directing a restocking of the empty area with additional items of the first product in response to both identifying that the empty area has the predefined relationship with the area threshold and identifying that there is the threshold number of items of the first product (see at least paragraph [0015] to Shah et al).
Claims 12-19 each contain recitations substantially similar to those addressed above and, therefore, are likewise rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The examiner has considered all references listed on the Notice of References Cited, PTO-892.
The examiner has considered all references cited on the Information Disclosure Statement submitted by Applicant, PTO-1449.
The following are suggested formats for either a Certificate of Mailing or Certificate of Transmission under 37 CFR 1.8(a). The certification may be included with all correspondence concerning this application or proceeding to establish a date of mailing or transmission under 37 CFR 1.8(a). Proper use of this procedure will result in such communication being considered as timely if the established date is within the required period for reply. The Certificate should be signed by the individual actually depositing or transmitting the correspondence or by an individual who, upon information and belief, expects the correspondence to be mailed or transmitted in the normal course of business by another no later than the date indicated.
Certificate of Mailing
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being deposited with the United States Postal Service with sufficient postage as first class mail in an envelope addressed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
on __________.
(Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
________________________________________________________
Signature: ______________________________________
Certificate of Transmission by Facsimile
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being facsimile transmitted to the United States Patent and Trademark Office, Fax No. (___)_____ -_________ on _____________. (Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
_________________________________________
Signature: ________________________________________
Certificate of Transmission via USPTO Patent Electronic Filing System
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being transmitted via the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) patent electronic filing system to the USPTO
on _____________.
(Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
_________________________________________
Signature: ________________________________________
Please refer to 37 CFR 1.6(a)(4), 1.6(d) and 1.8(a)(2) for filing limitations concerning transmissions via the USPTO patent electronic filing system, facsimile transmissions and mailing, respectively.
/TALIA F CRAWLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627