DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 07/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15 and 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “the layer further comprises”. It is not clear what layer is addressed in this claim. Is it the curable resin layer, releasable layer or the polymer layer?
Claim Objections
Claims 12-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 12-14 recite “the surfacing material”. It should be “The self-releasing surfacing material”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 8-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sang et al. (US 2014/0154496) in view of Huang et al (US 2017/0145256).
Regarding claim 1, Sang discloses multilayer structure capable of UV protection (paragraphs 0008, 0036) comprising a curable resin layer laminated to a releasable layer (paragraphs 0010-0012) wherein the curable resin layer comprising thermoset resins (paragraph 0020).
Sang discloses releasable paper layer but does not disclose that the releasable layer comprising a polymer layer with a coating of organosilicon polymer.
Huang discloses a release liner comprising a coating composition comprising organopolysiloxane on at least one side of thermoplastic film such as polyester film, i.e. a releasable layer comprising a thermoplastic polyester elastomer layer coated on one or both sides with a coating of organosilicon polymer, to exhibit slipperiness and a suitable peel resistance value (abstract, paragraphs 0011, 0036, 0119).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the release liner of Huang instead of releasable paper layer to obtain slipperiness and a suitable peel resistance value. Given that Sang in view of Huang discloses the same multilayer as recited in present claim, it is clear that the multilayer of Sang in view of Huang would intrinsically possess the same properties such as self-releasing. Further Huang discloses organosilicon polymer coated on one or both sides of the thermoplastic film, it is clear that when both sides of the film is coated with the organosilicon polymer, the organosilicon polymer is an outermost layer with an exposed surface. It is noted that when the organosilicon polymer of Huang coated on one side of the thermoplastic film, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the organosilicon polymer of Huang to be coated on inside or outside surface of the thermoplastic film to obtain slipperiness and/or suitable peel resistance value upon user’s requirements. Therefore, when its coated on the outside surface of the thermoplastic film, it meets the present claim requirement of organosilicon polymer is an outermost layer with an exposed surface.
Regarding claim 3, Sang in view of Huang discloses the surfacing material of claim 1, wherein the organosilicone polymer coating contains elemental silicon, oxygen and carbon.
Regarding claim 8, Sang in view of Huang discloses the surfacing material of claim 1, wherein the curable resin layer has a film weight in the range of 50 to 150 gsm (paragraph 0009).
Regarding claim 9, Sang in view of Huang discloses the surfacing material of claim 1, wherein the curable resin layer does not comprise any reinforcement fibers (paragraph 0043).
Regarding claim 10, Sang in view of Huang discloses the surfacing material of claim 1, further comprising an electrically conductive layer (13, fig. 1) laminated to one side of the curable resin layer such that the curable resin layer (11, fig. 1) is between the releasable layer (12, fig. 1) and the conductive layer (fig. 1, paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 11, Sang in view of Huang discloses the surfacing material of claim 10, wherein the electrically conductive layer is solid metal foil (abstract, paragraph 0010).
Regarding claim 12, Sang in view of Huang discloses the surfacing material of claim 1, wherein the curable resin layer comprises one or more multifunctional epoxy resin and an amine curing agent (paragraph 0043).
Regarding claim 13, Sang in view of Huang discloses the surfacing material of claim 1, wherein the curable resin layer is formed from a resin composition comprising an epoxy novolac resin having epoxy functionality of more than one (paragraph 0020), a tri-functional epoxy resin that is not an epoxy novolac resin (paragraph 0020), ceramic microspheres (paragraph 0043), an amine based curing agent (paragraph 0043) and toughening agent such as a copolymer of PES and PEES (paragraph 0025).
Regarding claim 14, Sang in view of Huang discloses the surfacing material of claim 1, wherein the resin composition further comprises fumed silica (paragraph 0035).
Claims 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sang et al. (US 2014/0154496) in view of Huang et al (US 2017/0145256) and further in view of Chang et al. (US 2003/0003317).
Regarding claims 5-7, Sang in view of Huang discloses the surfacing material of claim 1 but does not disclose UV stabilizer, color dyes and/or carbon black additive in the thermoplastic layer.
Chang discloses thermoplastic laminated structure comprising exterior layer wherein the exterior layer comprises additives such as UV stabilizing agent, dye, i.e. color dyes, and/or carbon back for additive purpose (paragraphs 0027-0028) and to meet end users requirements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the additives of Change in the thermoplastic layer of Sang in view of Huang for additive purpose and to meet end users requirements.
Claims 1, 3 and 8-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sang et al. (US 2014/0154496) in view of Ote (JP 2011-201035).
Regarding claim 1, Sang discloses multilayer structure capable of UV protection (paragraphs 0008, 0036) comprising a curable resin layer laminated to a releasable layer (paragraphs 0010-0012) wherein the curable resin layer comprising thermoset resins (paragraph 0020).
Sang discloses releasable paper layer but does not disclose that the releasable layer comprising a polymer layer with a coating of organosilicon polymer.
Ote discloses mold release film (title) comprising organosilicon polymer coated on at least on one side of thermoplastic polyester elastomer, i.e. at least is interpreted as both sides of thermoplastic polyester elastomer, to obtain superior in followability to a mold and peelability from mold and also to obtain heat resistance and flexibility (0010, 0011, 0017, 0025, 0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the release film of Ote instead of releasable paper layer of Sang to obtain superior in followability to a mold and peelability from mold and also to obtain heat resistance and flexibility. Given that Sang in view of Ote discloses the same multilayer as recited in present claim, it is clear that the multilayer of Sang in view of Ote would intrinsically possess the same properties such as self-releasing. Further, Ote discloses organosilicon polymer coated on both sides of the thermoplastic film, it is clear that when both sides of the film is coated with the organosilicon polymer, the organosilicon polymer is an outermost layer with an exposed surface. It is noted that when the organosilicon polymer of Ote coated on one side of the thermoplastic film, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the organosilicon polymer of Ote to be coated on inside or outside surface of the thermoplastic film to obtain superior in followability to a mold and peelability from mold and also to obtain heat resistance and flexibility upon user’s requirements. Therefore, when its coated on the outside surface of the thermoplastic film, it meets the present claim requirement of organosilicon polymer is an outermost layer with an exposed surface.
Regarding claim 3, Sang in view of Ote discloses the surfacing material of claim 1, wherein the organosilicone polymer coating contains elemental silicon, oxygen and carbon.
Regarding claim 8, Sang in view of Ote discloses the surfacing material of claim 1, wherein the curable resin layer has a film weight in the range of 50 to 150 gsm (paragraph 0009).
Regarding claim 9, Sang in view of Ote discloses the surfacing material of claim 1, wherein the curable resin layer does not comprise any reinforcement fibers (paragraph 0043).
Regarding claim 10, Sang in view of Ote discloses the surfacing material of claim 1, further comprising an electrically conductive layer (13, fig. 1) laminated to one side of the curable resin layer such that the curable resin layer (11, fig. 1) is between the releasable layer (12, fig. 1) and the conductive layer (fig. 1, paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 11, Sang in view of Ote discloses the surfacing material of claim 10, wherein the electrically conductive layer is solid metal foil (abstract, paragraph 0010).
Regarding claim 12, Sang in view of Ote discloses the surfacing material of claim 1, wherein the curable resin layer comprises one or more multifunctional epoxy resin and an amine curing agent (paragraph 0043).
Regarding claim 13, Sang in view of Ote discloses the surfacing material of claim 1, wherein the curable resin layer is formed from a resin composition comprising an epoxy novolac resin having epoxy functionality of more than one (paragraph 0020), a tri-functional epoxy resin that is not an epoxy novolac resin (paragraph 0020), ceramic microspheres (paragraph 0043), an amine based curing agent (paragraph 0043) and toughening agent such as a copolymer of PES and PEES (paragraph 0025).
Regarding claim 14, Sang in view of Ote discloses the surfacing material of claim 1, wherein the resin composition further comprises fumed silica (paragraph 0035).
Claims 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sang et al. (US 2014/0154496) in view of Ote (JP 2011-201035) and further in view of Chang et al. (US 2003/0003317).
Regarding claims 5-7, Sang in view of Ote discloses the surfacing material of claim 1 but does not disclose UV stabilizer, color dyes and/or carbon black additive in the thermoplastic layer.
Chang discloses thermoplastic laminated structure comprising exterior layer wherein the exterior layer comprises additives such as UV stabilizing agent, dye, i.e. color dyes, and/or carbon back for additive purpose (paragraphs 0027-0028) and to meet end users requirements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the additives of Change in the thermoplastic layer of Sang in view of Ote for additive purpose and to meet end users requirements.
Conclusion
/SAMIR SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787