DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 2, 10, 11, 15, and 16 are amended.
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hyun et al., U.S. Publication 2014/0059406 (herein Hyun).
Regarding claim 1, Hyun discloses: A device (figure 1), comprising: memory cells (figure 1, element 120); and a logic circuit configured to: determine first data represented by states of the memory cells (figure 3, element 306); generate second data from the first data through correction of one or more first errors in a first portion of the first data (figure 3, element 308, 310; paragraph 0155).
Regarding claim 10, Hyun discloses: A method, comprising: receiving, in a device having memory cells, a request to retrieve user data from the memory cells (figure 3, element 308); determining, by the device, first data represented by states of the memory cells (figure 3, element 308); generating second data from the first data through correction of one or more first errors in a first portion of the first (figure 3, element 310).
Regarding claim 15, Hyun discloses: A method, comprising: receiving, in a device having memory cells, input data to be written to the memory cells (figure 3); adding supplemental data to generate combined data including the input data and the supplemental data (figure 3, element 308, 310; paragraph 0125, 0126, 0144, 0155); generating, according to an error correction code technique, redundant data from the combined data (figure 3, element 314; paragraph 0155, 183, 184).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 – 9, 11 – 14, and 16 – 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Closest Prior Arts of Record
Yun, U.S. Publication 2014/0122974 (herein Yun), teaches: reading from a memory module which includes a plurality of memories is provided. The method includes reading data corresponding to a plurality of burst length units from the plurality of memories; correcting an error of the read data using a storage error correction code; and outputting the error corrected data by a unit of data corresponding to one burst length unit.
However, Yun fails to discloses such subject matter as: generate third data from the second data through correction of one or more second errors in a second portion of the first data using an error correction code technique and redundant information contained in the second portion; receive input data to be written to the memory cells; add supplemental data according to a known pattern to generate combined data including the input data and the supplemental data; generate, according to the error correction code technique, redundant data from the combined data; and program the memory cells to have states representative of the combined data and the redundant data.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Zastrow; Lyn R. US 20150331745 A1
Machado, et al. US 20040153902 A1
Patapoutian; Ara et al. US 20150089278 A1
Nakai; Kiyoshi US 20220114049 A1
Rao; Hari M. et al. US 20110219266 A1
Golov; Gil US 10956262 B2
Ito; Yutaka et al. US 20090249148 A1
determine first data represented by states of the memory cells; and
generate second data from the first data through correction of one or more first errors in a first portion of the first data
/Daniel F. McMahon/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111