DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 & 4-14 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,652,453 B2 and claims 1-5 & 7-13 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,081,181 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are not patentably distinct from each other and because they are substantially similar in scope and they use same limitations. Accordingly, application claims 21-40 are not patentably distinct from patent claims 1-5 & 7-13 of Patent no. US 11,652,453 B2) and 1-5 & 7-13 of Patent No. US 12,081,181 B2, under an “anticipate" analysis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 25-28, 32, 34-35 & 39-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (US 20210119671 A1), hereinafter called Jung.
Regarding claim 21:
Jung discloses in Figs. 4 & 5, a tunable circuit comprising:
a first coil (LP1-LP3) configured to receive a signal (input signal of amplifier 20);
a second coil (LS1-LS3) coupled to the first coil and configured to provide an output signal (OT); and
a first switch (e.g., switch SW2) coupled between a first portion (LS1) of the second coil and a second portion (LS3) of the second coil, the first switch (SW2) being controllable to selectively couple the second portion of the second coil to the first coil based on a mode of operation.
Regarding claim 25:
Jung discloses further comprising a pair of amplifiers ( amplifier 20 include plurality amplifiers) configured to generate a pair of amplified signal components, the first coil is configured to receive the pair of amplified signal components.
Regarding claim 26:
Jung discloses wherein the second portion (LS3) of the second coil includes a first end that is coupled to the first switch (SW2) and a second end that is coupled to a ground (ground).
Regarding claim 27:
Jung discloses further comprising a first substrate layer (para 0064, first semiconductor layer), a second substrate layer (second semiconductor layer), and an insulation layer (not shown) disposed between the first substrate layer and the second substrate layer, the first coil being disposed on the first substrate layer (the primary inductor LP may be formed on a first semiconductor layer) and the second coil being disposed on the second substrate layer (para. 0081, inductor LS layer form on similar layer, implied different layer).
Regarding claim 28:
Jung discloses in Figs. 4 & 5, 13, radio-frequency module comprising:
a packaging substrate (para. 0090, integrated circuit and para. 0064, first substrate and second substrate);
an amplifier (amplifier 20) disposed on the packaging substrate (para. 0090, integrated circuit and one chip), the amplifier being configured to selectively operate in at least a first state and a second state; and
a tunable circuit (circuit 10) disposed on the packaging substrate, the tunable circuit including a first coil (LP1-LP3), a second coil (LS1-LS3) coupled to the first coil, and a first switch (SW2) coupled between a first portion (LS1) of the second coil and a second portion (LS3) of the second coil, the first switch being controllable to selectively couple the second portion of the second coil to the first coil.
Regarding claim 32:
Jung discloses in Figs. 4 & 5, wherein the amplifier includes a pair of amplifiers (see amplifier 20 include plurality amplifiers) configured to generate a pair of amplified signal components and the first coil is configured to receive the pair of amplified signal components.
Regarding claim 34:
Jung discloses in Figs. 4 & 5, wherein the second portion (LS3) of the second coil includes a first end that is coupled to the first switch (SW2) and a second end that is coupled to a ground (ground).
Regarding claim 35:
Jung discloses in Figs. 4 & 5, a radio-frequency module comprising:
a packaging substrate (para. 0090, integrated circuit and substrate as discussed above; and
a tunable circuit (e.g. circuit 10) disposed on the packaging substrate, the tunable circuit including a first coil (LP1-LP3), a second coil (LS1-LS3) coupled to the first coil, and a first switch (SW2) coupled between a first portion (LS1) of the second coil and a second portion (LS3) of the second coil, the first switch being controllable to selectively couple the second portion of the second coil to the first coil based on a mode of operation.
Regarding claim 39:
Jung discloses Figs. 4 & 5, further comprising a pair of amplifiers (amplifier 20 which include plurality) configured to generate a pair of amplified signal components and the first coil (LP1-LP3) is configured to receive the pair of amplified signal components.
Regarding claim 40:
Jung discloses Figs. 4 & 5, wherein the second portion (LS3) of the second coil includes a first end that is coupled to the first switch (SW2) and a second end that is coupled to a ground (ground).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Asbeck et al. (US 20220263475 A1, 2019-07-30), hereinafter, Asbeck.
Regarding claim 33:
Jung discloses the limitations as applied in claim 21 except for the amplifier and the tunable circuit are configured as a Doherty power amplifier.
Asbeck discloses in Fig. 1, a Doherty power amplifier comprising main amplifier 16 and auxiliary amplifier 16 connected to primary coil.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the circuit of Jung to have main and auxiliary amplifiers, as taught by Asbeck. Such a modification would have imparted the advantageous benefit of improving the back-off efficiency and linearity of PAs, see paragraph 0073, as taught by Asbeck to Jung reference, thereby suggesting the obviousness of such a modification.
Conclusion
/KHIEM D NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2843