DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6, 7, 9-10, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Groninga (US PgPub #2018/0354615).
For Claim 6, the figures and paragraph [0022 and 0033] of Groninga ‘615 disclose an aerial vehicle (10) comprising: a fuselage (12) having a nose end and a tail end; a first wing member (22a) extending from the fuselage in a first direction, the first wing member comprising: a first drive motor (32) coupled to a first rotor (38); a second wing member (22b) extending from the fuselage in a third direction substantially opposite the first wing member, the second wing member comprising a fourth drive motor (32) coupled to a fourth rotor (38); a first wing rotation motor coupled to rotate the first wing member and the first rotor about a first axis substantially perpendicular to a fuselage axis extending from the nose end to the tail end; and a second wing rotation motor coupled to rotate the second wing member and the fourth rotor about a second axis substantially perpendicular to the fuselage axis; and a controller circuit (60) configured to differentially actuate the first wing rotation motor and the second wing rotation motor; operate the aerial vehicle in a first control mode when the aerial vehicle is above a threshold altitude; and operate the aerial vehicle in a second control mode when the aerial vehicle is below the threshold altitude.
For Claim 7, the figures and paragraph [0022 and 0033] of Groninga ‘615 disclose that the controller circuit is further configured to: operate the aerial vehicle in a first control mode when the aerial vehicle is above a threshold altitude; and operate the aerial vehicle in a second control mode when the aerial vehicle is below the threshold altitude.
For Claims 9-10 and 12-13, the figures and paragraph [0022, 0025, 0029, and 0033] of Groninga ‘615 disclose that the both variable rotor speeds and constant rotor speeds with variable pitch can be used to control the thrust strength of each rotor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groninga (US PgPub #2018/0354615) in view of Reichert (US PgPub #2018/0044011).
For Claim 1, the figures and paragraph [0022 and 0033] of Groninga ‘615 disclose an aerial vehicle (10) comprising: a fuselage (12) having a nose end and a tail end; a first wing member (22a) extending from the fuselage in a first direction , the first wing member comprising: a first drive motor (32) coupled to a first rotor (38); a second drive motor (32) coupled to a second rotor (38); and a third drive motor (32) coupled to a third rotor (38); a second wing member (22b) extending from the fuselage in a third direction substantially opposite the first wing member, the second wing member comprising: a fourth drive motor (32) coupled to a fourth rotor (38); a fifth drive motor (32) coupled to a fifth rotor (38); and a sixth drive motor (32) coupled to a sixth rotor (38); a first wing rotation motor coupled to rotate the first wing member and the first rotor about a first axis substantially perpendicular to a fuselage axis extending from the nose end to the tail end; a second wing rotation motor coupled to rotate the second wing member and the fourth rotor about a second axis substantially perpendicular to the fuselage axis; and a controller circuit (60) configured to differentially actuate the first wing rotation motor and the second wing rotation motor.
While Groninga ‘615 discloses that the wing member is y-shaped it is silent about it being t-shaped as claimed. However, the figures of Reichert ‘011 disclose multiple embodiments of different wing and rotor combinations including figure 8, embodiment (800) that teaches a wing design that has a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, the first wing member and the third drive motor are positioned between the first drive motor and the second drive motor, and wherein in a fourth direction perpendicular to the third direction, the second wing member and the sixth drive motor are positioned between the third drive motor and the fourth drive motor. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Groninga ‘615 with the specific wing and rotor arrangement of Reichert ‘011. The motivation to do so would be to use a well known wing and rotor layout that provides a desired thrust.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7, filed 1/15/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Groninga ‘615.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/PHILIP J BONZELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642 2/24/2026