3DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiga et al. U.S. 2019/0152543 (“Shiga”) in view of Kiyotake et al. U.S. 2008/0265623 (“Kiyotake”). Shiga discloses a vehicle front portion structure (abstract), comprising:
a framework member (F, 2) structuring a portion of a vehicle lower side of a vehicle body front portion (abstract), the framework member extending in a vehicle front-rear direction (paragraph [0002], fig. 3), and the framework member consisting of a bumper reinforcement (2);
a flow-straightening member (10) disposed at a vehicle front side of a front wheel (abstract), the flow-straightening member being turnable by being driven between a first state (fig. 9) in which the flow-straightening member is turned furthest toward a vehicle front side (abstract) and a second state (fig. 4) in which the flow-straightening member is turned furthest toward a vehicle rear side (abstract); and
a driving unit (abstract, actuator) configured to drive the flow-straightening member, the driving unit being supported by the framework member at a vehicle upper side (fig. 1, 9) relative to the framework member. Shiga does not directly disclose the framework connecting to a suspension member. Kiyotake teaches a framework (35) connecting a suspension member (tower 30) and a bumper reinforcement (109) in the vehicle-front rear direction (fig. 12). One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention would find modifying Shiga such that it comprised the connection to the suspension member in view of the teachings of Kiyotake obvious so as to provide a front structure of an automotive vehicle that can properly restrain a forward deformation of a cabin by transmitting an impact load at a vehicle frontal crash to a hinge pillar efficiently (abstract).
In reference to claims 2, 3, and 5, Shiga in view of Kiyotake further discloses [[claim 2]] wherein seen in a vehicle vertical direction (fig. 1 - 4), a portion of the driving unit (actuator 13) is superposed with the framework member (fig. 4); and
[[claim 3]] further comprising: a power conversion unit (link unit 14) that is configured to adjust a driving force (abstract) applied from the driving unit to the flow-straightening member; and a support member (15, 17) that supports the power conversion unit relative to the framework member, wherein: the support member is disposed at a vehicle lower side of the driving unit (fig. 4), and seen in the vehicle vertical direction, a portion of the support member is superposed with the driving unit (fig. 3 - 4); and
[[claim 5]] the flow-straightening member attached to the framework member (F) via a support member (15), and an entirety of the support member (15, fig. 4) is disposed between the flow-straightening member and the framework member in a vehicle width direction (fig. 4).
Claim(s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiga in view of Kiyotake and Fannin et al. U.S. 6,079,769 (“Fannin”). Shiga discloses a vehicle front portion structure (abstract), comprising:
a framework member (F, 2) structuring a portion of a vehicle lower side of a vehicle body front portion (fig. 1), the framework member extending in a vehicle front-rear direction (fig. 3 – 4), and the framework member connecting a bumper reinforcement (2);
a flow-straightening member (10, 11) disposed at a vehicle front side of a front wheel (Wf)], and a support member (l15, 17 supporting the flow-straightening member relative to the framework member.
Shiga does not directly disclose the framework connecting to a suspension member. Kiyotake teaches a framework (35) connecting a suspension member (tower 30) and a bumper reinforcement (109) in the vehicle-front rear direction (fig. 12). One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention would find modifying Shiga such that it comprised the connection to the suspension member in view of the teachings of Kiyotake obvious so as to provide a front structure of an automotive vehicle that can properly restrain a forward deformation of a cabin by transmitting an impact load at a vehicle frontal crash to a hinge pillar efficiently (abstract).
Shiga does not disclose the flow-straightening member being formed of a soft resin. Fannin teaches a flow-straightening member (22) being formed of a soft resin (flexible plastic material such as polypropylene). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would find modifying Tachi such that it comprised the soft resin in view of the teachings of Fannin obvious so as to provide a material which is sufficiently rigid to withstand aerodynamic forces but flexible to bend when an object is contacted during impacts such as stones and other roadway debris (column 4, line 52).
In reference to claim 6, Shiga in view of Kiyotake and Fannin further discloses the flow-straightening member attached to the framework member via a support member (15), and an entirety of the support member (15) is disposed between the flow-straightening member and the framework member in a vehicle width direction (fig. 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KAREN BECK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3614
/KAREN BECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614