DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mikrut (US PGPUB 2010/0046129).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Mikrut teaches an offset correction device for performing offset correction of a sensor unit (1150), the offset correction device comprising: a first wiring portion (portion of 1160 in 1155) that is connected to an input line (1160 in 1110) and an output line (1125 in 1120) and is disposed in a measurement region (1155) of the sensor unit (1150) (as shown in fig. 5); a second wiring portion (portion of 1125 in 1155) that is connected in parallel to the first wiring portion (portion of 1160 in 1155) between a connection point (1220) on the input line side and a connection point (1125) on the output line side (as shown in fig. 5), and that is disposed in the measurement region (1155) (as shown in fig. 5); a switch portion (1200) that switches at least the second wiring portion (portion of 1125 in 1155) to either a conductive state or a non-conductive state (as shown in fig. 5); and a control unit (1180) that controls the switch portion (1200) to perform the offset correction of the sensor unit (as shown in fig. 5 and disclosed in para. 0049), wherein the second wiring portion (portion of 1125 in 1155) is disposed such that a current in a direction opposite to a current in the first wiring portion (portion of 1160 in 1155) is measured by the sensor unit (1150) (as shown in fig. 5 and disclosed in para. 0049).
Regarding claim 2, Mikrut teaches the limitations of claim 1, in addition, Mikrut teaches wherein the first wiring portion (portion of 1160 in 1155) includes a first measurement portion disposed in the measurement region (as shown in fig. 5) and disposed such that a current flows in a first direction (as disclosed in para. 0049), and the second wiring portion (portion of 1125 in 1155) includes: a second measurement portion disposed in the measurement region (as shown in fig. 5) and disposed such that a current flows in a second direction, which is opposite to the first direction (as disclosed in para. 0049); and two portions (portions to the right and left of portion of 1125 in 1155) respectively connected to both sides of a portion in the second measurement portion corresponding to the measurement region (1155).
Regarding claim 3, Mikrut teaches the limitations of claim 2, in addition, Mikrut teaches wherein one of the two portions (left portion) is connected to a connection point (1220) between the first wiring portion (portion of 1160 in 1155) and the second wiring portion (portion of 1125 in 1155) on an input line side (as shown in fig. 5), and the other of the two portions (right portion) is connected to a connection point (1125) between the first wiring portion (portion of 1160 in 1155) and the second wiring portion (portion of 1125 in 1155) on an output line side (as shown in fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, Mikrut teaches the limitations of claim 1, in addition, Mikrut teaches wherein the control unit (1180) controls the switch portion (1200) such that a first measurement state is set (as disclosed in para. 0049), the first measurement state being a state in which the second wiring portion (portion of 1125 in 1155) is in a non-conductive state (as disclosed in para. 0049), controls the switch portion (1200) such that a second measurement state is set (as disclosed in para. 0049), based on a measurement result of the sensor unit (1150) in the first measurement state (as disclosed in para. 0049), the second measurement state being a state in which the second wiring portion (portion of 1125 in 1155) is in a conductive state (as disclosed in para. 0049), and performs the offset correction based on the measurement result of the sensor unit (1150) in the second measurement state (as disclosed in para. 0049).
Regarding claim 5, Mikrut teaches the limitations of claim 4, in addition, Mikrut teaches wherein the switch portion (1200) includes a first switch (1190) that switches the first wiring portion (portion of 1160 in 1155) to either a conductive state or a non-conductive state (as disclosed in para. 0049), and a second switch (1195) that switches the second wiring portion (portion of 1125 in 1155) to either a conductive state or a non-conductive state (as disclosed in para. 0049), and the control unit (1180) controls the switch portion (1200) such that the first wiring portion (portion of 1160 in 1155) is in the conductive state in the first measurement state and the second measurement state (as disclosed in para. 0049).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikrut (US PGPUB 2010/0046129) in view of HOSHINO (US PGPUB 2023/0246530).
Regarding claim 6, Mikrut teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Mikrut fails to specifically teach wherein an impedance of the second wiring portion is equal to an impedance of the first wiring portion. However, HOSHINO teaches wherein an impedance of the second wiring portion (83) is equal to an impedance of the first wiring portion (82) (as disclosed in para. 0096).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the impedance of the second wiring portion equal to the impedance of the first wiring portion as taught by HOSHINO with the invention of Mikrut in order to have relativity between the wiring portions (HOSHINO para. 0096).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikrut (US PGPUB 2010/0046129) in view of Wang et al. (US PGPUB 2019/0148929).
Regarding claim 7, Mikrut teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Mikrut fails to specifically teach wherein the input line is connected to a power supply of a vehicle, and the output line is connected to a load of the vehicle. However, Wang et al. teaches wherein the input line is connected to a power supply (12) of a vehicle (10), and the output line is connected to a load (24) of the vehicle (10) (as shown in fig. 1).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the input line connected to a power supply of a vehicle, and the output line connected to a load of the vehicle as taught by Wang et al. with the invention of Mikrut in order to protect the system from undesired level of currents, which could permanently damage the device/circuit.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERTO VELEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858