Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21-40 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 24, 25, 32-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muruganathan et al. (US 20240080843 A1) in view of LIU et al. (US 20230370238 A1).
Muruganathan et al. discloses a wireless communication comprising the following features: regarding claim 21, A wireless device (see Abstract , “Systems and methods of the present disclosure are directed to a method performed by a wireless communication device (WCD).”) comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that ([0186] “FIG. 17 is a schematic block diagram of a wireless communication device 1700 according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. The wireless communication device 1700 may be the WCD 712 or UE as described herein. As illustrated, the wireless communication device 1700 includes one or more processors 1702 (e.g., CPUs, ASICs, FPGAs, and/or the like), memory 1704”), when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to ([0186], “In some embodiments, the functionality of the wireless communication device 1700 described above (e.g., one or more functions of the WCD 712 or UE described herein) may be fully or partially implemented in software that is, e.g., stored in the memory 1704 and executed by the processor(s) 1702”): receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages comprising configuration parameters ([0177] “ In one embodiment, this information configures a list of DL TCI states for the WCD 712 and a (separate) list of UL TCI states for the WCD 712. In one embodiment, the information is sent to the WCD 712 is an RRC TCI State Configuration information element…”), wherein the configuration parameters indicate: a list of downlink transmission configuration indication (TCI) states for downlink receptions via a cell ([0116] A UE is configured by a gNB with one or more of a list of DL TCI states and a list of UL TCI states); and a list of uplink TCI states for uplink transmissions via the cell ([0116] A UE is configured by a gNB with one or more of a list of DL TCI states and a list of UL TCI states); receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating activation of TCI states for the cell ([0117] In one embodiment, a single MAC CE is used to activate DL TCI states and/or UL TCI states); receive downlink control information (DCI) comprising a TCI field indicating a first TCI state of the activated TCI states ([0179] The WCD 712 receives a DCI (in a PDCCH) from, in this example, the RAN node 1300 (step 13004). The DCI includes a TCI field set to a particular codepoint); and communicate ([0179], The WCD 712 performs downlink reception or uplink transmission in accordance with the determined DL/UL TCI state(s) (step 13008)), based on the first TCI state, with a base station via one or more channels ([0179], “The WCD 712 determines the activated DL/UL TCI state(s) to use for downlink reception or uplink transmission … based on the mapping between the particular codepoint of the TCI field in the received DCI and the respective activated DL/UL TCI state(s)…”).
Muruganathan et al. does not disclose, but LIU et al. discloses: wherein the MAC CE comprises a respective indicator, for each TCI state of the activated TCI states, indicating whether the TCI state is a downlink TCI state or an uplink TCI state ([0057] D/U nj (n is from 0 to N, j=0 or 1): Each of ‘D/U nj’ fields occupies 1 bit and indicates whether the TCI state ID n field in the same octet is a DL TCI state ID or a UL TCI state ID), wherein: a first value of the respective indicator indicates that the TCI state is a downlink TCI state ([0057] ,‘D/U nj’=0 indicates that TCI state ID n in the same octet is a DL TCI state ID); and a second value of the respective indicator indicates that the TCI state is an uplink TCI state ([0057] ,‘D/U nj’=1 indicates that TCI state ID n in the same octet is a UL TCI state ID). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Muruganathan et al. by the teachings of LIU et al., in order to clearly distinguish the applicable transmission direction, simplify TCI activation, and improve reliable configuration handling for downlink and uplink communications.
Regarding claim 24, Muruganathan et al. discloses: wherein the MAC CE comprises: a serving cell index ([0147], “Serving cell ID”); and a BWP index ([0147], “BWP ID” ).
Regarding claims 25 and 26, Muruganathan et al. does not disclose, but LIU et al. discloses: regarding claims 25, wherein the uplink TCI state is associated with power control parameters ([0074], A power control parameter set is associated with an activated UL TCI state for dynamic TX beam indication for PUSCH); regarding claim 26, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to apply the power control parameters to an uplink transmission applying the uplink TCI state ([0162] “ the UL TCI states identified by UL TCI state IDs and/or the associated power control parameter sets or PL-RSs are applied to for all BWPs …”). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Muruganathan et al. by the teachings of LIU et al., in order to support dynamic transmit beam indication, improve uplink transmission control, and optimize PUSCH performance.
Regarding claim 32, Muruganathan et al. discloses: the instructions further cause the wireless device to apply: the downlink TCI state to a downlink control channel and a downlink shared channel ([0116] The TCI states in the list of DL TCI states are applicable to DL channels such as, e.g., Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) and PDSCH); and the uplink TCI state to an uplink control channel and an uplink shared channel ([0116] The TCI states in the list of UL TCI states are applicable to UL channels such as, e.g., PUCCH and Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH)).
Regarding claim 33, Muruganathan et al. discloses: wherein the communicating with the base station comprises receiving, based on the first TCI state, the downlink control channel and the downlink shared channel ([0119] The UE updates the DL TCI state(s) to be applied to DL reference signals (e.g., PDCCH/PDSCH DMRS or CSI-RS) to the activated DL TCI state(s) mapped to the codepoint x received in the TCI field of the DCI).
Regarding claim 34, Muruganathan et al. discloses: the TCI field indicates a codepoint, of a plurality of codepoints, that is mapped to the first TCI state of the activated TCI states (Abstract, The information maps each activated TCI state of the plurality of activated TCI states to one of a plurality of codepoints of a TCI field in a Downlink Control Information (DCI).).
Regarding claim 35, Muruganathan et al. discloses: the communicating with the base station comprises transmitting, based on the first TCI state, uplink signals via an uplink control channel and an uplink shared channel ([0116] The TCI states in the list of UL TCI states are applicable to UL channels such as, e.g., PUCCH and Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH)).
Regarding claim 36, Muruganathan et al. discloses: the TCI field indicates a codepoint, of a plurality of codepoints, that is mapped to the first TCI state of the activated TCI states (Abstract, The information maps each activated TCI state of the plurality of activated TCI states to one of a plurality of codepoints of a TCI field in a Downlink Control Information (DCI).).
Regarding claim 37, Muruganathan et al. discloses: wherein the downlink TCI state is from the list of downlink TCI states ([0116] A UE is configured by a gNB with one or more of a list of DL TCI states and a list of UL TCI states), ; and the uplink TCI state is from the list of uplink TCI states ([0116] A UE is configured by a gNB with one or more of a list of DL TCI states and a list of UL TCI states).
Regarding claim 38, Muruganathan et al. discloses: wherein the TCI field indicates a codepoint, of a plurality of codepoints, that is mapped to the first TCI state of the activated TCI states (Abstract, The information maps each activated TCI state of the plurality of activated TCI states to one of a plurality of codepoints of a TCI field in a Downlink Control Information (DCI).).
Regarding claim 39, Muruganathan et al. discloses: wherein the downlink TCI state is from the list of downlink TCI states ([0116] A UE is configured by a gNB with one or more of a list of DL TCI states and a list of UL TCI states), ; and the uplink TCI state is from the list of uplink TCI states ([0116] A UE is configured by a gNB with one or more of a list of DL TCI states and a list of UL TCI states).
Claim(s) 22, 23, 40 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muruganathan et al. (US 20240080843 A1) in view of LIU et al. (US 20230370238 A1) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Loehr et al. (US 20190253230 A1).
Muruganathan et al. (US 20240080843 A1) in view of LIU et al. (US 20230370238 A1) disclose the claimed limitations above. However, they do not disclose, but Loehr et al. discloses: regarding claim 22, wherein the MAC CE indicates: a downlink bandwidth part (BWP), of the cell, for which the MAC CE applies ([0103] The third control element 500 also includes a second parameter 510 indicating the activation/deactivation status of a plurality of BWPs. Here, the third control element 500 contains, for each activated serving cell, one bitmap indicating the activation/deactivation status of the DL BWP(s) and one bitmap indicating the activation/deactivation status of the UL BWP(s)); and an uplink BWP, of the cell, for which the MAC CE applies ([0103] “The third control element 500 also includes a second parameter 510 indicating the activation/deactivation status of a plurality of BWPs. Here, the third control element 500 contains, for each activated serving cell, one bitmap indicating the activation/deactivation status of the DL BWP(s) and one bitmap indicating the activation/deactivation status of the UL BWP(s)”; “This allows the gNB to independently control the activation/deactivation status of the DL and UL BWP(s) of a serving cell. ”); regarding claims 23 and 40, wherein the MAC CE comprises: a serving cell index ([0111] the MAC CE contains a field/parameter which indicates the serving cell to which the BWP activation/deactivation bitmap applies to; [0114] The fifth control element 700 includes a cell index field 705 to refer to a serving cell whose activation/deactivation status is indicated by a separate MAC CE); and a BWP index ([0092] Each configured BWP is associated with a BWP index).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Muruganathan et al. and LIU et al. by the teachings of Loehr et al., in order to independently control BWP activation/deactivation and improve efficient, direction-specific radio resource management for the serving cell.
Claim(s) 27-31 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muruganathan et al. (US 20240080843 A1) in view of LIU et al. (US 20230370238 A1) as applied to claims 21, 25, 26 above, and further in view of VENUGOPAL et al. (US 20210306994 A1).
Regarding claims 27 and 31, Muruganathan et al. (US 20240080843 A1) in view of LIU et al. disclose the claimed limitations above. They do not disclose, but VENUGOPAL et al. discloses: regarding claim 27, the uplink TCI state is associated with-a timing advance information ([0058] The beam-specific delay adjustment may be applied to the common TA (timing advance) value, to determine beam-specific transmit timing); and the instructions further cause the wireless device to apply the timing advance information to uplink signals applying the uplink TCI state ([0056] According to the present disclosure, an UL timing determination for 5G NR is provided when an UL TCI framework is supported. More specifically, depending on the QCL type source RS indicated by the UL TCI state, the UE adjusts its transmit timing); regarding claim 31, the uplink TCI state is associated with-a timing advance information ([0058], The tracking reference signal (TRS) enables the UE to define the timing parameter. The beam-specific delay adjustment may be applied to the common TA (timing advance) value, to determine beam-specific transmit timing); and the instructions further cause the wireless device to apply the timing advance information to an uplink transmission applying the uplink TCI state ([0058], The transmit timing t.sub.i of the channel/SRS (UL TCI state) i is calculated as follows: t.sub.i=T.sub.Ref+Δ.sub.i,). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Muruganathan et al. and LIU et al. by the teachings of VENUGOPAL et al., in order to align beam-specific transmit timing, improve uplink synchronization, and enhance transmission reliability.
Regarding claim 28, Muruganathan et al. discloses: wherein the communicating with the base station comprises transmitting, based on the first TCI state, uplink signals via an uplink control channel and an uplink shared channel ([0116] The TCI states in the list of UL TCI states are applicable to UL channels such as, e.g., PUCCH and Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) and UL reference signals such as, e.g., Sounding Reference Signal (SRS).).
Regarding claim 29, Muruganathan et al. discloses: wherein the TCI field indicates a codepoint, of a plurality of codepoints, that is mapped to the first TCI state of the activated TCI states (Abstract, The information maps each activated TCI state of the plurality of activated TCI states to one of a plurality of codepoints of a TCI field in a Downlink Control Information (DCI)”).
Regarding claim 30, Muruganathan et al. discloses: wherein the downlink TCI state is from the list of downlink TCI states; and the uplink TCI state is from the list of uplink TCI states ([0116] A UE is configured by a gNB with one or more of a list of DL TCI states and a list of UL TCI states).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Farmanbar et al. (US 20200100201 A1) discloses a method of uplink synchronization.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473