DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the application filed on 11/07/2024.
Claims 15-34 are pending in this application. This action is made non-final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-20, 23-26, 28-29, and 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(2) as being anticipated by SHIN et al. (US 2021/0120053; Hereinafter Shin).
Re claim 15, 23, and 31, SHIN teaches a method comprising:
displaying, by a video conference application executing on a first client device (figs. 1 and 41, plurality of users participating a video conference), a first content in a first application, the first application comprising a slide presentation application or a video application, as part of a visual display of a video conference on the first client device (figs. 7 and 45, displaying content on the first client computer);
receiving, by the video conference application executing on the first client device from the video conference application executing on a second client device, a first command from a first user of a plurality of users authorized to control the first application (figs. 7, 45 and [0166]-[0167], obtaining input from first user);
displaying, by the video conference application executing on the first client, a second content in the first application in response to the first command (fig. 7 and [0167]-[0169], update displayed content);
receiving, by the video conference application executing on the first client device from the video conference application executing on a third client device, a second command from a second user of the plurality of users authorized to control the first application (fig. 7 and [0174]-[0177], obtaining second user input and update displayed content); and
displaying, by the video conference application executing on the first client, a third content in the first application in response to the second command (fig. 7 and [0176]-[0177], obtaining second input and update the displayed content).
Re claims 16, 24 and 32, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated. SHIN teaches wherein the first content comprises video content ([0182], video display device 130a).
Re claims 17, 25 and 33, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated. SHIN teaches wherein the video content is embedded a slide and displayed in the slide presentation application (fig. 14 and [0219], slide presentation).
Re claims 18, 26 and 34, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated. SHIN teaches wherein the first command comprises a command to play the video content (fig. 7 teaches obtaining input and displaying content. Also see fig. 16a and [0223], video playback).
Re claims 20 and 28, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated. SHIN teaches wherein the command is a first command and further comprising receiving, by the video conference application executing on the first client device from the video conference application executing on a third client device, a second command to control the first application, wherein the second command is issued by the second user of the plurality of users of the video conferencing application authorized to control the first application (fig. 7, obtaining first user input and displaying content then obtaining second user input to further display content accordingly. Also see figs 4a-b, displaying a plurality of users in a conference video).
Re claims 21 and 29, the rejection of claim 20 is incorporated. SHIN teaches wherein the first user and the second user are simultaneously authorized to issue the first command and the second command (fig. 7, obtaining commands from first and second user to update content).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIN in view of HINCKLEY et al. (US 2022/0365606; Hereinafter Hinckley).
Re claims 19 and 27, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated. SHIN teaches obtaining a command from user (fig. 7, obtaining user input) but SHIN does not teach wherein the first command comprises a command to pause the video content. However, it is taught by Hinckley (fig. 8B and [0076], pausing video content in the window of the device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching as seen in Hinckley’s content into SHIN’s invention because it would allow user to further manipulate with the video content to achieve a task in a timely manner.
Claims 22 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIN in view of Truong et al. (US Patent 11,006,077; Hereinafter Truong).
Re claims 22 and 30, the rejection of claim 20 is incorporated. SHIN does not explicitly teach further comprising:
receiving, by the video conference application executing on the first client device, a third indication from the host of the video conference that the second user of the plurality of users of the video conference application executing on a third client device is no longer authorized to issue the command to display the second slide; and
sending a third notification to the third client device in response to the third indication.
However, Truong teaches:
receiving, by the video conference application executing on the first client device, a third indication from the host of the video conference that the second user of the plurality of users of the video conference application executing on a third client device is no longer authorized to issue the command to display the second slide (col. 23, lines 5-23, the system may disable the screen share including the first graphical user interface with at least the second computing device over the video conference); and
sending a third notification to the third client device in response to the third indication (col. 23, lines 20-23, disabling the screen sharing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching as seen in Truong’s content into SHIN’s invention because it would provide user an enhanced system that is able to detect sensitive material by not allowing the sharing of the sensitive content for security purpose.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111 ( c ) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
/TOAN H VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178