DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9, 10, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIONG et al. (CN CN112542563B; citations to translation provided.
Regarding claim 1, XIONG teaches three sequential pairs of rollers 3, a gap between rollers of each pair, each subsequent pair having a larger diameter (fig. 1; p. 2, para. 7). XIONG does not explicitly teach the gaps are equivalent or sequentially smaller, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that the gap between rollers would decrease with each subsequent pair because XIONG teaches increasing diameters of rollers and sequential thinning of the film (XIONG; fig. 1; p. 2, para. 7).
Regarding claim 9, XIONG teaches heating the rollers to 100-150 degrees Celsius (p. 3; para. 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to heat between 80 and 120 degrees because the claimed range overlaps that disclosed by the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 10, the apparatus of XIONG is capable of working upon the material claimed.
Claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, “[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). (MPEP 2115).
Regarding claim 21, XIONG teaches rolling to a thickness of 100 microns (p.5, para. 9), but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to reduce to a thickness of 80 microns because there would have been a reasonable expectation of producing film in the same manner (MPEP 2141; KSR).
Regarding claim 22, XIONG does not explicitly teach that the N-pair first and second rollers rotate at a speed of 1.0-2.0, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to rotate the rollers at the same speed in order to avoid damaging a sheet being processed.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIONG as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of STEINERT et al. (US 2025/0153452).
Regarding claim 8, XIONG does not teach the first-pair first and second rollers can rotate at different speeds. STEINERT teaches another system for manufacturing electrode sheets, wherein adjacent rollers rotate at different speeds (para. 21), where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to rotate the first pair first and second rollers of XIONG in order to ensure shearing within the film and improving adhesion to the faster running roller (STEINERT; para. 22).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICKOLAS R HARM/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745