DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract without significantly more.
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 USC 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Specifically, claims 1 - 12 are directed to a method/system. They hereby fall under one of the four statutory classes of invention.
If the claim does not fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea).
Claims 1 - 12 recite steps of observation, evaluation, and judgement that can be practically performed by a human, either mentally or with the use of pen and paper (mathematical algorithm).
The limitation of " compressing coded residual sub-vectors, to obtain corresponding compressed residual sub-vectors; rejecting compressed residual sub-vectors that do not fulfill a predetermined sparseness criterion; and concatenating the remaining compressed residual sub-vectors to form the virtual codebook;" in claims 1 - 12, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting " an apparatus comprising: means for", nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in a human mind (mathematical algorithm).
The mere nominal recitation of a generic apparatus comprising: means for do not take the claim limitations out of the mental processes grouping.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers mental processes but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping of abstract ideas (concepts performed in the human mind including an observation, evaluation, judgement, and opinion). Accordingly, the claims 1 - 12 recite an abstract idea.
The insignificant extra-solution activities identified above, which include the data- gathering (rejecting, concatenating and generating) steps, are recognized by the courts as well- understood, routine, and conventional activities when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II). The claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 1 - 12 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of an apparatus comprising: means for to perform the rejecting, concatenating steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
Even when considered in combination, these additional elements (an apparatus comprising: means for) represent mere instruction to apply an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept.
Claims 1- 12 as a whole, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. This is because the claims do not affect an improvement to the functioning of a computer itself; and the claims do not move beyond a general link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17 – 21, 24 - 29 U.S. Patent No. 9,424,856. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 - 20 of the instant application are similar in scope and content of claims 1 - 18 of the cited patent.
It would have been obvious to an artisan at the time the invention was made to use the teaching of claims 17 – 21, 24 - 29 of the patent (856) as a general teaching for compressing coded residual sub-vectors, to perform method/system as claimed in the present invention. The instant claims obviously encompass the claimed invention of the '856' patent and differ only in the method steps. The extent that the instant claims are broaden and therefore generic to claimed invention of '856' patent [species], In re Goodman 29 USPQ 2d 2010 CAFC 1993, states that a generic claim cannot be issued without a terminal disclaimer, if a species claim has been previously been claimed in a patent/copending application. And since the structure is as recited, the method step is obtained and therefore, obvious.
Here is a comparison between claim 1 of the instant application and claim 18 of the cited patent.
Instant Application 18/823,018
Cited patent 9,424,856
Comparison
1.A method of generating a virtual codebook for filling non-coded residual sub-vectors of a transform coded audio signal below a predetermined frequency, said method including the steps of:
18.A method of filling residual sub-vectors that were not coded in a transform coded audio signal, which are referred to as non-coded residual sub-vectors, said method performed by a processing circuit configured as an audio decoder and comprising:
Similar
compressing coded residual sub-vectors, to obtain corresponding compressed residual sub-vectors;
compressing the residual sub-vectors that were coded in the transform coded audio signal, which are referred to as coded residual sub-vectors, to obtain compressed residual sub-vectors;
Similar
rejecting compressed residual sub-vectors that do not fulfill a predetermined sparseness criterion;
rejecting those compressed residual sub-vectors that do not fulfill a pre-determined sparseness criterion, to obtain remaining compressed residual sub-vectors;
Similar
concatenating the remaining compressed residual sub-vectors to form the virtual codebook;
concatenating the remaining compressed residual sub-vectors to obtain coefficients comprising a first virtual codebook;
Similar
the virtual codebook is a first virtual codebook and wherein the method further comprises generating a second virtual codebook for filling non-coded residual sub-vectors of the transform coded audio signal above the predetermined frequency, based on combining pairs of coefficients of the first virtual codebook;
combining pairs of the coefficients of the first virtual codebook to obtain coefficients comprising a second virtual codebook;
filling the non-coded residual sub-vectors to obtain corresponding filled residual sub- vectors, based on using coefficients from the first virtual codebook to fill the non- coded residual sub-vectors that correspond to frequency bands below a predetermined frequency and, using coefficients from the second virtual codebook to fill the non-coded residual sub-vectors that correspond to frequency bands above the predetermined frequency; and forming an audio signal using the coded residual sub-vectors and the filled residual sub- vectors
Similar
wherein coefficients X (k) of the coded residual sub-vectors are compressed in accordance with:
where Y(k) are the coefficients of the compressed residual sub-vectors
compressing the coded residual sub-vectors comprises, for coefficients X(k) comprising each coded residual sub-vector, obtaining coefficients Y (k) comprising the corresponding compressed residual sub-vector, in accordance with:
Similar
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitations are: “means for compressing coded residual sub-vectors; means for rejecting compressed residual sub-vectors; means for concatenating the remaining compressed residual sub-vectors in claims 6 - 12.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
Claims 1 – 12 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by Khojastepour et al. (US Patent 8,619,918).
As per claims 1, 6, Khojastepour et al. teach a method of generating a virtual codebook for filling non-coded residual sub-vectors of a transform coded audio signal below a predetermined frequency, said method including the steps of:
compressing coded residual sub-vectors, to obtain corresponding compressed residual sub-vectors; rejecting compressed residual sub-vectors that do not fulfill a predetermined sparseness criterion ("updating the plurality of residual vectors by removing all of the residual vectors"; col.12, line 42 - col.13, line 20);and
concatenating the remaining compressed residual sub-vectors to form the virtual codebook (col.2, lines 19 - 67; col.12, line 42 -col.13, line 20);
wherein coefficients X (k) of the coded residual sub-vectors are compressed in accordance with:
where Y(k) are the coefficients of the compressed residual sub-vectors (col.2, lines 19 - 67; col.5, line 26 - col.6, line 59; col.12, line 42 -col.13, line 20).
As per claims 2, 7, Khojastepour et al. further disclose compressed residual sub-vectors having less than a predetermined percentage of non-zero components are rejected (col.2, lines 19 - 67; col.5, line 26 - col.6, line 59; col.12, line 42 -col.13, line 20).
As per claims 3, 8, Khojastepour et al. further disclose compressed residual sub-vectors that do not fulfill the criterion:
where the sub-vector dimension M is 8, are rejected (col.2, lines 19 - 67; col.5, line 26 - col.6, line 59; col.12, line 42 -col.13, line 20).
As per claims 4, 9, Khojastepour et al. further disclose the virtual codebook is a first virtual codebook and wherein the method further comprises generating a second virtual codebook for filling non-coded residual sub-vectors of the transform coded audio signal above the predetermined frequency, based on combining pairs of coefficients of the first virtual codebook (col.2, lines 19 - 67; col.5, line 26 - col.6, line 59; col.12, line 42 -col.13, line 20).
As per claims 5, 10, Khojastepour et al. further disclose pairs of the coefficients Y(k) of the first virtual codebook are combined in accordance with:
where N is the size of the first virtual codebook (col.2, lines 19 - 67; col.5, line 26 - col.6, line 59; col.12, line 42 -col.13, line 20).
As per claim 11, Khojastepour et al. further disclose a decoder including an apparatus in accordance with claim 6 (col.2, lines 19 - 67; col.5, line 26 - col.6, line 59; col.12, line 42 -col.13, line 20).
As per claim 12, Khojastepour et al. further disclose a user equipment including a decoder in accordance with claim 11 (col.2, lines 19 - 67; col.5, line 26 - col.6, line 59; col.12, line 42 -col.13, line 20).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Eksler teaches Multi-Rate Algebraic Vector Quantization With Supplemental Coding Of Missing Spectrum Sub-Bands. Zador teaches method for compressing data.
/LEONARD SAINT-CYR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2658