DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 14, 2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et a. (US 2024/0236911,”Li”).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor (FIG. 14, [0464] - UE of FIG. 14 included claim features), cause the user equipment at least to perform:
transmitting, to one or more components of a core network, a message comprising information indicating one or more sensing capabilities of the UE ([0305] “Step 1a: The UE sends sensing capability indication information to the RAN. The sensing capability indication information is used to indicate that the UE is a UE having a sensing capacity”. [0313] “Step 1b: The RAN sends the sensing capability indication information of the UE to the AMF.” [0350] “Step 1: The UE sends a registration request message to the AMF, optionally where the registration request message may include sensing capability indication information of the UE.” Note: AMF is a component of a core network); and
receiving one of the following: an indication that the UE is registered in connection with sensing services provided by the one or more components of the core network, or an indication that the UE is not registered in connection with the sensing services provided by the one or more components of the core network ([0352] “Step 2: The UE receives the registration acceptance message from the AMF, where the registration acceptance message includes an indication about whether the UE is permitted to perform the sensing service” [0317] “Step 2: The UE receives a registration acceptance message from the AMF, where the registration acceptance message includes an indication about whether the UE is permitted to perform the sensing service.” [0318] “the registration acceptance message may also include parameters for establishing a sensing PDU session or a sensing bearer, for example, at least one of a DNN, an S-NSSAI, a QoS parameter, or an address of the SF.” [0067] “Optionally, in the embodiment of this application, after the AMF receives the above sensing capability indication information of the sensing UE, the AMF may determine whether the sensing UE is permitted to perform the sensing service, and indicate whether the sensing UE is permitted to perform the sensing service by means of the above registration acceptance message.” [0072] “Of course, during practical implementation, the above registration acceptance message may also include information indicating that the sensing UE is not permitted to perform the sensing service”).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein the message is a registration request configured to register the UE with an access and mobility management function (AMF) of the core network, the one or more components of the core network comprising the AMF ([0350] “Step 1: The UE sends a registration request message to the AMF, optionally where the registration request message may include sensing capability indication information of the UE”), wherein the registration request comprises the information indicating the one or more sensing capabilities of the UE ([0305] “Step 1a: The UE sends sensing capability indication information to the RAN. The sensing capability indication information is used to indicate that the UE is a UE having a sensing capacity.” [0313] “Step 1b: The RAN sends the sensing capability indication information of the UE to the AMF.”).
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein the message further comprises information indicating at least one of the following: the UE is capable of operation in a monostatic mode for the sensing service, the UE is capable of operating in a bistatic mode for the sensing services, the UE is capable of a transmission role for the sensing services, the UE is capable of a reception role for the sensing services, the UE is capable of sidelink sensing for the sensing services, or at least one type of sensing signal that the UE is capable of at least one of: receiving or transmitting ([0052] “in the embodiment of this application, the above sensing capability indication information may also be used for indicating a sensing capability which a sensing device (e.g., a sensing UE and/or a sensing RAN) has, and the sensing capability may include at least one of the following:” [0053] “A: a sensing measurement method, the sensing measurement method of the sensing UE may include at least one of the following: the sensing UE sends a measurement signal and also receives the measurement signal to perform measurement, another UE sends a measurement signal and the sensing UE receives the measurement signal to perform measurement, the sensing RAN sends a measurement signal and the sensing UE receives the measurement signal to perform measurement, or the sensing UE sends a measurement signal and the sensing RAN receives the measurement signal to perform measurement. The sensing measurement method of the sensing RAN may include at least one of the following: the sensing RAN sends a measurement signal and also receives the measurement signal to perform measurement, another RAN sends a measurement signal and the sensing RAN receives the measurement signal to perform measurement, the sensing RAN sends a measurement signal and the sensing UE receives the measurement signal to perform measurement, or the sensing UE sends a measurement signal and the sensing RAN receives the measurement signal to perform measurement.”)
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein at least one of: the indication that the UE is registered in connection with the sensing services provided by the one or more components of the core network comprises an indication that the UE is subscribed to the sensing services; or the indication that the UE is not registered in connection with the sensing services provided by the one or more components of the core network comprises an indication that the UE is not subscribed to the sensing services ([0126] “in the embodiment of this application, the above first sensing device registration information may include at least one of the following:” [0127] “an ID of the sensing UE.” [0134] “in the embodiment of this application, the ID of the sensing UE may include at least one of the following: an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI), an international mobile equipment identification (IMEI), a media access control (MAC) address, a cell phone number, or a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI).”)
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches a method of a user equipment (FIG. 14, UE), the method comprising:
transmitting, to one or more components of a core network, a message comprising information indicating one or more sensing capabilities of the UE ([0350] “Step 1: The UE sends a registration request message to the AMF, optionally where the registration request message may include sensing capability indication information of the UE.” Note: AMF is a component of a core network); and
receiving one of the following: an indication that the UE is registered in connection with sensing services provided by the one or more components of the core network, or an indication that the UE is not registered in connection with the sensing services provided by the one or more components of the core network ([0352] “Step 2: The UE receives the registration acceptance message from the AMF, where the registration acceptance message includes an indication about whether the UE is permitted to perform the sensing service” [0317] “Step 2: The UE receives a registration acceptance message from the AMF, where the registration acceptance message includes an indication about whether the UE is permitted to perform the sensing service.” [0318] “the registration acceptance message may also include parameters for establishing a sensing PDU session or a sensing bearer, for example, at least one of a DNN, an S-NSSAI, a QoS parameter, or an address of the SF.” [0067] “Optionally, in the embodiment of this application, after the AMF receives the above sensing capability indication information of the sensing UE, the AMF may determine whether the sensing UE is permitted to perform the sensing service, and indicate whether the sensing UE is permitted to perform the sensing service by means of the above registration acceptance message.” [0072] “Of course, during practical implementation, the above registration acceptance message may also include information indicating that the sensing UE is not permitted to perform the sensing service”).
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by one or more components of a core network, a message comprising information indicating one or more sensing capabilities of a user equipment (UE) ([0305] “Step 1a: The UE sends sensing capability indication information to the RAN. The sensing capability indication information is used to indicate that the UE is a UE having a sensing capacity”. [0313] “Step 1b: The RAN sends the sensing capability indication information of the UE to the AMF.” [0350] “Step 1: The UE sends a registration request message to the AMF, optionally where the registration request message may include sensing capability indication information of the UE.” Note: AMF is a component of a core network);
transmitting, by the one or more components of the core network, one of the following: an indication that the UE is registered in connection with sensing services provided by the one or more components of the core network, or an indication that the UE is not registered in connection with the sensing services provided by the one or more components of the core network ([0352] “Step 2: The UE receives the registration acceptance message from the AMF, where the registration acceptance message includes an indication about whether the UE is permitted to perform the sensing service” [0317] “Step 2: The UE receives a registration acceptance message from the AMF, where the registration acceptance message includes an indication about whether the UE is permitted to perform the sensing service.” [0318] “the registration acceptance message may also include parameters for establishing a sensing PDU session or a sensing bearer, for example, at least one of a DNN, an S-NSSAI, a QoS parameter, or an address of the SF.” [0067] “Optionally, in the embodiment of this application, after the AMF receives the above sensing capability indication information of the sensing UE, the AMF may determine whether the sensing UE is permitted to perform the sensing service, and indicate whether the sensing UE is permitted to perform the sensing service by means of the above registration acceptance message.” [0072] “Of course, during practical implementation, the above registration acceptance message may also include information indicating that the sensing UE is not permitted to perform the sensing service”).
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches claim 1 and further teaches claim 9 and further teaches wherein the message is a registration request configured to register the UE with an access and mobility management function (AMF) of the core network, the one or more components of the core network comprising the AMF ([0350] “Step 1: The UE sends a registration request message to the AMF, optionally where the registration request message may include sensing capability indication information of the UE”),
wherein the registration request comprises the information indicating the one or more sensing capabilities of the UE ([0305] “Step 1a: The UE sends sensing capability indication information to the RAN. The sensing capability indication information is used to indicate that the UE is a UE having a sensing capacity”. [0313] “Step 1b: The RAN sends the sensing capability indication information of the UE to the AMF”); and
wherein the transmitting the one transmits the indication that the UE is registered in connection with sensing services provided by the one or more components of the core network ([0352] “Step 2: The UE receives the registration acceptance message from the AMF, where the registration acceptance message includes an indication about whether the UE is permitted to perform the sensing service”).
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches claim 10 and further teaches receiving, by the AMF, from a unified data management function (UDM) of the core network, subscription information of the UE with regard to the sensing services; and determining, by the AMF, based on the subscription information of the UE with regard to the sensing services, whether to accept or decline the registration request ([0315] “the AMF obtains subscription data of the UE from the UDM. The subscription data of the UE indicates whether the UE is capable of performing a sensing service.” [0316] “The AMF may determine, according to the subscription data of the UE and the local configuration, whether the UE is permitted to perform the sensing service”).
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches claim 11 and further teaches transmitting, by the AMF to a management function of the core network supporting the sensing service, based on acceptance of the registration request, a second message comprising the information indicating the one or more sensing capabilities of the UE, the second message configured to update a database storing information indicating sensing capabilities of UEs ([0353] “the RAN sends the sensing device registration information to the SF.” [0354] “The sensing device registration information may include at least one of the following: identification information of the sensing device (e.g., when the sensing device is a UE, the identification information may be one of an IMSI, an IMEI, a MAC address, a cell phone number, a SUCI, a UE temporary ID, and an ID on the N2 interface for identifying the UE, and when the sensing device is a RAN, the identification information may be one of an FQDN, an ID and a MAC address), or a sensing capability of the sensing device. Optionally, location information of the sensing device may also be included. The sensing device may include at least one of a sensing UE or a sensing RAN”).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches claim 9 and further teaches wherein the message further comprises information indicating at least one of the following: the UE is capable of operation in a monostatic mode for the sensing service, the UE is capable of operating in a bistatic mode for the sensing services, the UE is capable of a transmission role for the sensing services, the UE is capable of a reception role for the sensing services, the UE is capable of sidelink sensing for the sensing services, or at least one type of sensing signal that the UE is capable of at least one of: receiving or transmitting ([0052] “in the embodiment of this application, the above sensing capability indication information may also be used for indicating a sensing capability which a sensing device (e.g., a sensing UE and/or a sensing RAN) has, and the sensing capability may include at least one of the following:” [0053] “A: a sensing measurement method, the sensing measurement method of the sensing UE may include at least one of the following: the sensing UE sends a measurement signal and also receives the measurement signal to perform measurement, another UE sends a measurement signal and the sensing UE receives the measurement signal to perform measurement, the sensing RAN sends a measurement signal and the sensing UE receives the measurement signal to perform measurement, or the sensing UE sends a measurement signal and the sensing RAN receives the measurement signal to perform measurement. The sensing measurement method of the sensing RAN may include at least one of the following: the sensing RAN sends a measurement signal and also receives the measurement signal to perform measurement, another RAN sends a measurement signal and the sensing RAN receives the measurement signal to perform measurement, the sensing RAN sends a measurement signal and the sensing UE receives the measurement signal to perform measurement, or the sensing UE sends a measurement signal and the sensing RAN receives the measurement signal to perform measurement”).
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Yuan et al. (US 2025/0097752, “Yuan”)
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches claim 1 but fails to teach receiving, by the UE while in connection management-idle (CM-Idle) state, based on the indication that the UE is registered in connection with the sensing services, a paging message in connection with the sensing service, wherein the paging message comprises a request for a sensing method.
Yuan teaches receiving, by the UE while in connection management-idle (CM-Idle) state, based on the indication that the UE is registered in connection with the sensing services, a paging message in connection with the sensing service, wherein the paging message comprises a request for a sensing method ([0263] “The sensing function sends a second sensing request (that is, a sensing UE selection request in the figure) to one or more determined base stations. It should be noted that, the second sensing request message is a non-UE associated message, namely, a global message. In a case that a protocol stack between the sensing function and the base station is forwarded by an AMF, a same manner is used for the message, but an NGAP message (that is, a protocol stack message between a core network and the base station) that carries the message is a non-UE associated message, that is, does not carry a UE NGAP ID (that is, a RAN UE NGAP ID) allocated by the base station.” [0190] “a terminal receives a sensing request includes: The terminal receives the sensing request sent by a base station, where the sensing request is carried in a paging message, a cell system message, or a dedicated Radio Resource Control (RRC) message.” [0209] “In the idle state… The UE may wake up periodically to receive a paging message (if present) from a network.” [0213] “There is a connection management state (CM state) between the UE and the core network (AMF), including a CM-IDLE state and a CM-CONNECTED state.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature receiving, by the UE while in connection management-idle (CM-Idle) state, based on the indication that the UE is registered in connection with the sensing services, a paging message in connection with the sensing service, wherein the paging message comprises a request for a sensing method, as taught by Yuan in Li to reduce power consumption.
Regarding claim 6, Li in view of Yuan teaches claim 1 but Li fails to teach determining, by the UE, whether the UE is capable of the sensing method; and based on the determining, one of the following: accepting the request for the sensing method, or declining the request for the sensing method.
Li teaches determining, by the UE, whether the UE is capable of the sensing method; and based on the determining, one of the following: accepting the request for the sensing method, or declining the request for the sensing method ([0240] “the UE determines, according to the first condition based on downlink measurement, whether to participate in sensing, and sends a sensing response to the SF, and the SF determines a sensing terminal according to the sensing response.” It is understood “the UE determines… whether to participate in sensing” indicates UE may accept or decline the sensing request).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature determining, by the UE, whether the UE is capable of the sensing method; and based on the determining, one of the following: accepting the request for the sensing method, or declining the request for the sensing method, as taught by Yuan in Li to reduce power consumption.
Regarding claim 7, Li in view of Yuan teaches claim 1 but Li fails to teach initiating connection establishment for changing, by the UE, based on the accepting the request for the sensing method, from the CM-Idle state to a connection management-connected (CM-Connected) state.
Li teaches initiating connection establishment for changing, by the UE, based on the accepting the request for the sensing method, from the CM-Idle state to a connection management-connected (CM-Connected) state ([0274] “It should be noted that when the UE is the idle state or the inactive state, the terminal first initiates an RRC connection establishment or RRC connection resume process to enter the connected state. An establishment reason or a resume reason may indicate to respond to the sensing request” [0213] “There is a connection management state (CM state) between the UE and the core network (AMF), including a CM-IDLE state and a CM-CONNECTED state.” [0209] “In the idle state… The UE may wake up periodically to receive a paging message (if present) from a network”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature initiating connection establishment for changing, by the UE, based on the accepting the request for the sensing method, from the CM-Idle state to a connection management-connected (CM-Connected) state, as taught by Yuan in Li to maintain reduced power consumption while participating in a sensing service.
Regarding claim 14, Li in teaches claim 9 and further teaches wherein the transmitting the one comprises transmitting, to the UE, the indication that the UE is registered in connection with the sensing services provided by the one or more components of the core network ([0352] “Step 2: The UE receives the registration acceptance message from the AMF, where the registration acceptance message includes an indication about whether the UE is permitted to perform the sensing service” [0317] “Step 2: The UE receives a registration acceptance message from the AMF, where the registration acceptance message includes an indication about whether the UE is permitted to perform the sensing service.” [0318] “the registration acceptance message may also include parameters for establishing a sensing PDU session or a sensing bearer, for example, at least one of a DNN, an S-NSSAI, a QoS parameter, or an address of the SF”), wherein the UE is in connection management-connected (CM-Connected) state.
Li does not teach wherein the UE is in connection management-connected (CM-Connected) state.
However, Yuan teaches wherein the UE is in connection management-connected (CM-Connected) state ([0274] “It should be noted that when the UE is the idle state or the inactive state, the terminal first initiates an RRC connection establishment or RRC connection resume process to enter the connected state. An establishment reason or a resume reason may indicate to respond to the sensing request” [0213] “There is a connection management state (CM state) between the UE and the core network (AMF), including a CM-IDLE state and a CM-CONNECTED state”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the UE is in connection management-connected (CM-Connected) state, as taught by Yan in Li to maintain reduced power consumption while participating in a sensing service.
Claims 15-17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Yuan and further in view of Ying et al. (US 2026/0197607, “Ying”).
Regarding claim 15, Li in view of Yuan teaches claim 9 but Li fails to teach receiving a request for the sensing services, the receiving by at least one network function of the following: a management function, of the core network, that supports the sensing services (SeMF), or a network exposure function of the core network, wherein the request for the sensing services indicates a sensing area of interest; and transmitting, by the at least one network function, to an access and mobility management function (AMF) of the core network, a request for the AMF to discover at least CM-Connected UEs for the request for the sensing services, the one or more components of the core network comprising the AMF.
However, Ying teaches receiving a request for the sensing services, the receiving by at least one network function of the following: a management function, of the core network, that supports the sensing services (SeMF), or a network exposure function of the core network, wherein the request for the sensing services indicates a sensing area of interest ([0173] “S210. A terminal or an application server sends a sensing request #1 to a sensing function. The sensing function receives the sensing request #1 from the terminal or the application server. The sensing request #1 includes first location information, and the first location information indicates a first location of a target object.”); and transmitting, by the at least one network function, to an access and mobility management function (AMF) of the core network, a request for the AMF to discover at least CM-Connected UEs for the request for the sensing services, the one or more components of the core network comprising the AMF ([0238] “The sensing function sends a request for the identifier of the UE in the first area to the access and mobility management function, and the access and mobility management function sends the identifier of the UE in the first area to the sensing function.” [0255] “Determining the UEs in the first area may be as follows: The access and mobility management function obtains a corresponding tracking area (TA), an identity, a base station identified by a RAN ID, and a cell identified by a cell identity based on the first area. The access and mobility management function may obtain at least one of a current TA identity, base station identity, or cell identity of a UE in a connected state, and a TA(s) identity of a UE in a non-connected state (the UE is in one of TAs). Therefore, if the first area is equivalent to one or more TA ranges, the access and mobility management function first determines a UE in the connected state in the first area”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature receiving a request for the sensing services, the receiving by at least one network function of the following: a management function, of the core network, that supports the sensing services (SeMF), or a network exposure function of the core network, wherein the request for the sensing services indicates a sensing area of interest; and transmitting, by the at least one network function, to an access and mobility management function (AMF) of the core network, a request for the AMF to discover at least CM-Connected UEs for the request for the sensing services, the one or more components of the core network comprising the AMF, as taught by Ying in Li to for improving sensing or tracking accuracy.
Regarding claim 16, Li in view of Yuan and Ying teaches claim 15 and Li but Li fails to teach obtaining, by the at least one network function, a plurality of defined target areas for the sensing service; and mapping, by the at least one network function, the sensing area of interest to at least one target area of the plurality of defined target areas, wherein the request for the AMF to discover at least CM-Connected UEs for the request for the sensing services comprises at least one identifier corresponding to the at least one target area mapped to the sensing area of interest.
Ying teaches obtaining, by the at least one network function, a plurality of defined target areas for the sensing service ([0236] “The mobility management function sends the location information of the UE to the sensing function via the gateway mobile sensing center”) and mapping, by the at least one network function, the sensing area of interest to at least one target area of the plurality of defined target areas ([0242] “the sensing function may identify the first object in the first area as the target object based on the first location of the target object and the object distribution information in the first area, so that the target object can be more accurately sensed or tracked… When determining the first object in the objects in the first area, the sensing function refers to the location information of the UE in the first area. In this way, the UE in the first area can be excluded, and the first object close to the first location can be determined as the target object within a smaller range or fewer objects after the exclusion, thereby improving accuracy of identifying the target object and further improving sensing or tracking accuracy”) wherein the request for the AMF to discover at least CM-Connected UEs for the request for the sensing services comprises at least one identifier corresponding to the at least one target area mapped to the sensing area of interest ([0238] “The sensing function sends a request for the identifier of the UE in the first area to the access and mobility management function, and the access and mobility management function sends the identifier of the UE in the first area to the sensing function.” [0255] “Determining the UEs in the first area may be as follows: The access and mobility management function obtains a corresponding tracking area (TA), an identity, a base station identified by a RAN ID, and a cell identified by a cell identity based on the first area. The access and mobility management function may obtain at least one of a current TA identity, base station identity, or cell identity of a UE in a connected state, and a TA(s) identity of a UE in a non-connected state (the UE is in one of TAs). Therefore, if the first area is equivalent to one or more TA ranges, the access and mobility management function first determines a UE in the connected state in the first area”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature obtaining, by the at least one network function, a plurality of defined target areas for the sensing service; and mapping, by the at least one network function, the sensing area of interest to at least one target area of the plurality of defined target areas, wherein the request for the AMF to discover at least CM-Connected UEs for the request for the sensing services comprises at least one identifier corresponding to the at least one target area mapped to the sensing area of interest, as taught by Ying in Li to for improving sensing or tracking accuracy.
Regarding claim 17, Li in view of Yuan and Ying teaches claim 16 and Li but Li fails to teach
determining, by the AMF, at least one network node serving the at least one target area; and transmitting, by the AMF, to the at least one network node, a request for the at least one network node to discover at least CM-Connected UEs for fulfilling the request for the sensing services, wherein the UE in the CM-Connected state is served by one of the at least one network node.
Ying teaches determining, by the AMF, at least one network node serving the at least one target area; and transmitting, by the AMF, to the at least one network node, a request for the at least one network node to discover at least CM-Connected UEs for fulfilling the request for the sensing services, wherein the UE in the CM-Connected state is served by one of the at least one network node ([0256] “The sensing request #3 in S310 may include the location information of the UE in the first area. In this case, in S320, the access and mobility management function may obtain the location information of the UE in the first area from the sensing request #3. [0258] S330. The access and mobility management function sends a sensing request #1 to a sensing function. The sensing function receives the sensing request #1 from the access and mobility management function. The sensing request #1 includes the first location information and the location information of the UE. The sensing request #1 is used to request to continuously track the target object”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature determining, by the AMF, at least one network node serving the at least one target area; and transmitting, by the AMF, to the at least one network node, a request for the at least one network node to discover at least CM-Connected UEs for fulfilling the request for the sensing services, wherein the UE in the CM-Connected state is served by one of the at least one network node, as taught by Ying in Li to for improving sensing or tracking accuracy.
Regarding claim 18, Li in view of Yuan and Ying teaches claim 17 and Li but Li fails to teach
wherein the request for the at least one network node to discover at least CM-Connected UEs for the request for the sensing services comprises information identifying at least one of the following: a requested sensing method, UE selection criteria, or number of UEs needed to fulfill the request for the sensing services.
Ying teaches wherein the request for the at least one network node to discover at least CM-Connected UEs for the request for the sensing services comprises information identifying at least one of the following: a requested sensing method, UE selection criteria, or number of UEs needed to fulfill the request for the sensing services ([0256] “The sensing request #3 in S310 may include the location information of the UE in the first area. In this case, in S320, the access and mobility management function may obtain the location information of the UE in the first area from the sensing request #3. [0258] S330. The access and mobility management function sends a sensing request #1 to a sensing function. The sensing function receives the sensing request #1 from the access and mobility management function. The sensing request #1 includes the first location information and the location information of the UE. The sensing request #1 is used to request to continuously track the target object”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the request for the at least one network node to discover at least CM-Connected UEs for the request for the sensing services comprises information identifying at least one of the following: a requested sensing method, UE selection criteria, or number of UEs needed to fulfill the request for the sensing services, as taught by Ying in Li to for improving sensing or tracking accuracy.
Regarding claim 21, Li in view of Yuan and Ying teaches claim 16 and Li but Li fails to teach
obtaining, by the AMF, for each CM-Idle UE of a plurality of CM-Idle UEs registered with the AMF: at least one respective target area, of the plurality of defined target areas, that is associated with the respective CM-Idle UE; determining, by the AMF, at least one CM-Idle UE, of the plurality of CM-Idle UEs registered with the AMF, which has at least one associated target area that overlaps with the at least one target area mapped to the sensing area of interest; determining, by the AMF, at least one network node serving the at least one target area mapped to the sensing area of interest; and transmitting, by the AMF, to the at least one network node, a request to for the at least one network node to perform paging for the at least one CM-Idle UE for fulfilling the request for the sensing services, wherein respective CM-Idle UE of the plurality of CN-Idle UE is served by a corresponding one of the at least one network node.
Ying teaches obtaining, by the AMF, for each CM-Idle UE of a plurality of CM-Idle UEs registered with the AMF: at least one respective target area, of the plurality of defined target areas, that is associated with the respective CM-Idle UE ([0255] “the access and mobility management function obtains a corresponding tracking area (TA), an identity, a base station identified by a RAN ID, and a cell identified by a cell identity based on the first area”); determining, by the AMF, at least one CM-Idle UE, of the plurality of CM-Idle UEs registered with the AMF, which has at least one associated target area that overlaps with the at least one target area mapped to the sensing area of interest ([0255] “The access and mobility management function may obtain at least one of a current TA identity, base station identity, or cell identity of a UE in a connected state, and a TA(s) identity of a UE in a non-connected state (the UE is in one of TAs). Therefore, if the first area is equivalent to one or more TA ranges, the access and mobility management function first determines a UE in the connected state in the first area, then pages at least one UE(s) in the non-connected state that is in a TA(s) and that is in the first area, or a UE(s) in the non-connected state in an intersection set between the TA(s) and the first area, to obtain at least one of a TA identity, a base station identity, or a cell identity corresponding to the UE(s), and then determines the UE belonging to the first area”); determining, by the AMF, at least one network node serving the at least one target area mapped to the sensing area of interest; and transmitting, by the AMF, to the at least one network node, a request to for the at least one network node to perform paging for the at least one CM-Idle UE for fulfilling the request for the sensing services, wherein respective CM-Idle UE of the plurality of CN-Idle UE is served by a corresponding one of the at least one network node ([0255] [0255] “The access and mobility management function may obtain at least one of a current TA identity, base station identity, or cell identity of a UE in a connected state, and a TA(s) identity of a UE in a non-connected state (the UE is in one of TAs). Therefore, if the first area is equivalent to one or more TA ranges, the access and mobility management function first determines a UE in the connected state in the first area, then pages at least one UE(s) in the non-connected state that is in a TA(s) and that is in the first area, or a UE(s) in the non-connected state in an intersection set between the TA(s) and the first area, to obtain at least one of a TA identity, a base station identity, or a cell identity corresponding to the UE(s), and then determines the UE belonging to the first area”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature obtaining, by the AMF, for each CM-Idle UE of a plurality of CM-Idle UEs registered with the AMF: at least one respective target area, of the plurality of defined target areas, that is associated with the respective CM-Idle UE; determining, by the AMF, at least one CM-Idle UE, of the plurality of CM-Idle UEs registered with the AMF, which has at least one associated target area that overlaps with the at least one target area mapped to the sensing area of interest; determining, by the AMF, at least one network node serving the at least one target area mapped to the sensing area of interest; and transmitting, by the AMF, to the at least one network node, a request to for the at least one network node to perform paging for the at least one CM-Idle UE for fulfilling the request for the sensing services, wherein respective CM-Idle UE of the plurality of CN-Idle UE is served by a corresponding one of the at least one network node, as taught by Ying in Li to for improving sensing or tracking accuracy.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 20 is objected as being dependent upon objected claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ying et al. (US 2024/0205639) discloses methods for performing sensing.
/QUOC THAI N VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642