DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 6/13/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. In particular, the copy of CN 116632465 (item #3 of Foreign Patent Documents) is not listed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 – 8, 11, 13, 17 – 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. CN 114571073 (hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches: a post welding method, comprising:
addressing, under a guidance based on product data of a product to be welded ([0007] - - reading the file to obtain the pole address data, the file is product data), at least one cell post in the product to be welded, to obtain an addressing coordinate set of the at least one cell post, wherein the product data represents a product structure of the product to be welded, and the addressing coordinate set of the at least one cell post represents a position of the at least one cell post in the product to be welded in a current environment ([0008] - - establishing a coordinate mapping relationship by marking the point pole address coordinates and the welding station coordinates, and converting the pole address coordinate values into the values in the welding station coordinate system through the established mapping relationship); and
determining a welding coordinate set of the at least one cell post based on the addressing coordinate set of the at least one cell post, to implement, based on the welding coordinate set of the at least one cell post, electrical connections between cells in the product to be welded ([0009]-[0011] - - the laser performs the welding process according to the coordinate).
Claim 14 is substantially similar to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons and rationale as above.
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Wang further teaches: allocating the at least one cell post to assemblies in a welding device based on the addressing coordinate set of the at least one cell post; and
determining respective welding coordinate sets for the assemblies based on addressing coordinates of every preset quantity of cell posts in the addressing coordinate set of the at least one cell post, the welding coordinate sets for the assemblies representing the welding coordinate set of the at least one cell post; and N being an integer greater than or equal to 1 ([0040], [0041] - - through the mapping relationship, convert the coordinates of all other electrode cylinders into coordinates in the current coordinate system; The coordinates are converted to the welding coordinates of each pole).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. CN 114571073 (hereinafter Wang) in view of Zhou et al. CN 115837541 (hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Wang further teaches:
determining a photographing coordinate set of the at least one cell post; and
photographing the at least one cell post based on the photographing coordinate set of the at least one cell post, to obtain the addressing coordinate set of the at least one cell post ([0007] - - taking pictures of the four marked points of the positioning module itself, and obtaining the marked points in the welding station camera coordinate system; [0008]-[0010] - - establishing a coordinate mapping and converting the pole address coordinate values into the welding station coordinate system).
But Wang does not explicitly teach:
determining a photographing coordinate set of the at least one cell post based on a product structure diagram of the product to be welded, wherein the product data comprises the product structure diagram.
However, Zhou teaches:
determining a photographing coordinate set of the at least one cell post based on a product structure diagram of the product to be welded, wherein the product data comprises the product structure diagram ([0007] - - obtaining a pole design template, the pole design template includes design position information of a plurality of poles, and the multiple poles include target poles; the design template is a product structure diagram).
Wang and Zhou are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to post welding system.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Wang, and incorporating obtaining a pole design template, as taught by Zhou.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to accurately position the target pole, as suggested by Zhou ([0007]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Wang and Zhou teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Zhou further teaches:
setting a status value of the at least one cell post to a first identifier before photographing, wherein the first identifier represents that a corresponding cell post is not photographed (Fig. 5, [0076] - - the detection position information corresponding to the pole that has not been scanned and positioned is 0 or a null value; 0 is a status value); and
setting the status value of the at least one cell post to a second identifier after photographing, wherein the second identifier represents that the corresponding cell post is already photographed (Fig. 5, [0076] - - the detection position information of the pole is the detection position coordinates of the pole; the position information is not 0 nor a null value, that means that post is already photographed).
Wang and Zhou are combinable for the same rationale as set forth.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. CN 114571073 (hereinafter Wang) in view of Zhou et al. CN 115837541 (hereinafter Zhou) and further in view of Yu et al. WO 2024/072445 (hereinafter Yu).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Wang and Zhou teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But the combination of Wang and Zhou does not explicitly teach:
parsing the product structure diagram of the product to be welded, to obtain a text coordinate set of the at least one cell post;
scanning the text coordinate set of the at least one cell post to obtain a row number and a column number that correspond to each of the at least one cell post; and
generating the photographing coordinate set of the at least one cell post based on the row number and the column number that correspond to each cell post.
However, Yu teaches:
parsing the product structure diagram of the product to be welded, to obtain a text coordinate set of the at least one cell post;
scanning the text coordinate set of the at least one cell post to obtain a row number and a column number that correspond to each of the at least one cell post; and
generating the photographing coordinate set of the at least one cell post based on the row number and the column number that correspond to each cell post ([0035] - - identify coordinates in the parsed schematic, associate text in the parsed schematic diagram to a block).
Wang, Zhou and Yu are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to manufacturing system.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by the combination of Wang and Zhou, and incorporating parsing a diagram, as taught by Yu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve handling of design data, as suggested by Yu ([0003]).
Claims 5, 9, 10, 15, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. CN 114571073 (hereinafter Wang) in view of Bae US 2023/0364712 (hereinafter Bae).
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Wang does not explicitly teach:
the welding device comprises a first welding robot, a second welding robot, a first set of pressurization mechanism, and a second set of pressurization mechanism; and
the allocating the at least one cell post to assemblies in a welding device based on the addressing coordinate set of the at least one cell post comprises:
dividing the at least one cell post into a first cell post set and a second cell post set based on the addressing coordinate set of the at least one cell post;
allocating the first cell post set to the first welding robot and the first set of pressurization mechanism; and
allocating the second cell post set to the second welding robot and the second set of pressurization mechanism.
However, Bae teaches:
the welding device comprises a first welding robot, a second welding robot, a first set of pressurization mechanism, and a second set of pressurization mechanism (Fig. 1, [0048] - - two welding robots; [0015] - - first pressing jig and second pressing jig are pressurization mechanism); and
the allocating the at least one cell post to assemblies in a welding device based on the addressing coordinate set of the at least one cell post comprises:
dividing the at least one cell post into a first cell post set and a second cell post set based on the addressing coordinate set of the at least one cell post;
allocating the first cell post set to the first welding robot and the first set of pressurization mechanism; and
allocating the second cell post set to the second welding robot and the second set of pressurization mechanism (Fig. 7, [0089], [0091] - - performs welding on the battery module assemblies on both conveyors using both welding robots; [0077], [0078], [0083] - - using 1st and 2nd pressing jigs to hold the battery module assembly).
Wang and Bae are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to battery assemblies welding system.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Wang, and incorporating two welding robots, as taught by Bae.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to reduce the cycle time of the welding process, as suggested by Bae ([0092]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Wang and Bae teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Bae further teaches:
when it is determined that current first welding coordinates for the first welding robot and current second welding coordinates for the second welding robot satisfy a second fool-proofing condition, controlling the first welding robot to weld a first cell post corresponding to the first welding coordinates (Fig. 7, [0089], [0091] - - when both welding robots and both conveyors are normal, this is fool-proofing condition, performs welding on the battery module assemblies on both conveyors using both welding robots); and
controlling the second welding robot to weld a second cell post corresponding to the second welding coordinates (Fig. 7, [0089], [0091] - - performs welding on the battery module assemblies on both conveyors using both welding robots).
Wang and Bae are combinable for the same rationale as set forth.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Wang and Bae teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Bae further teaches:
when it is determined that the first welding coordinates and the second welding coordinates do not satisfy the second fool-proofing condition, determining a welding sequence of the first welding robot and the second welding robot (Fig. 7, [0089], [0091], [0093], [0094] - - when both welding robots and both conveyors are normal, this is fool-proofing condition, when one conveyer is abnormal, this means not satisfying the fool-proofing condition, performs welding on the battery module assemblies on one normal conveyor using both welding robots); and
Wang and Bae are combinable for the same rationale as set forth.
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Wang does not explicitly teach:
the welding device comprises a first welding robot, a second welding robot, a first set of pressurization mechanism, and a second set of pressurization mechanism; and
the controller is further configured to divide the at least one cell post into a first cell post set and a second cell post set, allocate the first cell post set to the first welding robot and the first set of pressurization mechanism, and allocate the second cell post set to the second welding robot and the second set of pressurization mechanism.
However, Bae teaches:
the welding device comprises a first welding robot, a second welding robot, a first set of pressurization mechanism, and a second set of pressurization mechanism (Fig. 1, [0048] - - two welding robots; [0015] - - first pressing jig and second pressing jig are pressurization mechanism); and
the controller is further configured to divide the at least one cell post into a first cell post set and a second cell post set, allocate the first cell post set to the first welding robot and the first set of pressurization mechanism, and allocate the second cell post set to the second welding robot and the second set of pressurization mechanism (Fig. 7, [0089], [0091] - - performs welding on the battery module assemblies on both conveyors using both welding robots; [0077], [0078], [0083] - - using 1st and 2nd pressing jigs to hold the battery module assembly).
Wang and Bae are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to battery assemblies welding system.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above welding system, as taught by Wang, and incorporating two welding robots, as taught by Bae.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to reduce the cycle time of the welding process, as suggested by Bae ([0092]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Wang and Bae teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Wang further teaches: the controller is further configured to determine a welding coordinate set for the first welding robot ([0008] - - converting the pole address coordinate values into the values in the welding station coordinate system through the established mapping relationship) and an offset set of the first welding component of the first welding robot under each set of welding coordinates based on addressing coordinates ([0045] - - calculate overall offset of the module).
Bae further teaches:
wherein the first welding robot comprises a first welding component, and the second welding robot comprises a second welding component (Fig. 1, [0048] - - two welding robots);
a downward pressure coordinate set for the first set of pressurization mechanism ([0077], [0078], [0083] - - using 1st and 2nd pressing jigs to hold the battery module assembly, and
a downward pressure coordinate set for the second set of pressurization mechanism ([0077], [0078], [0083] - - using 1st and 2nd pressing jigs to hold the battery module assembly,
Wang and Bae are combinable for the same rationale as set forth.
Conclusion
/YUHUI R PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116