DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-10, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (Korean Patent Publication 20200042115).
Re claim 1, Kim discloses a bumper bracket for connecting with a vehicle body (see the annotated figure below), the bumper bracket comprising a mounting hole and a weakening portion, wherein the mounting hole is configured to connect the bumper bracket to the vehicle body (by 1211), and in a front-rear direction of a vehicle, the weakening portion is disposed in front of the mounting hole, a projection of the mounting hole in the front-rear direction of the vehicle at least partially overlaps with a projection of the weakening portion in the front-rear direction of the vehicle (as shown by the annotated figure below), and a structural strength of the weakening portion is lower than a structural strength of a portion of the bumper bracket other than the weakening portion (this is inherent to the operation of the device).
Re claim 6, a side wall of the weakening portion comprises a flat surface or a curved surface (see the annotated figure above).
Re claim 7, the weakening portion is integrally formed with the bumper bracket (see the annotated figure above).
Re claim 8, a plurality of weakening portions including the weakening portion and disposed in front of the mounting hole (see the annotated figure above).
Re claim 9, the weakening portions are disposed adjacent to each other in the front-rear direction (as shown in the annotated figure above).
Re claim 10, Kim discloses a vehicle body front end assembly comprising a bumper (1100, figure 2), a vehicle body (1200, figure 2), a fastener (1211, figure 3), and a bumper bracket (see the annotated figure above), wherein the bumper bracket comprises a mounting hole (see the annotated figure above) and a weakening portion (see the annotated figure above), the mounting hole is configured to connect the bumper bracket to the vehicle body, in a front-rear direction of a vehicle, the weakening portion is disposed in front of the mounting hole (as shown in the figure above), a projection of the mounting hole in the front-rear direction of the vehicle at least partially overlaps with a projection of the weakening portion in the front-rear direction of the vehicle (as shown by the figure above), and a structural strength of the weakening portion is lower than a structural strength of a portion of the bumper bracket other than the weakening portion (this is inherent to the structure of the device), the bumper is fixedly connected to the bumper bracket (as shown by figure 3), and the fastener (1211, figure 1) is configured to pass through the mounting hole to connect the bumper bracket to the vehicle body and to move from the mounting hole to the weakening portion when an external force applied to the bumper bracket is greater than a preset value.
Re claim 15, a side wall of the weakening portion comprises a flat surface or a curved surface (see the annotated figure above).
Re claim 16, the weakening portion is integrally formed with the bumper bracket (as shown by the annotated figure above).
Re claim 17, the bumper bracket further comprises a plurality of weakening portions including the weakening portion and disposed in front of the mounting hole (see the annotated figure above).
Re claim 18, the weakening portions are disposed adjacent to each other in the front-rear direction (as shown by the annotated figure above).
Re claim 19, Kim discloses a vehicle comprising a vehicle body front end assembly, wherein the vehicle body front end assembly comprises a bumper (1100, figure 2), a vehicle body (1200, figure 2), a fastener (1211, figure 3), and a bumper bracket (see the annotated figure above), the bumper bracket comprises a mounting hole (see the annotated figure above) and a weakening portion (see the annotated figure above), the mounting hole is configured to connect the bumper bracket to the vehicle body, in a front-rear direction of the vehicle, the weakening portion is disposed in front of the mounting hole (see the annotated figure above), a projection of the mounting hole in the front-rear direction of the vehicle at least partially overlaps with a projection of the weakening portion in the front-rear direction of the vehicle (see the annotated figure above), and a structural strength of the weakening portion is lower than a structural strength of a portion of the bumper bracket other than the weakening portion (this is inherent to the structure of the device), the bumper is fixedly connected to the bumper bracket (as shown by figure 3), and the fastener (1211, figure 3) is configured to pass through the mounting hole to connect the bumper bracket to the vehicle body and to move from the mounting hole to the weakening portion when an external force applied to the bumper bracket is greater than a preset value.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (Korean Patent Publication 20200042115) in view of Wang (Chinese Patent Publication 202106930).
Re claims 2 and 11, Kim discloses all the limitations of the claim, as applied above, except for a connecting portion being disposed between the mounting hole and the weakening portion, wherein the connecting portion is configured to space the mounting hole from the weakening portion, and a width of the connecting portion is inversely proportional to a crumple capacity of the bumper bracket.
Wang teaches a connecting portion (see the annotated figure below) being disposed between a mounting hole and a weakening portion, wherein the connecting portion is configured to space the mounting hole from the weakening portion, and a width of the connecting portion is inversely proportional to a crumple capacity of the bumper bracket (this is inherent to the structure of the device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a bumper bracket, such as that disclosed by Kim, to have a connecting portion being disposed between the mounting hole and the weakening portion, wherein the connecting portion is configured to space the mounting hole from the weakening portion, and a width of the connecting portion is inversely proportional to a crumple capacity of the bumper bracket, as taught by Wang, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to reduce the impact force acting on the vehicle body (see paragraph 0013 of the machine translation of Wang).
Re claims 3 and 12, Kim further discloses the weakening portion is strip-shaped (as shown by figure 3), and an included angle between an extension direction of the weakening portion and the front-rear direction of the vehicle is inversely proportional to the crumple capacity of the bumper bracket (this is inherent to the structure of the device).
Re claims 4 and 13, Kim further discloses a thickness of the weakening portion is less than a thickness of the connecting portion (111, figure 3 1 is a slot with zero thickness).
Re claims 5 and 14, the thickness of the weakening portion is zero (1111, figure 3), and a shape of the weakening portion comprises one of a rectangle, a trapezoid, an ellipse (it is elliptical in figure 3), a diamond, a triangle, a hexagon, or a triangle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references all disclose vehicle bumper devices.
Ballinger (British Patent Publication GB2506204A) teaches a bracket including a hole and weakening portion.
/JASON S MORROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612
June 26, 2026