Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 10, the applicant has claimed “wherein the obtaining polarization information of the reflected light reflected from the working object when it is determined to be difficult to distinguish the defect signal from a noise,” however there is no connection between “wherein the obtaining polarization information of the reflected light reflected from the working object” and “when it is determined to be difficult to distinguish the defect signal from a noise”. Thus, the examiner is left to wonder what is done with the first part (the step from claim 1) when the condition is met. i.e. the applicant has left out the words “is performed”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 10-12, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho et al (PGPub 2018/0073979) (Cho).
Regarding Claim 1, Cho discloses an optical inspection method, comprising:
obtaining polarization information of a reflected light reflected from a working object (Paragraph 57, Null Conditions);
illuminating an incident light on the working object (200) and obtaining the reflected light converted to an arbitrary elliptical polarization by being reflected from the working object (Paragraph 59);
nulling the reflected light by using a waveplate (140, Paragraph 39) and a polarizer (150) (Paragraph 59);
wherein an initial value of a fast axis of the waveplate is set based on the polarization information (Paragraph 69); and
detecting a defect signal by adjusting the waveplate and the polarizer while maintaining the nulling (Paragraphs 52-53).
Regarding Claim 2, Cho discloses the aforementioned. Further, Cho discloses wherein an initial value of a phase shift of the waveplate is set as π/2 radian (Paragraph 39). The phase shift of a quarter waveplate is π/2.
Regarding Claim 3, Cho discloses the aforementioned. Further, Cho discloses wherein the nulling the reflected light by using the waveplate and the polarizer comprises: reducing ellipticity of the reflected light by using the waveplate; and blocking the reflected light with the reduced ellipticity by using the polarizer (Paragraph 59).
Regarding Claim 10, Cho discloses the aforementioned. Further, the limitation, “wherein the obtaining polarization information of the reflected light reflected from the working object when it is determined to be difficult to distinguish the defect signal from a noise,” is met since the point of deriving the Null conditions in the first place is to reduce noise and improve the signal and “when it is determined to be difficult to distinguish the defect signal from a noise” is a judgement call with no parameters.
Regarding Claim 11, Cho discloses the aforementioned. Further, Cho discloses wherein the polarization information of the reflected light reflected from the working object is obtained by at least one of simulation and analysis of a pupil plane according to actual measurement (Paragraphs 71-73, Figs. 4a & 4b).
Regarding Claim 12, Cho discloses an optical inspection apparatus (Fig. 1), comprising:
a light source (101) configured to generate light;
a first polarizer (130) configured to convert the light to an incident light that is incident on a working object, wherein the incident light is a polarized light modified from the light (Paragraph 38); and
a waveplate (140, Paragraph 39) and a second polarizer configured to null a reflected light converted to an arbitrary elliptical polarized light by reflection of the incident light from the working object and adjusted to magnify a defect signal while maintaining the nulling (Paragraph 59),
wherein an initial value of a fast axis of the waveplate is set based on polarization information of the reflected light reflected from the working object (Paragraph 69).
Regarding Claim 14, Cho discloses the aforementioned. Further, Cho discloses wherein the first polarizer is configured to convert the light to linearly polarized light (Paragraph 38).
Regarding Claim 15, Cho discloses the aforementioned. Further, Cho discloses wherein the waveplate is a 1/4 waveplate (Paragraph 39).
Regarding Claim 16, Cho discloses the aforementioned. Further, Cho discloses wherein the waveplate is configured to reduce ellipticity of the reflected light (Paragraph 39).
Regarding Claim 17, Cho discloses the aforementioned. Further, Cho discloses wherein the second polarizer blocks the reflected light with the reduced ellipticity (Paragraph 59).
Regarding Claim 18, Cho discloses the aforementioned. Further, Cho discloses wherein the polarization information of the reflected light reflected from the working object is predetermined (Paragraph 57). Determining the null conditions before doing the measurement means the information is pre-determined.
Regarding Claim 19, Cho discloses the aforementioned. Further, Cho discloses wherein the working object comprises a semiconductor wafer (Paragraph 35).
Regarding Claim 20, Cho discloses an optical inspection system (fig. 1), comprising:
a stage (103) configured to hold a working object;
an analyzer (105) configured to analyze polarization information of a reflected light reflected from the working object;
an optical inspection apparatus configured to detect a defect signal from the working object, wherein the optical inspection apparatus comprises:
a light source (101) configured to generate light;
an illumination optical module (130) configured to generate an incident light, wherein the incident light is a polarized light modified from the light (Paragraph 38);
a collection optical module configured to collect the reflected light converted to an arbitrary elliptically polarized light by reflection of the incident light from the working object (See fig. 1),
wherein the collection optical module comprises a waveplate (140, Paragraph 39) and a polarizer (150). The compensator may be on either side of the reflection as shown in Fig. 11 (140a);
the waveplate and the polarizer are configured to null the reflected light and magnify a size of the defect signal while maintaining the nulling (Paragraph 59); and
an initial value of a fast axis of the waveplate is set based on the polarization information (Paragraph 69); and
a detector (180) configured to detect the defect signal; and
a controller (105) configured to apply the polarization information to the waveplate and the polarizer (Paragraph 51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, 6, & 8, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Aspnes et al (D. E. Aspnes and A. A. Studna, "High Precision Scanning Ellipsometer," Appl. Opt. 14, 220-228 (1975)) (Aspnes).
elliptical polarization parameters Ψ and Δ
103 Aspnes
Regarding Claim 4, Cho discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the polarization information is information formed within a pupil plane by Fourier transforming the reflected light reflected from the working object;
However, while it is silent on the fact it is obvious that the polarization information is formed within the pupil plane of the optical system;
Further, Aspnes discloses that it is possible to derive the elliptical polarization parameters Ψ and Δ, which Cho uses to derive the Null condition, using a Fourier transformation of data obtained from an ellipsometer (Abstract);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Cho with wherein the polarization information is information formed within a pupil plane by Fourier transforming the reflected light reflected from the working object because it would be obvious to try the highly precise Aspnes method rather than the one used in Cho to derive the needed Null condition.
Regarding Claim 5, Cho as modified by Aspnes discloses the aforementioned. Further, the limitation, “wherein: the pupil plane comprises a plurality of regions divided according to moving directions of the reflected light; and each region among the plurality of regions comprises the polarization information,” because this is inherently true. One can divide any plane into a plurality of regions and the in the case of this apparatus the light on the plane will have the polarization information since that light is used to derive it.
Regarding Claim 6, Cho as modified by Aspnes discloses the aforementioned. Further, the limitation, “wherein: the polarization information comprises a first polarization information; and the first polarization information comprises information on a major axis, a minor axis, a polarization direction, and an intensity of the reflected light,” is inherently met since the light will have all of this information.
Regarding Claim 8, Cho as modified by Aspnes discloses the aforementioned. Further, the limitation, “wherein: the polarization information further comprises a second polarization information; and the second polarization information comprises information on the major axis, the minor axis, the polarization direction, and the intensity of the reflected light having ellipticity reduced by passing through the waveplate,” is inherently met since the light will have all of this information.
Claim(s) 13, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho.
Regarding Claim 13, Cho discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose a beam splitter configured to direct the incident light on the working object, and direct the reflected light on the waveplate;
However, the examiner takes official notice that this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Cho with a beam splitter configured to direct the incident light on the working object, and direct the reflected light on the waveplate because this is true of another common configuration of ellipsometer with a beam direction at a perpendicular angle to the wafer which is functionally equivalent to that of Cho and would be chosen based on cost and availability of parts.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 & 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to Claim 7 the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious wherein an initial value of the fast axis is set as a direction of a vector sum of major axes of the reflected light within the plurality of regions, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
As to Claim 9 the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious wherein an initial angle of the polarizer is set as a direction perpendicular to a vector sum of major axes of the reflected light having reduced the ellipticity within the plurality of regions, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
/JONATHON COOK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 January 9, 2026
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877