DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 9/4/2024, 9/18/2024 are considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9-10, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asplund et al (Asplund), US 2021/0067230, in view of Laghate et al (Laghate), US 2020/0389800.
As per claim 1, Asplund teaches the invention including a user equipment (UE) comprising:
At least one processor (pp. 0124-0125), and
At least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (pp. 0125), caused the UE at least to:
Determine a first rank associated with a first beam set scheduled by one or more network nodes configured in a cell serving the UE for communication between the UE and the one or more network nodes, wherein the first beam set comprises one or more beams (pp. 0018-0025, 0062-0068);
Report to the one or more network nodes radio parameter regarding a second beam set, wherein the second beam set comprises one or more beams (pp. 0018-0025, 0062-0068, 0070-0077, 0080-0089, 0091, 0094); and
Receive from the one or more network nodes a switching command to be scheduled on the reported second beam set instead of the first beam set (pp. 0101-0106).
Asplund does not teach to report that a second rank higher than the first rank is achievable by a second beam set. Laghate teaches to report that a second rank higher than the first rank is achievable by a second beam set (pp. 0048, 0062, 0082, 0084-0085, 0103, 0137). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Asplund and Laghate to determinate the ranking of the beam set based on the obtained parameters at the UE instead of the base station and reduce processing need of the base station.
As per claim 2, Asplund and Laghate teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Wherein: for a beam set comprising at least two beams, the UE is configured to determine a correlation between the at least two beams comprised in the beam set, wherein a higher correlation between said beams indicates a lower rank associated with said beam set.
As per claim 9, Asplund and Laghate teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Asplund further teaches wherein the one or more beams comprises in the second beam set are all different from the at least one beam comprised in the first beam set (pp. 0086-0089).
As per claim 10, Asplund teaches the invention including a network node comprising:
At least one processor (pp. 0124-0125), and
At least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (pp. 0125), caused the network node at least to:
Schedule a first beam set for communication with a UE served in a cell in which the network node is configured, wherein the first beam set comprises one or more beams and reported UE measurement on the first beam set indicating a first rank associated with the schedule first beam set (pp. 0018-0025, 0062-0068);
Configure the UE to determine a radio parameter regarding a second beam set, wherein the second beam set comprises one or more beams (pp. 0018-0025, 0062-0068, 0070-0077, 0080-0089, 0091, 0094);
Transmit to the UE a switching command for scheduling the UE on the reported second beam set instead of the first beam set (pp. 0101-0106).
Asplund does not teach the UE to determine a second rank achievable by a second beam set, wherein the second rank is higher than the first rank. Laghate teaches to report that a second rank higher than the first rank is achievable by a second beam set (pp. 0048, 0062, 0082, 0084-0085, 0103, 0137). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Asplund and Laghate to determinate the ranking of the beam set based on the obtained parameters at the UE instead of the base station and reduce processing need of the base station.
As per claim 15, Asplund and Laghate teach the invention as claimed in claim 10. Asplund further teaches wherein the network node is configured to transmit to the UE a list of synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block resource indicator (SSBRI) or CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) related to beams transmitted form the network node to the UE for the UE to perform measurement and determine the achievable second rank and the associated second beam set (pp. 0015).
As per claim 16, Asplund teaches the invention including a method of a user equipment (UE) comprising:
Determining a first rank associated with a first beam set scheduled by one or more network nodes configured in a cell serving the UE for communication between the UE and the one or more network nodes, wherein the first beam set comprises one or more beams (pp. 0018-0025, 0062-0068);
Reporting to the one or more network nodes radio parameter regarding a second beam set, wherein the second beam set comprises one or more beams (pp. 0018-0025, 0062-0068, 0070-0077, 0080-0089, 0091, 0094); and
Receiving from the one or more network nodes a switching command to be scheduled on the reported second beam set instead of the first beam set (pp. 0101-0106).
Asplund does not teach to report that a second rank higher than the first rank is achievable by a second beam set. Laghate teaches to report that a second rank higher than the first rank is achievable by a second beam set (pp. 0048, 0062, 0082, 0084-0085, 0103, 0137). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Asplund and Laghate to determinate the ranking of the beam set based on the obtained parameters at the UE instead of the base station and reduce processing need of the base station.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8, 11-14 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Karjalainen et al, US 2024/0187077
Zhu et al, US 2022/0174508
KR102373467B1
Kim et al, US 2021/0314046
Kamohara et al, US 2021/0211957
Sun et al, US 2020/0373976
Gao et al, US 2018/0254813
Kim et al, US 2015/0365150
KENNY S. LIN
Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/Kenny S Lin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416
August 25, 2026