DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1of U.S. Patent No. 11,523,437. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1of U.S. Patent No. 11,523,437 anticipate pending claim 1.
Claim #
Current application
Claim #
U.S. Patent No. 11,523,437
1
A method of operating a wireless terminal in communication with a network node, the
method comprising:
receiving a Physical Downlink Control Channel, PDCCH, order from the network node,
wherein the PDCCH order includes an identification for a Random Access CHannel, RACH,
occasion to be used for a RACH message 1 preamble transmission, wherein the identification
includes a first index that indicates a set of RACH occasions and a second index that indicates
the RACH occasion associated with the set; and
responsive to the PDCCH order, transmitting a Message 1 preamble to the network node
using the RACH occasion
1
A method of operating a wireless terminal in communication with a network node, the method comprising: receiving a Physical Downlink Control Channel, PDCCH, order from the network node, wherein the PDCCH order includes an identification for a Random Access CHannel, RACH, occasion to be used for a RACH message 1 preamble transmission, wherein the identification includes a first index that indicates a set of RACH occasions and a second index that indicates the RACH occasion associated with the set; wherein the first index is a synchronization signal block, SSB, index that indicates a set of RACH occasions that are associated with the SSB index, wherein the second index is a RACH occasion, RO, index that indicates the RACH occasion associated with the set of RACH occasions indicated by the SSB index, and responsive to the PDCCH order, transmitting a Message 1 preamble to the network node using the RACH occasion
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park to (US20190182800) in view of NOKIAETAL: “Summary of Remaining Details on RACH Procedure" from IDS
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches method of operating a wireless terminal in communication with a network node,(see, fig.9) the method comprising: receiving a Physical Downlink Control Channel, PDCCH, order from the network node,([0186] discloses The base station may also transmit a PDDCH order 901 to the wireless device) and responsive to the PDCCH order, transmitting a Message 1 preamble to the network node using the RACH occasion([00186] discloses The wireless device may begin to perform a RACH process for the SCell, which may be initiated, for example, after receiving the PDDCH order 901. A wireless device may transmit to the base station (e.g., as part of a RACH process) a preamble 902 (e.g., Msg1), such as a random access preamble (RAP))
Park does not explicitly teach wherein the PDCCH order includes an identification for a Random Access CHannel, RACH, occasion to be used for a RACH message 1 preamble transmission, wherein the identification includes a first index that indicates a set of RACH occasions and a second index that indicates the RACH occasion associated with the set
“Summary of Remaining Details on RACH Procedure" teaches wherein the PDCCH order includes an identification for a Random Access Channel, RACH, occasion to be used for a RACH message 1 preamble transmission (page 36, section 5.3: parameters to be included in the PDCCH order - SSB-index... RO mask), wherein the identification includes a first index that indicates a set of RACH occasions (page 36, section 5.3: SSB-index; page 2, section 2, agreements: all FDMed RACH occasions get mapped to the same SSB) and a second index that indicates the RACH occasion associated with the set (page 36, section 5.3: RO mask)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Park include wherein the PDCCH order includes an identification for a Random Access CHannel, RACH, occasion to be used for a RACH message 1 preamble transmission, wherein the identification includes a first index that indicates a set of RACH occasions and a second index that indicates the RACH occasion associated with the set, as suggested by “Summary of Remaining Details on RACH Procedure". This modification would benefit the system to reduce communication error.
Conclusion
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461