DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. In the event that the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7, 10 & 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kikuchi et al. US2006/0044762.
Per claim 1 Kikuchi et al. teaches a rectifying-element-module sealing unit (1, see fig.2-5), comprising: a rectifying element module (101; [0027], “alternating current to direct current”) having a rectifying element ([0027], “Examiner note: though the rectifying element is not explicitly shown, the paragraph alludes to a rectifying element similar to the switching element 2 and smoothing capacitor 3 being used to convert AC to DC”); a first substrate (4 & 6) in a plate shape (see fig.2-5) having a first front surface and a first back surface and having the rectifying element module arranged on the first front surface (see fig.2-5; [0027]); a second substrate (9 & 11) in a plate shape having a second front surface and a second back surface and arranged with respect to the first substrate (see fig.2 & 5) so that the second front surface is opposed to the first front surface (see fig.2 & 5); and a side wall portion (10; [0028]) forming, together with the first substrate and the second substrate, a sealed space having the rectifying element module arranged therein by covering areas open sideways between the first substrate and the second substrate (see fig.2-5).
Per claim 2 Kikuchi et al. teaches the rectifying-element-module sealing unit according to claim 1, wherein the rectifying element module is electrically connected to the first substrate ([0027]), and a component (22, see fig.5-6 & 10) having performance that tends to be degraded by an influence of heat of the rectifying element module is arranged on the second front surface of the second substrate (see fig.5-6 & 10, “heat degrades the performance of components”).
Per claim 4 Kikuchi et al. teaches the rectifying-element-module sealing unit according to claim 1, further comprising a cooling part (7) arranged below the first back surface of the first substrate to cool the first substrate ([0027]).
Per claim 7 Kikuchi et al. teaches the rectifying-element-module sealing unit according to claim 1, wherein the side wall portion is formed of an insulating member ([0036]).
Per claim 10 Kikuchi et al. teaches the rectifying-element-module sealing unit according to claim 2, further comprising a cooling part (7) arranged below the first back surface of the first substrate to cool the first substrate ([0027]).
Per claim 12 Kikuchi et al. teaches the rectifying-element-module sealing unit according to claim 2, wherein the side wall portion (10) is formed of an insulating member ([0036]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. In the event that the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 6 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi et al. US2006/0044762 in view of Sadineni et al. US2024/0387345.
Per claim 6 Kikuchi et al. teaches the rectifying-element-module sealing unit according to claim 1,
Kikuchi et al. does not explicitly teach further comprising a connector supporting the second substrate with respect to the first substrate and electrically connecting the first substrate and the second substrate together.
Sadineni et al. however discloses further comprising a connector (108) supporting the second substrate (104(2)) with respect to the first substrate (104(1)) and electrically connecting the first substrate and the second substrate together ([0026]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a connector as taught Sadineni et al., in the rectifying-element-module of Kikuchi et al., because it enables electrical communication between the first and second substrate, thus enabling improved circuit performance and functionality.
Per claim 11 Kikuchi et al. teaches the rectifying-element-module sealing unit according to claim 2,
Kikuchi et al. does not explicitly teach further comprising a connector supporting the second substrate with respect to the first substrate and electrically connecting the first substrate and the second substrate together.
Sadineni et al. however discloses further comprising a connector (108) supporting the second substrate (104(2)) with respect to the first substrate (104(1)) and electrically connecting the first substrate and the second substrate together ([0026]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a connector as taught Sadineni et al., in the rectifying-element-module of Kikuchi et al., because it enables electrical communication between the first and second substrate, thus enabling improved circuit performance and functionality.
Claim(s) 3 & 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi et al. US2006/0044762 in view of Jitaru US2006/0013022.
Per claim 3 Kikuchi et al. teaches the rectifying-element-module sealing unit according to claim 1,
Kikuchi et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the rectifying element module (S2) is included in a secondary-side circuit connected to a transformer.
Jitaru however discloses wherein a rectifying element module (S2) is included in a secondary-side circuit connected to a transformer (see fig.2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a rectifying element module included in a secondary-side circuit connected to a transformer as taught by Jitaru in the rectifying-element-module sealing unit of Kikuchi et al., because it enables the conversion of alternating current to direct current.
Per claim 9 Kikuchi et al. teaches the rectifying-element-module sealing unit according to claim 2,
Kikuchi et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the rectifying element module is included in a secondary-side circuit connected to a transformer.
Jitaru however discloses wherein the rectifying element module (S2) is included in a secondary-side circuit connected to a transformer (see fig.2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a rectifying element module included in a secondary-side circuit connected to a transformer as taught by Jitaru in the rectifying-element-module sealing unit of Kikuchi et al., because it enables the conversion of alternating current to direct current.
Allowable Subject matter
3. Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5, includes allowable subject matter because of the rectifying-element-module sealing unit according to claim 4, wherein the cooling part is formed of a conductive member, part of a current path of current flowing through the rectifying element module is configured of a penetrating current path penetrating through the first substrate from the first front surface to the first back surface.
Claim 8 is allowable
4. Regarding Independent claim 8, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed combination of elements and features of: a rectifying-element-module sealing unit, comprising: a rectifying element module having a rectifying element; a first substrate in a plate shape having a first front surface and a first back surface and having the rectifying element module arranged on the first front surface; a second substrate in a plate shape having a second front surface and a second back surface and arranged with respect to the first substrate so that the second front surface is opposed to the first front surface; and a cooling part arranged below the first back surface of the first substrate to cool the first substrate, wherein the cooling part is formed of a conductive member, and part of a current path of current flowing through the rectifying element module is configured of a penetrating current path penetrating through the first substrate from the first front surface to the first back surface.
Email Communication
5. Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Specht et al. US2009/0104734 discloses a power module comprising: providing a casing comprising a plurality of receiving elements; providing within the casing a substrate carrying a semiconductor chip; providing a support element.
Aoki US2022/0399817 discloses a power conversion device.
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior are included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/MICHAEL A MATEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841