Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6,8,11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kung et al (US 20220078670 A1) hereinafter as Kung in view of DA SILVA et al (US 20220322174 A1) hereinafter as DA SILVA.
Regarding claim(s) 1,14,20, Kung discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device from a master base station associated with a master cell group, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message (See ¶ abstract, 5, See Fig(s). 6, UE receives a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message indicative of switching a Primary Cell (PCell) of the UE to a first cell, wherein the first RRC message is indicative of a first configuration of the first cell. The UE resets a Medium Access Control (MAC) entity associated with the PCell of the UE in response to receiving the first RRC) comprising:
a configuration parameter of a secondary cell group (SCG) associated with a secondary base station (See ¶ 464-467, The Network may initiate the RRC reconfiguration procedure to a UE in RRC_CONNECTED); and
a plurality of counters for the secondary base station, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message indicates that the plurality of counters is for subsequent cell group change (See ¶ 453, The purpose of this procedure is to modify an RRC connection, e.g. to establish/modify/release RBs, to perform reconfiguration with sync, to setup/modify/release measurements, to add/modify/release SCells and cell groups).
transmitting, by the wireless device to the secondary base station and based on applying the configuration parameter of the SCG, a first RRC reconfiguration complete message using a first security key derived based on a first counter of the plurality of counters (See ¶ 76,454-455,592, See Fig(s). 8 step 816, The UE synchronizes to the target cell and completes the RRC handover procedure by sending RRCReconfigurationComplete message to target gNB).
Kung fails to disclose transmitting by the wireless device to the secondary base station and based on applying the configuration parameter of the SCG, a second RRC reconfiguration complete message using a second security key derived based on a second counter of the plurality of counters.
DA SILVA discloses transmitting, by the wireless device to the secondary base station and based on applying the configuration parameter of the SCG, a second RRC reconfiguration complete message using a second security key derived based on a second counter of the plurality of counters (See ¶ 113-115, WD then sends another, second RRC reconfiguration complete message to the target network node… See ¶ 24, Security is prepared before the WD accesses the target cell e.g., keys are to be refreshed before sending the RRC Connection Reconfiguration Complete message, based on new keys and encrypted and integrity-protected so the WD can be verified in the target cell.).
The use of RRC message for target nodes allows for wireless devices to operate according to the reconfiguration parameters of the second base station without disruption.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of DA SILVA within Kung, so as to maintain continuous communications with devices of interest without interruptions.
Further with regards to claim 14, Kung discloses processor and memory for processing and performing the method of claim 1 (See Fig(s). 2, processor 270, memory 272).
Regarding claim(s) 2,15, Kung discloses wherein the subsequent cell group change comprises: conditional primary SCG cell (PSCell) addition (CPA); and conditional PSCell change (CPC) (See ¶ 453, to perform reconfiguration with sync, to setup/modify/release measurements, to add/modify/release SCells and cell groups, to add/modify/release conditional handover configuration, to add/modify/release conditional PSCell change configuration.).
Regarding claim(s) 3,16, Kung discloses wherein: the subsequent cell group change is based on the configuration parameter of the SCG (See ¶ 587, The IE ServingCellConfigCommon is used to configure cell specific parameters of a UE's serving cell. The IE contains parameters which a UE would typically acquire from SSB, MIB or SIBs when accessing the cell from IDLE. With this IE, the network provides this information in dedicated signaling when configuring a UE with a SCells or with an additional cell group (SCG).).
Regarding claim(s) 4,17, Kung discloses wherein: the subsequent cell group change is without additional RRC reconfiguration (See ¶ 455).’
Regarding claim(s) 5,18, Kung discloses wherein applying the configuration parameter is based on: receiving the RRC reconfiguration message (See ¶ 452, the RRC configuration successful is indication that the message was received.).; or an execution condition being fulfilled.
Regarding claim(s) 6, Kung discloses wherein: the configuration parameter of the SCG is a conditional configuration parameter of the SCG(See ¶ 453, to perform reconfiguration with sync, to setup/modify/release measurements, to add/modify/release SCells and cell groups, to add/modify/release conditional handover configuration, to add/modify/release conditional PSCell change configuration.).
Regarding claim(s) 8, Kung discloses wherein: the SCG is one of the one or more SCGs (See Fig(s). 8 with target cell 804, See ¶ 525).
Regarding claim(s) 11,19, Kung discloses wherein the receiving the RRC reconfiguration message is while communicating with the master base station using a security key of the master base station (See ¶ See ¶ 454, RRC reconfiguration to perform reconfiguration with sync includes, but is not limited to, the following cases: [0454] reconfiguration with sync and security key refresh, involving RA to the PCell/PSCell,).
Regarding claim(s) 12, Kung discloses wherein the RRC reconfiguration complete message indicates: the configuration parameter of the SCG; and/or the wireless device applied the configuration parameter (See ¶ 76, The UE synchronizes to the target cell and completes the RRC handover procedure by sending RRCReconfigurationComplete message to target gNB.); and/or a primary SCG cell of the SCG; and/or a configuration identity of the configuration parameter.
Regarding claim(s) 13, Kung discloses wherein the RRC reconfiguration complete message comprises: an RRC reconfiguration complete message for the master base station (See Fig(s). 5 step 8); and an RRC reconfiguration complete message for the secondary base station(See Fig(s). 8 step 812, See ¶ 76, The UE synchronizes to the target cell and completes the RRC handover procedure by sending RRCReconfigurationComplete message to target gNB.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 7,9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RAJ JAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411