Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by How Apple Pay works under the hood? By Prashant Ram hereafter Ram.
Ram discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a data processing computer from an event source, a communication comprising a unique value and data relating to a token (When you Pay using Apple Pay with your iPhone, step 2, dynamic CVV (unique value) and dynamic cryptogram (data relating to a token), and the token);
providing, by the data processing computer to a data matching computer, a message comprising the unique value, wherein the data matching computer, determines that the received unique value matches a stored unique value, and then obtains action data (When you Pay using Apple Pay with your iPhone, steps 3-7); and
receiving, by the data processing computer from the data matching computer, the action data (When you Pay using Apple Pay with your iPhone, step 7-8, validates the dynamic CVV and sends “authorization” response (action data)); and
performing, by the data processing computer, an action with respect to the action data (When you Pay using Apple Pay with your iPhone, step 8, transaction is approved), wherein the action comprises applying the action data to an interaction request message comprising the token (When you Pay using Apple Pay with your iPhone, steps 1-8, the action is applied to the interaction request from step 2 which comprises the unique code (CVV), the token and data relating to the token).
2. Ram discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the action data comprises control data (When you Pay using Apple Pay with your iPhone, steps 7-8).
3. Ram discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the unique value is a nonce (When you Pay using Apple Pay with your iPhone, step 2, dynamic CVV (unique value)).
4. Ram discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the data relating to the token is a token reference identifier (When you Pay using Apple Pay with your iPhone, step 2, dynamic cryptogram).
5. Ram discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the token is a substitute for a credential (When a Payment Card is added to Apple Pay, DAN is a substitute for the PAN).
6. Ram discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the unique value is a nonce, and the communication comprises a signed nonce, which is provided to the data matching computer along with the nonce (When you Pay using Apple Pay with your iPhone, steps 1-8).
7. Ram discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: receiving an authorization request message comprising the token (When you Pay using Apple Pay with your iPhone, steps 1-8); and applying the action data to the authorization request message (When you Pay using Apple Pay with your iPhone, steps 1-8).
8. Ram discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the action data comprise control data (When you Pay using Apple Pay with your iPhone, steps 1-8).
Claims 9-14, 16-19 are similar in scope to claims 1-8 and are rejected under similar rationale.
15. Ram discloses the data processing computer of claim 14, wherein the authorization request message comprises an amount (When you Pay using Apple Pay with your iPhone, steps 1-8).
20. Ram discloses the data matching computer of claim 18, wherein, in the method, the data matching computer verifies the signed nonce using a public key associated with the private key (When you Pay using Apple Pay with your iPhone, steps 1-8).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES R TURCHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439