Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-9, 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Powell et al. (US 2015/0127547) hereafter Powell.
1. Powell discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a data processing computer from an event source, a communication comprising a unique value and data relating to a token (para 108: token requestor 114 may send the token request message to the token service provider 216. Accordingly, the token request message may include token requestor ID, token attributes, token domain restriction controls, PAN to be represented (e.g. replaced) by the token and, optionally, a requested token assurance level);
providing, by the data processing computer to a data matching computer, a message comprising the unique value, wherein the data matching computer, determines that the received unique value matches a stored unique value, and then obtains action data (para 113: payment network 210 may store the association between the PAN and the generated token along with the token assurance level and the data used to generate the token assurance level in the vault 218); and
receiving, by the data processing computer, the action data (para 113: payment network 210 may provide the token to the token requestor 114 in a token request reply message); and
performing, by the data processing computer, an action with respect to the action data (para 114: token requestor 114 may present the token to the merchant 106, who may generate a payment authorization request message including the token).
2. Powell discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the action data comprises control data (para 53).
4. Powell discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the data relating to the token is a token reference identifier (para 108).
5. Powell discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the token is a substitute for a credential (para 108).
7. Powell discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: receiving an authorization request message comprising the token (para 108-114); and applying the action data to the authorization request message (para 108-114).
8. Powell discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the action data comprise control data (para 53).
Claims 9, 11-14, 16 are similar in scope to claims 1-8 and are rejected under similar rationale.
15. Powell discloses the data processing computer of claim 14, wherein the authorization request message comprises an amount (para 60).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6, 10, 13, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0172192) hereafter Lee.
3. Powell discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the unique value is a nonce. However, in an analogous art, Lee discloses an electronic device supporting mobile payment including wherein the unique value is a nonce (para 173-174). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the implementation of Powell with the implementation of Lee in order to verify the transaction using the signed nonce (para 173-174).
6. Powell discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the unique value is a nonce, and the communication comprises a signed nonce, which is provided to the data matching computer along with the nonce. However, in an analogous art, Lee discloses an electronic device supporting mobile payment including wherein the unique value is a nonce, and the communication comprises a signed nonce, which is provided to the data matching computer along with the nonce (para 173-174, the authentication server has both the nonce and signed nonce). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the implementation of Powell with the implementation of Lee in order to verify the transaction using the signed nonce (para 173-174).
Claims 10, 13, and 17 are similar in scope to claims 3 and 6 and are rejected under similar rationale.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,111,897. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the current application are anticipated by the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,111,897.
Conclusion
/JAMES R TURCHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439