DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 11, 12, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maki (US20090170290A1).
In reference to claim 1:
Maki discloses a separation device (abstract, Fig. 25), comprising:
a pin cover (Fig. 24 numeral 13) having an action platform (Fig. 24 top horizontal surface of numeral 13) and an accommodating space for an object to be separated to be placed on the action platform (Fig. 15-26 showing an “accommodating space” for placement of an object to be separated), wherein the action platform is defined with an active region (Fig. 24 zone under center chip 1) and an idle region (Fig. 24 zone under leftmost chip 1), the active region is provided with a plurality of first apertures (Fig. 25 numeral 31), and the plurality of first apertures penetrate through the action platform and communicate with the accommodating space (Fig. 25 numeral 31);
an ejector pin plate disposed in the accommodating space (Figs. 24-26 numeral 15);
a plurality of ejector pins disposed on the ejector pin plate and corresponding to positions of the plurality of first apertures (Figs. 24-26); and
a plurality of bumps disposed in the idle region of the action platform of the pin cover (Figs. 11 and 24 showing the “bumps” separating the concentric slots 31. It is noted that Fig. 24 has mislabeled the slots as 30 and the suctions holes as 31 while Fig. 11 and para 0099 have the identifiers reversed).
In reference to claim 2:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Maki further discloses wherein the idle region is provided with a plurality of second apertures, and the plurality of second apertures penetrate through the action platform and communicate with the accommodating space (Figs. 14a-14b and 24-26 in view of para 0102 disclosing the number of needs is increased or decreased in accordance with the size of each chip. As such, for a smaller chip, with fewer required needles, the outermost through holes of Fig. 24 would meet the claimed “plurality of second apertures” in the idle region).
In reference to claim 3:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Maki further discloses wherein the active region is located at a center of the action platform, and the idle region is located around the active region (Fig. 11).
In reference to claim 4:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Maki further discloses wherein the ejector pin plate is defined with a first connection region and a second connection region, wherein the first connection region and the second connection region are parallel to the action platform, and the plurality of ejector pins are disposed in the first connection region of the ejector pin plate (Fig. 14b showing the “first connection region” where the needles 16 are positioned and the “second connection region” as the exterior portions without needles 16, Figs. 18 and 24 showing the regions are parallel with the action platform).
In reference to claim 6:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Maki further discloses wherein the plurality of bumps and the pin cover are integrally formed (Fig. 24 showing the sides of element 13 as a solid piece with the “bumps” on the upper surface).
In reference to claim 7:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Maki further discloses wherein the object to be separated includes an adhesive film (para 0105, Fig. 18 pressure-sensitive adhesive applied to the dicing tape 5) and a chip module disposed on the adhesive film (Fig. 18 chip 1), and the separation device is used to separate the adhesive film and the chip module (Fig. 19).
In reference to claims 8 and 9:
In addition to the discussion of claim 7, above, Maki further discloses wherein the chip module is defined with a first region and a second region, the first region is located at a center of the chip module, the second region is located around the first region, the first region is provided with a first chip, and the second region is provided with a second chip (para 0102 and Fig. 18, applies to claim 8) and wherein the first region of the chip module is located corresponding to the active region of the pin cover, and the second region of the chip module is located corresponding to the idle region of the pin cover (para 0102 and Fig. 18, applies to claim 9).
Additionally, while the Examiner has indicated Maki meets the claimed limitations “[e]xpressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). Furthermore, “[i]nclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” See In re Young, 75 F.2d *>996<, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)) (see MPEP § 2115).
In reference to claim 11:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Maki further discloses wherein the object to be separated is fixed on the pin cover by vacuum suction (para 0099).
In reference to claim 12:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Maki further discloses wherein the ejector pin plate moves toward the pin cover, so that the plurality of ejector pins pass through the plurality of first apertures and press against the object to be separated (Figs. 18-19 and 25-26).
In reference to claim 14:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Maki further discloses ejector blocks disposed on the ejector pin plate (para 0121, Fig. 25).
In reference to claim 16:
In addition to the discussion of claim 14, above, Maki further discloses wherein the ejector blocks are further provided with the plurality of bumps (para 0121, Fig. 28). As the exterior blocks 27 are connected the blocks meet the claimed “bumps” as the “block” connected the bumps 27 meets the claimed “blocks”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maki as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Tan (CN115440632A).
In reference to claim 5:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Maki does not disclose wherein the bumps are cones. However, this is taught by Tan. Tan teaches a device for separating a device from a carrying film (para 0009, Fig. 1). Tan further teaches that supporting the device and film using cones reduces the contact area and is more conducive to separation (para 0056). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the separation device of Maki with the cones of Tan in order to obtain a device which is more conducive to separation of the device from the film.
In reference to claim 13:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Maki does not disclose wherein a contact area between the bumps and the object to be separated is smaller than a contact area between the ejector pins and the object to be separated. However, this is taught by Tan. Tan teaches a device for separating a device from a carrying film (para 0009, Fig. 1). Tan further teaches that supporting the device and film using cones reduces the contact area and is more conducive to separation (para 0056). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the separation device of Maki with the cones of Tan with a minimal contact area in order to obtain a device which is more conducive to separation of the device from the film.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maki.
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Maki further discloses wherein the number of needles 16 can be increased or decreased in accordance with the size of the chips to be picked up (para 0102) but does not explicitly disclose wherein a distribution region of the active region of the pin cover accounts for 60% of a distribution area of the action platform of the pin cover (See para 0028 of Applicant’s specification as published disclosing that the “distribution region” is the first region 221 and Fig. 1A showing the first region 221 corresponds to the chip to be picked up). It is the Examiner’s first position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a device “wherein a distribution region of the active region of the pin cover accounts for 60% of a distribution area of the action platform of the pin cover” in order to accommodate a chip of such dimension. It is the Examiner’s second position that changing the relative dimensions would not cause the device to perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04.IV.A.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maki as applied to claim 14, above, and further in view of Huang (TWI803445B).
In addition to the discussion of claim 14, above, Maki fails to disclose wherein the idle region of the pin cover is provided with openings connected to the accommodating space, and the ejector blocks correspond to positions of the openings. However, this would have been obvious in view of Huang. Huang teaches a device for chip separation (para 0001). Huang further discloses utilizing multiple, repeating peeling areas improves efficiency of transfer operations (pg 3 last 3 lines through pg 4 line 3, Fig. 8 shown on page 2 of the original document). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Maki with the multiple, repeating peeling areas of Huang in order to obtain a device with improved transfer efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bahnck (US4556362A)
Tsuji (US6106222A)
Kabeshita (US20060285965A1)
Cheung (US20070128306A1)
Ho (US20240112943A1).
/ANDREW L SWANSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 1745