DETAILED ACTION
An amendment, amending claims 1 and 7, was entered on 3/6/26.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Koech teaches a fundamentally different approach because Koech teaches that more metal oxide precursor is present than metal oxide. This is not persuasive. While the examiner agrees that the examples of Koech teach more metal oxide precursor than metal oxide (and that these examples teach molar ratios outside the claimed range), Koech is not limited to the specific examples listed. Rather, Koech broadly teaches that SnO2 particles are included in the mixture to form the layer in order to adjust electron extraction and transport properties of the film. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). Thus, at a minimum, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to experiment with different SnO2 molar concentrations to arrive at a desired electron extraction and transport property with the predictable expectation of success.
That said, applicant’s disclosure contains clear evidence of unexpected results associated with the claimed molar ratio at Table 1. However, that evidence is more specific than any of the current claims. An amendment which was commensurate in scope with the evidence provided (i.e. wherein the precursor is magnesium acetate, the metal oxide is tin oxide and the metal oxide is spherical) would overcome the rejection on record and place the claims in condition for allowance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo et al. (JP 2016003302, machine translation) in light of Koech et al. (“Tin Oxide Modified Titanium Dioxide as Electron Transport Layer in Formamidinium-Rich Perovskite Solar Cells,” 2021, Energies 14, p. 7870).
Claims 1-5 and 7-8: Ostubo teaches a composition for forming a charge transporting layer in an electronic device (Abst.; top of p. 8), comprising: magnesium acetate as a metal oxide precursor (§ 1.4 on p. 5); and water as a solvent (§ 1.3 on p. 5).
While Ostubo teaches that the composition can further include additional metal compounds (middle of p. 5, e.g.), it fails to teach including a metal oxide directly. Koech teaches a process of forming a charge transport layer in an electronic device (Abst.) and explains that SnO2 particles are included in the mixture to form the layer in order to adjust electron extraction and transport properties of the film (Abst.). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have included SnO2 particles in the composition of Ostubo in order to have adjusted the electron extraction and transport properties of the film with the predictable expectation of success.
Neither Ostubo nor Koech teaches a specific ratio. However, as discussed above, Koech teaches that the tin oxide particles are included to adjust the electron extraction and transport properties of the film. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected a ratio of 0.0045-0.0455 depending on the desired properties with the predictable expectation of success.
Claim 9: Koech teaches that the particles have a diameter of less than 20 nm (§ 2.1).
Claim 10: Ostubo teaches a method of forming an organic solar cell (bottom of p. 1) (i.e. claimed photoelectric conversion element) comprising top and bottom electrodes (top of p. 2) and a charge transport layer (top of p. 2; top of p. 8) which is a metal oxide layer formed by heating (i.e. claimed firing) of the composition of claim 1 (§ 2, middle of p. 6).
Prior Art
Dagar et al. (“Highly efficient perovskite solar cells for light harvesting under indoor illumination via solution processed SnO2/MgO composite electron transport layers,” 2017, Nano Energy 49, pp. 290-299) is also cited for teaching a similar process and composition wherein a charge transport layer is formed from a two separate solutions of a tin oxide precursor and magnesium acetate.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT A VETERE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712